Nigerian Men Are Lazy - British Baroness | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 27 September 2011

Nigerian Men Are Lazy - British Baroness

‘Most of the men in Nigeria don’t do anything, their wives do all the work, that’s why they have so many. They have four wives – one to do the farming, one to look after the children, one to look after the man and one to do the housework. It is just a fact." - Controversial peer, Baroness Flather (a teacher and politician) said on a radio phone-in debate on polygamy yesterday in the UK, after a Nigerian caller told how his father had four wives and 11 children, who all lived together in the same house without problems.

Lol, it's not funny but I can't help but laugh...see as dem yawa Naija men...lol. But seriously, the statement is quite silly.

70 comments:

Yemi said...

Has she spoken about the ones in her country, India? Err nope, I thought so. They are just as polygamous, if not more than Nigerian men. She probably visited a few times and saw a few polygamous families and made a conclusion from there. kmt.

UgoBabeeee said...

Before I make a comment, Can we have some context on whom this person is. Where was the call made? abroad or in Naija. Was there any response to the call from Naijas if made abroad? Linda your remark of her generalization being silly does not cut it- we need to let these foreigners know that they can not talk about us anyhow, at least they must know that we will cut them down with our tongue if nothing else. Nonsence.

Linda, have you not read all the stupid things she said about her own people?

If she is not careful, a death sentence may be placed on her from Iran etc.

She said Asian men are milking UK dry by having different wives and kids on benefits; funded by taxpayers. She wants them booted out.

Linda,

The baroness did NOT generalize. She said "Most Nigerian men...." If she had said "Nigerian men...." then you can accuse her of generalizing.

Now, in regards to what she said, I can only give out a hearty laugh and say "God bless you baroness." I am VERY happy that the world is begining to see alot of Nigerian men for who they really are. Nigerians don't realize that foreigners take note of what goes on in our society including all the rape shit going on incessantly all over Nigeria for some time now.

I have always known that most Nigerian men are lazy. Most Nigerian men can't cook, they can't clean up after themselves, they cannot take an active part in the upbringing of the gazillion children they reproduce each year like guinea pigs and lately, many cannot even adequately provide for their families like a head of household and REAL man should. It remains for us women to wipe their shitty butts when they use the restroom after they have had their bouts with diarrhea after a big plate of poundo and egusi..lol. That is why they get nervous and verbally and even physically abusive when some Naija women say they don't want to get married. They know that women have less to loose if they choose to stay single than men. Women can have their careers, get preggo with or without a ring,can cook and take care of their homes without a man. After all, how do you think our widowed mothers raised their kids successfully back in the day after their husbands kicked bucket suddenly before they even reached 50 years old?

But when it comes to being chuvinists, rapists, wife or girlfriend beaters/murderers, child molesters, 419 internet scammers, control freaks and sleeping with underage minors old enough to be their daughters, then Naija men will excel with flying colors.

Baroness you will continue to live long. Please keep telling the truth as it is. There is a very good reason why some of us Naija women have been HAPPILY married for many years to non-Nigerian men who treat us like the queens we trully are.

I agree with her to a certain point. I won't say all Nigerian men are lazy..as a matter of fact they are often very hardworking and pushful.

However, I must say that many Nigerian men are extremely irresponsible!. The idea that a man will treat his wife shabily, threaten to throw her out if she doesn't have a male child, cheat on her with any and everything. They have an over-inflated opinion of themselves, which I think stems from the fact that Nigerian mothers tend to spoil their sons, make them believe that they are God's gift to mankind.

This arrogance can only be checked by Nigerian mothers giving their son's a reality check i.e make them go into the kitchen sometimes to get their own food, so that when they marry, they don't think the wife is a slave.

Also, we Nigerian women need to start 'fishing outside the Nigerian pond'. When Nigerian men see you have options, they will shape up!. I don't see anything wrong with marrying a white man, who will respect and value you.

My two cents..

KELE GOLDMIND said...

