"I don't believe in mariage" - Seun Anikulapo - Kuti | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 6 September 2011

"I don't believe in mariage" - Seun Anikulapo - Kuti

"I don;t believe in the institution of marriage because marriage is a piece of paper. People marry and divorce every day as if it means nothing. People only get married these days to appease societal values, to please family members or to get political post. I think marriage in the modern sense of the word has lost it's traditional integrity. Married men and women are flirting all over the place, what then is the point? Why are you saying you are married? Just remain single and flirt around. Marriage is not in my agenda at all." - Seun Kuti

You agree with him?

45 comments:

Who cares about what this 2 year old has to say? Mschewww....

GO AND MAKE A DiFFRENCE GUY

Omo ti ekun babi ni ekun njo!

I agree.

100 PERCENT I AGREE WITH HIM.HE IS THE TRUE SON OF ABAMI EDA.

HATER said...

funny enough he speaks the truth!
remove the flirting around, and it would perfecto!

Dee dee said...

His statement is neither surprising nor unfounded. There are lots of married people making a mockery of marriage and shagging around like there's no tomorrow. When you ask the guys they'll say it's their nature to cheat. When you ask the women, they'll come up with an equally lame answer. And then we have the single girls chasing after married men for their own selfish reasons.

Very true marriage is trash

LadyNgo said...

Just because there are people that don't respect the sanctity of marriage doesn't mean there is no point in being married. Yes i agree that a lot of people get married for the wrong reasons but that is more a reflection of the person than of marriage itself.

If the issue concern him, let him marry the right way and set a proper example for these other ppl to follow!

some how is the truth, but what we have to do is to go back to the tradition. marriage is till death do u apart

dis igbo wen u smoke make sense small shaa...First time wen d guy mke sense to me

Et Voila

Alicia says...said... said...

its in the blood oo! iranu

Pics from the 2011 West Indian Parade said...

Good for him.

Tess said...

Of course my son, of course. I would have been surprised if you had said anything contrary to this.
Wetin snake born must get loooooooong tail. Na woman wey no get self respect go even look your way

like father like son..some ppl just want the cop out. They sell their souls and sleep with as many
women /men as possible without commitments..it is the devil's way of terminating one's destiny

Like father like son. HIV/AIDS is REAL.

I agree with him well, well. Besides, with the way alot of married and single Nigerians are cheating and sleeping about, fear dey catch me make person no catch AIDS virus for body!

Marriage is not a tradition as this guy put it. It is something God askes use to do to avoid fornication. He made a silly comment. If he doesn't want to marry let that be he's business. No need to defame the joys of marriage. Some people do have happy married life, which is cheating free! Unserious guy.

Smh4real said...

To be honest, he speaks some homegrown TRUTH! E YE TAN ARA YIN! What ever makes u happy boo.. Marriage has lost its value! PERIOD!

CHARLES said...

Omo Baba, you are very very right, you said the truth like your father but we have to try it OK.

Jay O said...

To start with he's Fela's son, so look at what he was raised with, what he had around him, and still does. He is a product of his environment, so why on earth will I pay attention to his word, when I grew up in a completely different environment.

I'm happily married, and thats all that matters to me. Make everyone answer dia own papa's name, as Igbos say. "Ka mmadu ncha za aha nna ha"

We all look at marriage from different angles. His father was not exactly a good role model for marriage...so pls tell me something new COS THIS IS NOT NEWS!

it think he's gay joor!!!! what a lame excuse........mtchewwwwwwwwwww.

Sycophants!!! Some married women are even more useless than the single ones,so I support him 100percent

Cynic said...

IMHO, marriage as we know it is extinct - if you disagree, please get married and leave Seun alone.

Frankly, asides procreation (which can easily be acheived with a baby-mama - or more), there are few pros on getting married for Men in 2011+.

100% YES!!!

THE GUY'S STATEMENT MAKES A LOT OF SENSE.

