15year old Nigerian boy builds generator car | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 17 August 2011

15year old Nigerian boy builds generator car

Ahmed is a 15 year old boy who built a generator car. Here he is driving his self made car along Airport road, Abuja. Great stuff!

59 comments:

Strong Woman said...

*eyes wide opened*. How e take do am?

Good morning Linda,please this story should be making headlines and not just the one sentence devoted to it.I live in Abuja and I'll like to take this up...can u pls gimme a solid link or lead to follow. Thanks
@huzanex

ugo nduka said...

waow....this is amazing..Naija got talent but no avenue to explore

Tony said...

Good , the guy needs to be encouraged. However , Linda, don't be carried away, the popular tricycle ( keke maruwa) is more efficient and readily available than what he has built. No one would like to invest on what he has built because there are better alternatives. What he has done is not new or unique. It is good to know that Nigerians are thinking. we should all start thinking.

i hope a door opens for him

Atobatele said...

The so called big men wont see this now...na to dey take our money go foreign company dem sabi...see potential in a very young and a sharp guy.Linda abeg this is a talent and d talent must not go down d drain

ADAMA J.ADAMA said...

This is no news. Its everywhere here in Adenta, Accra, Ghana. Henry Ford's 1st prototype car was more advanced than this. A sensitive Govt. Or responsible Corporation should pick Ahmed, sponsor him abroad, empower him to start his automobile line. I feel like shading tears. Oh Africa!

Impressive!!!! this raw talent should be developed!! government o, where are u? this might just be our chance of having made in Nigeria cars!

wow this boy needs a scholarship

The guy has potential, he is just 15 after all, impressive. hope he gets an opportunity to explore and be more creative

Ejyk said...

iConfam dhix ßuwai.....naija no phiT carry lasT :)

@Tony: You really should be ashamed of yourself.How can you say what he did is not unique? What did you do at 15 or what have you even done as of now that deserves mention.

Shouldn't he be arrested for underage driving, and driving without a licence? It's all well and good to be innovative, but he can't endanger himself and others in the process.

CLF said...

The signs of good things to come for him. We need to get him on CNN Africa via the lovely Christian Purefoy.

@ Adam see ur mouth like this is no news,mchwww. Abeg abeg abeg, the boy is real good and he sure didnt go to Ghana to learn it. Ghana must sha claim, lived there for 4yrs and saw nothing like this.

As for you Tony, Keke na pepe de dats nothing compared to this. He should be hooked up with Innoson in Nnewi Anambra state. He makes cars that are on the road.

Linda thanks for always having all sort of news

The guy try, but it will take decades before people will recognise and drive this new model.
ME

@Tony.... U̶̲̥̅̊ are sooo stupid for saying keke Maruwa is beta,like U̶̲̥̅̊ can make a bicycle horn,mcheeew..didnt U̶̲̥̅̊ Ơ̴̴͡.̮Ơ̴̴͡ how old Linda cald d guy ,15years. Olodo,if ure hating,pls hate wit good reasons .The boys future is too bright,he def needs shades...pls somebori help d poor talented boi, :(

KELE GOLDMIND said...

Tony, ..how many Gen. have u turned to a movable object if it is that common? ...if he can do that @ 15, He will even do more b4 30 if empowered, ...it is extra-ordinary in this part of the world, but do we value them?

allosgabriel said...

Nigeria was blessed with enough talents,bt who is 2 help us show it 2 the world,few years back,I knew of one mr innoson who made a kerosene car,bt 2day we buried that great opportunity that would have kataported Nigeria among the car producing countries jst like Japan,Germany and others. the world,few years back,I knew of one mr innoson who made a kerosene car,bt 2day we buried that great opportunity that would have kataported Nigeria among the car producing countries jst like Japan,Germany and others.

allosgabriel said...

Nigeria was blessed with enough talents,bt who is 2 help us show it 2 the world,few years back,I knew of one mr innoson who made a kerosene car,bt 2day we buried that great opportunity that would have kataported Nigeria among the car producing countries jst like Japan,Germany and others.t who is 2 help us show it 2 the world,few years back,I knew of one mr innoson who made a kerosene car,bt 2day we buried that great opportunity that would have kataported Nigeria among the car producing countries jst like Japan,Germany and others.

If this boy were to be in the UK or US, he would be in a technical college or university for this, regardless of his age.

Amaka's Notepad said...

I marvel at the ppl that are saying 'this isnt new, this has been done b4' etc. At 15, this boy worked hard on something worthy, at 15 most of us couldnt mold clay into simple shapes!
I am so proud of the guy. and as for the person saying he shouldnt be driving without licence,he isnt ON the road. he is on the pedestrain walkway! You might also need ppl walking on the road to have a licence. shio kelebe
Abeg linda, kia kia give huzane the link im want oo, im fit be the messiah wey this little boy need

Sophie said...

Now this is someone that needs a scholarship to go on to develop his skills. Nigeria is falling people like this everyday.

omole said...

