Man beats wife to a pulp; claims she came at him with a knife | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 25 September 2011

Man beats wife to a pulp; claims she came at him with a knife

Her name is Eunice Becker Okwueto, a mother of two, and her husband Emmanuel Okwueto beat her so bad she sustained severe injuries to the head, lacerations, and a dislocated jaw. She is currently undergoing treatment. The husband claims she came at him with a hammer and knife and he also has a broken arm, cuts and bruises which he received from her on the day of the fight.

Read the woman's version of what led to the beating here and the husband's version here

27 comments:

Latest september cheatcode said...

This is really a action that requires greater power,what has lead to nigeria men showing some stupid power over women?
First it's rape,then acid,now it's been beaten to gulp!some one should put a stop to this.

gistceleb said...

mayb he he did it cos she's ugly,lol

Now they will say one is tribalist!. Ibo people, please stop behaving like wild animals. Thanks.

I wonder what Amara will say to this? Afterall she is married.

@ Anonymous 11:38 pm

Maybe Igbo Women are more outspoken about abuse than women of other tribes?

Because I constantly see some F'ed up shit going on in many Nigerian marriages/relationships, regardless of tribe.

Trust.

Emmy P just popped a Tram said...

This fools don come again o. @Anon 11.38pm, Arowolo that butchered his wife is an Ibo man abi? Stupid idiot!

What kind of man will beat his wife 2 dis extent,didn't he pay her bride price?were is the "love" he had for her before they get married,nobody can do my sister like dis and go scot free sha.er bride price?were is the "love" he had for her before they get married,nobody can do my sister like dis and go scot free sha.

@gistceleb You are a BIG FOOL!!!!

camouflage said...

God forbid oo! This is wickedness! let her run away from this man and get a restraining order or sth! This is the height of disrespect!
@anon 11:38pm: Pls leave ibo people out of this abeg! stop the stereotype!geez
@gistceleb: all i can say is wow!

Abi o...because of what the likes of Amara thinks...women are to put up with this kind of animalistic treatment so Amara, our resident writer, will not say its their fault they are still single. it is well. sit there, and die and let the man kill you cos Amara will castigate you for not having a hsuband at 30. obviously, been beaten to a pulp is a lot more stigmatizing than being single with a good career...na by force to be perosn wife o.

Such a shame, there is likely no place of refuge for victims of domestic violence and she may end up going back to live with that animal.
So much work to be done, so many antagonising/ negative forces starting from the goverment down to her fellow women folk.
God will make a way...............

@ anonymous 11.38

Arowolo that killed his wife is an ibo man abi ?
n ibo man abi ?

MY NAIJA LIFESTYLE said...

Jesus have mercy!!! did dis pple wed in church? did dey say vows? did dey know d meaning & implications of takin a vow in d presence the Almighty God? did dey know its beta not 2 make a vow to God at all dan to make 1 & not stick by it?

families make up d world, d devil is really running out of time & wudnt take a break.
all man gats watch & pray o!

At the anonymous that said "Now they will say one is tribalist!. Ibo people, please stop behaving like wild animals. Thanks." Why should you make such generalization on all Ibos as behaving "like wild animals?" Please, mind your language o jare! It is not all Ibos that behave like wild animals sogbo! As for the man that beats his wife to a pulp, what century do you still live in? No wonder you are being likened to a wild animal! Nonsense!

OMG I knw dis girl oooooo Father In God Gosh!!! We were on camp togeda in Kaduna. Witout mincing word am not suprised she ended up like dis. τ̲̅ђe girl was sooo promiscious, lousy, rebellious and everytin bad on camp! She flirted wit almost all d boys $ soilders on camp and she was sooooo NOTORIOUS! Every1 knew she was married τ̲̅ȍ a German den on camp and we all knew she had 2degrees. τ̲̅ђe girl was such a dirty local bragger! Twas soo obvious she just just a village girl who hammered one German Mugu like dis! So pls dont be too quick in jugdin d man on dis! τ̲̅ђe Girl is not particularly a good person Sam Sam! Anybody that was on BLACK gold camp 2009 set can testify τ̲̅ȍ dis too!

My cousin told me of her friend. She said his sister was married to a medical doctor and everytime he called her, she was always crying and everytime he asked for the reason. She always said it was her husband that keeps beating her for the slightest of reasons. One day, he called as usual to ask how she was doing and she was crying again. The only difference this time was that he could hear the man yelling at the background. He got so angry that he that resides in Lagos, arranged some hoodlums in Benin, where his sister resides to take care of her husband. The hoodlums paid them a visit one night and beat the living daylights out of this man. He was admitted and informed the police that led to the arrest of his wife's brother. All the police did was to ask the men (hoodlums and brother) if they committed the crime continuously. When they kept denying and saying NO the police set them FREE. Now the doctor dare not touch his wife because of the fear of the repercussions and for the fact that his attackers are still out there roaming the streets free. So women, we have no JUSTICE SYSTEM. We're living in the WILD WILD WEST. The quicker we realise that and take hold of our fate. The better for us. If a man or a boy dehumanises you then its only fair to make him feel like a sub-human since there aren't any laws protecting you.

