Frank and Katherine Edoho set to divorce | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 13 July 2011

Frank and Katherine Edoho set to divorce

It seems it's finally over between broadcasters, Frank and Katherine Edoho. The couple who have been married for over ten years and have three children together, separated a few months back and now live apart. Friends of the Who Wants To Be A Millionaire host say he has already started divorce proceedings against his wife. I know for sure he's moved on.

I still can't decide if I like this guy or not. See why

41 comments:

They've used all their lifelines 50/50 when they both started staying separately, Phone a friend when they both had media interview on their marriage and now they are on "ask the audience" They are both stupid... This is an example of when two people get married for all the wrong reason"

Evelyn B. said...

Such a big disappointment!! Nigerians are being influenced by the back door (divorce) options being practiced in the western world... the evil one is really wreaking havoc on God's design for Man's happiness... But then I guess these days we (humans) are insincere in our dealings with each other...If we were there wouldn't be room for [overwhelming discoveries] of irreconcilable differences between couples.... Well, I wish them both the best in their seperate lives, Hope they will be mature enough to raise their children without creating bias in [their children's] minds towards themselves.

All dis anon acting lik fyn men dnt use the toilet...Lets call a spade a spade Frank has acted totally inhuman n ts nt abt his grammar or poise its abt the mind.It totally shows dat Frank is just like every Nigerian Man or guy who takes out their aggression on women who are not as strong as they r n wen dey realize d public effect dey begin to beg....Its human to err buh nt always..

@ evenly wen a man gets physical wiv his wife i dnt tink he has d interst oh his children @ hart.Tawkn abt westernization or not if d marriage is nt condusive wunt u get out. The children wud av isasues no doubt buh dey wud av more wen deir father kills deir mother b4 er tym.Lets face fact deir id no need to let some one turn to a punching bag in d name of endurance

Well... it is better to divorce her even though the Bible teaches us that God hates it than to kill her like Kolade did. God will help our homes
ME

Ch5335ng said...

After reading the full story a while back, i can't stand the guy. To think i used to like him.....

Once a man lifts his fingers on a woman, it will continue forever. It's a hopeless situation.

You're still deciding whether to like him or not? The man uses his wife as a punching bag. Linda, which part of him do you like?!!!! Or maybe you won't mind being punchbag number two!

Evelyn B. said...

@ Anon: 12:14pm ....if you look closely and READ properly thru my comment U'd notice I said.. "But then I guess these days we (humans) are insincere in our dealings with each other...If we were there wouldn't be room for [overwhelming discoveries] of irreconcilable differences between couples".... If he were sincere He would have shown his true colors from the start, then it'd be up to her to either stay with him or leave...even b4 engagement...but alas... ... and when I talked bout [their children] I meant, hope he won't tell them lies about their mum to get them on his side, and hope she won't tell them stories about their dad to make him look worse than the wife-beater he already is... if anything, they should try to give the kids as much of a balanced life as possible (to make for forcing them to live without both parents)

Igwe Osita One said...

Nigerians!!!! HABA.....you guys amaze me? You read one side of a story and then conclude....na wa o...seriously, a man that lifts up his hand to beat his wife is a beast--agreed..but what does that tell of the woman in the centre of this whole drama? Why would you allow a man to beat you up always...what is it you do that makes the man beat you always....again-both of them have issues.....am not going to pass judegement on the man alone here....

Leo said...

...as for Frank,as a public figure, I don't think he should have given himself to anger to the evel of beating the wife (no matter what). Obviously, he's not going to remain the same again. Remember the aftermath of Gulder Ultimate search (Celebrities Edition),some of them gained more fans & the reverse was the case for others.

people are funny sha with some comments i read so if she had died y'all would have come here like titi to say God forbid oo rip Katherine o she should have left bla bla nigerians are hypocrites i swear,good move sister kate i wish you knew how he beats this woman then you wont be talking this way

Galore said...

I so 2nd the motion.....Am against divorce as a xtian,,but i cant see Katherine leaving wt this beast,,bfor her body wud b mutilated by this short Man devil,,in place of FRANK EDOHO..

