Pastor Adeboye Blames Marriage Break-Ups On Sin | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 19 August 2011

Pastor Adeboye Blames Marriage Break-Ups On Sin

The General Overseer of the Redeemed Christian Church of God (RCCG) in Lagos, Pastor E. A. Adeboye says the increasing marital challenges in Nigeria is caused by people’s sinful lifestyles.

He said in his statement on Wednesday, signed by Pastor Goke Aniyeloye, that a lot of men and women were unmarried mainly because of sin.

Adeboye said that many Christians were unmarried today because they deviated from the word of God.
According to him, God’s unchanging nature and His steadfastness guarantee deliverance for his children and saves them from destruction by the devil.

He said that the most important thing in life was not the intensity of a person’s troubles but his ability to locate God in his crisis.
The pastor said that as God did it for the people of old, he would still do it for the present day Christians, adding that he never goes on break.

Adeboye said that God was willing to heal all the sicknesses of his people but stressed that sin could create a barrier to God’s desire to heal his children sometimes.
“God can do all things and God heals all kinds of marital sicknesses.’’

He disclosed that the RCCG would hold a prayer session for the singles and single parents who are hoping unto God for their spouses on 4 September.

Source: PM News

52 comments:

1976AD.com said...

Very true.

steezz.com said...

That is Very true but i was expecting him to say more, but he only ended saying what nearly every other man of God will say. He still remain one man of God i respect a lot.

Sacramento said...

Too right!

Bee said...

Erm duhhhhhhh. If no be sin, na wetin???

All these pastors that come out and state the obvious and call it vision/prophesy,blah blah blah i don tire.

Come January we go start to they hear
- A celebrity will die : which year has a celebrity not died?

Many babies will be born: um ya think?

Abeg next news jare

Amen Daddy! I pray that singles gals will stop running after married men and gals in the university would stop behavn like prostitutes and escort gals ,or whatever they call it.Heaven is real and hell is real too.Stop toying with sin!Your body is the temple of God,please single gals,get it straight!God bless You all.

Ade David said...

Sin is the root of all evil. Marriage break-up is such a great evil.

Noble E. said...

So if a man BEATS a woman everyday of their marriage and she decides to divorce him, she should stay in the marriage and keep praying abi? Till they cut her to pieces like they did that babe?

Pastor no be therapist o abeg! RUN RUN RUN out of that marriage!

http://myHairmyBeauty.wordpress.com said...

YEP! I really don't see anything wrong with his statements. Sin does create a barrier between us and God, Na lie?

myHairmyBeauty.wordpress.com

R4 said...

B / cos of SIN?

He might be right oooh :)

Lindaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa! You heard the man of God. Oya oya oya, phone your man - - get married now now now :)

The man has said it all, Sin and selfishness is a major factor in most marital breakups.The way marriages break up nowadays (both christians and unbelievers)can discourage one from entering into the matrimonial world.

http://praizhouse.blogspot.com/

Linda take note

Babylicious said...

i shall be there by God's grace...amen#stickingmytongueout#

The way u blogged this thing it looks like u will be there...since u said last time u wanted to start dating again.It's a good step in the right direction sha 4 anyone.

9jaFOODie said...

:)...I know lots of people will attack him but what he said is true.

If people were to stay away from sin(pr-marital sex in this instance) then there will be more marriages, since guys will be motivated to get married.

The marriages might not be for the right reasons, they might not last but more people will get married.

september 4!!!!1 linda what are you waiting for? see you there!!

Make People go oooo, but really its true oo
people are becoming more selfish and self centered.

I concur...so many people, now African specifically are living sinfully every day and night. It's sickening, I really don't care about the Westerns (I live in the USA) but to see an Africa, knowing the values we had and should have and how we are deviating from it, is unspeakable. He's right. These days marriage means nothing like before and it's all because of our SINFUL life-styles.

Please what about me who commits no fornication, abides diligently by God's word, and I'm single at 29. So because of which sin, is it my father's own.
That's why when church people start praying with you about marriage, they start by saying you know sister you should stop sinning. Simply because you have wahala in your life. Enough people who get married are sinners - do you know the percentage of even Christian couples who dabble in premarital sex? Please this cause and effect approach to life's situation is just not right.