*ajalahtravel*

All those of you shouting Arowolo, please spare me.Do you need me to start counting the atrocities carried out by our Ibo brothers in recent time? Even Ibo girl are at it too, I don't know why Linda hasn't published the Ngozi Ademoye story, who killed her husband for money.

If people are still in denial about problems they have, how will it ever get sorted? No tribe is perfect, everyone has some particular culture/habit that needs to be worked on. So please, stop arguing blindly, and stop behaving in a barbaric manner. Period.

Just like Mercy Johnson's case. There is more than meets the eye in this story.
I read the woman's account on facebook. Also read both tha man and the woman's interview on the links provided.
Won't say it is a case of two fighting (i wan't there), but let's not again get carried away by picture of swollen faces like we did in the Ambasador to Kenya's case.
Let the story unfold. BTW, am I the only one who did not know about www.mercyjohnson.com?

C'bone said...

As a guy myself, I don't see any reason to get married to a woman cos u just bring trouble to oneself. Jesus and apostle Paul didn't marry and they lived happy till date.so I advocate for independence for both man and woman.men stay alone and women stay the fuck away from men..life will be better for us all...only that marriage was instituted by God and we have to abide by it , if not , nothing sweet to marry woman.As a guy myself, I don't see any reason to get married to a woman cos u just bring trouble to oneself. Jesus and apostle Paul didn't marry and they lived happy till date.so I advocate for independence for both man and woman.men stay alone and women stay the fuck away from men..life will be better for us all...only that marriage was instituted by God and we have to abide by it , if not , nothing sweet to marry woman.

Don't worry folks - Amara says that its the woman's fault and that she should go back to her husband so that he can finally kill her.

Arrant nonsense, I thank God I have dual nationality and was able to leave Nigeria and my abusive husband. Chei and his people kept telling me to endure "he is your husband".

To be honest I didn't even know about domestic violence until i lived in Nigeria - did my father beat me or my mother - NO!!!

I PITY SO MANY WOMEN IN NIGERIA WHO HAVE TO LIVE IN A MARRIAGE EQUAL TO HELL FIRE.

One cannot even begin to believe the terror you feel when you are in this type of marriage and this women has sons - please this woman should leave her husband abeg - you do not want your sons to beat their own wives in future.

smart said...

Now this is no preaching, but then ppl shld stop judging without knwing the truth.when there's a fight b/w a couple, dont always conclude that d side effects of it or d product of the fight in terms of assault comes from the guy.Let us all be wise.be quickened to hear and slow to respond.Some ladies are worse than wild fire in their rlships.
where a circumstance is uncertain, it takes wisdom to pass judgements.
As for the guy in questn,U dont have to wait until u 're provoked this much b4 u let it out, let some ppl in ur families knw abt ur situation, or ur pastor.' Oruko rere san ju wura ati fadaka lo' Good name is better of than silver and gold.
U need wisdom to live with a woman succesfully.No one might beliv ur story, only God knws d truth.
To all singles here on this blog who judge baselessly, U dont have to wait until u fall victim b4 u learn.this is a warning, be wise whle choosing,u might be judged in future in th same situation u judge today...............wise saying !!

yellow chick said...

You see, when Amara was talking about women that are living "big" nobody tried to hear her out. And please i am not in any way justifying what d goat of a man did to his wife. but when you become breadwinner (contrary to what Gods word says) and then have the effontery to taunt him about it....things like this happen.

What on earth was she discussing with his lecturer that made her give out such sensitive information. Then she "jokingly" packed his clothes. What kind of daft joke is that???? is this not the attitude Amara was talking about again.

this woman we r talking about hre will not be the first neither will she be the last to be a breadwinner but what im saying is never use it to taunt a man. Some issues are best avoided but if you find yourself earning more than your hubby really you need \gods grace to remain submissive. there are so many women that hold the family together when their husband is down yet they do not taunt him with it.

DISCLAIMER oooooo i do not support what her husband did, neither do i support Amaras article in its entirety,but she had some home truths there.

Gist celeb surely you were born by a retarded baboon

Gistceleb, I need a quick favour. Pinch yourself and tell me if you feel anything. I just want to make sure you are human. How can you find something like this funny?

@gistceleb ODE. She looks like that cos she got beaten. Although not to a pulp. Linda you haven't seen what real beating to a pulp is. You will fear.

Ade_Cool said...

Can't phantom Men who beat a woman..I mean where do you hit??..their body is sensitive all over..poor thang!!..hope that March is going...full steam ahead and not some PR Coup!!

Dont mind this untrained woman she have no respect for her husband, here the rubbish she says that marriage is nothing jus becos she is rude. Go and marry your educational qualification and your money by flirting around with men, yeye woman na u wan start to marry man wey never get work? after all he is in school. shameless thing, you marry oyinbo you no fit stay d marriage bcos of your stubborness, now you see naija man wey manage you, you still dey misbehave. Go for deliverance you dey posses.