Lagos state shuts DSTV Office over unpaid N150 million tax | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 8 September 2011

Lagos state shuts DSTV Office over unpaid N150 million tax

The Lagos State Government on Tuesday, shut down the head office of Multi Choice, Nigeria, owners of DSTV Cable Television over unremitted tax of about N150 million.

The News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reports that the office was shut down by officials of the Lagos State Internal Revenue Service (LIRS), after the organisation failed to remit the money to the government.

Special Adviser to the Lagos state governor on Taxation and Revenue, Bola Shodipo who confirmed the closure said that the action was carried out to make the outfit fulfill its obligation to the government.
Mr Shodipo who expressed displeasure at the rampant indebtedness of organisations in taxes said the practice was undermining the revenue generation drive of the government.

He said the State Government would pursue companies who failed to voluntarily honour the payment of their tax bills, to make them comply.

The Special Assistant, however, said that discussions were going on between the government and officials of Multi Choice over the issue, saying the government might consider early re-opening of the office if the tax was remitted.

NAN via 234next

22 comments:

Can they try this in S.A, when coys come to Nigeria, they'll start acting up. They must pay every dime after all they just increased their subscription fee.LIRS should not relent o

Good thing they've been shut down. They come to Nigeria and not pay taxes and always get away with it. They will never do that in South Africa.

the white enchantress said...

for starters, this tax officers are very stupid and my reason is, every company has a tax officer remitted to it so how come the officer never knew they didnt pay their tax for long? it means the tax officer has been collecting some bribe and keeping silent. so in my opinion, the tax officer should be seriously penalized.

secondly, lagos state govt ur rubbish is really getting out of hand inclusive of ur illiterate officers who you have tried so hard to remodel but a pig is always a pig.am very sure that dstv have being paying and might not even owe up to what they claim they are owing.wheneva lagos state officials go dry in their pockets or the devil decides to use them, they just pick on any company or individual randomly and start harassing them.

finally, fasola in as much as we like ur positive endeavours towards lagos state, we will also appreciate you thread gently because as soon as another city starts rising just like lagos, we all will abandon lagos for you and ur illiterate urchins.

Surprise said...

It serves them right. What have they been doing with the taxes? Infact, they should pay with interest at the ruling market rate + X, where X is the number of years that they have held the taxes without remitting.

They are only interested in increasing their subscription yearly. Govt. should close all their other offices in Lagos so that they will feel the effect.

Good. tired of all these foreign theieves. Naija should tighten up although they should have come hard on them sooner, hopefully they wont get away with what they owe.

Dani

Linda, this information is very false. DSTV doesn't owe any back taxes. LIRS was being used by a well placed individual with an axe to grind with DSTV when they discovered his fraud and shut down his business with them. LIRS arrived at Multichoice offices at about 2:30 and at 3pm, they tried to shut them down. They were successful for about 30 minutes,but they showed proof that they paid their taxes and were reopened before the close of the business day at 5pm. Its so sad that a large employer in the state of Lagos can experience harassment to this level.

On a different note, shutting down a business is NOT the way to get a tax debt cleared, just like seizing a car is not the way to restore law & order on the roads. Everything mustn't result in excessive force and gross abuse of power.

it was a mere misunderstanding. they were only locked out for a few hours and everything was back to normal. DSTV ommitted sth in thier papers. which was later sorted out within 24hrs.

You should be happy for the S.Africans if not for them you would have been stuck in the era of daddy shokey and them....they opened the media up to view international media, which is very influential in our todays society Likes of beyonce and oprah. so stop hating on the SAfricans... Tell your Nigerians to step thier GAME UP and create better CONTENT!! :D

Disclaimer: I am not a South African, I am a Nigerian who doesnt hate on peoples hustle.

Peace out!!!

jae1 said...

@jen..whats with all d venom? its either u dont pay ur tax and have been a victim or u r south african lmao. either way na u sabi. thumbs up to LIRS jare, let them catch more of them!

the white enchantress said...

@ jae1.......... point of correction i have no venom against anyone. am stating my view bc it has become increasingly embarrassing what this lagos state officials do on daily basis to people. i bet you work with them thats why u see my words as venom bc if not, am sure you wld have experienced one or two harrassment from then.

and i will still say it, they are illiterate urchins no matter how hard de try to appear(if you are one of dem then sorry for you).

anon 9:58 n 10:10... thanx for what you said. you know we have forgotn so soon how forward we are now thanks to dstv bc left for HITV et al,we would be suffering d same mishap we are experiencing with NEPA n NITEL n NIPOST.

i am not supporting them FYI, my sister works there, i should be dancing like you KILL-JOY who rejoice at anyone's slightest mishap. i hope and pray you run a business in lagos, a prospering one so by the time you go thru the hands of this officials, then you would know where the shoe pinches. mschewwwww onye ara. ara egbagbu kwe, venom my fat ass. better read and understand things before blabbing or picking on anyone.

Polar Bear Attacks Drunk Woman said...

Shutting down a business that does not pay taxes is an acceptable way to go.

If the law of the land is that taxes must be paid, then they must be paid.

Screw BOTH OF 'EM...

@ jen, i hope your life is not as sad as your comment.

"You should be happy for the S.Africans if not for them you would have been stuck in the era of daddy shokey and them....they opened the media up to view international media, which is very influential in our todays society Likes of beyonce and oprah. so stop hating on the SAfricans... Tell your Nigerians to step thier GAME UP and create better CONTENT!!"
The Fool that wrote the abve statement is a Paid Agent of the South-African Tax Evading Company called Multi-Choice. He is known to us.Nigerians who pay their taxes promptly are advised to disregard him as he is only going about his paid duties. A nigerian company in Jo'bourg will not even think of evading one Rand to their hostile government before they are closed down and arrested.

highly doubt they would be that careless and not pay taxes.

Hello Kitty said...

they are all bloody thieves!!! they should shut it down and revoke their licence. maybe if we all had to depend on NTA for news and entertainment, they will step up their game. Rubbish pple. upon their constantly escalating subsription prices, they cant pay their tax! they make majority of their profits from Nigeria amd yet they will export all their capital back to SA. and be doing bonanzas that are open to SA residents only. bloody piss takers. they should shut them down for one month, maybe then their eyes will clear. Mcsheeeew.

Why should they be owing, with all the money they make on subscriptions?

did any of you read any other comments on how it was a mistake/personal vendetta? na wa sha. Nigerians quick with bad belle

sleekreek said...

@Jen........u sound so aggressive and bitter.......are u OK???pls get a life for uself....

stingy Mofos! they never waste time in cutting u off at the end of the month! fashola can throw their key away! pls MTN too.

@jen u can like to shut the fuck up abt fashola. If they av being paying bribes they can as well pay their tax. no illiterate forced them to pay bribe! If they paid tax no one will harras them.

HATER said...

concur with jen.

WeeFree said...

I hope you all will support the LIRS crooks/extortionists when the come calling on each one of you.
And if DSTV ever leaves it's back to AIT/STV and endless local talk shows for you all.