For all have sinned and come short of the glory of God.... our holiness his life filth in his presence, that's why he sent his only begotten son, that whosoever shall believe, must have ever lasting life... Even the pastor his a sinner and only christ can save us all....

stating the obvious much!

whistle blower said...

Absolute nonsense. It is quite unfortunate that many people are not critical of what is published these days, particularly if it is from a highly respected pastor. The truth is that if he supported his statement with statistics, then his argument could be considered logical.
In the first case, many men are not getting married early these days because of economic reasons. Therefore, more and more older women are single. With the way this statement made by pastor Adeboye is being taken considered, soon they will say that single spinsters are sinners.
This is the same way the Nigerian churches now regard poor people as sinners, while majority of our pastors drive the latest cars, acquire the best houses and buy private jets tax free, while a significant proportion of the Nigerian population can not afford to buy regular food, and put a proper roof over their heads.
You may all criticise me for speaking the truth the way I see it, but all the same, problems do exist in our country.

I SAID I HATE THIS RCCG CHURCH even tho what he said seems kind of true. Linda better post this.

Galore said...

@bee,,,,,,,i so pity you,,,,,,,,,,,,,watch your back,,,,,,cus you don carry curse for head,,,,,@Pastor Adeboye is nt like other pastor wen u dey use play here oo.............Better watch it?@bee,,,,,,,i so pity you,,,,,,,,,,,,,watch your back,,,,,,cus you don carry curse for head,,,,,@Pastor Adeboye is nt like other pastor wen u dey use play here oo.............Better watch it?

What is this bee saying? loool. a big duhh to you too. He never said it was a vision and like u said he was stating the obvious and he needs to do so because a lot of people do not understand.

*ajalahtravel* said...

Oh well, women if im never put money for ya head, close your leg and men, if you want yansh, you better prepare to marry.

*ajalahtravel*

This is complete bullshit. Its amazing how a human being thinks they can speak for God. The pastor used a lot of vague words and none of them actually adds up. Marriages break up because two people are unable to reconcile their differences and one of them is unwilling to remain there just so they can please some stranger pastor somewhere who thinks it’s ok to speak for God.

Would the pastor rather have people living in misery so he can be satisfied that God is healing "marital sicknesses"? Modern couples are facing modern day issues (e.g) men and woman are working long hrs outside of home, two incomes coming in instead of one, this creates a power shift and issues like how do we manage our money comes into play.

Women are more educated and are now unlikely to put up with shit from men. Are these "marital sicknesses" or are people choosing happiness over society expectations?

Marriage break-up is increasing all over the world( this is not necessarily a bad thing), its not true that "in Nigeria is caused by people’s sinful lifestyles". The shift in power that comes from woman earning serious money is a bigger cause of break-ups these days than "sinful lifestyles".

I am sick of people (mainly other Nigerians) making stupid comments about how bad Nigerians are, you are a Nigerian, do not point a finger at ‘Nigerians’ without pointing one at yourself. You are a part of the Nigerian culture too.

So is he saying that being single is now a sin? Give me a break.

Chi said...

So very true. I am Nigerian and even here in the US, I can say that the main reason myself and some friends got married was because we told the men who are now our husbands no to premarital sex.
Now this didnt mean some of us hadnt done it before, but we now fully recognized it as sin, and were doing it for God, because indeed our bodies are His temples. At some point, you have to stop and call a spade a spade. I'll never let anyone go and desecrate my physical father's house without doing anything, and in the same manner chose then to never let any man mess up My Holy Father's home. Its hard to explain but everytime you have sex outside of marriage, you are telling God, you dont care about Him, and His laws, and that you value this man over God. When God then steps out of the relationship, and katakata burst, the woman will now go and cry to God for help. You see He never wanted to leave in the 1st place, you kicked Him out.

