Africa's First female Nobel Peace Prize Winner Wangari Maathai dies | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 27 September 2011

Africa's First female Nobel Peace Prize Winner Wangari Maathai dies

Professor Wangari Maathai, a foremost Kenya enviroronmental and political activist, has passed away. She died on Sunday September 25 2011 after a prolonged battle with cancer. She was 71.

In 2004, she became the first African woman to receive the Nobel Peace Prize for her contribution to sustainable development, democracy and peace. May her soul rest in peace...amen.

7 comments:

chizzy jeremiah said...

linda its not 2001,but 2011,pls take note

PoLyMaT said...

Pitifuli d woman who got 2 give AROMA d 10million naira question in who wants 2 b a millionaire kicks d bucket...hope oda naija women can emulate her style..

RIP in Peace Maathai. You are a rare gem, a special one and we pray for more like you in Africa.

Ada said...

Oh noooo such a shock probably cos i wasnt always following her story constantly...definitely a big loss to Africa n its Women...May her soul find eternal rest in the bossom of d lord...

Ade_Cool said...

One of the few deserving Nobel Peace Prize recipients..

I hope that Kenya carries her torch. I will do my best. She was an amazing woman. #RIPWangari

CLF said...

Fantastic lady. Her legacy lives on and may she RIP. Amen.