It's called an upgrade! Men do it all the time when their social status starts to rise and the woman doesnt fit into the new status.......very sad!and @ Igwe, exactly, was wondering where they got this story about wife beating?!!! from her I guess!

Whatever the issue maybe-- a man has no business hitting a woman. To me, if a man hits, he indirectly insults my father who raised me,paid my school fees, changed my diapers, made sure I was educated. Na a husband come borrow the wife from her father- that a man paid dowry does not give him any permission whatsoever to hit or beat a woman.

Moreover, a man who hits or beats a woman is a weak one- probably has a small inferiority complex- hence the reasons why he will hit and beat his wife. Even if a wife misbehaves- Man has no business beating her, simple. And to the anonymous who wrote that long essay--- you should not sit there and think that you can justify Mr Edoho's behavior. What you are saying here is that you, yourself is more likely to hit and beat a woman. I feel sorry for the woman that marries you if you are a man; and if you are a woman, I feel sorry for you.
People should stop using the holy bible to justify evil ugly behaviors. Simple, Mr. Edoho is an ugly man inside. He needs to spend time and love himself(as to reduse the level of his inferiority complex); Mr. Edoho- need to get the beating of his live from Mrs. Edoho's brothers(men)- let me see him try and raise his hands again; Mr. Edoho will still be ugly inside after Katherine is no longer his wife; He is a wife beater and he needs to acknowledge it and do something about it before it gets outta hand(at least to show good examples to his children).

Tosin Smith said...

Igwe Osita....NO MAN SHOULD EVER HIT A WOMAN, IREPEAT NO MAN SHOULD EVER HIT A WOMAN. His wife and mother of his children..... Even if she's the devil herself, he had the choice of leaving, why beat her?? Seriously.

Linda,can you point me to a link where i can read Frank's version of the story.
since they want the public to be the judges of their home,i need to hear both parties before i pass judgement.

meanwhile,girls still dey rush Frnak o!
some of them even blog here.

this is really sad. in as much as the story is one sided and i don't support men beating their wives i pray Frank doesn't also wash his dirty linen to the press. she said she lied that she was going to Brazil wat made her lie and wat made her want to leave the house. I am a single girl so don't wonder about the next que. for her husband to be concerned about her single friends something must ve happened so lets not be quick to judge. whatever it is the both ve faults and not only one person shd b blamed. Don't know wat my beloved naija is turning into, that we ve embraced western culture must we also do all they do like divorce is becoming rampant wit us these days.they shd try and work it out for the sake of their kids.

wivesroundtable said...

Not all that glitters are gold. shikena!

mae said...

Oh NO! I wish it weren't true, about the break-up, the beatings, etc. It's never good to see a home or marriage broken, especially when it comes to couples who should be role models due to their public image. I know that wife battery is a no-no but I think with counseling things can work out for the best. I love Catherine and I know she might not be perfect either. Compromise is key.

**sideeye** said...

@ Igwe osita,spoken like a true wife beater. I bet you beat your wife. For your information an abusive person doesn't really need much provocation from the victim. So your statement is total bs. I guess you know that, cos I am convinced you are a woman beater. Weakling. NO MATTER THE EXTENT OF PROVOCATION, A MAN MUST NEVER HIT A WOMAN!

Bee said...

A man who hits anyone is insecure and truly a weakling.

there is absolutely NO reason for a man to hit his wife. NONE

camouflage said...

@sideeye said i understand what osita igwe's point was he clearly doesnt support wife beating he just feels that the guy is not the only one to be blamed here....why is it that women expect men to be super heroes? dont give bullshit if u dont want bullshit right? i donot support wife beating, i had a peaceful upbringing BUT one thing i have noticed is that we all blame the men that beat their wives(which is 100% right) why dont we also caution the women to watch their tongue/actions? some people are short tempered not every husband is long suffering!!
i just hope y'all get my point here before u chew me raw....!

@ camouflage

I'm already saying pele (sorry) for what is about to befall you.

You know the females on this blog dont play LOL

Dee dee said...