One thing about premarital sex, is that no matter how good you think you are giving him, he can go next door and find someone better. So if that is all that is sustaining your relationship or even the main part, you are in serious trouble.

A real man who wants to make you His wife will wait and quickly put a ring on it, no matter how hard it is for Him. I wont lie, it was hard, but I'm blessed, got me an amazing husband and a solid marriage foundation.

anon 7:25pm,
I am with you on this.

idrisadeyemi said...

@KAE... U'r trying 2 tell us that anybody dt is nt a xtian is an unbeliever.It seems u dnt know much abt ur religion...READ FROM Ur BIBLE 1GENESIS ch 15 vs 12 to 18.It seems u dnt know much abt ur religion...READ FROM Ur BIBLE 1GENESIS ch 15 vs 12 to 18

Yeoal said...

@Chi... Even though it is hard to do all that u said, I second u on ur opinion.@Chi... Even though it is hard to do all that u said, I second u on ur opinion.

IFE said...

Linda i think maybe you should check your sources. I attend RCCG and i was at the last convention which held last week. Pastor Adeboye said that the September Holy Ghost service will be focused on those seeking the fruit of the womb. He said that as we are all aware, he will be turning 70 next year and that he has asked God for 70,000 babies and so the september Holy ghost service will be focused on those seeking the fruit of the womb. He didn't mention singles or anything even remotely close to what you reported. I've listened to pastor Adeboye and he has never said or implied that folks who are unmarried have sin as the cause of their unmarried state. He even went further to announce that the monthly Shiloh hour which holds on the first monday of every month will not hold in september because the holy Ghost service will be focusing on that matter. So folks if you are trusting God for the fruit of the womb try and make it to the RCCG Camp on the first friday in September and for those who cannot make it, you can watch it live on Dove media on HITV.

Cheers

Bee said...

Galore, I don't need to watch my back cos i know na God wey dey there not curse.....Adeboye na man whether u RCCG pple believe it or not...HE IS JUST A MAN NOT GOD so carry go with all your threats of curses.

Blinded by status rather than fats.

@ whistle blower... and what statistics have u offered urself that makes ur statement logical??? Adeboye is offering spiritual insight into the problems in marriages and also peoples inability to get married, this is not a matter of statistics... the bible supports his view, when people sin, their lives suffer many consequences, not just marriage, but financial consequences sometimes... until people wake up and see sin as the real problem in then we will fail to find the right solution. u can mention economic climate and all but even the rich with money are breaking up from marriages.

Madam why do you choose wat comments to post na wa for you oooo, cant seem to see the comment i posted since yesterday so prov me wrong and yes be careful

I still insist not all problems are because of sin. Even Paul had a thorn in his flesh ie a problem and that was a man who would cut off his arm to avoid sin.
I'm a Christian but like I said in an earlier post, cause and effect doesn't work always.
The other day I was listening to a sermon by a pastor who said a member came running to him and said pastor I found a vibrator in my wife's drawer. The pastor told him that his wife had a spirit of the dog ie promiscuity and needed to be delivered.
Now I'm not disputing that physical things can have spiritual origins; however the first thing the pastor should have told the husband was to work on his conjugal responsibilities.

Ada said...

@ Chi n her supporter, in what book of the bible is 'sin' limited to 'fornication'???

I think we shouldnt be too quick to clasify things we dont fully understand... there are many people we see to be very sinful/harsh/wicked or whatever n they have some of d longest marriages u've seen, so how do u explain dat? I think we like to tell ourselves the 'truths' that make us feel better.

Personally i believe dat at the end of d day wen it comes to marriage nothing matters more than being 'equally yoked'...i believe making it work is more bout marrying ur kind, s'one who shares the kind of things dat u value... if two 'sinful' pple marry n believe day r right in their ways they most often tend to last even longer dan others who will marry under d guise of being good n end up falling out.....

We very often forget that 'sin' is very subjective...@ d end of d day what guides us will determine how we live....hopefully however, let us be most guided by Love of ourselves and each other...God helping us!

