Suicide Bomber Shot Dead At Police Headquarters In Maiduguri, Borno State | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 16 August 2011

Suicide Bomber Shot Dead At Police Headquarters In Maiduguri, Borno State

Threats by the Boko Haram sect to bomb the Nigerian Police headquarters in Maiduguri, Borno State collapsed yesterday after a man who crashed his bomb laden vehicle through the gates of the command headquarters was shot dead.

The attempted bomb attack programmed to inflict maximum damage happened shortly before the commencement of the screening of cadet Police officers at the same venue scheduled for yesterday. The Boko Haram sect it was learnt had sent out threat SMS to the Police command that it was going to frustrate yesterday's screening exercise.

Among the instruments of death recovered from the car were 6 Gas cylinders of 13.6KG weight with its wirings, 1 Air Conditioner Gas Cylinder and two 25 litre Jerry-Cans of fuel. Other items were 1 tin of ABRO Can of 5 B litre Volume of chemicals and 1 Acid Orange Drum of 28KG weight.
The Commissioner of Police in Borno State, Mr. Simeon Midenda relieved that the incident provoked no loss of life on the part of the Police nevertheless traced the Police interception of the bomber to prior intelligence on an expected attack.

State Commissioner of Police, Mr. Midenda said that the command had sometime last week received a threat message that the Cadet Police Officers screening exercise scheduled to commence yesterday would be disrupted by a faceless group.

The threat he said informed the Command to beef up security at all police formations in the troubled city.
He explained that at about 12:15pm, a man aged about 25 years gate crashed into the police Headquarters in an ash coloured Honda Accord Saloon Car, with registration number AP 851 ABJ, knocking down policemen at the Main gate and headed towards the Main Building.

CP Midenda stressed that, this alerted the armed policemen on guard within the premises and opened fire on the driver who immediately slumped on the steering.

He disclosed that on approaching the vehicle, the vehicle was discovered to be loaded with gas cylinders connected together with wires. He said that the Police bomb disposal unit was immediately called in and successfully defused the Improvised Explosive Device, IED.

Items recovered from the vehicle according to the CP included, six Gas cylinders of 13.6kg weight with its wirings, one air conditioner gas cylinder and two 25litres jerry-cans of fuel. Other items are one tin of ABRO can of five litre volume of chemicals and one acid orange drum of 28kg weight.
He attributed the success recorded to God Almighty and the prayers of concerned citizens to restore peace to the state. He stated that investigation has commenced into the incident, and urged members of the public to cooperate with the security agencies in the cause of fighting terrorism, even as he enjoined them not to panic, but to go about their normal businesses in the state.

Source: Vanguard

20 comments:

CLF said...

More of this by those paid and trained to protect us. Vigilance and being proactive are key.

*ajalahtravel* said...

Na now dem do come.....no be to dey say will do something but rather doing something. Lightning fire those Gboko Haram devils......

*ajalahtravel*

jo said...

that is very nice.....i think its about time to show those brain washed lunatics that we don't condone such nonsense in our country...yes some Nigerians can be violent,but the typical Nigerian i used to know will never take his life for another...what is Nigeria turning into? God save us!

1976AD said...

I weep for Nigeria.

good riddance to bad rubbish

Awini said...

Good one.

Awini said...

Very good

Temi said...

This again bring to the forefront how intelligent our police officers are and what the intelligent unit's job is anyway ... they shouldnt have killed this guy, he should have been arrested and interogated with aim of getting to the mastermind behind boko haram's operation in Nigeria, who sent him, trace who paid him etc ... wrong killing. #myPoint.

@ Temi, you obviously did not read the article! The guy crashed through the gate, ran policemen over and was heading for the building! I guess the policemen should have materialised in the car to arrest him after he had crashed the car and set off the explosives and killed all the people who were within the range of the bomb!
Some people SMH

WHO SAYS HE'S A MEMBER OF BOKO HARAM. DIS GUY IS A PRISONER DAT THE NIG. POLICE STAGED. WHY DIDNT THEY GET HIM ALIVE SO THEY CAN GET FURTHER INFORMATION ABT THE GROUP. DIS IS EXACTLY WHAT THEY DID IN PORT HARCOURT WEN MILITANTS WERE TROUBLING THE STATE. KILLIN INNOCENT SOUL SAYING THEY'RE MILITANTS, MEANWHILE D REAL ONES WERE EVEN WIT DEM WINING N DINNING, GOVT. SPOILING DEM WIT MONEY, BIG CARS N TRIPS ABROAD.THE POLICE WANT US TO BELIEVE THEY DOIN SOMETIN TO STOP DIS GUYS. DEY CANT FOOL ME. FA FA FA FOUL.

Gbenga said...

Good one, they should keep blowing their asses of. A bunch of misdirected felons.

lulu king said...

seems to me that this was more by luck than anything... What if the man did not hit the gate wud they have known he was a suicide bomber ?? And they shot at him out of panic , they didnt even know if he was a drunk driver or even a new driver ..They just shot . SMH.

Well if he really was a suicide bomber, he would have wanted to die anyway... Dont feel bad atall

Amaka's Notepad said...

lol @ anon 12.32pm. lovely imagination

some ppl didnt read the article before commenting. Hw on earth sake wud they have been able to arrest someone heading with full speed to crash the car... Some ppl are really funny and mediocre. If u ask me.some ppl didnt read the article before commenting. Hw on earth sake wud they have been able to arrest someone heading with full speed to crash the car... Some ppl are really funny and mediocre. If u ask me.

Temi, you are speaking "english". Who told you the police doesnt know who sent him? its just that the financeers of boko haram cant be named for political reasons. he broke through the gates with the bomb set to explode on impact. the one in abuja happened because they where being polite at the gate asking question and reparking the car. well done nigerian police. you saved the lives of over a thousand people.

ARE YOU SURE ITS IS NOT OUR POLICE MISTAKE TURNED TO A GOOD STORY. MEANING KILLED AN INNOCENT MAN AND FRAME HIM UP.

I don`t know whether some people didn`t read the story very well or are so DAMN DUMB not to know how to think before making comment.Hw on earth do you expect the police to stop the car that came crashin thru the gate into the premises and arrest the guy or u expect them to wait till the guy stops the car and activates the bomb.crazy yaa

wini syno is speaking said...

You never can tell because our police forces are full of deceit, how are we sure that they have not killed an innocent boy, then in a bid to cover up their crime they cooked up this story. Let them go and have their sit joooooooooooo because their matter dey smell.mtcheeew

Please have some respect for the dead regardless of what they have done. I love this website but dread coming on for fear there would be graphic pictures displayed. Please find a way to conceal the picture and give people the option of clicking to view if they wish to see. Thanks