Ben Murray Bruce screened out of Bayelsa Governorship race | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 31 October 2011

Ben Murray Bruce screened out of Bayelsa Governorship race

Silverbird chairman, Ben Murray Bruce, was yesterday screened out of the Bayelsa governorship race by the Gubernatorial Screening Appeal Committee of the PDP in Bayelsa State, for possessing dual citizenship.

The committee only cleared three candidates; Youpele Kalango, Christopher Enai and Henry Seriake Dickson as eligible candidates to contest in the upcoming Guber election.

The panel also excluded the name of current governor of the state, Timipre Sylva, for allegedly operating foreign accounts.

So if you are a Nigerian and American citizen, you are not qualified to govern a state in Nigeria? Hmmmm...

56 comments:

sakara said...

awww this s bad discrimination o, what do we tell our children n future? are they seriously thinking about all their children that were born outside naija n d past few years and years to come as that one na d new trend now? cause na dem d thing go affect pass, afterall poor man no get money to go born abroad, anyway paving way for fresh air and pushing thieves out one-by-one...mama mulika ur son get future for naija politics as u born am jeje for island maternity...lmao

World's 7th Billion Person Is Born said...

Simply interesting... I guess he didn't settle some of those that needed to be settled, otherwise the basis for disqualification is just ridiculous...

kyrs said...

ah ah,dis is srs news,am truly shocked.is der a set down qualification or a group of pple can just get up and decide???chai!!!and i ws already rejoicing at d level of transformation dt wld come upon dt dilapidated state,thru him,cos he would put silverbird der.mschew!!!!abeg he shld go 2 anoda party sharply o jare,rubbish!!!!

FrenchKissMyBanana said...

Na wa for Nigeria and its racist law on a Nigerian. Ive never come across or read Nigerian constitution. Is this dual nationality issue actually in Nigerian constitution? So a Naija Brit / American has no future in any civilian politics in Nigeria? It seems unfair. I think it should be tested in court. I can understand their point (dual nationality, diplomatic immunity whilst in office, then claiming foreign national when EFCC is on your case), but, I don't feel it's right to prevent anyone due to dual nationality. In my opinion, a Nigerian is 100% Nigerian regardless where you was born.

Amy Winehouse's New Album Set To Drop said...

Is that in the Constitution? If it isn't, then it's discriminatory..

Kemiismyrealname said...

He should thank God. All the money he chopped from NTA would have been finished in his quest to look for what is not lost.

Article about whether a dual citizen can contest, looks like the decision was premature http://www.transparencyng.com/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=4570:dual-citizenship-a-elective-offices-in-nigeria&catid=59:guest&Itemid=37

CLF said...

Flimsy excuse. What of Ajimobi and Fayose?

I heard that the real reason is that his registration was found in Abuja and not in his ward.

It actually makes sense. If one is solely dedicated to one country, especially when one has selfless ambition like running for office, why dual citizenship? Can always revoke one if you are THAT dedicated. However, I wouldnt advise it :)

Diligent said...

The Nigerian Constitution provides that no person shall be qualified for election to the office of Governor of a State if...he has voluntarily acquired the citizenship of a country other than Nigeria or...he has made a declaration of allegiance to such other country. Section 182(1).

Just put the law into operation whenever there is a need to get someone out of the way.Gbam!!! Ben Murray-Bruce is aware of this.

Its always been in the constitution - but then I figure you Guys never took out time to read it. If I remember correctly, in addition, your parents must also be Nigerians - that way, a naturalized Lebanese cannot suddenly wake up and contest for a post here. Bruce can only run if he renounces his American citizenship - but I doubt he would be willing to.

For those screaming, blue murder, it makes perfect sense, if you are gonna lead in a country, it does not bode well to have dual loyalty; even in America, Obama got flack for alledgedly being born outside United States territory. There is nothing racist here (seriously, we are talking race now?) and I bet similar rules exist in several other countries across the globe.

Femillionaire said...

Wow... let them come and vie for the APGA ticket. @ Linda, yes. S.182(1) stipulates that no person shall be qualified 4 election to the office of govnor if he has VOLUNTARILY ACQUIRED THE CITIZENSHIP OF A COUNTRY OTHER THAN NIGERIA. Its for the courts to determine.

