Britain's youngest grandparents: He's a granddad at 29, she's a grand mother at 30 | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 31 July 2011

Britain's youngest grandparents: He's a granddad at 29, she's a grand mother at 30

From left: Parents -Jordan and Tia. Grand parents - Shem and Kelly
An unemployed man, 29, has become one of Britain's youngest grandparents after his daughter gave birth at 14.

Shem Davies and his former girlfriend Kelly John, 30, were overjoyed when their daughter Tia, who was born when her parents were 15, gave birth to a baby daughter earlier this month. Tia's boyfriend, Jordan Williams, is 15.

To each his own...

26 comments:

Surprise said...

It runs in their family.

DISGUSTING. the cycle will never end. they will even become great grandparents at 45.

KMT! abeg this one no dey necessary for your blog Linda.

Rubbish

Na wa for u linda. U no dey sleep? Any way congrat to the young grandparents.lol

damie said...

They no get wahala now. They would just live off the govt. Besides, considering that the parents have been together 15 years, I guess they knew what they were doing.

LadyNgo said...

That's just crazy. Unfortunately, research does tend to favor the idea that the offspring of teen parents are likely to become teen parents themselves. You would think that having to struggle to raise a child at 15 would make you go to any length to keep our kids from ending up in the same position. SMH

Kemi said...

children begetting children and the cycle of foolishness continues. SMH

This happens quite well in villages all over Nigeria. Maybe not so much these days with condoms and abortions. But when I was in secondary school, there were those boys here and there that got fellow students pregnant. 15/16 thereabouts. Of course such things are usually cyclical.

The height of bullshit and whorism (the act of being a whore).

realtalk said...

like parents, like children

CLF said...

Council estate trash!

so also u see a whole generation smoking

IOU said...

anon 6.23 i had to lol 'whorism'lmao
this is crazy but at least its better than some nigerian girls who resort to abortion(the act of killing an unborn child) after their dirty acts

thanks God say them be oyinbo!!!!! no be dudu do am!!!!

nich.. said...

the difference is simple folks......these ones are going to be taken care of by their government

This is what we call generational strongholds in families; demons that keep their activities in families and transfered down generational lines. It will continue.

generational curses

NaijaScorpio said...

This world has gone to hell in a hand basket. Wetin remain?

and people r hustling to go to the west (paying a lot of money if i may add) only to arrive and struggle to stay there doing degrading jobs 4 their money and their money is being given to people like this....life is truly not fair

i break every generational curse on this family in Jesus name..lol

and people r hustling to go to the west (paying a lot of money if i may add) only to arrive and struggle to stay there doing degrading jobs 4 their money and their money is being given to people like this....life is truly not fair

Actually, the fact that they had a kid that young is NOT a curse. Nor is it technically speaking, wrong. As Nigerians we are always very quick with judgement. Here are the three things that may be considered problematic:
1) They aren't married. Our grandparents and great grandparents had children this young with husbands either this age (in the case of first wives) or with older men as subsequent wives. In fact, it was better to be married and bearing children young as it reduced promiscuity in people. Even the bible says it: 1 Corinthians 7:8-9
I say therefore to the unmarried and widows, It is good for them if they abide even as I.
But if they cannot contain, let them marry: for it is better to marry than to burn.

2) The system that exists is not set up for young people to be independent/adults early or at the right time. Before, a man of 16 was a man and would do manly things - as a woman of 16 would likewise be a woman. But these kids are probably not prepared to be adults so their child might be brought in a situation where the parents are still figuring themselves out. I'm not saying that this will affect how they love their child but it may certainly affect the support they can provide, even with the help of their parents.
3) The government will probably carry them for the rest of their lives (they might not, I mean they could return to school and make something of themselves but it mightn't happen).

@igbogirlguide, The fact that they are having children at that age is a CURSE! why are we having the problem of children raised without direction and poor morals today? The answer is simple; Children who know absolutely nothing about life and who cant even take care of themselves are having babies! It is a curse on this earth. Have you gone to the UK and seen the terrible things their teenagers are doing? they start drinking and smoking at age 9 or 10 and their "parents" are unable to provide moral or at least spiritual guidance. My sister, as you see it, it will continue because sexual immorality and such terribly unplanned consequence is a curse.

at 15 when you are only still a child yourself, how can you possibly be a good parent!! and to think that the cycle has continued...even more disturbing is the way it is being flaunted as if this is something to aspire to!...smh..

Why say council estate trash?! Not everyone who lives on a council estate is trash you utter bellend away you go and get a reality check you fucktard!!

Stay in your own countries then! If you don't like the way British society is stick to your own countries we Brits are over run by your kind you come to our country take our jobs try and shove your ridiculous religions in our faces then have the cheek to moan?! Get the fuck out of Britain and stay out!!