That Baroness is very silly for generalizing all Nigerian men as same, ..she must be outta her mind for saying such rubbish!...What about British Men, do they have the mind of their own, when they can't stand on their feet and take far-reaching decisions without consulting America, Israel , Afganistan, and co., so how about they that MARRY one and keep 15 Oshofree (s) outside their Matrimonial home?, Stingy, Stinking hypocrites!..Chewwwwwwwwwww!.Nansene!

This woman too talk!!!she go just dey talk to people anyhow...she just wan put herself for Nigerian people mouth...Polygamy is not just a thing of Nigerian muslims only....it cuts Across Africa and beyond...she should finish with her india where they have population problem first!!!.e be like say she wan hear how her papa take meet her mama wey them born her abi???ungwaanu!

Words of an ignorant fool. Trying to equate Nigerian men to the men of her native Pakistan. In England Pakistanis are the dregs of society. Lazy, polygamous, and benefit fraudsters. Each wife claims to be a single mother and claims benefit as such. Their children do poorly in school. They do not engage in serious work except drive taxis and own corner shops where it is difficult for the government to monitor their income, thus avoiding paying taxes. They claim all benefit going and are a burden to the NHS. They refuse to integrate and can't even speak the language of the country in which they reside.
Polygamy in Nigeria is a sign of affluence. You only do it if its convenient and affordable not as a means of sponging of the sweat of other hard working people.

this is why i get quite upset when fellow nigerian diasporeans make silly comments.case in point the story published on here last week about the nigerian guy that was let off by the european court.if we don't install any sense of value in ourselves don't expect foreigners to do so for us.
everyone knows pakistanis and indians are more guilty of this but unlike us she will never disparage her race neither will any pakistani or indian come out to start making silly comments about their own like we often do.

her views on nigerian men is borne out of ignorance and a total disconnect with modern reality.how many men sit down in villages to farm these days or collect wives talk less of sitting down and the wives working...

Ade_Cool said...

This woman is so random...she has become a mouthpiece for what Oyinbo people are afraid to mention..talk about grand generalization..what about tribes in 9ja that don't practice polygamy??
She talks a lot of crap about her own people as well..she's only a flight away frim being beheaded
Where is the news source where the quote comes from??

This woman is retarded from too much inbreeding practiced in her native Pakistan. Just because she married a white man, she thinks herself lifted from the morass and filth of her people. For crying out loud this woman is Pakistani, dregs of he british society.

Address of the Baronness please. I want to send my colleague from the London Liaison office of Boko Haram to pay her a visit. Nonsense!

Lollie said...

The Baroness needs attention. Don't give to her!

fortunechiby said...

Talking is free,had it beem she paid 4 it,we wil knw she is serious.

*ajalahtravel* said...

SMH

*ajalahtravel*

Ehis said...

E ma wo ode yi sa ? Delusion is a disease for people like baroness 'watever' who has never left the comfort of her country for other countries to get educated about people and things she hd read and made to have negative ideas of over the years.Yorubas call them 'Ara oko ilu OyInBo'

Ehis said...

E ma wo ode yi sa ? Delusion is a disease for people like baroness 'watever' who has never left the comfort of her country for other countries to get educated about people and things she hd read and made to have negative ideas of over the years.Yorubas call them 'Ara oko ilu OyInBo'

Ehis said...

anonymous 731pm,u dont deserve a good nigerian man,cos u are not a good nigerian woman,its better u have gone to marry ur foreigner uncircumcised oyinbo or a garlic smelling mediterranean lagos people call KORAA!as for the baroness,na senile dementia dey worry am,see her foto sef say all her hair don grey finish,na so her brain sef grey,rubbish buruku..if naija men no good,wetin we go call the pakistani and indian men??

Dee dee said...

Interesting! I am happy that Linda posted this the same week she posted Amara's article.

Of course the Baroness's statement is a silly generalization, exactly the same as Amara's caustic article. A lot of Nigerian men are lazy in the ways she described, but it is unfair to apply this accusation to ALL Nigerian men. So, to the guys on this blog that fully supported Amara's condescending and non-objective article, do you now know how it feels for someone to tar everyone with the same dirty brush? Infuriating.

