Roman Abramovich's 17year old son buying Oil and Gas Assets in Russia | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 16 August 2011

Roman Abramovich's 17year old son buying Oil and Gas Assets in Russia

Roman and son Arkady Abramovich
Billionaire Roman Abramovich's 17year old son, Arkady Abramovich, is following his father’s lead in investing in natural resources. His company, ARA Capital Ltd, which he set up when he was fourteen, is buying up Oil and Gas assets in Russia. Arkadily said his ultimate goal is to be richer than his father who is said to be worth about $13billion

Answer this question please. What were you doing at 17? Struggling to pass WAEC maybe? lol

25 comments:

Amaka's Notepad said...

Now that is vision and focus. Go to school,go to school,go to school. that is all we in this part of the world. go to school and then what??? come out to be a 1st class job hunter? IMO success is a thing of the mind it isnt a function of going to school.

Ms E said...

lmao!!
yes oh trying to pass waec, but now 17yr olds in naija are trying to start fashion or go into music.

this is a very good investment that all parent should do for the future of their children woo!!! that is the youngest Billionain

OmogeNaija said...

struggling to pass SSCE, any one who gets admission at that age would be cosidered lucky, may God help us.
Exposure is very very important, that boy has sat in the company of investors, he's thinking like one of them already, he evan wants to be richer than his dad.

CLF said...

Going to school is not for everyone.

However, more money more problems and too much too soon....

sleekreek said...

At seventeen,,i was in my first year in the university,,feeling fulfilled,,,can u imagine dat ooo,,,,but from another angle,,,Nigeria doesnt give any platform for young people with great minds,,,if dis boy were to be a Nigerian,,his parents would scold him and even tell him he likes money too much for his age.......our mentality,,cultural beliefs,,,in short the whole settings/system is just somehow compared to other countries......

the truth is if you are in the around business minded people you will start thinking like them. And the gu yis his father, so what do you think?

Na da very way be that,we lack wealth transfer culture in this part of the world.go to school,go to school,Mscheeew

crys said...

hmmm,chai!!!!seriously success is based on ur perspective and way of environment.here in Nigeria success is defined basically by sitting 4 waec at his age and passin jamb.and his environment allows him 2 reason along those lines 2.av learnt o,4rm a tender age i will stat teachin my children dt success goes beyond certificates.ehh,at age 17,he is buying assests in oil and gas????hmmm!!!!!!!

@seventeen i was in pre-degree at the university. I and my brother wanted to start up a transport company but our parents said we are too young to think of money these are moments i wish my parents were like Roman.

*ajalahtravel*

Na lie. It's definitely not him buying up the assets! It's his father who's buying the assets and transferring them to his son. It's a publicity stunt. Tell me: what will a 17 year-old boy know about Mergers & Acquisitions or Private equity, particularly in the oil industry?

SOLA said...

@ 17? Let's see.... I was in 200L in a state university feeling fly **smh in retrospect**

Ebipade Enienghan said...

That is Rich Dad's teachings for you. Here we just go to school and never really develops our most important asset, our mind.

Our poor Dad Just wants us to get a good grade no matter how because employment will be waiting. Now where are the jobs?

Well done Abra. Maybe his soon to will one day buy another premier league club and come against his father's Chelsea. That will be interesting!

1976ad said...

When your father is a thief, and needs another avenue for money laundering, I guess you go this route.

Or do people not know how Abramovich made money?

alleny said...

My dear Linda, Na only trying 2 pass WAEC? Then I waz even working to pay for my WAEC and waz being paid N300, yes ke! U heard right N300 and I will still use out of it for my t-fare 2 skul: LOL. The world is really not fair my people & thats why we aint got a refree in it! :))

Okpotokpo said...

Its his father's money, what do u expect.....

If i were in his shoes i'll do better...

Zany said...

Okpotopko seconded jare!!! that his father's money.....joor
i ve seen nigerians wu their parents r rich n they start at early stage to make big money b'side if i were in his shoes i will do beta......

Nkili said...

@1976 AD: you hit the damn nail on the head!! nuff said

1976ad & Nkili - True that's another way to look at it.

But really, at age 17, yes some people were trying to pass WAEC, 'cause that's what you were supposed to be doing at that age. Maybe if you had a billionaire father, you would own a company just like his son does and buying like his son does, but you dont! Stop comparing yourself to him or beating yourselves up because you don't have what he does, and make the best out of what you have. Geeze.

doll (retired blogger) said...

about to say yes to my first boyfriend

This is good, at least, he is doing something with his life. Guys i am thinking of starting a fund for 15-25 yr olds where we would give them loans to start a business or invent something because i know that there are a lot of young people with great minds in Nigeria, and these days college is not always an option so i want them to do something productive with their lives at this young age. They do this in the u.s, a millionaire was giving high school graduates $100,000 to start their own business, and i think this would help because there are a lot of young people living in hardtimes. So what do you guyz think?

At 17..was just enterin d university n wishin I never did but it's all gud..@doll..hmmm...wat happened after u said yes???

Adetutu said...

what are u ppl talking about? hos father's money or not, the boy is making moves for his own future and planning to make money that his own children can also benefit from. Sit down behind ur computers and beef you hear? dont start thinking of how your kids can break free of the naija"i must go to university" norm and start developing their minds. I wld do that for a smart kid when i have one

Big deal! Where is he getting his money from? There are still ppl who were not born with a gold spoon in their mouth who managed to achieve and exceed their goals in life, Oprah Winfrey comes prominently to mind. Not to take away anything from those born to wealth, but I have much more respect and awe for someone who came from dire poverty who was able to overcome all obstacles and make something great of themself in the world.

he looks too small for 17yrs!