Its PDP's bullshit. I say he goes to another party.

*ajalahtravel*

It's in the constitution. So all the social media campaign of reading the constitution just passed over people's heads. No public office holder is allowed to own dual citizenship. This is the practice in several countries, not just Nigeria. Ben Bruce, being a media person should have known this and since he loves Nigeria so bad, one would think that he would readily give up his other citizenship but alas..

Vaughn Samuel said...

There is nothing discriminatory about it. Its the law period. In the United States(Where I reside)You cannot be President if you were BORN outside the USA not to talk of being a dual citizen. You cannot hold any other public office if you are not a citizen of the United States...Even to join police, or the military. They can only expedite your path to citizenship if you sign up to go to war. If Ben Bruce was serious, he should have renounced his citizenship of the US. He cannot eat his cake and have it. These laws are put in place to ensure that people with divided loyalties don't take us for a ride. Do you think the US would extradite their citizen to Nigeria to face charges? Abeg lets do things right.

na wah o....this is pure cheating. He should join another party joor.I'm sure he refused to settle them....theives.

THIS IS TOTAL BULL SHIT!!!!

Linda's Body Guard said...

they are paving way for Dickson, its just pay back time, alams machine in the works

The provision is pretty clear in section 177 of our constitution regarding the requirement of Nigerian citizenship by birth.
However, acquiring dual citizenship AFTER birth in Nigeria seems to be a grey area.

if it is a part of the constituition, then it must be upheld. I doubt public officials in America are allowed dual nationality. If you run for office and win, renounce the other citizenship to truly serve ur country.

CryforChange. said...

This is PDP. Anything can happen.What about the Senate President? They also made noise about his dual nationality and at the end of the day, nothing happened. Murray Bruce shld settle and they will forget this dual nationality nonsense.come to think of it,why can't he pick the ticket from another party? Forget matter, they are all the same.Looting and sharing.

...this shows that some of you didnt listen in Government class back in secondary school cos we were all taught that.

simple he should join another party. I'm sure people will like to vote him wherever he is. is it now a crime to have dual citizenship?mtcheeeew

Ayodeji said...

The panel is wrong in screening him out. Check Sections 27 and 175 of the Constitution as amended. The citizenship qualification to hold elective office in Nigeria is citizenship by birth, which you can acquire through your parents or grandparents irrespective of where you are born. You may however lose the citizenship of the other country when you are elected into an office .

Na wa o, isn't Obama from Kenya and Collin powell a jamaican but American born? Dis una Nigerian constitution harsh o

It is in the constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria. Ben should have known that! Please stop commenting if you don't have facts and figures...

make in face go face in busines..e gt money, e get fame..e dey look for power to balance the equation abi. dat dual citizenship holds no ground...dem just ridicle am nicley ni

Tee~Blahnick said...

Makes sense..just like anyone with dual citizenship cant run for office in the US...

nikky said...

well maybe its the party's ideology, other party's could be of a different view, so challenging this in court would be like taking a ur pastor to court for not making sis adama HOD of choir because she had a baby b4 she got married or sometin like dat.
The court cant really tell political party's what their screening criteria of candidates should be.

ChiChiLuv said...

He needs to contest that issue! Is it clearly stated in the Nigerian constitution? And what about all of these children born in the West so if any of them have the knowledge, wisdom, intelligence to bring Nigeria forward, they wouldn't be able to do it because they hold dual citizenships? Na wa o so me sef, I no for fit run for office. This is the first I'm hearing of this and it's horrible because it narrows the pool.

Wetin happend in libya go happen for 9ja really soon!!!!!!

Dami B. said...

that's the way its is suppose to be... the same applies in the U.S.

This helps to ensure their loyalty to the country and to also ensure they wont flee to seek refuge with another nation when things go wrong

my eyes are red hot . said...

uncle bennhy you sef why did you believe those people telling you , you'd become govenor na to follow follow jona and become errand boy bi qualification ? Apparently you are not street wise ,at all , na so so grammer you go dey nack dir , hmmmmmm how many ogogoro you shack with dem , hope say dem no collect plenty money from your hand sha oooh ---- but if they did good for you .you join spoil 9ja . try and learn , play grassroot politics before you come out again , dual citizen koor american citizen ni .