Scorpio said...

Kiss my black ass!!! Asians have always been & will always be an irrelevant race *I rest my case*

madam baroness shes inrelevant in uk..i think she just been confused or looking for attention
sometimes this month she made some stupid coment about her own ppl, saying indian ppl re having alot of children just to claim more money in benefit.
As u knw the system is messed up here,the more kids u ve the more money u get... am sure indian community wil never forgive her.
i dont no why i shld be angry wit her coment abt nigerian men if she can run her own ppl in mud... go get a life baroness.

I don't agree with the lady who says Nigerian guys are lazy. Mabye some are. I do believe though that most Nigerian guys are very arrogant,dishonest and irresponsible. They also like sex too much.

she didnt say all she said most, and quite frankly she hit the nail on the head..some nigerian men in America are very lazy, they go to nija to look for nurses to come to yankee to pay their bills, they dont help with the children, and do literally nothing around the house but gossip over the phone..they just sit around and want fufu served to them..they turn their wives into work horses and tell their wives what are you dong at home won't you go to work we need the money..look at all the nija men that have killed their wives in America.. all the women were nurses, bcos at some point the women refuse to be used and the men lose it and end up killing their wives...so she is right some nija men are indeed quite lazy

This woman is Pakistani abi? Pakistanis nko? those lazy men that do not even play any meaningful sport and they are a highly misogynistic group of people not to talk of being patriarchal. she aint serious. she for first remove the log in her eye before looking at the speck in another's eye. shiooorrr

Chi said...

Lets not get too defensive, she didnt say all, she said most.

No be lie!!

I wouldnt use lazy because naija men can be hard working, but I'd say domestically lazy. For Yankee, women will cook, but sometimes the men will cook and for BBQs, its usually the men that man the grill.

The problem is that many Nigerian mothers spoiled their male children. So the longer the guy remained at home, the likelihood of him thinking once he marries, his wife will take over everything.
My husband cooks and cleans but I think it stems from fact that he's the oldest, has no sister, and lived on his own overseas. His youngest bro on the other hand cant do anything. His mum still sweeps house, while he is balancing for chair.

There are still many men who will shout if their wife isnt at the door to welcome them, and grab their brief case and have fresh food prepared everyday. Of course they have to be served to him, along with water to wash, cloth to dry, drinking water in the jar. All the while, she is tired from a long day at work, junior is crying, husband chops, she puts away his clothes, he falls asleep in bed. She finally gets junior to stop crying, puts the girls to sleep, brings out clothes for hubby to wear next day at work, makes sure its ironed, and that things are in order, says her prayers (hopefully), and it'll be mountain of fire style, cause she needs to protect her home from wahala such as strange women, and then go to sleep.

@Anon 7:59pm, polygamy in Naija isnt always about affluence. How many old men who arent doing anything in the village have at least 2 wives? I know many.

Lets call a spade a spade, no need to attack her. Instead women use that energy to teach your sons, brothers and other young men and boys under your care. Men use that energy to check the state of your home affairs, is your wife truly happy, put yourself in her shoes? Maybe aspire to do something a day to alleviate her burden, whether it may be putting away your own clothes, putting the kids to sleep, standing up to wash your hands, and not waiting for a basin of water. Even something as simple as telling her thank you. You'll be surprised how many men dont think to tell their wives that, its assumed that its her job, after all "other women are doing it".

More to say, but all for another day.

Yes- the news published by Linda concerning crimes against women are saddening. But please, let's not use these cases to condemn Nigerian men, some of which include our brothers, fathers, sons and many good Nigerian men who are making a positive difference. Whether we like it or not, atrocities against women occur in ALL countries and in ALL races. Misogyny is not solely a Nigerian thing. You want to talk about molestation? Read up the child abuse stories and stats for countries like India, South Africa and the middle-east (even the Baroness's home country) and weep! Much of the whole world is SICK.

