Newly weds, Charles and Maureen Ahize open up on their love story | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 27 September 2011

Newly weds, Charles and Maureen Ahize open up on their love story

Popular businessman, lawyer, and politician, Charles Ahize, 52, two weekends back married 25year old  ex-beauty queen (she was Miss Malaika 2005) and Insurance marketer, Maureen Emenalom in an extravagant traditional wedding which took place in the bride's home town in Mbaino LGA, Imo state.
A few days ago, the newly weds opened up on their love story to City People Mag.

How we met. Maureen Ahize:
The first time I met him was when I was 17. That was almost eight years ago. As the years rolled by, I kept bumping into him most times I came to Lagos from Owerri. I didn't grow up in Lagos, I grew up in Owerri.
Whenever we met, he would greet me and say I have refused to ask after him. I will just say hi and we go our separate ways. At first, I didn't really like him because I felt he wasn't serious and he was probably just out for fun. He is a club person. He likes to go clubbing. Whenever I was in Lagos to see my sister, at times we would go clubbing and I will see him. And I always wondered why he was in clubs.

We met again sometime last year and he began to pester me again, that he wants to date me. We got talking and he told me how much love he loved me and how he is free to date again since he had broken up with his wife. I wasn't seeing anybody at the time so I said let's start dating. I was later able to confirm that truly, he was broken up.
I found also that he's a very nice man, very sweet and caring. I didn't see any reason not to date him.
How we met: Charles Ahize:
I met my wife when she was very young. I met her as a friend, not a girlfriend. When I first met her I was married. I met one day when I was traveling. On that day I flew in an aircraft that didn't have first class so we were all in a central area and we had a political discussion. I saw this small girl contributing intelligently. She spoke very well and was very bold, very analytical. When we go to where we were going, I saw her getting her luggage and I offered to drop her where she was going.
The next time I saw her was at a ceremony and I recognized her. What actually attracted me to her was her diction, her voice and the unique way it sounds. But more importantly, her high level of intelligence. This girl is brilliant. Once you start a conversation with her, what will play out in your mind is how I wish this girl is my daughter, sister or wife because she's very sharp and clever. Because I enjoy her company alot, we became friends.
Over the years we kept bumping into each other. We kept seeing maybe once in 6months or so. Eventually my marriage ended. I met her again two months after I got separated. She came to my club, Tribeca, for an event. I challenged her that you don't ask after your friends. She said can I tell you the truth? I don't like to keep friendship with married men. I then told her I was no longer married, that my marriage had crashed. She said okay I should give her sometime to think about it. She also said I needed time to take care of my crashed marriage, that I need time to tidy up myself. She took her time to investigate that I was truly single again. We began to see then I began to see that spiritually we had a connection.
It began to play out. I then realized the humility in her in accepting a job as an insurance marketer. She didn't say it was belittling of her to be a marketer which exposes her to all sorts of danger. I could see a girl that actually has a focus. My marriage to her is not only to have a wife, I also want to help build heer up because she a focus and also help her realise her dreams.

66 comments:

Bee said...

Pssssst nonsense!!!!

"a plane that did not have first class"....who cares.Go and brag somewhere else

doll (retired blogger) said...

I laugh in igbo! Happy married life.

Mschewwwwww, maureen no dey friend married man! Jangoooooo! I wish them d best all d same. Na two of them sabi.

VJ said...

I believe life is all about politics, if the man had no money the the girl would have said, old fool! And her parents will contribute in chasing him away.
But now that there is money who cares, the story now is e no matter age na number!
If he makes you happy then i wish you all the best in the world!!!

ok seen

Elenu razor! said...

Yawns

Boring
Ill say it again
Make sure youre his last wife!

Lol...wat a story•••jst hpe dey last!!

LMAO! SO I GUESS HE WANTS TO BE HER DADDY :). HOW CUTE AND NAUSEATING AT THE SAME TIME LOL! HOPEFULLY HE LEARNED FROM THE CRASHED MARRIAGE AND THIS ONE WONT CRASH AS WELL LOL!

52???...wat a story•••jst hpe dey last!!

Linda this story is total crap. He has money to spend and she needs money story don end. Pls next!

1976AD.com said...

Good for them. He likes jail bait, she likes old men.

All this one that they did not see each other before his marriage crashed is BS.

As for him letting us know that he flew in an aircraft that did not have first class, who really cares?

SMH

This interview was just awkward. Yikes! Anyway, all the best to them.

Agbaya. Now she's in the house,u can go and start grooming another 17yr old.Agbaya. Now she's in the house,u can go and start grooming another 17yr old.

chi chi said...

hmn. interesting.

Do we need an explanation?

Crap! Maureen is a dirty husband snatcher. Why can't women just leave other people's husbands alone?

