Walmart coming to Nigeria? | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 30 June 2011

Walmart coming to Nigeria?

Walmart, America’s foremost low-price merchandise retail store, is planning to open two stores in Nigeria soon. Nigeria’s Ambassador to the United States, Prof. Ade Adefuye, told the Empowered Newswire on Wednesday that representatives from the famous retail store had visited him at the Nigerian Embassy in Washington DC as regards the plan to open the retail store in Nigeria.

“It is an indication of the growing confidence in Nigeria’s economy,” Adefuye stated, adding that he was currently engaging with the leading US store on the conditions and requirements that would have to be met to do business in Nigeria.

WalMart currently employs about 2.1million employees and the CNN ranked it as the biggest global company last year, saying that, despite the global recession, the discount retailer’s bargain prices continued to lure consumers worldwide.

The company’s plan to open stores in Nigeria is part of the strategy of its leadership team, led by its new President/Chief Executive Officer, Mr. Michael Duke.

At the company’s AGM last year, Duke was reported as saying that global markets were “becoming an even bigger and more important part of our company.” - Punch

61 comments:

So happy to hear this... hope dey ll employ me dats if they coming to the east..

Nonye said...

I hope this is true!!!! cant wait!

Was wondering about this some months ago

Hi. All these plans are very lofty but where? If you know anything about Walmarts it's that they require space, space and lots more space. Space for the merchandise and space to park cars. Until Nigeria can get it's act together with road and town planning Walmart doesn't work in the true sense of the store in most metropolitan cities in Nigeria. Yes I know we have the Palms, Spar etc, but have you experienced the nightmare that is traffic getting in and out of these places. Again lofty ideas.

y'all dont even know what this is going to do to us....all of u whose parents own big supermarkets in nigeria, prepare to be put of business, because that is how walmart works, crush competitors.
Apart from that at least it will provide employment to some people.

Would be a good move to say the least, lets see if they pull it off...

yipeee,im so so happy!!i wont have to order my baby's food from d us anymore.wow

grace said...

yay this is goodnews! cant wait :)

I can not get the excitement about Walmart coming to Naija! The outfit sells***stuff n pays its staff *** wages!

peace said...

so happy to hear u this great expension...its a very good idea..because it wil great job opportunity for alots of us in Nigeria......i wil like to work there ....thanks

That would be so cool, wow. Nigeria is going to another level. I hope they will stock it the same way it is done here in the U.S and some cool African stuff of course.

Uche said...

Very Good!!! Retail marketing is really at its infancy in Nigeria and would help organise the disorganised system of trading and price manipulation as well as encourage the agricultural sector.

What's there to be happy about? Why don't we have own Walmart? We keep waiting for other pple to come and develop our industries for us in Nigeria!

Dr Dee said...

Not surprising at all. The US supermarket industry is fiercely competitive and oversaturated. It's been Walmart's strategy for a while now to enter foreign markets. They entered the UK as Asda-Walmart. Im my opinion there is still no supermarket chain in Nigeria. The likes of shoprite and park n shop are currently only concentrated in Lagos and Abuja.

Son of Babylon said...

Who dash Nigeria....Walmart is for the big boy countries and will operate at a loss if they dare venture into Nigeria.

This is great news. And will help employment for alot of people that could not get employment otherwise. I am tired of paying 2500 naira for toothbrush. I am so excited.

tayo said...

thats good...

nich said...

haven't i told you people that the greatest nigerian who has ever lived in nigeria is MALLAM NUHU RIBADU......he is the only MESSIAH that has ever graced nigeria since it's begginning..........THE ONLY MAN WHO WOULD HAVE DESTROYED EVIL WITH EVIL

if you people think that there is hope for africa......again think twice......................EXCEPT THERE IS A TOTAL BLOOD BIRTH as never see b4 in human history takes place in nigeria........

More that %80 0t the nation would still be enslaved forever..........

While i may conclude that all hope is lost.........there is still only one man left who could offer some help.......But it would only be temporal.........GOVERNOR FASHOLA OF LAGOS STATE.........if our churches.....nollywood .......musicians......youths can come with one voice and declare fashola the president by next election........

then there would be a little change but still after he is gone ........nigeria would still fall back into abyss

let wallmart come.....where is electricity....and good road....

Laaraa said...

OMG!M so excited about this. Hopefully their prices will be reasonable in Nigeria as it is here!

Ch5335ng said...

Ah, it will be another joint like Shop Rite and Game....
Good idea though!

hope robbers wont invade them.lol

OMG i wont be shopping at wal mart here any more if iam coming to lagos. i am so happy

Femiluv said...

Kiky is right, people are going to be put out of business, because Walmart crushes the competition.

However, I hope their prices are reasonable though, like it is here.