Linda! Linda! Linda!wen fake boobs Karen came back from from dat morally degrading show cald BBA u talked about her in plenty paragraphs,n even show the welcome party,after party n press conference.Now that a smart boy need media exposure n encouragement see ow litte space u av for him...guess his story will not get u fund to maintain d camry or to get a new Range Rover maybe.....msssshhhhhhshhhhhhhh

Linda Ikeji said...

@omole lol at ur comment...it's not like that o. i just don't have much info on the guy...just his name and what he was able to accomplish...but as soon as i do, i will bring it here.

babe said...

THIS BOY SHOULD BE ENCOURAGED , HE'S GOT POTENTIAL. lINDA PLS USE U LINK TO PUT HIM IN THE LIME LITE SO THAT HE CAN BE SPONSORED . I ONCE HEARD THAT THE YAM POUNDER MACHINE WAS FIRST MADE IN NIGERIA BACK THEN BUT WHAT DO WE HAVE TO SHOW FOR IT NOW.

1976AD.com said...

He gets an A for effort, but Naija being Naija, his talent and acumen would just go to waste instead of being developed.

Galore said...

Bad belle dem............wetin una do, d time wen una be 15 years,,,nothing,,than to steal meat for una Mama pot........who be that fool sef,,wen say ,,ds is no news......bla bla bla......Bad belle dem............wetin una do, d time wen una be 15 years,,,nothing,,than to steal meat for una Mama pot........who be that fool sef,,wen say ,,ds is no news......bla bla bla......

TONY you're mad gan ni sha,see what you're spitting from that your gonorrhoea stricken mouth

Aunty linda e man disappoint ♍ƺ sha why did Ў☺ΰ reply omole heeen?

D'Silva said...

@15,awesome!

Priscy said...

really great stuff, if only our leaders are ready to invest in people like this, I am sure we will go far.

nich said...

does your stupid government encourage talents........in the states the have companies that sponsors people with great talents and ideas.....they advertize it everyday on tv and papers.............

Cannime said...

That is talent! If only our govt. Supported talents like this Our country would have stopped importing many things by now. We are extremely smart!

@ tony, where were you @ 15? U were probably still running the streets in your dirty pants if not even naked. What have you created at your own age? You really need to hear yourself talk. This boy used the head, hands and probably the crudest tools. You're an "agbaya" "sofo iska".

@ adama, since its everywhere in ghana, pls show us the one you've made or something creative you've done.

Pls linda, do more research on the guy, hopefully he'll get more exposure. I hope his talent will be encouraged.

Hotnigerianews said...

Hey tony stop hating. The guy did a good job and if he can have the brain to do that, then he is probably going to do more.

Browse free with phone said...

Nice work kid i hope the door of opportunities be open for ya!

It might not be as efficient as the keke marwa but it's the creativity and wherewithal displayed that matters. With more training, he can move on to more innovative designs.

Make money blog said...

Guy you did great and it is people like you that can bring our country to the lime light!

Atobatele said...

Adama and Tony, two of you dont get brain at all.Kudos to the guy

@tony mechonu dia. Ekwensu! Wetin you do when you be 15 no be to stay in front of mirror practice how to toast girl? Anwonfia. @adama no be to catch herpes you achieve at 15. Idiots! Instead of you to shut up or scratch your craw-craw infested body pretend to give praise you come here con knock yourself down.

*ajalahtravel*

sakara said...

which one be fight na? ah naija na wa for una o...u people r so difficult to impress...no wonder somebody said Nigerians r d most difficult people to govern;;;;haba Linda i beg put this boy n d news...NTA must carry this boy he could be a replica of that hausa man that works/design for 1 automobile company n d US..cant remember his name now...but he's a force to reckon wt

How do you expect the BIG MEN to see this when it is not as if people like you and I who do see it make much effort to SPREAD THE NEWS and ENCOURAGE the BIG MEN to see it?

V.O.R said...

The thing is the boy is 15, everyone saying it's not news show us what u built at 15? I assure u it's nothing more than a sand castle....if so. The person that talked about Henry fords prototype, how old was Henry ford when the first prototype came out? IDIOTS!! You can't see good for what it is, such haters. NIGERIANS ARE SUCH HATERS THAT'S WHY NOTHING GOOD WOULD HAPPEN TO MOST OF YOU.
I'm proud of the boy, if he's doing that at 15 then we hope he improves it as he gets older. SHIKENA!

@Nich:Just kip it simple,Stupid.A simpl ' niz' wlda bin enuf.
Its eithr u drone on abt Ribadu or sum oda crap abt d US.For sum1 who claims 2hv livd dt long in d US,u cnt write error-free posts.
Jst hush...@Nich:Just kip it simple,Stupid.A simpl ' niz' wlda bin enuf.
Its eithr u drone on abt Ribadu or sum oda crap abt d US.For sum1 who claims 2hv livd dt long in d US,u cnt write error-free posts.
Jst hush...