Anon 8:17 pm you took the words right out of my mouth. I find it amusing when my fellow Christians get all sanctimonous about how you can only have a good marriage if you are Christian. Truth is so many things can sustain a marriage. If 2 sinful people believe that they are right and they share the same values, then their marriage could last even longer than that of some Christians.
Some men love and value their woman even though they are having premarital sex simply because his notions of value and respect are not tied to sex. While some men like some naija men, even after marrying a girl as a virgin, once they see her in all her glory, what else?

@Idrisadeyemi.....My answer to your comment is just two questions.

1. Do you believe that Jesus christ is the son of God?

2.What is the english word for someone who doesn't believe in a particular subject?

#Nuffsaid

#Godbless you

@Idrisadeyemi...My answer to your comment is summed up in these two questions:

1. Do you believe that Jesus Christ is the son of God?

2.What is the english word for someone who doesnt believe in a particular subject?

#Nuffsaid
#Godblessyou

http://praizhouse.blogspot.com/

Senseless and Baseless talk!!! What does 'sin' mean?...but then again he was talking to a group of individuals who have been historically vulnerable to anything and everything!!! Smh...

man of God i need freedon from d slavery i call marriage o, help me pray....he lies, cheats and upon his smelly mouth that am trying to help him and he gets upset about....God I need deliverance ooooo

simple fact is a long lasting marriage doesn't mean everything is good... some people go thru domestic violence but choose to stay bcos they r scared of losing luv... this are domestic case i have seen as a lawyer and u wonder why they dont get a divorce...

the truth about what Adeboye is saying is that God hates sin and sin separates us frm God and as a result it separates us frm Gods perfect plan for our lives, whether in marriage, business or health. if you want to know what sin is then know God. When u know God then u'd know what he dislikes.

the problem is people keep arguing what they think, its not about what u think u knw but what God likes. marital problems will continue until people turn everything and look to God... even for the unbelievers, their marriage will never work the best way bcos every good and perfect gift comes from God... perfection can be found in God only... if ur not a christian u may not understand this or even agree... so for christians, look to please God so ur marriage, business, health and everything about life will be good.

ade said...

I'm stunned by the unguided comments of some folks on this blog. I am neither a pastor nor a reverend but I know the Word. I have got plenty of criticism & questions begging for answers inside of me but I would rather abstain from making careless, malicious & unwise statements anywhere. A piece of advice, GOD IS NO MAN, A JEALOUS GOD & STILL A CONSUMING FIRE. i have learnt HE DOES NOT SIT BACK WHEN MORTAL MEN SPEAK EVIL OF HIS SERVANT. HE DIDN'T SPARE MEN NOR NATIONS WHEN THEY SPOKE AGAINST MOSES. PLEASE I PLEAD WITH YOU ALL REFRAIN BY WRITING WHAT YOU HAVE NO IDEA ABOUT. "For by thy words thou shalt be justified, and by thy words thou shalt be condemned" Matt 12:37

idris adeyemi said...

@KAE...d point i'm tryn inform u is dt u does dt r nt xtians unbelievers, d appropriate word 2 use is non-xtians. I'm a muslim and i dnt believe jesus christ is d son of God bcos there s a verse n ur bible where jesus said God has no father nor mother. If u want me 2 prove it 2u. I'll definitely do dt...bt u neva talked abt d verse I quoted.,.??? @KAE...d point i'm tryn inform u is dt u does dt r nt xtians unbelievers, d appropriate word 2 use is non-xtians. I'm a muslim and i dnt believe jesus christ is d son of God bcos there s a verse n ur bible where jesus said God has no father nor mother. If u want me 2 prove it 2u. I'll definitely do dt...bt u neva talked abt d verse I quoted.,.???

idrisadeyemi said...

@KAE...d point i'm tryn inform u is dt u does dt r nt xtians unbelievers, d appropriate word 2 use is non-xtians. I'm a muslim and i dnt believe jesus christ is d son of God bcos there s a verse n ur bible where jesus said God has no father nor mother. If u want me 2 prove it 2u. I'll definitely do dt...bt u neva talked abt d verse I quoted.,.??? @KAE...d point i'm tryn inform u is dt u does dt r nt xtians unbelievers, d appropriate word 2 use is non-xtians. I'm a muslim and i dnt believe jesus christ is d son of God bcos there s a verse n ur bible where jesus said God has no father nor mother. If u want me 2 prove it 2u. I'll definitely do dt...bt u neva talked abt d verse I quoted.,.???