Bee said...

Benefits:
All those people selling overpriced products in naija, your time haws run out.

Employement

Negatives
Walmart doe snot give a shit about employees. Work there at your own risk.

Curious to know where they will set up shop. Lotsssssssssssssssssssss of land is needed to fit in well with the business model

Noella said...

they will run at a loss in nija with shoplifting, and all that...walmart is really not all that..their clothes are very very low end, and of poor quality...however their household supplies are very reasonably priced...

@ Anon 4.14...someone has forgotten to take the medication for madnesss...can you read what you posted and how does it relate with the walmart story? Psycho.

Oh WOW I feel sorry for the small businesses around them because they will not just crush the competition, Walmart will KILL the competition.

its only naija peeps that will hear walmart and be singing halleluyah
do LITTLE research on walmart and see why they arent popular in their home(U.S)
bringing lead-infested toys to kill our kids
and stupid sub-standards goods to naija
una never know wetin dey sele

@ Noella,

I'm sure most people dont go to Walmart to buy clothes

It is a perfect place for household goods

WM in Nigeria, that will be the day? How many Nigerian shop in a super market,WM don't do LOSESS.

Nkem said...

Sorry about being pesimistic...but which electricity will they use to provide the services they normally provide...do you think they wil ocme here and spend al their profit on buying diesel. Wake up guys, unitl we have constant electricity in Nigeria, shops like Walmart etc will have noting to do in naija, so wake up from your dreams.

i want japan's jusco and british tesco. it will be a very interesting competition.oya now lets go.

This means those of you into market trading will be put out of business. Your markets will shot down because Walmart is greedy; They will sell everything your markets sells at cheaper price. And when Walmart comes in; trust me Target will not hesitate to land too. We have Land; Naija has so much land that we don't know what to do with it. Walmart might be a good thing that happens to Naija, even though it will put a lot of market traders out of business. Shoo, we will have electrcity cause Walmart will sell everything cheap and put all those generator seller who have been fighting Naija getting power since, out of business. Let them come in. I want to be the CEO of the Naija branch of Target, when it lands as well.

grace said...

This adewale you are a counterfeit nigerian serzly! nigeria would be better off without the likes of you! first Dbanj cannot make it in US cos there are more talented artist than him and now walmart would make a loss coming to nigeria and all that bullshit about nigeria not being a bigboy country! mscheww i pity you! I am sure it is boy boy work you are doing in that US that is making you to talk all this nonsense!

Again, i feel sorry for naijas. Always excited about everything foreign. Never innovative, just to sleep in church saying useless and pointless prayers whilst oyibo man enslaves us right before our korokoro eyes. And ye shall remain enslaved!

greatjyde said...

only if you guys understood how much money SHOPRITE makes from naija,they have made billions upon billions from just one location, ONE location, theyve made so much money they dont understand what 'losses' mean anymore,the people saying walmart would lose, you guys dont know wassup, if 200 walmarts come into walmart at the same time, all of them would rake in profits...the retail and fmcg market is crazy mehn and extremely underrated.

Walmart in Nigeria, it took WM years to take over ASDA UK, WM is not even in some rich European countries, where the average annual salary is $30,000 let alone in Nigeria where the average wages is about $2500pa. WM IS NOT AND WILL NOT COME TO A COUNTRY WITHOUT POWER. Folks stick to tejuosh. PERIOD.

I feel sorry for most of you commenting. Walmart in Nigeria?! GOD FORBID! i even shiver at the thought that KFC is in Nigeria. Nigerians can NEVER do anything for themselves. all we know is IMPORT IMPORT IMPORT IMPORT! Nigeria = THE LAND IF IMPORTS! because it seems we are always waiting on the oyinbo man to come. do you guys even know about Wal-Mart? they are always in the news for this, that, and the other. I can only imagine what they will do in Nigeria, where it's practically a lawless country and blacks are treated with little-to-no respect (just like Airtel). WAKE UP MY PEOPLE. trust me, after a while, you will see how Wal-Mart will CRUSH the little existing Nigerian-owned companies that we have.
WAL-MART = HELL NO!

Di's District said...

what about the prices,this would be so unaffordable for even an average Nigerian. For example a pack of Great Value granolas is $2,its gonna be N300 or even more FOR THAT SMALL THING bcos Walmart's cheapest prices are only here in U.S.

Jay O said...

Calm down folks, doesnt mean much. Walmart went into Germany and came out 2years later losing $1 billion! They missed out on so many key things that are fundamental to foreign expansion. That was when they wanted to expand into Europe's biggest market. Trust that they are going to check everything before they enter so I dont see this happening just yet or even in the next yr or 2!