@camouflage and Igwe, I believe that men who beat their wives don't need a lot of provocation to do so. WHY? Because they're usually very angry inside for one reason or the other...mostly insecurity. I knew a man who used to constantly beat his wife while she was pregnant. The bottom line is that he wanted to have total control of her, for her to cut off her friends & family and quit her job. The worst part of it was that nobody could have guessed that she was being abused because he behaved like a saint in public and she suffered in silence. Put yourself in the woman's shoes - naturally you would be walking on eggshells and being on your best behaviour around someone who abuses you because NOBODY LIKES PAIN. And for those people that keep going on about how God doesn't like divorce, you'll be the same people that will come here to offer your condolences if he kills her. He might not mean to kill her but what if she hits her head on the floor or wall during one of the beatings and ends up dying from swelling on the brain? NOTHING JUSTIFIES VIOLENCE AGAINST YOUR PARTNER, ESPECIALLY WHEN IT'S PERSISTENT. God doesn't like adultery, fornication, and violence (to name a few!) either but it doesn't stop a lot of people from doing these. You can't just pick out bits of the bible that suit you and leave out the rest, it's hypocritical!

IF he truly abused her during the marriage then she was very right to leave, not only for her sake but also for the sake of her children who shouldn't grow up believing that it's okay to be abusive towards your partner or anyone for that matter. If he wants her back then he needs to WILLINGLY get help in dealing with his anger issues and PROVE that he's changed. Better to be single than dead.

i feel sorry for you, Camouflage.

lol@anon8:20pm sorry for yourself! who cares if they joke or not its my freaking opinion btw i am a woman too and i say no guy in this life can ever lay his filthy hands on me! if you read my comment carefully you would see that i am in no way justifying wife beaters because i detest wife beating....i am just saying that as women we should learn to control our tongue and watch what we say....#thats it :)

camouflage said...

wow linda ikeji your followers firstly,DISLIKE people stating their opinion....
secondly, i doubt if they truly want to understand what any one writes. i guess they just want to read what they want to read....#confirm utunu
Geez i give up trying BUT for the records i NEVER supported wife beating for any reason and i NEVER will. Btw i am the anon 10:23pm :)

Mena UkodoisReady said...

Anon July 13, 2011 9:02 PM

All I c\n give you is a standing ovation.

i h\ve blogged and blogged on this lkike a mad woman bcos iits happening to my friend.

http://efemenaoreoluwa.blogspot.com/2011/06/what-exactly-is-going-on-with-domestic.html

http://efemenaoreoluwa.blogspot.com/2011/07/more-on-violence-victim-was-raped-and.html

http://efemenaoreoluwa.blogspot.com/2011/07/and-even-more-on-violence-with.html

http://efemenaoreoluwa.blogspot.com/2011/07/right-of-reply-i-didnt-kill-my-wife-she.html

http://efemenaoreoluwa.blogspot.com/2011/07/just-to-re-emphasise-what-pastor.html

http://efemenaoreoluwa.blogspot.com/2011/07/olori-you-see-in-photo-is-dead-and.html

All this is a coded sign to my friend, She has a good job but a jobless handsome husband who beaths her regulalrly.m She kept it to herslelf until he beat her right there at her office on valentines day. At he young age she has a heart condition formworrying asbout what to or what not to expect from home.

NO MAN OR WOMAN IS A SAINT WITH THIER TONGUE but some of these modern men they marry in the name of want to be mrs xyz are pure beasts. What touches me the most? After beating her like an animal, he takes her money and go have fun or uses her dstv to watch sports or drives her car out while she uses transport to the hospital, gets on admissions, treats herself and then come back to that tensed house .

Edohos were rich and were not suffering to that extent but the lasy endured enough, probably because there isnt a place to go for battered women in Nigeria, just the churches that preach submission as if the woman is a ram and not a person wwith feelings. she is not a superwoman and I applaud her decsion. Upon it all I know she isnt happy about it bcos in Nigeria being single or single mother is equivalent to being the damned.http://efemenaoreoluwa.blogspot.com/2011/07/now-i-see-it-is-sin-damnable-to-hell-to_13.html hissss

(sorry for the long note jare, i dont want my friend to die bcos she wants to be mrs john doe)

Mazi Nwonwu said...

