Washington based Nigerian, Ikenna Njoku, Wrongfully Arrested for Check Fraud at Chase Bank | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 10 July 2011

Washington based Nigerian, Ikenna Njoku, Wrongfully Arrested for Check Fraud at Chase Bank

Ikenna Njoku
On June 24, 2010, Ikenna Njoku walked into an Auburn, Wash., branch of Chase Bank intending to cash a $8,463 Chase cashier's check he'd brought in the day before.

Instead, members of the Auburn Police Department handcuffed Njoku and threw him in jail, where he sat for the next four days. Chase claimed Njoku had tried to cash a fraudulent check. Twenty-four hours later, Chase realized it had made an error.

"I was really embarrassed. I got put under arrest in front of a lot of people," Njoku said.

A year ago, the 28-year-old former construction worker had been thrilled to buy his first home, and qualified for the first-time home buyer tax rebate. According to a letter Njoku's lawyers wrote to Chase Bank, the Internal Revenue Service had wired more than $9,000 into Njoku's account. Chase deducted $600 to recoup the amount it was allegedly owed for Njoku's overdrafts and mailed Njoku the balance -- $8,463.21 -- in a cashier's check.

When Njoku went to Chase Bank to cash the check, he presented two forms of ID. Njoku said the teller was rude. "She looked me up and down and asked me a series of questions, like where I got the check and what I did for a living."
According to Matthew Knopp, one of Njoku's attorneys, the teller told Njoku that she could not cash the check immediately. When Njoku returned the next day, Chase refused to honor the check and instead had the Auburn Police Department arrest Njoku and haul him off to King County Jail.

"At bottom, what Chase did was wrong," Knopp said. "They treated him in a way that no one wants to be treated or deserves to be treated."

Cmdr. Mike Hirman said that a Chase representative had left a voicemail message for a Police Department detective June 25, a Friday, saying that the check was valid and that it had made a mistake.

"This means there was no longer a probable cause for arrest, and Ikenna should have been released from jail," Hirman said.

But the detective was not in that day, and the Police Department did not hear Chase's message until Monday.

"It was tough sitting in jail for so long," Njoku said. "Chase is the company that's responsible. People go to cash checks every day and not every time do people get thrown in jail."

Hirman said, "The lawyers think Chase could have tried harder to get him out, like calling 911 to speak to someone or following up."

During his four-day jail stint, Njoku's favorite Infinity I30, which he'd parked in the bank's lot, was impounded. Without sufficient funds to retrieve it and pay the fees, the car was auctioned off.

A year later, Njoku is still without a car.

According to his lawyers, without a vehicle, Njoku couldn't get to work, and so he lost his job too.

Njoku's attorneys have demanded that Chase make "full and fair financial compensation" to their client.

"He lost a lot, and hopefully they will simply do the right thing," Knopp said.

Tom Kelly of Chase Media Relations said in a statement to ABCNews.com, "This is a very unfortunate and unusual situation. We apologize to Mr. Njoku and deeply regret what happened to him. We are working quickly to understand all the details so we can reach a fair resolution."

The original check had been seized as evidence during Njoku's arrest and not returned to him until five weeks later -- a major point of contention for Njoku's lawyers who said that Chase should have recognized its mistake and reissued their client a new check immediately.

"I'm hoping that their policy changes," Njoku said, "and this doesn't happen to anyone else."

35 comments:

Fannie said...

Hmmm...if na me, i no go gree at all, i'll play the racist card and sue the mofos, sue for damages and compensation too. Thank God its America, hopefully he'll get justice.

I hope he sues them for all they've got!

i love to handle this type of case.i pray to God he gets a very good lawyer.my guy will b rolling in millions of dollars at the end of d day.if na me sha,i no go gree,d cashier must lose her job too.i will go to d streets,d press,everywhere...na d bank go dey beg me,plus human rights,amnesty international,etc...lol

Just imagine this nonsense and ingredient...*lol*.If I woze these people eh!!!I felt so terrible reading that.Poor man.Thats simply unacceptable.He sounded so calm when explaining,too.May they compensate him a hundred fold...God bless him...

