Salaries, allowances and perks of Commissioners and Special Advisers in Lagos State | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 14 July 2011

Salaries, allowances and perks of Commissioners and Special Advisers in Lagos State

Check out what commissioners in Lagos State earn monthly. An encomium magazine report.

The monthly total emolument of a commissioner or special adviser is N520, 878.
This includes: domestic allowances - N78, 131, entertainment allowance - N31, 252, newspaper allowance - N15, 626, personal assistant allowance - N26, 046, rent allowance - N156, 263, utility allowance - N31, 252, vehicle maintenance allowance - N78, 131, and basic salary of N104, 175.

This doesn't include monthly N500, 000 running cost for their offices. When they travel abroad for official assignment, they collect as much as $2, 000 per week. It may be more, depending on destination and number of days to be spent.

Commissioners and special advisers have two official cars. A Toyota Prado and Toyota Camry 2009. And when they go out of the state to represent the governor at event, they get as much as N150, 000 to N200, 000 as transport and accommodation claims on such trips.

Doesn't seem like much...so I'm guessing there are other perks they don't make public.

14 comments:

the white enchantress said...

na wa ohhhhh........dis pay is too much for some of them who dont even own a diploma certificate. what is nigerian government and politics turning into? so they get have cover for entertainment? hmmmmm.....Cry the beloved country....hmmmm

Galore said...

I weep for this contry........no wonder they kill one another or make the seat,,a do or die affair....

Hmmm.

1. Lower than I expected
2. Higher than they deserve
3. I like how politicians always keep the basic salary Low to disguise the complete picture.

-SRA

Hmm, I collect more money than they do sha when it comes to salary and standard allowances. Of course I don't get any opportunities for egunje via contract inflation

Hope Vanguard, Inc. said...

too small, guess they are hiding some more details

Shakara said...

Congrats to Biyi and Enitan on their new jobs. UNILAG boys are repping!

The perks they get from contracts and patronage are something else.

Congratulations to the people of Lagos State whose taxes pay for this...

Allegra said...

Politicians like any civil servant including a president or prime minister do not earn a great deal but are however, compensated with fantastic pension scheme. Then, there are the opportunities afterwards.

not bad at all. hope this is all there is to it.If those ministers could also cut theirs accordingly. Not saying it should be this low but at least, then i guess things will be better for all of us. anyway this is just lagos state. other states nko?

Kunle said...

Mehn dis is small o. executive directors & some general managers earn more than dis. Even directors in federal ministries earn something like ds so no biggie

And 18k minimum wage is 2 much,according 2 dis scoundrels.

I think the admin of this site is actually working
hard in favor of his website, since here every data is quality
based information.
My web site :: GFI Norte

Thank you a lot for sharing this with all of us you really know what you're speaking about! Bookmarked. Please additionally consult with my website =). We could have a hyperlink exchange agreement between us
Look into my web site - GFI Norte

Nice post. I learn something totally new and challenging on websites I stumbleupon on a daily basis.

It's always interesting to read through articles from other writers and use something from other sites.

My blog: diet that works