Ben Bruce can still run for the governorship; but he can't due it under PDP banner. The article states that he was screened out by the screening committee for the PDP. Since the PDP is a political party, perhaps they can make their own rules as to who their flag bearer will be. In any event, I would be curious to know whether this policy has been evenly applied to everyone in the past or did the PDP bring it up just for Ben Bruce

Adebola said...

Linda Kim Kardashian is filing for divorce after 72days. Ryan Seacrest has confirmed.

Na so the thing be, don't buy it though cause an elected governor is been dragged to court over the issue.

Linda, it's official, Kim Kardashian and Kris Humphries are filing for divorce. Cited Irreconcilable differences. Ryan seacrest tweeted it this morning. What a shame!!!!

This decision is unconstitutional and void. The prohibition placed on dual nationality holders against running for office DOESNT apply to Nigerian citizens by BIRTH. Murray Bruce acquired his Nigerian citizenship by birth ( I believe at least one of his parents is a Nigerian citizen) meaning that he is eligible to run for office. He would have been ineligible if he acquired his citizenship by naturalisation or registration. Section 66 and 67 must be read in conjunction with section 28. Also, the court of appeal affirmed this point in Ogbedie v Osula (2004). This decision was subsequently applied by the Federal High Court in other cases. So Ben Murray Bruce is eligible to run for office.

I do not think the issue is being in possession of dual citizenship, but specifically, being a US citizen. For those of us that do not know, when you accept a US citizenship, you also renounce the citizenship of every other nationality (see the oath of allegiance below).

"I hereby declare, on oath, that I absolutely and entirely renounce and abjure all allegiance and fidelity to any foreign prince, potentate, state, or sovereignty of whom or which I have heretofore been a subject or citizen; that I will support and defend the Constitution and laws of the United States of America against all enemies, foreign and domestic; that I will bear true faith and allegiance to the same; that I will bear arms on behalf of the United States when required by the law; that I will perform noncombatant service in the Armed Forces of the United States when required by the law; that I will perform work of national importance under civilian direction when required by the law; and that I take this obligation freely without any mental reservation or purpose of evasion; so help me God"

So if Ben Bruce has already accepted the US citizenship, then he would have also renounced his Nigerian citizenship. His possession of a Nigerian passport is just mere formality to enable him travel in and out of Nigeria without a Nigerian visa.

Its not the same in the US, a dual citizen can be governor. Armold the terminator was governor of the largest state California even though he is a dual citizen of Austria. He was born in Austria. There are so many other examples. However, if we have decided to exclude them from governorship positions in our constitution, then so be it.

Efriye said...

The law says you've to be a citizen of Nigeria only to contest. It could be by birth or naturalization, just make sure you drop the other citizenship!!!
The ben sef can't rule Bayelsa, he doesn't look like us and never lived with us. He's jsut as sick for bigger fame as his niece was sick for int'l fame.

Jenifaa said...

I have a friend who is from Cameroon and his mum from Owerri. He has been spending money on his political aspirations, but his friends wont tell him the truth. He will never win, highest is to be called honorable by his able money spenders.

He just got married recently, Let's hope he learns now, otherwise the able spenders will gather around him for fake advice. Dual citizenship does not mix with politics in Naija, NEVER!

Bking baby hope you are reading this. I know they advised you to marry it may increase your chances, but chances are 'totoal' indigenes have a better chance with less money than you to spend on Campaign. You better put ya late papas's excess money and assets to good use otherwise I know educated area boys who will use big grammer to spend it for you using Obama as their pitch.

Jenifaaa

Jeez, give the guy a break. Its not like he is running for President. Besides, since when did we start adhering to our constitution; whenever its convenient i suppose. I guess we Bayelsans have gotten used to having motor park touts and ex militants/egbesu boys for governor. Murray Bruce take this as a blessing. I'm not sure you are aware, but the qualifications for Bayelsa State governorship are as follows:

*Inability to speak good english.
*Substance Abuser.
*Ex convict
*Ability to operate weapons.
*Readiness to commit fraud and rig elections whenever necessary.
*Specialized money launderer

You see Mr. Bruce, Bayelsans (including a lot of my relatives) are so backward, they view anything different as a threat. Try back in 2022.