I'm not excusing the bad aspects of Naija at all, but sometimes we're so negative when it comes to our country AND country people. Bashing Nigerian men. Bashing our fellow Nigerian women. Bashing Northerners. Bashing Igbos. Bashing Yorubas. Bashing our achievements. Bashing our celebrities. BASHING! BASHING!! BASHING!!!

No love at all.

And then we wonder when other nations insult us with impunity. O Gah o!

guys!!!!!!! your all just being sentimental cos the baroness is not a nigerian, if it was a nigerian woman who said this you all would be like true talk. in as much as the truth is hard to swallow this woman has spoken nothing but the truth and what we all know as the truth!!! she didn't generalize all nigerian men read!!!! she said "most" and this is true nigerian women abroad work 2-3 jobs to make ends meet while the typical nina man can't be bothered, the little he does its like o well i can't kill myself. or they marry doctors or nurses just to sit there butt at home. or a drug or yahoo barons, even in nija they are not any better. having numerous wives and kids that you can't cater to . a driver having 2 wives what for?????? a beg emphasis on MOST NIGERIAN MEN DATS WHAT SHE SAID

also most nigerian men can't save their life if it come to house chores once they are married, the woman is the slave who also has to go to work,come back to do the laundry and cook, take care of the kids because as men they aren't meant to be caught dead doing the chores.

THE NEW ANONYMOUS said...

like really, madam baroness?

kind of agree with you to an extent, third anonymous. MANY NIGERIAN MEN CANNOT CLEAN AFTER THEMSELVES!

But seriously how many Nigerian men are polygamous... This woman is a fool. That is how some pakistanis at work asked me if nigeria is a muslim country.At an Indian resturaunt one guy asked me where i was from, i said nigeria and he started speaking french to me. Another guy in an event just said to me 'A salam Alaykum' and he is not even muslim (neither am I)and does not know my name and just assumed. I guess the folks that make us popular abroad are polygamous or militant muslims!!!!

All these drunken master comments, which one be house chores?.. for what!!!!!!.. Alhamdulilahi.. Do you know how much I pay for rent, for school fees, for two maids!.. and you expect me to still do some chore!!!... Ahunzhubilahi..

Mazi Nwonwu said...

For all you lost souls who believe that she is right to say "most Nigerian men", really!!! Look around you please, how many of your neighbours are polygamists? Those polygamists you see, are their wives feeding the husband and children?

Now look at your male friends, brothers, uncles, father, nephews, cousins and other kin, are they lazy?

If after looking carefully, assess what you've seen and then write out a worthy reply to the baroness.
Must of you seem not to realise that she was responding to a postive contribution about polygamy from a Nigerian caller whose father is married to four wives.

the fact that many of you don't like polygamy, doesn't mean others don't have positive stories about it.

I have warned elsewhere that we need to wary of some people with double passports or aspiring for one, cos they are prone to rubbishing the less advantageous passport if it would buy them more patronage from the supposedly higher rated one.

Read well o, I said "some", which that woman should have used too -- fro those of you who don't know that 'most' is a general term.

Anonymous 10:02, the truth is bitter. Either you'rre one of the irresponsible men in question, or you are happily raising one.

I am a good nigerian woman, and I will get a good man of any nationality of my choosing. Sort yourself out and stop paassing the buck.

Typical myopic...

Allegra said...

Why give credence to this stupid woman. She also stirred up controversy here in the UK a few weeks ago when she stated that some sector of Asians (notably Bangladeshi's) had lots of children so as to collect more welfare benefits. I guess everyone is desperate for their 15mins of fame.

devour said...

for pips saying nigerian men cant clean up after themselves news flash,dats d way our culture is.wives clean up after der husbands ok ? and b4 u start talking am a woman

true...a lot of Nigerian men are lazy.

Truth.. Some Nigerian men are infact lazy ass mua'fuckers.. And yep! I'm Nigerian and I tell it how it is... FACT!

Jamb result said...

Ta ta ta ta. Is all i can say

ONYEDIKING said...

I have always known that most
Nigerian men are lazy lol.l.