Justin said...

wow...so Wal-mart might finally hit Nigerian shores...always imagined it but never thought it would actually happen, given the unstable atmosphere of Nigeria. I think they will have a warm reception, if their prices are low enough and the run the store as well as they do here in the USA. They will give Shoprite a run for their money. And for all those talking about employment, I seriously doubt if this Wal-Mart will higher more than 300 employees (300 spaces which I imagine people lookin for a job will fight tooth and nail for, even for the management positions), and thats hardly going to make a dent in the employment situation in Lagos. and for that person who commented that she is buying toothbrush for N2,500, is the toothbrush made outta gold?!? I'm pretty sure you can get original, quality toothbrushes for N500 or less!

Tosin Smith said...

Adewale you are a total dunce...someone needs to slap the shit outta ur head...maybe,just maybe the stupid virus will fall out. Hussars

We shall see. Walmart will kill all the pop and mom shops. They will bring lead filled toys from china and will play their way around any nafdac regulations. We will only know 2 generations later when all our kids become olodos.
I don't think there will be losses, shoprite profits well enough now. Walmart will do same thing. Shoprite uses electricity now, don't they? Besides walmart might decide to just stick with household goods in this market ie sans groceries & electricity to maintain them.
I'm conflicted, don't know if it's a good or bad idea. Bcos walmart just cares about money and will behave like shell in Niger delta. But for consumers, it's a great idea at the expense of smaller stores.
We shall see.

Allegra said...

I do not foresee a problem as they usually require an out of town area for space and outskirts of Lagos and Abuja I am assuming would be their first priorities (market demand ). This would also provide much needed employment to a large number of people so all in all, a very good idea.

If a person wants granola, then he has to pay N300 for it. It is not cheap food. Otherwise stick to nasco cornflakes. Some things are worth what they are, it's not about the quantity. Where have you bought a huge box of granola for <=$2 in this US? Maybe dollar store check the expiry date hun

Wale Abbey Bab's said...

This would be a very good development in the country

WM in NIgeria? IN YOUR DREAMS. STICK TO your local market. WM failed in Germany, SKorea, and it's already struggling in India. Nigeria is not set for WM, Too Poor for WM.

wow. that's actually bad news for Nigeria.. Walmart forces alot of people out of business even the states.

Fanstuff said...

Anon June 30, 2011 11:06 PM; for people like you yes.

If Shop Rite can make it, Walmart will do better. KFC in Lagos is fab. I trip anytime i'm in Nigeria because i can eat what i eat abroad in Lagos.

who the hell wants to eat KFC and their poison in Nigeria? i shake my head. do you see how these western countries (especially the US) is struggling with the health of its citizens, all because of that cheap and poisonous food? i seriously shake my head! and if its a fast food joint, can it be a Nigerian owned one? i would prefer if Nigerians opened up something like WalMart, KFC, and other places like it, and NOT some companies coming from America into Nigeria to do God knows what! we should be encouraging Nigerian-owned everything. we need to stop waiting on the west for every little thing, its outright DISGUSTING!
and who even eats KFC like that anyway? common, eat better food please.

walmart is only good for grocery items like soap, tissue, plates, ..and things like that..as for their food that leaves a lot to be desired...poor customer service...i prefer Sams club...their wholesale subsidiary..

why are people excited about walmart coming to Nigeria??? It is just another opportunity to dump foreign goods in Nigeria and will prevent us from becoming producers of secondary goods. Blah!!!
And the quality of the stuff in walmart sucks generally. It will create some new jobs in Nigeria sha.

It's awesome to visit this web site and reading the views of all friends on the topic of this paragraph, while I am also zealous of getting familiarity.

Also visit my site payday loans
My webpage: payday loans

What's up, the whole thing is going well here and ofcourse every one is sharing information, that's actuаlly fine, keep up wгiting.

Also visit my pagе :: payday loans online

PLEASE DON'T BE THRILLED BY WAL-MART INTENTION FOR NIGERIA. WAL-MART PAYS ITS EMPLOYEES IN USA MINIMUM WAGE $7.25/HR. DON'T EXPECT THEM TO PAY NIGERIAN EMPLOYEES GOOD.

I am not excited walmart is coming to nigeria. All the oyibos have taken over all our businesses. and they will pay peanuts to the few people they employ. they are just carting away our money. Nigerians wake up. all the malls in lagos are full of foreigners

if all our Government knows is how to steal money and invest in oyinbo countries then where is the fault from?????let them come if that will help us even if they don't pay much at least its better off than our graduates doing nothing roaming about and turning to robbers , I don't see anything wrong in wallmart coming, shoprite, spar , goodies changed so many things in Nigeria we are more than developed now lets give dem a trial since we don't have a choice its not about bragging,rich Nigerians have refused to invest and help us grow I can get anything I want at ease now