Best Wildlife Photo: 2011 Nigerian Photography Awards | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 15 August 2011

Best Wildlife Photo: 2011 Nigerian Photography Awards

The photo you see above won Best Wildlife Photo at the 2011 Nigerian Photography Awards which took place on the 31st of July. It's a photograph by Chinenye Godsproperty John, a Senior Art Director with Novelpotta Y&R, a Lagos based Advertising Agency.

The concept according to the photographer, succinctly captures that animals, like humans, can hold a moment of quiet conversation on matters affecting their lives.

Is this an award winning photograph?

41 comments:

1976AD.com said...

If this is the best, I'd hate to see the other entries.

Anonym Photographer said...

Nah.. It lost from the onset.... Cows are domestic animals ! not Wild Life and theres nothing captivating about the photograph.

first things first; is this a wild life photograph?

if this is the best photography for 2011 i have to say!!! What sort of mockery is NPA trying to play on talented photographers. This is the worse picture ever it’s too busy it lacks creativity, and furthermore what’s the target for this shot the background or the animals?

Dee dee said...

Biko, how is this 'wildlife'?? Aren't these (starving) cows in the middle of a town or city? Or are my eyes deceiving me?

Dee dee said...

To answer your question Linda, NO - on so many levels. In fact the photographer should have been disqualified for entering this as a wildlife photo.

sola said...

E wan Wild die?? Linda u are not creative o. The two cows are discussing the future of their species. the owner of the wheel barrow (carrying water kegs) in the background has being paid to move away from the shot. they "in cow language: are abusing the 'FADA' of the guy taking their malnourished picture. any instant from now, they will charge at the photographer...anticipation...tension... *hides*

What the YUCK is this? Na wildlife be this? Not inspiring @ all. Guess the awards is at it's early phase and they didn't get enteries from the great inspiring photographers that fill the land. Folks like Ebi's photoshop in benin are awesome!!!

Lol, is.this really the best? Some things in Nigeria are a joke...

dumb.

Pumpkin said...

Absolutely not! Common even I can do better and i no be photographer. They are malnourished cows for gods sake! I can't beleive this was the best picture. Jeez!

Ob said...

When will Nigerians stop favouritism? This picture has a zero concept, by the way what is wild about two black malnurished ugly looking cows? The background is so dirty with no effect, they could not even zoom the background out and make the miserable caricature picture look a little. Professional...what a shame. They are disgracing Nigeria professional photographers! Mscheeeeeeeee

these were the judges google the nigerian photography awards and c the nominees.

then decide

TY BELLO
SEYI BODY LAWSON
KELECHI AMADI-OBI
BARRETT AKPOKABAYEN
LEKE ADENUGA (QF)
SAINT GABRIEL
ASTRID MERGET (World Photography Organisation, London)

the photographers complaning why didnt you submit ur work bad belle

this is not wildlife because the cows are domesticated. this is obviously in a city/town.
if they wanted to get real cows in their natural habitat, they would find cows in Benue or Plateau, they've got plenty plenty.

and why do all Nigerian cows look malnourished? because most Nigerian cows I've seen look just like this.

Ade_Cool said...

Don't know about the awards..but those cows abi na cattle look rather hungry...this wan na urban wildlife..only in Africa!!..

HATER said...

WTF????

sola said...

(continuation from my last comment) the ASUN and pepper-soup these cows go make no go sweet! See dem...they even tied ones neck with rope.

As per the judges...no comment. Will have to go to their website now and check. maybe they were promised ASUN as well.

Nice Anon said...

Ha haaaaaaaa na point and shoot take this photo abi wetin?

Best wildlife ke? These two very hungry to the state of almost committing cannabalism on one another namas behind one mr. Nobody hut nai dem give best wildlife? I need to shoot the motherfucker wey dash this monkey (pseudo-photographer) banana.

*ajalahtravel*

maybe there were no other entries in the wildlife segment

Whats these? hungry skinny cows!!!!

Wild Boy said...

MBA! i no gree...but wat if there were not better entries nko? wildlife with water trolley *walks away

I hate to be negative...but WTF?....nopes even if I cant take nice photos, I get good eye for Uniqueness...this picture did not even TRY!!!!!
Abeggy, who are the judges? and like 1976AD.com said I'd hate to see other entries if this is the best.

capricorndee said...

LOL!!!! I was expecting WILDLIFE, not two cows greeting eachother in the middle of a clearly urban area!

i cannot take a picture of myself without almost having a seizure lol but this one?? ah ah! its not good.it may be ok ooo but i really would like to see the other entries... awful picture #not good! btw cows are domestic animals na!

fifi said...

Wild life??...they need watch animal planet more often to get the concept this a disappointment tigers and elephants etc are wild life

pls they should feed these 'malu' instead of taking dem 'photo'.
I'm sure that's what they are having a quiet moment about..."dont snap ny butt heiffa cameraman"! lol

this is a mockery of photographers and whoever submitted this work as wild life should start watch nat geo on dstv to understand what wild life means for the judges i think they were not paid

why starving cows for God's sake.

Cant get this,but the judges know what they saw.

lol. I would like to see the others.

Someone doesn't know what wildlife is then... Cows in an urban setting ain't it

Wildlife?! It's obvious that the judges know nothing about photography, and the so called photographers are useless. I wouldn't want my name to be included in this prestigious category of fools.

Please, take a look @ NATGEO,GRACE ORMONDE MAGAZINE,JIDE ALAKIJA, etc.

Dumebi said...

i think the point is being missed: Concept sells art not object! These are two animals assuming a pose of meaning-laden rumination and that is what i think the photographer has captured....Well, whether Wild Life is the right category may really be the issue!

R said...

lol! I seriously thought you were joking.wow

since when did cows become wildlife??? loll as a fulani person, i just dont know wat to say about that.

As someone with eyes, i can say if this is the best, Nigerian photography is in trouble & Nigerian wildlife photography is in the dumps or mayb just doesnt exist.

I guess they had to give someone the price. I remember a few years back when some literary judges were heavily criticized for deciding not to award anyone the price because no work was good enough for them.
I have never been or seen a competition where there is no winner.

deeeee said...

well it sisnt, BUT at leat it's real and original- it doesnt show the animals in some "fancy" place,- it shows the true background

'kizle said...

holy crap!!! I have taken better...why didn't i enter for the award sef...i could have won in all categories...smh!

Kids Resources said...

Lovely picture and awesome photography.