Eniola Temitayo Oluseun said...

getting married to a divorcee?????????/*smh* dats a sin of adultery and God is nt in support of divorce...wat makes u thnk wat happened in his last marriage wont happen to u too..we ladies need to think well b4 saying i do to any man

Amaka's Notepad said...

Awww,sweet story (hopefully its true). Wish them the very best

yellow chick said...

On your marks, get set, gooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo

why did they bother with a story? Duuude!

sakara said...

Mr Charles listem to urself "Once you start a conversation with her, what will play out in your mind is how I wish this girl is my daughter, sister or wife because she's very sharp and clever" haba so u agree u r old enough to be her father...na wa o...is this love or infatuation?..i wish u both well

Mebomebo said...

all i want to know is how she managed to keep her face frozen in that expression in all the photos I have seen on them..That same expression, no change..Botox or?

just ameboing o

watever!!!

Seriously...

Story Story...Story!
Once upon a time...Time Time!

"i dont like to keep friendship with married men" tell that to the dogs on the streets. hiss

abisola said...

what is belittling (sp) in being a marketer? nonsense.spoil jobs for some pple u hear?hisssssss.

anyway back to ur love story......she's 25,u are 52 abi?do u know she's old enuff to be ur daughter?or u just sha want a young blood that will keep u looking younger than ur age.and do u know one thing about marrying someone a lot younger than u is that u struggle real hard to come down to her level.u have to come down to d level of a 25 yr old girl to relate with her and her friends.don't expect her to come up to ur own level.it's not possible.cos she is not in her 50s yet so she wont understand d level of a 50 yr old man.
i wish both of u luck and God's guidance.......erm,Mr aHIZE,I THOT THEY SAID U HAVE BEEN MARRIED TWICE OR THRICE?

who cares.... rubbish

Nice article..wish them the very best of luck.Btw..i am waiting for the trolls and haters to commence firing their missives.

TT said...

THANK U MR CAREER BUILDER TAKE GUD CARE OF MY SIS O

ANGELFEYEE said...

yimu :D

When they met.. he waz 42 and she waz 17.... hummm.. Na wa for Nigerian men o... smh

awww!!!! so romantic!!! mtcheeeewwwwwwwwww!!! waka!!!!

is it just my thinking faculty?I see this as total child molestation or adult irresponsibility. Jeez,dey hav 27years gap btwn em and dey bragging abt it in public... nonsense!

Et

So all in all she started dating him before she confirmed he was no longer with the wife....hmmm. Sounds like you didnt care much if the man was lying or telling the truth. I feel you sha, naija and owerri is not easy. A lot of hardship in the land.

Abegiii!!!! Make them leave tori for Thomas. na sooo! constantly bumping into themselves every 6 mnths.*yimu* Pschewwwwwwwwwww!

Who are they deceiving but themselves. Adulterers.

You were "friends" with a girl of 17years and it continued for 8 years ( iam very happy for you). My daughte rwill come and temm me a man more thn twice her age is her friend and i will not be afraid.

You say u dont want to be his friend again as yu were not comfortable, how will you be comfortable.. when ur hands r dirty...

aaabbeeeeeggggg Please call a spade a spade, move n with you lives but dont try to deceive anyone as you will only end up sounding stupid.

"Over the years we kept bumping into each other". Im sure you were. Dirty ppl

i dnt know them, but i wish them the best. They both actually want the best for each other..

But those he has kids? 2 months after divorce and found a gf already...??
goodluck 2 em!!

ok now,,,nawa o,,,,its not a little sumtin,,,,,like reallly.....lmfao.......and they lived happily ever after......

Wonder, wonder wonder wonderer, till she turned to wonderer..story, all this M&B stories

OMG! Typical egoistic man...does he have to mention that he was flying in an aircraft that had no first class??? SMH Who cares?? Tony Blair as Prime minister of the UK flew commercial all the time! Mtschewwwww!!!

kelly O. said...

long hiss!! glorified pedophilia at its best!!

Totally disgusted @ i flew in an aircraft that does not have first class....the comment is totally out of context.Who asked him? Is he better than people that fly cabin? Old man reasoning like a child.God help him!

Buzzer! said...

Utter Crap!!! This 2 stories sound so rehearsed. They have both (shamelessly) agreed what they will tell the public was how they met. But seriously, who cares? You are both married now, keep the cinderella stories to urselves. Well,next time, baba Ahize, if u enter a plane that does not have 1st class cabin, u can ask the pilot to shift for u in the cockpit as it will be 'belittling' of u to sit in the central area.
Agadi ekwe nka! mschewww
17yr old girl? you are shameless
(you guys can now officailly 'bump into urselves' everyday and not once evry 6months like u have been doing for 8yrs)

camouflage said...

