What's more important in a long-term relationship/marriage? | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 17 August 2011

What's more important in a long-term relationship/marriage?

What's more important in a long-term relationship/marriage? A financially stable guy or good sex? Please share your thoughts on this.

71 comments:

steezz.com said...

Happyness.

U've gotta place God first in a relationship, otherwise the relationship will always be sub-par.

Good finances or sex alone are not solid foundations for a happy marriage.

while youre at it lin
why didnt u bring up the gist of the virgin mary apparition seen in cote d'voire

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AJmWHkEByo0

A financially Stabled Guy OFCOURSE!

None...at some point the guy will need viagra or cialis to get it up when he is at that age.Also with the way the world's economies are going,any one could suffer some financial hiccups at anytime.

So when there is a long latent period to get 'hard' and omo boy can no longer send madam to JD,or Yankee,will that spell doom for the relationship??

Love,mutual respect to me are ingredients needed.not some vapid, vacuous, fleeting,material things or sex..which at most lasts how long?

Atobatele said...

A lady once asked me d question. "What do u need to have or to do in other to keep your wife?" And i mentioned all d sweet things which i believe girls girls like to hear from their husband. Things like taking her out,buying her gifts, always assure her of your love and d likes....bt to my suprise she told me you only need two things to keep your wife which is money and good sex. I wanted to argue but when she broke it down for me i quickly reason with her. She said no matter the amount of money you give to her if you cannot satisfy her on bed then be rest assured that she will definitely go out and look for a young guy that can give it to her and yet lavish your money on the guy, and no matter how good you are on bed if you dont have money then she will have to still look for a man who can meet her need. So Linda i believe the two has to complete.

1976AD.com said...

Patience and understanding. You can have no money or lots of money and still not be happy, you can have lots of sex or no sex and still not be happy.

Igwe Osita One said...

Neither.....cos people have had both and still BROKE UP...

The main thing in a relationship is trust and solid foundation with both element present..the Relationship or Marriage can over come any hurdle like financial stability and sex.

Wisdom Calls said...

Prayer is important in a Marriage/Long Term Relationship. That is the key to being financially stable and living in Peace & happiness in your marital home. It will also allow you to enjoy sex with your spouse. The bible says "but seek ye first the kingdom of God and his righteousness and ALL these things shall be added onto you ~ Mathew 6:33

Financially stable abeg. You can always use a dildo!

stable marriage l define as one that has gone past 15 years. it take far more that good fuck to make any marriage last.

money will help but can't give you lasting happiness.

Hannah said...

Linda; please take no offense, but this is a stupid question.

In what context exactly are the two comparable, to the extend that they become interchangeable ultimatums?

Anybody asking such a question, or considering it as a basis for a relationship, has obviously missed the mark completely and they neither want a lasting relationship, nor marriage.

Know your life convictions, set a virtuous standard for yourself as to what you want in those you surround yourself with, focus on adding continuous and consistent qualities to who you are as a person, and let this be a guide that aids you in picking a life partner.

it looks like you dont have work. shebi you said you were circumcised, what is your own??

both

GOD! Friendship! Understanding! Trust! LOVE!

Those two don't make top two.

Bee said...

Olodos. Follow instructions. Of course there are alot of things importantin marriage, Linda is only asking about 2. Stick to those 2 or open marriage counseling course to give your other opinions.

Good finances. i cant focus on anything or enjoy anything if my finances are bad.

Pumpkin said...

Good sex abeg! There will be a time when you will be broke o! Money availability goes up and down but good sex cures everything. Or maybe it's becuase i just like sex! lol! Have you not seen rich people having it out with with some poor bloke and vice versa. Me i vote for sex o!

steeze.com

define happiness

money . . .sex??

definitely, my happiness,so if a finacially stable guy and good sex will make be happy, so be it.

While we know dt money isn't everything, financial stability is so key in marriage. Most men (including those who profess to and show their wives love) goof anyway. Having ur man passionately n willing take up financial responsibilities @ home can (especially if u over time, toughen up n turn a blind eye) cushion d emotional effect of d crap ur man may dish out sometimes. The statistics of women who are breadwinners in d family, is increasing. Upon dt, they r not guaranteed they have their men 100%. Abt sex, wot wit good sex over unmet financial needs. Will good sex, send my kids to good schools or give us a relaxing holiday? The financial stability of a man who is proactive in meeting his family's needs can be very very soothing.

AFTER GOD...A FINANCIALLY STABLE GUY...

both are very key

doll (retired blogger) said...

