Access Bank Acquires Intercontinental Bank | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 17 October 2011

Access Bank Acquires Intercontinental Bank

A statement from both Intercontinental and Access:
Intercontinental Bank will be merged with Access Bank within the 2nd quarter of 2012.
Access Bank Plc and Intercontinental Bank Plc announce the completion of the recapitalization of Intercontinental Bank and the acquisition of 75% majority interest in Intercontinental Bank by Access Bank Plc. Effective today, Intercontinental Bank (including all its assets, liabilities and undertakings) becomes a subsidiary of Access Bank Plc.
The bank will now be run by a new Managing Director, Mr. Victor Etuokwu, while Mr. Aigboje Aig-Imoukhuede is the new Chairman of the bank’s board.

I bank with Intercontinental Bank. Should I be scared?

10 comments:

sharpie said...

nooo.. intercontinental was my first bankkkkk!

I don't know if you should be concerned or not. I am not familiar with Naija banks though I heared GTB is a good bank.

Ayodeji said...

Better go and remove your money!!! I just told my mother to do the same!

I feel sorry for the unfortunate souls that works for Intercontinental Bank. I hope they have been sending out their CV. Even if Access accept them, it's like frying pan to fire. No one in his/her right mind will want to work for Access bank.

Austine said...

Yes oh, you better relocate ur a/c to GTBank. else ur money go enter vioce mail...lol!

Whatever you are not sure of, is better to seek professional advice rather than running down the thing. This pronoucement is a very good one, it shows that intercotinental is now safer and stronger, Linda and other intercotinental bank customers your money is everly safe than even before. i am a profesional of the industry, all nigeria banks are the same, take note, no bank will be allowed to go down or be liquidated, wherever your money is, believe me is safe.
and for the staff absolutely nothing will happen to them, at least is better working for access rather than been sacked.

there is no such thing as a good and reliable bank in nigeria. We just deposit our money and hope for the best.

move to zenith bank.....ooo....all these mergers you can never be too sure!!

Access is one of the best banks in 9ja. I bank with them and no reason to complain.

mama somtee said...

Aigboje with all the church wey you dey go soootey become pastor yet you still do dirty deals ---- REPENT FOR THE KINGDOM OF HEAVEN IS NEAR !!!!!!!!!