CLF said...

September 27, 2011 7:49 PM; i agree, except the marrying a Caucasian bit.

We need to get this woman and Amara Nwosu together in a room with no air. LOL!

Anonymous 7:28, It seems as if you are just coming out of a relationship. Sorry O! Sorry much horrible pain according to 2Pac-Baby don't Cry. You no get brother for house. Your hatred of men has nothing to do with laziness (the tpic at hand)but betrayal by the male folks. Still beleive in love like Shola Ama. I too has been heart broken before KPELE.

It does not make sense...why would 4 different women marry one lazy man in the first place?!

All men don't like cleaning up after themselves. not just Nigerian men...while David Cameron was campaigning for prime minister in UK, his wife in an interview said he is very very messy at home.

I agree totally wt this baroness n wt anon 7.31am. When I see hw most men treat their wives: my father,father-inlaw etc I simply smh. Most men think they r God's best gift to mankind. Most Nign men think that marriages are a master/servant relationship n this mentality is bg pushed d line consciouly or otherwise. Whenever I ask my 14yr old son to wash plates, he kind of feels it's a job meant for her sisters. We mothers shd start early to train our boys to treat women wt respect n not to demean them. That cld be y the incident of gang raping is on d increase:lack of respect for women. They r seen as inferior. To be used n dumped like trash. Smh.

The fact is whether Nigerian men Lazy, Polygamous or whatever like she said, We are still better cus at least those in it can boast of marriage, what about men in Europe? not to talk of their ladies who jumps from one man to another without marriage and at the end of the day, they will settle having to marriage? She better go back to her country and analysis the real problem going on there rather than ranting over what she don't all about it. We African especially Nigerian Men are always Ready to Work and never Lazy. SO i don't buy her ideas. thanks.

rhymeup said...

Anonymous @2.44AM. Most Nigerian women are naggers, haters and generally will find any reason to bash men. you see what i did, i said most not all so that makes that statement viable. Just aiding the argument.
Never surprised when topics like this appear and every lady with a bone to grind jumps out from uner the woodworks to bash away.
The truth been that because you probably had a bad experience means every apple is rotten makes no sense as a point of logic.
My dears, bitter is not a good look for you. Duchess or whats her face has a right to her own opinion... I guess they dont give titles based on common sense or tact or having brains for that matter.
As to the rest of you lasses suffering from a case of male bashing hormonal overdrive...Please remember you attract what you are.

http://kokoeigbe.blogspot.com said...

She's a very uninformed woman obviously,atleast on the topic she chose to comment on. It's in the UK that men have no qualms dropping all and moving in with "lady friends" or "domestic partners" as they now call it,letting the female partner fend for them. mscheww.Atleast here in Naija, the men who do it usually hide (although not so much anymore these days).

she doest have the authority to speak about nija men bcos she isn't nija, or unless she lived in nija...however some nija men are quite lazy, they let their wives do all the work, and at night get offended when she is too tired to do anything..here in America some nija men are bad news they go to nija to look for nurses to come and make money for them and pay the bills...the day she doesnt go to work they say what are you doing at home? we need the money....when these ladies wisen up and stop handing their paychecks to their husbands they become bitter resentful, manipulative and abusive..look at all the men that have killed their wives majority were nurses, and were killed mostly due to financial reasons..you see them running around all over the place using their wives hard earned money to chase small girls and akatas..so it is true that some nija men are lazy, and they need to get their acts together..

l just dont know y d cocoa nut heads r attacking d woman,d way our country is shows that our men r lazy simple.very,very lazy.all d think about is d latest bar,club,hotel n a country were they will go n sell drugs.sleep around wt different kind of girls n keep spreading all kinds of disease.nigerian men r llllllllllllaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaazzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy.

God bless you anonymous 2:08am..dats all I've 2say!!!

All these naija women wey dey shout alleluhaia to wetin the baroness talk, i get advice for u: make u know marry naija man now, at the least, no be by force.