linda why are you speaking from ur stomuch?dont you know that jona has eat something by obasanjo something?and he will not like to have any one who has seen and drink the same cup of tea with him and obansajo,and turn to repent for good and also wish to have his own name writen in nigeria history,dont you know that them must try to bring him down?jona baddlock must be a name my great granddss..must reject soon?,,how about you linda frinds?

linda,what i wanted to say or wanted to write here,,,ur english friends has confused me,so i have just lose my eye glass now to read more,,but all those problems of english are becos of jona boy,,
jona badluck has writen his name on nija bad side,,,but he still have time till next june,,,thx

Anonymous 11:41pm, I know you added your relatives to justify your generalization but serious shut the fuck up. Next time, say some and not just Bayelsan. Or you didn't learn anything about generalizations in your classes? If not, I don't blame you backward people. FYI, Bayelsans are some of the most educated people in the nation (in proportion to the total population). Don't let the media fool you.

And to Madam ITK 7:49PM, Please don't give me heart attack like that. Do your research and not just copy and paste shit. I have dual citizenship in USA and Nigeria. Yes, as a citizen of the US, I have to bear arms and defend the country when asked to. Do you think they'll just hand out citizenships and you'll be required to do nothing in return? If asked to denounce any citizenship sha, I doubt I'll denounce my American citizenship.

Source: http://www.newcitizen.us/dual.html

As per Bruce, I believe anyone should be able to run for position at least for governor in Nigeria as long as you're a citizen in one form or another. Birth, naturalization, etc. As long as you are doing it for the right reason. Schwarzenegger was allowed to run for Governor of California despite being an Austria citizen.

@Anonymous 6:09am
I actually copied and pasted shit...your own ororo shit. Idieeeet!

@anon 5.58am, you are not as enlightened as you think and you have made my point for me. No matter how much I disagree with someone's statements or generalization(s) as you call it, I would not tell them to " shut the fuck up". It's a blog, it's never that serious. As for the education you mention, I'm very well educated and I'm also a realist. Adding my relatives to the pack was not to justify my statement, I was simply telling the truth. FYI, I used to curse back in the day, thought it was all the rage. NOT.

Janyl Benyl said...

Aww and this man would have been a real breath of fresh air. He inspires me as a person a lot. Truly what Nigeria needs even as a president.
He is brave, intelligent and very enlightened. Really, don't we have a lot to learn from these people that have at least lived somewhere outside Nigeria? I think we should understand that they could bring in something new and interesting.

Ben Bruce went to St Gregories College and University of Southern Carlifonia.He was brought up with a silver spoon eating cornflakes and wheaterbix when he was young. Do you really think those who went to school without shoes and were eating yam and palmoil will let him get to Creek House?He'll no.He is overqualified for the job which is for bigger thieves ,killers and millitants.In Nigeria the best man never gets the job,if not Awolowo would have ruled Nigeria or one day Nasir El Rufai may be President.Hahahahah

I just laughed at the majority of the comments here. You cannot pledge allegiance to two countries at the same time because of security sake!

was president abacha nigerian?? n was obama's father american, nigerians always looking for a way to accelerate backwards

Ok firstly I think this news is still to be confirmed because it hasn't been reported on any TV, radio station or national daily. Secondly, I don't understand what all the sentiments are about. If it is true that Ben Bruce acquired his citizenship by naturalization, then technically he isn't even a citizen of Nigeria anymore. If he is an American citizen by birth, then the case would have been different because all he would have to do would be to renounce his American citizenship and lastly if this report is true, then PDP has made a very wise decision. Even if they don't screen him out and he wins the primaries, his nomination would eventually be rejected by INEC based on the constitution. So there isn't much PDP can do to help him.

Lmao! I love how people love to parallel being an adult and their non-cussing characteristics. I made that comment in the heat of the moment and I wouldn't retract it. It doesn't make me less of an adult or less-educated. Mr/Mrs Well Educated, as a realist, you should be aware that generalizations are very misleading. How does cussing make me less enlightened? Please, look at your stats. Even the current president which is Bayelsan proves my point. When was the last time Nigeria produced a well educated, articulate president? Maybe the last was Dr. Azikiwe. Now, I'm not defending his ways and policy. And don't you dare bring up his wife. Lol.

And to the other anonymous, I'm sorry you couldn't back your point with evidence and your comment about ororo shit was VERY weak. Try again later.