Una see wetin the Igbo 419 scammers don cause now?......wey be say every Nigerian don become thieves to the outside world? I thank God well well say na another Igbo man them cart go jail for the ills of him people.....shiooor....

NINA said...

I will totally play the race card and more...they probably heard the accent and just threw him in jail..i bank with CHASE here in Los Angeles..and didn't know they did stuff like this..he should sue them for serious damages..very legitimate lawsuit..he shouldn't back down one inch...

This guy should recognize the big fish and net it mehn, slam their ignorant ass and take em' to court. Chase has some rude mofos like one did to me in L.A where i wanted to cash the balance of my wages which was earlier mis-calculated. My employer sent me a balance cheque of $254.76 and i went to the bank to cash it only for the bloody mexican to start doubting and asking stupid questions. If he was polite.....but he became disrespectful and i snapped- I was like dude are you serious, $254 and thats all i will walk into this bank scam?
Well no need to write my tantrums out here but his boss came out, checked and confirm then apologize. I told him no problem as long as i don't get served by him then i turned back to others on line, "don't go to him, he's off his bank meds today"

Thank you 419_ers. You have done a great job destroying our image. It's official...Nigerians are being targeted! God help us.

@ 4:18 PM, PLEASE GO TO HELL. the guy was wrongfully accused, yet you are still having diarrhea of the mouth. everything igbo igbo igbo to some people. DAMN.
anyway, i don't see why its news every time a Nigerian is arrested for something. do Americans make it a big deal EVERY SINGLE TIME their own folks are caught doing identity theft, credit card theft, etc. yet with Nigerians, they must blow it up times 10. we contribute to our own bad imagine. end of.

anon 4:18pm shut ur big mouth! what do u mean by igbo 419ners? i dont have ur time sha so ild let others do the finishing cos anything u get you deserve it!kmt

@ Annon July 10, 2011 4:18 PM

What has being Igbo got to do with the situation at hand? Is it only Igbos that commit crime outside Nigeria? The young man was falsely accused and here you are talking rubbish! So, he should pay for the crime (that he did not commit) that others before him have committed in the past? The hatred that some Nigerians have for other Nigerians who are from a different ethnic group from them is absolutely appauling. It makes stinking oyibo heffers and their rascism look like saints. Sigh!

I pray the young man gets justice and a fat monetary compensation....Amen!

BB said...

Wow lucky dude. When this is over, he should be a very rich man lol

so after 1 year, its now that the guy is coming out with the story, (somebody needs a good lawyer)if it was me i would have pressed charges on them a long time ago, anyways i hope he gets a lot of money from the lawsuit.

He would be a fool if he does not sue the bank immediately and heavily too. Nonsense! Ikenna will smile with millions at last if he gets a credible lawyer.

Ade_Cool said...

Sue their asses..first the bank for defamation of character and the Police for wrongful address..what ever happened to being deemed innocent before proven guilty..I get it when it comes to Nigerians..we the exception..arrant nonsense!!
Boy is going to get paid BIG!!..love that to happen to me..

i'm really happy for him pray his lawyer is a very good one. after every he should be retiring well lol!

Phillip said...

Racism only exists in Nazi-Germany...There's no racism in America...

Wale said...

Well, if he has a good lawyer, he should be able to walk away from the whole predicament with a lot of money as compensation. At least, a couple of hundred thousands.

Phillip:

Tell that to the birds. I guess it was Nazi Germany that took several Africans and made them work as slaves on the cotton plantations in the U.S right? Please spare me your bloody lies! I live in America and know what I experience day in, day out!

phillip are u in la la land???

i am krys said...

He should sue them for defamation of character, loss of property, emotional and psychological stress, racism and a lot of other things. If i'm in his shoes i'd be a millionaire due to this.

Phillip racism exists in america, who are you trying to fool?

michael said...

as a Nigerian and Igbo man for that matter, he should know how to quickly convert this opportunity to cash mehn!