Make you go marry other africans, pakistanis, indians, even kpaakpa oyibos. My people talk say, na when a young woman marry 2 husbands, na that time time e go know the one wey better.

As we dey talk so, carribean women, other african women, even kpaapka, oyibo women dey die for naija man. According to them, naija men sabi take care of there women and kids.

Abi, no be for baibul dem talkam, say people no dey give prophet better respect for eim own domot?

As for the Baroness, no blame her, na because say na eim go marry eim husband, as na woman dey pay dowry for man head for eim countri.

Na so i talkam!

rhymeup said...

Damn, so many bitter women in this country... Damn shame.
I really wonder why psychologists are not making a killing in this country.
Someone from God knows where says bull and every one's aunty jumps on the gravy train of scorn and derision.
Look people get some gaddem sense.whatever happened to you in your past,whatever mistake you made does not define you.
let go of all the bitterness inside and move on.
Calling every man a dog doesnt make it true; it only shows you up for the pain you still feel inside.
Can we just get along? now sings kumbaya by the fire place.

fifi said...

I totally agree with her 100%

Na old age de worry her,u no see face wey she do like frying pan.

Are people just finding out that a lot of nigeria men rich and poor are egocentric,arrogant and disrespectful to women. Just because a man pays school fees,put a roof over the heads of his children, feeds and cloth his children his wife should not have any voice or question his bad actions. As if his children are not his responsibility if you do not want the responsibility please do not have them. Your wife have the right to question your bad ways.They belive they go out and come back when ever they like and have as many girl friend they can afford forgeting that they are married and not single. And you as their wife should be greatful that the girls are not brought home and that he is taking care of home as if that his not is responsibility like i said before. If you as a wife try to question his bad ways you will accused of nagging. I am one of those nigerian girls that said i must marry only nigerian man but not any more having seen what as happened to some people i know.BIG UP TO THOSE VERY FEW NIGERIAN MEN THAT TREAT THEIR WIFE LIKE A QUEEN IN MARRIAGE AND CARES ABOUT THEIR FEELING RATHER THAN TREAT THEM LIKE SLAVES.

Ade_Cool said...

Just as well some of the women here are not representative of the 9ja female population..Not in the slightest worried by the slurs..
Most African/Black women wouldn't mind being with a 9ja man..FACT!!..no one's fault we got some real bad ones amongst us..150 Million dammnit!!...but the good ones are really to die for!!..
And for the record..was never allowed to enter the kitchen at home!!
And pls what's the difference btw MOST and ALL..not much!!..njoy

The truth is beter but it has to be said sometimes.....

the truth is bitter .... complite the rest...

For those of you lazy fools who were never taught to cook because of Nigeria and their backward culture, you better watch out. No one needs a burden these days. We are in 2011 and not 1900. If you want women to help you with the bills, you better help with some house chores. If not, rat poison in your food is always an option. Good riddance to bad rubbish! No one needs a needy trophy husband that will have a woman age faster than her age.

Funke Obisanya said...

FEMI SOLOLA – INDEPENDENT MAYORAL CANDIDATE RESEPONDS to BARONESS SHREELA’ ‘ ‘LAZY NIGERIAN MEN COMMENT.

The Independent Candidate for the Mayoral Elections for 2012 – FEMI SOLOLA expresses his views regarding Baroness Shereela Flather s comment.
It was felt that it was highly inappropriate for Baroness Shreela Flather to have stated what she said on the phone in debate on polygamy in which she stated,’ Most of the men in Nigeria don’t do anything, their wives do all the work, that’s why they have so many.’ ( quoting from the Daily mail news article) given her position and her background.
It was inappropriate as not only did she label Nigerian men ( who married more than one wife ) as being Lazy but it also demeaned polygamy which many who have married more than one wife believe that they can do according to their various faiths – Question we should ask the Baroness now is : what is the motivation for the non Nigerians that have more than 4 wives? ( Arabs, Muslims etc?)
The Independent Mayoral candidate for the Mayor of London , feels that the Baroness should perhaps have placed more thought in expressing what looks like her own private view in public as clearly when we examine the matter of multiple wives closely - it is clear that it takes more effort to look after 4wives than it does to look after just the one surely everyone knows that and those that do marry more than one wife are far from being lazy.