Not that this is our business, but I hate it when people jump to all sorts of conclusion when people decide they cannot live with each other.
I have a feeling that many of people blogging here are unmarried or have had it rosy in their marriage.
Anyone that tells you 'you will never have issues in marriage, or fight, curse and physically assault each other' is a liar.
Some babes will tell you 'if he ever lays a hand on me i will walk!', but a few months/years later they are the ones throwing the first slap or burning/slashing all his better clothes.
We delude ourselves when we think marriage is a straight forward affair, in which roses have thorns made of jello. However, the bitter truth is that it is one hell of a battle and only the willing survive.
While I do not presume to know what caused Frank to hit out at his wive or why they are both set to throw in the towel, I will however caution bloggers here to desist from passing the buck. These two must be hurting, surely they would appreciate some encouragement.
Our parents, at least that of a large number of us, stuck together through the years and we got to cerebrate jubilees and whatnot, think it would serve couples in distress more to seek the council of these old ones, rather than from friends and colleagues.
No matter what anyone says, divorce is not the answer, for the kids will be marked for life, not that they won't suffer if you don't sacrifice to make a marriage work.
As i see it, selfishness is the biggest culprit here. okwa ka oham na onu.

Men who beat their wives are two hundred years behind schedule.

They simply belong in the zoo or the jungle and as i dont welcome dialogue from animals so wont give exception to women beaters.

@camouflague you're as retarded as your name oloshi

babe said...

@anon 11:40am lol

but does frank stay with married dudes all the time? not everyone wld marry so i think been married is nt a criteria to be frds with pple it shld be more of behavior and personality.

may God help them

All these people saying divorce is not the answer. Yes, maybe the should have just been separated and free to pursue other people.

But you can't expect a woman who has been battered to stay there.

There is HAPPINESS OUTSIDE OF MARRIAGE and marriage should not be a do or die affair.

It has nothing to do with western values. Divorce has always been on just that because of education/civilsation, its now legalised and publicised.

Women have alwyas left thier beasts or vice versa.

And please many many kids from single homes do well.

So whats the big deal?

Esther said...

@Igwe Osita One....God bless you! Nice comment! How can we just judge from one side? Haba! Remember there was gist of them separating one time...why she no comot then if na true sey him dey give am serious beating like that? We dont know Rita...nor do we know Frank so well. We were not in their homes. Lets not be quick to judge. Please.

@ camouflage and Fred Nwosu...Nice one. Don't mind those who won't read or reason with you...especially the ones who are being abusive. I no know wetin abuse find enter wetin we dey talk. Make them dey take panadol on to Frank and Rita's headache. Hiss.

Dee dee said...

@Fred no one said marriage is easy but CONSTANTLY beating up your partner is surely not going to make things better, only worse (if it's true that he constantly beat her up). Yes there are cases where someone gets slapped because they were rude, but there are also cases where the beating is constant no matter how polite you are. My parents have been married for over 30 years and trust me it definitely hasn't been rosy but neither of them has ever resorted to hitting the other, even during heated arguments. And just so you know kids can also get scarred for life when they grow up in homes with domestic abuse.

@ Anon 3.01pm who says they should try and work it out. Se na till dem kill the woman before you go no say she suppose to waka now?

what happened am i missing something here?

good riddance to bad rubbish. we are always better off without them. left my batterer almost 4 months ago and i am happier than i have been in the last year i spent with him. go Catherine..... it is well with us, better to be alive and separated or divorced than to be sliced up like suya like kolades wife......

jamesrice said...

Some of u guys are just talking shit here. Who are you to judge? For the married ones, how ur own house take be? some of u are prolly going thru worse than Franky's and you come up here to judge. Have you listened to franks own version of the story before passing any judgment?Hell No! I dont support a man beating a woman but when a woman kips pushing u to the wall which a lotta dem like doing, you've gotta to react now afterall he's human and not everybody has the maturity to handle anger issues.
But wait a minute, was it not last year i read an interview of how catherine who escorted frank to go shop for an engagement ring ended up being the one he engaged? Na wa for this marriage matter. Sometime i kip asking myself ''Why should i get married? until i get a concrete reasoon why i should involve myself in one, then its...... Jamesrice