IT IS A SHADE OF TRUTH. EITHER YOU LIKE OR DON'T HIS FACE, MUSIC, FATHER, PHILOSOPHY ETC, TRUTH IS TRUTH.

The dude is so fcuking right! D married couples aint laying good exaples for the ones single so why join them?

Femillionaire said...

Can't say I disagree with him and can't say I agree with him either... What I will say is that marriage is not for everybody. Just do whatever works for you...

Somebody don thief alicia name

*ajalahtravel*

Nonye said...

Overplayed debate!!! Who even asked his opinion? Abeg he should find another soapbox. this one has been overdone. Next!!!!

hehehehe!!! everybody agreeng wiv him or lyk him re truthfully just in miserable relationships or marriages.....bt i tank God..i wnt eva talk lyk u again coz am enjoyin my marriage lyk dere is no 2moro!

how is it your business.
stick to screwing David Mark's daughter.you hypocrite.

Zany said...

this guy is an unbeliever n so he dosen't understand wat it means to be married.....

"wat u believe in comes to u" if u believe u will ave a good marriage den u will if u believe odawise its up to.....

as for moi i strongly believe in long lasting, cheating free, flirting free, love forever marriage n dats wat am getn...

i served in kebbi wit one of their blood n i tell u she was potraying their acts in that state alwas smoking, drinking flirting arnd wit numerous guys even soldiers....so am not surprised at all

teh guy is contradicting himself. In one breath he says he doesnt believe in marriage; in another he complains about the institution of marriage losing its traditional integrity. Unless he is saying he doesnt believ in modern marriages then he needs to re-think his argument and come up with a more logical rationale. Besides the concept of a "common law wife" is recognizable under law irrespective of the lack of a formal ceremony

to each his own abeg.

Tunmama said...

i agree. its very sad tho. we are even worse than the western world. at least they take being faithful seriously and once you are caught cheating it becomes a serious issue. unlike here. smh.

I agree with Tunmama, nigerians are divorcing and remarrying already married individuals at a drop of a hat! KMT!!! Naija is full of churches yet people dont understand the meaning of marriage! What a disgrace! The divorce rate in Nigeria will soon exceeded the divorce rate in Europe! If one knows they cant keep it in their pants or knickers marriage is not the cure...Jesus is!

tell your husband before hand dat if he cheats on u, u will cheat back n when he does just behave like you dnt care, and go about your daily duties even if u dnt cheat back on him or you do, and see how it turns out. dats d best way, this saved my marriage.

ChiChiLuv said...

Somebody should tell Seun Kuti to live his life based on his own principles and not based on how others live their lives. If you cannot make a commitment to one woman then say so and stop blaming it on other people who are married but straying because that's their life not yours!

Seun, how about looking at the people who do have happy marriages? How about using those example in your life instead of picking on the bad ones to enforce what you never had in mind to do in the first place?

Abeg, go and have this discussion with people wey no get swiss cheese brain for head, jare!

My parents broke up when I was 1 year old, did I let the fact that their marriage didn't work prevent me from making a commitment to my husband and subsequently having my own children? No! Because I refuse to let their reality cloud mine.

Femillionaire said...

Linda, found a story which I think is tailor-made for your blog... Still chuckling... www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2033972/Jean-Louis-B-pays-9-000-damages-lack-sex-marriage.html
for your blog... Still chuckling... www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2033972/Jean-Louis-B-pays-9-000-damages-lack-sex-marriage.html

AND AM I SUPPOSED TO TAKE ADVISE FROM A COCAINE/WEED SMOKER? HIIDDDDIIIOOOOTTTT..

vivian said...

you are wrong dude, look at the real sense of marriage.after all every thing has advantage and disadvantage. since you know that flirting in marriage is not good then do what is right.

LucidLilith said...

Is it that bad in naija?

Like father, like son. You don't believe in the institution of marriage but believe in sleeping with different women, having several children, which might eventually lead to a deadly disease that might have killed your father.

How cool is that?