Hey, the blog said SOME single not ALL singles. The prayer meeting is for anyone trusting God for something and it's on the 2nd.

sleekreek said...

Before I make any comment or comments,,i think i should remind everyone that what Pastor Adeboye said was for Christians and Christian marriages and not for everyone,,,remember not everyone who proclaims to be a christian is a christian.......

It is not for anyone to say abusive things to any man of God as God may not overlook it,,,,u dont fight on God's behalf for what any pastor says or writes,,,Miriam did in the days of the bible and God struck her with leprosy immediately,,,so be careful with ur comments ooooo

@Annon Aug 19,7:25pm......u didnt sin and u are single at 29yrs was ur comment.....(1)have u considered those things u do and u may not count as sin that God counts??remember God is not a man and HIS standards will never change......(2)u may probably be one of those ladies that want a ready made man,,,u may be too choosy and may have toyed away ur man(my views,,,pls take no offense).....(3)God's ways are not our ways......ur right man might be just around the corner,,,

@Annon Aug 20,12:23am........y should there be power shift because a woman is working and earning something??biblically,,the woman is the helpmeet of her husband and should be treated as such......in other words if a man starts to compete with his wife just because she is working and earning some cash and fails to know or see that his wife is complementing him then he is committing sin too.....God didnt design marriage for competition but that the two involved should complement each other,,,so thats disobedience too(acting against God's original plans)

What Chi said is very true,,though very difficult to abide with,,,marriage bed should not be defiled,,that's God's own intentions,,,,,like i said earlier,,,God has his standards and will not go back on them......irrespective of our own views.....

obioma said...

@chi i agree with you
@ada i can't recall chi ever saying sin is limited to fornication,i think she only stated one aspect of sin
@whitle blower, where are YOUR statistics?
@idrisadeyemi you may be a muslim and do not believe but the TRUTH remains this,JESUS CHRIST IS THE SON OF GOD WHO LOVES YOU MORE THAN YOU CAN EVER LOVE YOURSELF.

The G.O. is right it is sin but there are many hindus and buddhists from Asia who have wonderful marriages and Asian communities with low divorce rates. They are sinners too like any unbeliever or Christian but he might mean is that there sins related SPECIFICALLY to marriage-
1. Lack of submission
2. Laziness
3. Adultery
4. Anger
5. Lies/insincerity
If G.O. Itemized the sins that Lead to marital demise and threw in some stats then ITKs would understand his message better- u would be surprised how loving Indians, Chinese, Philippinos etc are of their wives and even more surprised at how submissive some ppl we call idol worshippers are. Lack of love and lack of submission are the 2 greatest sins to attack marriage. G.Os message apparently was too simple for some ppl here so let me complicate it lol.

This msg by G.O is too simple for some- what sin is he talking about- after all alot Indians, Koreans, Philipinos are
Hindus, Buddhists, idol worshippers and they still have low divorce and high marriage rates.
They wanted G.O to itemize the sins:
1. Lack of love
2. Lack of submission
3. Anger
4. Adultery
5. Laziness
And give statistics on the percentage each one contributes to marriage failure. Christians would be surprised how loving some of these Asian men and how submissive and chaste these ppl who don't know Jesus are. Even though they are sinners and seem to understand how not to commit the sins that kill marriage. Like Americans, as crazy as we think they are they know to give to those in need so of course they're blessed. Ppl will understand when the story is complicated like this. G.O.'s msg was too simple for most bloggers to grasp lol.

“Everyone isn’t logical. Everything doesn’t make sense in the end. Sometimes you have to forget about explanations or excuses and leave people and places behind, because otherwise they will drag you straight down.” See the link below for more info. #breakable

#breakable
www.matreyastudios.com