Both. God, compatibility, love are also important

trust and honesty

long money anytime

im married to a perpetually broke azz ni**a and i kid u not .... its not fun

Ego, na im be the answer. Sex can be sorted out(well if the guy is willing to learn and listen) but a lazy guy with no ambition who is a broke ass but good with his penis is useless. Women love sex but there's a point where we get over the dong haze and start thinking rationally and if the man dey broke....na regret oh!

*ajalahtravel*

MOI said...

what if you marry a financilly stable guy and after a while, it all goes dwon the drain, out of a lil mistake or carelessness.

Dont go for money. Its relative. Any hardworking paiionate person will always be on top.

Go for compatibility.

If you are lazy, you will get lazy. dont expect hardorking guy when you are lazy.

If you are hardworking, the hard working guys will find you, they can smell you from a mile.

Problem is they come in different packages and pur gilrs dey find eye candy with glitz and glamour.

The wise ones are choosing wisely.

'nough said.

Moi

Ronny said...

Both!

Ronny said...

Both!

U can never satisfy a woman period!

HATER said...

M-O-N-E-Y!

It can buy LOVE!

it can buy SEX!

It can buy LOYALIST!

It can buy HAPPINESS (if you know where to shop! OR make the unhappiness more bearable!)

Winnergal said...

I want both...
A financially stable guy and a guy who can fuck my sweet and fresh toto well well...

Dee dee said...

If someone put a gun to my head and forced me to choose between the two then I would choose the good sex...because I can work hard and make my own money.If at the time I meet him he's not financially stable but is hardworking and ambitious then the money would eventually come. However I definitely can't have any respect for a lazy dude. But I guess you can also teach a guy to be good in bed...so each to their own.

However, i believe that friendship, love, respect and passion make a lasting relationship/marriage.

EVEN IN DA DAYS OF OUR FORFATHERS A WOMAN IS GIVEN OUT TO MARRIAGE TO A MAN IN MEASURE OF HIS FARMLAND,HE FARM LAND SHOWS HOW RICH AND CAPABLE A MAN IS,MONEY ANSWERS ALL THINGS,SEX CAN BE TAKEN CARE OF,WITH THE WORLD WE LIVE IN SEX WITHOUT MONEY IS NOT FUN OH,MONEY AND SEX IS THE TWO MOST POWERFUL THING IN EVERY GOOD RELATIONSHIP /MARRIAGE ,LETS NOT DECIEVE OURSELVES THE PEOPLE THAT SAY MONEY ISNT HAPPINESS ,LINDA IF A GUY DOESNT SMELL NICE AND DRESS NEAT WILL U EVEN LISTEN TO HIM,MEN IF A GIRL DOESNT DRESS AND SMELL GOOD WILL U EVEN LOOK AT HER TWICE,ABEG LETS TELL OURSELVES TRUE.NO MONEY NO HAPPINESS IN ANY RELATIONSHIP IN THIS WORLD WE LIVE IN.Q.E.D

DIVA O

Voice Of Reason (VOR) said...

She asked which of the two she mentioned, pick one? DO NOT ADD YOUR OWN.
Financially stable it is. Is she going to eat stone in his house? Good dick can only go so far

Galore said...

Na money,,,,good money,,,then good sex........Na money,,,,good money,,,then good sex........

NaijaScorpio said...

Why are financial stability or good sex the only two options?

oscar said...

Late C C ONOH Bianka Ojukwu's Father once said. If you don't have money you will think money is every thing. But once you have made money you will then know that money is not everything. Before money as a means of exchange there was trade by barter, I mean there was no money then and still relationship worked. Wives loved their husbands and never divorced them

We have seen rich people whose marriages crash inspite the money and we have also seen women who abandon their husbands for the fact that the Man can not live-up to his financial responsibility.

That a Woman is beautiful doesn't mean that a Man will fall in love with her same way that a Man has money doesn't mean a Woman will fall for him....... little wonder why those poor people in Ajegunle and agege etc still live happily with their marriages intact.

Different things attract women so do Men. That which attracts you in a relationship if it is sustained the relationship will last. Some women , once they are in love the may not trade their Man for anything, money or no money , Good sex or no good sex but be it as it may what is good is good. money is good and sex is sweet. Sex is natural while money is man made. Women use sex to make money while Men use money to buy sex so both are important.

nich said...