The first thing i thought of doing when i saw this post was to lol
''...I saw this small girl contributing intelligently....''
Hmmn did i hear the paedo alert go off? anyways happy married life oo before some anon call me a Hater!

truth said...

Not hating but this "he said, she said" article is just weird and funny. Infact I laugh in Japanese.

The part that got me was when he said she's the kind of girl you'll want as your daughter, sister or wife....Mr man, of all the relations mentioned, the most sensible role she could play to you was wife??? lol..not daughter??

Oh well, all the best with this hook up.

* Now laughing in Igbo*

lmao.. First of she insinuates that she's 25? hahahahaha.. Then comes the grammar.. Oh my! lmao.. How much love he loved you? he was broken up? Mind=Blown.. lol.. And then comes the dude.. "I flew in an aircraft that didn't have first class?" I mean who gives a fuck!

SHE LOOKS OLDER THAN HIM SO IGUESS THEY COMPLIMENT EACH OTHER LOL

key sentence here is "We met again sometime last year and he began to pester me AGAIN".. She said "AGAIN" meaning he had been pestering her even while he was married. Case closed...

Dame T said...

Not really in support of their union,but Maumau is really nice and has a good heart,she was also very smart in school,atleast i know she was one of the smartest we had in GPD .I just hope her friend Jessica Ngozi will be able to find an old man too,because that one nah certified ashawo,ABA BROUGHT UP!!Maumau couldnt have gotten a better husband lets face it,she already lived a reckless life so all that should matter to her now is wealth not love.I like maureen really i do,but nne eh the kind life wey she live eh :/Charly your own case is still pending,''ihe ojoo niile imere ka n'eche gi''I really did like ur calabar wife,werent you the one who often bragged to my hubby abt how good she was???Well sha i know you and i know maureen personally,and i wish you both the best,just be sure God will not punish you both.

Pls tell that man and his wife to go back to school....they both need English classes. ENC 1101. Who cares if he flies 1st class or not...bull crap.

Sry meant ENC 001 beginners English.

na una know o....i am 37 and unmarried right now all i am doing in uk is to make as much money as i can then look for a beyonce look alike who is not more than 24 that i can spend my money on in nigeria in a couple of years time if anyone doesn't like our age difference let them match me naira for naira or go pray for brt lane.
the man wants a beautiful girl and he has money to trade the girl wants money and she has beauy and her youth to trade so why begrudge the two of them

I'm sorry but the girl doesn't look like a 25 year old... She looks wayyyyyyyyy older than that....

enough 40years+ igbo businessmen have been marrying young 20yr old fresh graduates for ages now. So why is there much ado about this couple?
what is the difference abeg? 50 to 25; 45 to 21 ..... all na the same.
maybe the only difference is that for the 45 year old man, that's his only marriage while Mr Ahize has been married how many times?

i am 25 and my dad is not even 50 yet. talk about perversion. and diction? yeah i really heard some diction in both your words. in your not-so -properly constructed sentences. and that girl looks nothing like my age mate. she looks early 30's. Maureen honey, get ready you've got urs coming.

Hmmm....@ Anon 7.08, u said it all.Case closed!!!LOL.

pedophiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiile!!!!!
shameless agadi ekwe nkwa preying on younger girls to validate their low self esteem................repent from lust, and whoremongery for the kingdom of God is at hand!!!!!

@Buzzer #GBAM. U spoke my mind. Very well rehearsed. The truth is they have been dating since then secretly! Stupid pple.

CLF said...

At 17, even a guy of 21 was old for me. I was looking at guys my age and a maximum of 19! It's obvious she's had a hard life at 25. Look at how hard she looks.
Charley Akpuruka has never confessed to be big on grammar. He thinks with his money he can walk into any place. A sad state of affairs.

of course the whole world knows maureen is in her mid 30s she only cut down her age for the beauty pageant. and to you maureen, expect your younger wife soon cos ahize has already started the relationship. what goes around will definitely come around.

OMG! THIS IS HILARIOUS...PITY THE OUTCOME, ENJOY WHILST LAST. I HOPE THE NEXT HUSBAND OR SUGAR BOY IS NOT ANYWHERE WAITING TO TAKE CHARGE OF MAUREEN

They are connected by numbers especially in the reverse....lol. Babe's run turned lottery.....

Y'all are haters, let them folks alone and let them figure out how to make this work. She's a woman and he's a man period, as long as she's not under age. Everybody's using everybody in this world no matter the circumstance. I wish them all the best from the bottom of my heart. the girls are mad 'cos they missed out and the guys are jealous 'cos Mr. C got something something. life's too short to be hating. y'all take a flying you what to the moon and leave them the hell alone.

charles, let me tell u the truth. your wife maureen is going to look for another guy else where because your older than her, or don't u know that ur older than her, chsrles,ur old to be her father am sorry for u.let me tell u, u must bear the consqence