I really can't believe this crap is getting applauded for making what?? You guys plzzzz stop! this is BS! how can u be so blind and narrow minded? He made a cart from a gen made in China so what? Did he make the generator? No, did he invent anything new? No! shut the F*^%K up and open your eyes. this is why the developed world think something's wrong with all of us in Africa! Kids do this in my neighborhood everyday, even better "go-carts" than this nonsense this retard is going around with and you all are opening your mouth in amazement pouring out sympathetic crap about how govt should help him to achieve what? You don't know that one of the senior design specialist at Ford is and hausa guy, those are the kind of peeps Linda should highlight, not a retard like this. It it so unfortunate how un-exposed you all are, travel and see the world, not Dubai and London, you won't see jack there!!! Linda, last warning, if I c this kinda BS again, i will stop reading your blog and trust me so will my Nija peeps in US and Canada.

Femiluv said...

Talent like this should be encouraged and nurtured.

Damilola Amele said...

Hi Linda. Pls how can I reach this guy. He's a good candidate for Naija Diamonds.

omole said...

@Linda ,am sorry i was so harsh on u yesterday.i just read ur comment dis morning.plzzzzz do get his info n give him d exposure he deserve

I wonder what will happen to young talents if pple like Tony beocomes d president, @ ur age u are saying this in ur mouth.....anyway, i'm not surprised to hear dat u were looking for electrician to fix ur W.C....mschewwwww

andisaid said...

@Anonymous :August 18, 2011 6:23 AM

You are a really wicked person, what is BS about what this boy has done and why are you calling him a retard? and why should Linda stop printing things like this and who cares if u naija pple in Canada and US stop reading her blog? she doesn't need you and your ten kobo.
The boy lives in an impoverished society and instead of letting that get him down, he decided to fight the norm and do something with his life. He isn't out there bombing people or stealing or doing rituals or joining MEND/BOKO HARAM.
Why must you be so wicked? you sit down there in a country where you are second class citizen, probably scrubbing toilet and you are insulting this young boy.
If you are so well off, sponsor him, do something good..and stop talking bullshit!
Kids in your neighbourhood go to good schools, eat good food, this boy probably eats once a day and sleeps under a bridge or in a slum..how dare you compare him to those spoilt kids that have life handed to them on a silver platter..you are so myopic and small minded that you have no idea how people are suffering in Nigeria abi?
idiot, like you.
Come back home and see if you will even survive a day ...small minded bigot like you...omo oshi!

Anon august 18 6.23am.
YOU ARE THE RETARD!!! How dare you? Yes he didnt invent something from scratch BUT he did use existing materials to make something that was existing b4. that, my dumb friend, is innovation
You sit in ur cramped up kitchenette abroad and threaten Linda? You are a BIG JOKE! if u stop reading this blog(one less retard, yayyy), 20 other people will take ur place and mind u, u dont have one tiny weeny power to make other ppl stop reading this blog. Ode buruku! Iberibe!

I have never seen any of my comments. You seem to pick only those of your friends. Na wa!! I pass a lot of comments but I'm yet to see even half!

@anonymous 6:23
this is so mean of you. do you know the boy? why all the hate? that was too much, too toxic and clearly unecessary.

In my anger the first time, i made a mistake in my post cos of stupid anon 6.23. so i am re posting cos i need to rub it into his stupid shallow head!!!

Anon august 18, 6.23am.
YOU ARE THE RETARD!!! How dare you? Yes he didnt invent something from scratch BUT he did use existing materials to make something that wasnt existing b4. that, my dumb friend, is innovation
You sit in ur cramped up kitchenette abroad and threaten Linda? You are a BIG JOKE! if u stop reading this blog(one less retard, yayyy), 20 other people will take ur place and mind u, u dont have one tiny weeny power to make other ppl stop reading this blog. Ode buruku! Iberibe!

Anon 6:23am must be the president of naija association in US and Canada. Sorry ma. If you stop reading, I won't stop. U go chase me comot US?

Blog witch! said...

going by what anonymous (August 18, 2011 6:23 AM)wrote about those in America and Canada not reading your blog, the truth really is that a good advertiser who wants to reach the Nigerians at home does not need those abroad, as they don't influence their market. as for Tony and Adama complaining gets one no where, please show me your achievements and i will support you point. Our diasporans are the worst image we have of Nigeria, because they are the first port of call with foreigners about Nigerians with the credit card fraud and all other scams.

I can't imaging some foolish idiot saying this words against the boy, what did u people invent, discovered or produced while u were at his age? even now at your age what have you done, the poor boy needs to be encouraged so that his talent will not waste away, you sit down and continue with your rubbish talk, mind you, if u fail to read Linda's Blog, many people will read and make reasonable comments unlike yours. Block head....nonsense...

Good & 9ice the guy need to be encouraged and supportive. Hey can you please send this to our My president (a.k.a. 6years tenure)e-mail address or Facebook and also to the minister for youth and development including the minister for science and technology with minister for special duties to see.
Thanks
Oriolowo Maruff