I think Phillip was being sarcastic. well i hope he was....

Bee said...

Why has he not sued after a whole year???? he must have a quack lawyer.

time to get paid.....singing straight to the bank with this

Phillip said...

There is Prejudice and a bit of discrimination...But not as bad as Nazi Germany...If you want to know what racism is, go to Nazi Germany and compare your experience between USA and Gernany, You'll know the difference...

this dude is taking so long to catch the big fish in his net that i am begining to doubt his story.

Nkili said...

to the person talking about igbo 419ers: dont be an ignoramus. 419 is not igbo thing.It's a naija problem.

ChiChiLuv said...

If he doesn't sue the damn J. P. Morgan Chase and walk away with at least 1 mil TAX FREE for all the unnecessary wahala they've cause him, his Nigerian passport should be shredded. What errant nonsense! If he was oyingbo none of that would have happened, I can say it clearly without a doubt! America! They saw a "strange" name, probably heard an accent, he's black and of course, they jumped into the conclusion that he could never have such an amount of money meanwhile Bernie Madoff was destroying people's lives to the tune of 65 billion! Would a black man have gone that long without scrutiny. America! Na to make man money and comot. If Nigerian leaders were such unbelievable screw ups would we all leave to other countries to seek a decent living and other basic needs?

Ikenna Njoku, if you no sue dem I go come find you o hmmm!

Chei! Maybe this guy has been away from Nigeria for so long and dosen't know this song ' Maga, don pay shout alleluia'. Imagine how somebody would just sit down jejerly and heavenly blessings would come down on him. He should sue the mofos for all the deposits and transaction they made during the 4 days he was chilling in jail and more sef.

Chinwelicious

o wow! i feel sorry for at anon 4:18.... dude ounds ignorant as fuck.. and last i checked the last guy caught for stealing billions of dollars.. was clearly Yoruba. i rest my case

chichiluv said...

Philip - I think you are being sarcastic which is at this time doesn't play well so abeg, fashi dat and either address the issue at hand or close your mouth. I refuse to believe that you really don't think there is racism in the United States of America.

It is a very seriouse problem of a bank manager letting things get out of control. The bank manager has the resposability to make sure his staff are respectfull and his customers are treated with respect. This bank manager did niether and should be held accountable as well as the staff member who is obviouly racist.The board members of the bank should pay in full compensation for the ordeal thier bank pressed upon this man. An example if you will for this to never happen again to some poor unfortunate person trying to make his living for himself and family. This is am classic example of some one trying to exert thier own little power trip over an individual.....I truely feel for that mans ordeal.

whooooooooooooooooooooo why all this racism.......Plain simple the man whoever. was wronged treated like no man should be treated and deservces his life back in compensation from bank trustees.
End of story.

I hope he cleans up Chase bank & finally goes to school so he will never be a construction worker again:)

I am not supporting what chase bank did but i think the teller was only trying to save his/her job. Njoku must have had a couple of overdraft checks or even deposited bad checks in the past. Trust me most Nigerian don't like been questioned in the bank they never accept they are wrong (I do the same too), they never follow the rules, they are the ones you will see using their cell phone in a no cell phone zone and when they are asked to switch of their phone they rain curses on you, We are always defensive and this could be frustrating for you that you work as a teller. I have been approach by some and they only treat me better when I tell them am from Nigeria. Most situations like this come up and my boss usually calls me to solve the situation with my people. But they know me they dare not talk about Nigerians in any manner around me because I will definitely put them in their place.

I blame the fraud department of Chase for providing in accurate information to the teller because he/she or the manager would have contacted them before calling the police for the arrest.

And trust me a lot of fraudulent check presenters that i caught while working as teller were Africans and 40% are from Nigeria.

Anyway congratulation Njoku because if I were him I will sue their ass for 500million dollars mehn times are hard in America everyone is looking for loop holes to make free money and this right here is just the very best opportunity. So he needs to use it wisely.