You need God...understanding and friendship......friendship is poweful...then sex

Flourishing Florida said...

why the hell do we have to choose between these two???

anyway, both plus a whole lot of others thing are required for a long lasting marriage. cos this marriage shit, it is not joke o

GOD

In trying to limit my answer to your options,i think it depends on what you're more interested in.either of the two is important to which ever appeals to the individual.

14ME said...

Getting married to your best friend is the foundation,financially balance and having the fear of GOD

I am not good in bed neither do i have money at hand presently...yet my babygirl is dying for me and happy with me

Galore said...

@Anonymous August 17,2011 06:01pm.............you no sey ronuu(meaning,,you lack sense of reasoning),,,,which time den talk of circumciztion here wen u dey tel Linda,,,,aabeg sharrap@Anonymous August 17,2011 06:01pm.............you no sey ronuu(meaning,,you lack sense of reasoning),,,,which time den talk of circumciztion here wen u dey tel Linda,,,,aabeg sharrap

omg!!!!!all ye pea sized brains, reading ur comments makes mi weak, it is a bloody simple question, she didn't say other factors are not to be considered, jesus christ! if it was an exam, most of u would have failed woefully, just answer the question...

I've been happily married for 15 years. While sex is important, being financially stable is more important. Lack of finance can really strain a marriage. You don't have to be a billionaire. You just need enough to be able to take care of yourselves, the kids and the home.

mikeayooye said...

my dear i think d two is essentially neccessary for that love bond to grow without wavering and continious understanding in marriage. but 4 relationship in this modern day world/babe you need financial stability

Adetutu said...

Linda, I hope this question is just because you are bored or there's nothing to blog about. Money and Sex are way down the list of a happy relationship. God, Friendship, Love, Mutual respect, Trust, maturity, then...sex/money. Which kain yeye question be this now?

muero_ebony said...

@anon6:01pm,Aug 17

Its obvious u've got no brains, so cos Linda is circumcised she cant talk about sex or ask for people's opinion about dis. obo nie mehn

Hmmmm! Linda Linda! Why do I have a fEeling you are in a fix ;). My lips are sealed. Anyhow, out of the two, I think having a guy who is finacially stable is much more important as long as the man can produce babies and as long as he's not a one minute man. You guys can grow into each other, you tell him how u like to be fucked, how to get there, your Gspot, and by the time u guys are together few months, he'll know how to give it to u right if he pays good attention. There is 1+1=2 when it comes to sex, it's not the number of sex positions u know, it's about understanding your partner. Different strokes for different folks!

alleny said...

AS for me o! Finance first & foremost, then good sex, b4 any other thing. Truth be told "There aint no Romance without Finance" Sekina!

I have been married for 5 years and the true is a marriage without money will dead. i don't care how good the sex is o. When you can not pay ur rent or feed ur child tell me how you will open leg for him. Sex is good but sex without money will eventually fade away. Take it from me, this is what I am going thur. i still want sex but not with him because to me, he is a failure. Not because he is not rich but because as a man he has failed with money. But please people prove me wrong and marry for sex not money.

For a non-marital r/ship to last long, non of the two is an essential ingredient. The options don't apply.
In a marriage, make no mistake, both are very essential to the sweetness. however, between the two options, good sex wins over finacial stability. Good sex has so many scientifically proven benefits to couples among which is the fact that it can lessen the psycho-emotional bite of unstable finances. Also, putting other essentials (respect, love, trust & commitment) in place, couples can be happy with each other where there is good sex and unstable finance. However, there is frustration & unhappiness when the reverse is the case. Besides stable finances are not as much in ur control as good sex is (except when health issues exist).
Nonetheless, as the years wind up (or down), money or good sex wont matter anymore. What will keep the marriage going is a strong foundation of love, respect, trust and commitment that has been built with God at the center.

For a non-marital r/ship to last long, non of the two is an essential ingredient. The options don't apply.
In a marriage, make no mistake, both are very essential to the sweetness. however, between the two options, good sex wins over finacial stability. Good sex has so many scientifically proven benefits to couples among which is the fact that it can lessen the psycho-emotional bite of unstable finances. Also, putting other essentials (respect, love, trust & commitment) in place, couples can be happy with each other where there is good sex and unstable finance. However, there is frustration & unhappiness when the reverse is the case. Besides stable finances are not as much in ur control as good sex is (except when health issues exist).
Nonetheless, as the years wind up (or down), money or good sex wont matter anymore. What will keep the marriage going is a strong foundation of love, respect, trust and commitment that has been built with God at the center.