FEMI SOLA CAMPAIGN
www.femisolola.com

Nollywood Movie Reviews said...

WOW ANONYMOUS 7:31 PM TELL EM HOW YOU REALLY FEEL!!!

lord!i cant stop laughing!why is everyone crying?baroness hasnt told a lie!the reality is MOST NIGERIAN MEN ARE LAZY GOONS!and that is the actual REASON why they are abusive towards women.
pls everyone take count.how many single men of today not 'borrow' daily from their babes?they ask as if the woman is a bank account.they not only 'borrow' money, they 'borrow' cars, 'borrow' your body and when they are through, they move to the next victim.if u unwisely marry them, then you have willingly taken up an adult burden for the rest of your life! parasites!girls pls look for other options. consider foreigners! that is the only way to make these lazy men sit up!

Anon 29 sep, 8:02Am, true talk. Let me also add this, pls our men When u marry a very hard working woman who helps with the bills (sum even take care of all the bills) pls show her some respect, appreciate her and above all be responsible. The easiest way to get the best of your wife is to always assist her with the house chores, compliment her, say thank u and make her happy then she won't mind all that she has to put up with cos a woman does not mind doing stuffs which ordinarily isn't her responsiblility but the problem starts wen she's not appreciated or her hubby isn't faithful..Meggy

I am a man, and I have a special approach to criticism. I remove the emotions, and focus on the facts contained in a criticism.

Is there any fact in what the Baroness has said? Yes. Does the statement truly apply to "most" men as she affirmed? No. Is it true that these "most" Nigerian men marry wives because they want them to do the work? Again, No.

The fact is that some men are truly lazy, particularly those in that part of our country where men tie wrappers around their waists in the morning while their wives head for the farms. But everyone knows that the number is small, and you only find this kind of a thing ONLY in that part of the country. That's the only fact in what the woman has said. Every other thing is untrue.

In actual fact, it is generally regarded as a taboo for a wife to feed the husband in Nigeria. The Baroness needs to know this. She also needs to know that most of the people who have more than one wives are Muslims and many of these wives are "forbidden" from working. In fact, the religion, I am told, requires you to marry as many wives as you can. But with a caveat - you must be able to take care of them. So, where did madam Baroness got her ideas from?

Have a great day, Linda.

The true they say is better, yes must Nigeria men are devils it is very rare to find a good Nigeria man who is really God fearing and hard working, the one that manage to get just small money he will turn his wife to a slave all in the name of man/husband my own home where i came from is even the worst, you will see a situation where a man will go to toilet is not as if there no water he will purposely leave it there without flushing the toilet instead he will call a different person to go and flush for him, he dose not take care of his family very irresponsible a wife beater i can go on and on and on!! so will you say such a person is a good Nigeria man.

Nigeria Newspapers said...

How many of our new generation men marry at all sef? mchew.

mchenrygenius said...

madam baroness na ur people lazy...no be ur people dey pay for everything even house chores 2 be done?

Yesco said...

hahaha....not all NIG men !

But you need to stroll to romance and family on nairaland to see the amt of guys that feel its ok to ask a woman for mtn credit. The amount of wives who claim they have fed, pay sch fees & cloth their hubbys for 7 yrs...i have seen many in real live too.

In my opinion there are very very hardworking Nig men and then the extremely lazy ones who live off women and some are even super stars.

So lets check ourselves or na our men...ladies hurrying to marry sha no go marry liability ..look before you leap

She's right am married to one no help around the house no help our children except to open his wide mouth and criticise. The kids are on holiday rather than pay a fee and put them in holiday club I suggested that he looked after them while I go work. He can't even do that. Open dustbin put rubbish inside he no fit all he does is wake up in the morning go work come back that's it every little thing I do from morning till night....... Oh and he sleeps with ashewos..... I regret marrying him