Priscy said...

Linda, as for me both are important. If a guy is financially sound but can not perform his duties as a man wetin I go take him do now. lol. I think the two goes hand in hand.

Lovelie said...

TRUST!

@ Anonymous said...
im married to a perpetually broke azz ni**a and i kid u not .... its not fun

August 17, 2011 7:59 PM

Am with you on that one....me sef am married to a broke dude....can't do nothing for me....do it all for myself. can barely take care of the bills at home. thank God for my education and job, bcos if i had to depend on him....hmmmmmn.

Nkili said...

Cassie Nenye Ojiugo

New Nigerian fanstasy writer on the block making waves
http://nkili.wordpress.com/

not those two said...

Any long term relationship depends on the character and personalities of the individuals involved!

Favour Suleiman said...

Linda, i think in everything we do we shld always consider God first, MONEY is very important the same way SEX is but the fact is if u as a lady is hardworking u wont need to relly on the money from ur man at all times, even in the bible its said that as a woman u are a help mate to ur man. I think its high time we ladies start thinking straight by having it in mind that we are also suppose to be a huge contributor to the home and not just at the receiving ends and a liability.learn to be a GIVER too and not just a reciever. SEX is very important in a relationship cos am very sure knw one ll marry an impotent wealthy man as a husband, u ll only deceive him for his money and run away after worth's but u can marry a able bodied MAN who is jst ok but with prayers, hard work and patient he will surely get there.

financial stability.don't know about u all but i am not impressed with a man who knows all the tricks in bed but hasn't the faintest idea about how to make money.i would rather financial stability and then we solve the sexual ineptitude together!

OK said...

.....I better lie in a jacuzzi having a scented bath, red wine, good music with a man with poor sex skills, than to have great sex on a 6-spring bed with the rain leaking on me through my roof...

After reading every ones comment, For me God is most important in a long term relationship or marriage, A good Finance can come when you have a solid foundation with God, Sex is also an important ingredient which can not be eliminated.

IGWE haba and still broke up correct yah sef jare omo nna

I believe the target audience for this question is the women folk. So i'll ask, 'why enter a marriage with the intention of depending solely on ur hubby?'. It is possible not to depend on your man for financial needs, but not same for sexual needs. All you need is to have a man who has a strong work ethic, who is not and will not entertain laziness, and is well aware of his responsibilities. He may not have the bucks, but he really appreciates your financial input in the family and has no insecurity issues about it. If all this is in place, then the marriage can be excused from financial stability on the man's part. The woman isn't permitted to get sexual fulfilment from elsewhere, neither is the man permitted to. So why can't they both use the one thing that can energize, motivate and help them both to stay close - sex. Afterall, good sex is not determined by the economy or inflation or unemployment rate or value of naira to dollar!I believe the target audience for this question is the women folk. So i'll ask, 'why enter a marriage with the intention of depending solely on ur hubby?'. It is possible not to depend on your man for financial needs, but not same for sexual needs. All you need is to have a man who has a strong work ethic, who is not and will not entertain laziness, and is well aware of his responsibilities. He may not have the bucks, but he really appreciates your financial input in the family and has no insecurity issues about it. If all this is in place, then the marriage can be excused from financial stability on the man's part. The woman isn't permitted to get sexual fulfilment from elsewhere, neither is the man permitted to. So why can't they both use the one thing that can energize, motivate and help them both to stay close - sex. Afterall, good sex is not determined by the economy or inflation or unemployment rate or value of naira to dollar!

as a woman, u should never totally depend on a man for ur financial needs, no matter how rich he is. Riches can fade away. Financial instability is one issue, laziness is another. I'd say good sex, knowing i cant get it elsewhere except from my spouse. Moreover, as much as financial stability pays bills, sends the kids to nice schools, puts food on the table, buys a lot of nice stuff, it doesn't really do much to keep couples closer.
So if my man is not lazy, and i have the money, why rob myself of wonderful sex with him? It will be frustrating to live in such an atmosphere! a man for ur financial needs, no matter how rich he is. Riches can fade away. Financial instability is one issue, laziness is another. I'd say good sex, knowing i cant get it elsewhere except from my spouse. Moreover, as much as financial stability pays bills, sends the kids to nice schools, puts food on the table, buys a lot of nice stuff, it doesn't really do much to keep couples closer.
So if my man is not lazy, and i have the money, why rob myself of wonderful sex with him? It will be frustrating to live in such an atmosphere!