Genevieve Nnaji becomes first entertainer to grace TELL Magazine cover | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 2 July 2011

Genevieve Nnaji becomes first entertainer to grace TELL Magazine cover

In its 20 years of publishing, News/Politics magazine, TELL has never put a Nigerian entertainer on it's cover until Genevieve Nnaji graced one of its June editions. Here's some of what she told TELL.

You had a brilliant music video with Dbanj in Fall in Love, you guys had great chemistry and there have been rumours that you two are an item. He was at your birthday party in London in May, if all the circumstances are right, will you say yes to marriage with Dbanj?
First of all I have to agree within myself that I actually want to get married. If I would marry him, I don’t know. I think my life is already chaotic as it is being one celebrity. So, it’s a no.

When you talk about not getting married, what is it with marriage that you find repulsive?
No, I don’t find marriage repulsive but everyday I learn from married people about what not to do when it comes to marriage. I think I’ve just learnt the bad things about marriage before the good ones. There is constant discouragement but I just know for a fact that when I find the right person I will definitely not think about it.  Marriage should be about finding the right person, finding your soul mate, not necessarily in receiving love.

You’ve not met that person yet?
I’m 32, I’ve been busy for 12 years and I’m still busy.

Seeing that you’re so busy, how can a guy break down the barriers and show love to you?
If I have to tell a guy what to do then he’s not a man! (Laughs).

Read the rest of the interview here

61 comments:

Ch5335ng said...

You cannot help but notice this woman. She gets better everyday! When you make the cover of Tell, you have surely arrived!!

Shes not the first entertainer to grace TELL, Psquare was the first to grace the cover, if im not even mistaken there was someone before them. I know this because i particularly bought the magazine the day it came out. So i think you might want to correct it as first female actress or something of that sought.

thank you oooo @Anon 1:52pm

oh please psquare was never on the cover they featured in the inside pages Genevieve is the first

lol thank you oo @ anon 1:52pm

Wait, really, who cares if she was the first or the last or the intermediate?

Pride comes before humiliation...according to the bible..shio

This just goes to show d whole dbanj thing was fake. Ashewo.

Abeg,this one way dbanj do dump since hisssssssssss.make she go sleep,always want to be everywhere

linda im sure you have a shrine or alter in your house and village dedicated to worshiping this lady. you no de tire to talk genevive matter? me im tire of reading it. No hating here just straight talk men. there are other people/ actors/ actresses out there that are achieving great deeds that deserve this kinda publicity. Id much rather read about genevives charitable works or her philantropy (if she has any GENUINE one). How does she give back to the less privileged in society and how has she positively impacted their lives. I really would like to read on that. So do some research and dig into that aspect of her life.

GENEVIEVE NNAJI FOR EVER! i just love this woman die!
MUAH MUAH!

Legaldiaries said...

If it was time magazine that was causing wahala i'd understand. but tell? who gives a hoot who was d first entertainer or not. the thing tire me sef.
As for the interview, i like genny's confidence. she's 32 and still nt bothered about getting married. my friend's sister is 32 and already attending all d singles fellowship in abj. Maybe because she's a celeb n already has a child. So d pressure is off. lol

who cares about genevieve? KMT!

Arent dere oda celebrities out dere. All dis genny gist is boring *Yawn*

@ Man eater, I hear you, Tell is hardly a reputable magazine these days. And regarding her not caring if she's married, that's what she says in public abi?!!!! Like I've said before people should not have this 'can't care less' attitude when they know they don't mean it. There is power in spoken words o! If you want a husband say so, and God will give you your hearts desire!

BAD BELLE IN FULL FORCE!

Well, they have to be as maverick as they can be.

http://bizgreenglobe.blogspot.com/2011/07/mexico-on-fire.html

i like her lipstick.

She was not the first entertainer to grace the cover of TELL. Did you mean first actress or something? Was she even the first actress? Don't mislead us!

Lmaoooooo man eater,I was thinking the same thing!I think thats exactly why...Hahaha.And who would she marry even?Who could match her,that is in her age range?Anyways all that one is english,lmao

oscar said...

This woman is destined to be a Legend. She is gifted. She is a true celebrity. She is blessed.

The Holy book says 'He who finds a wife................... A woman doesn't search or fins a husband, theirs is to welcome or accept when the Mr Man comes. It is the Man that will go about searching for a wife. So I think Genevieve responded well to the marriage question She wasn't acting . she is sincere.

Outside the screen Genivieve might be one lovable down to earth and God fearing personality, but because she lives 80 persent of her life on screen there is already a . perception.

Damn ppl r angry at themselves o. What does it do 4 u to Envy?? I Love her, and if anything i c her pic n i think of how much better i can do. This should motivate u not make u show ur low self-esteem to the world.

Oh and Genny, Dbanj did hit that! I can testify Lol still love her :D

Who could match her in her age range? I'm a bit confused as to what that means..

There are 40 year olds who get married, heck even 90 year olds. Genevieve is in her early 30s, no be so?

Na wa!the price of being a celebrity..pple jst open their smelly mouths and spill vile abt u,sm1 even goin to d extent of calling her ashewo.thank God say man no be God! #SMH.and if u'r tired abt reading abt genny,or any other thing on this blog,go start ya own!na u go come tell linda which kain gist she go put for her own blog again.*mschewwwwww!!ride on Genny,u'r blessed!

No hard feelings and trust me i love Genevieve and I love her confidence and acting.I always look forward to watching her new movies but linda you really need to take some chill pills on writing every day moves of this lady. come on there are other celebs out there that you can also talk about and encourage.Gene is not the only lady in naija or has she paid you for publicity??Then we can understand the agreement btw u guys oh.lol

Linda abeg no mind all them bad belle. when u celebrate others you will be celebrated.

Di's District said...

bad beelle evrywhere, no am not tired of hearing about her but seriously which other interesting actress can we talk about? anyways I prefer reading her interviews than that of some arrogant celebs who got nothing INSPIRING to offer...

Someone stated that Dbanj used & dumped her...lol ! Plsss! looked more like she did the dumping, Dbanj was all over her like a droppy-eyed puppy!

She probably just hooked with Dbanj just out of curiousity & to verify his excessive
"koko hyping"...seems like Dbanj wasn't exactly endowed as bragged since he couldn't even hold her down for long...my half kobo..jk

Am getting bored with all this Genebanj talks in interviews abeg!

Linda, you're still allowing this half-witted Alicia person on your blog?!!! Who even answers a name like Alicia in Nigeria? Lol

and who even said Alicia was my real name? LOL, such nonsense. you see what happens when people think they know you but they don't know A DAMN THING? i guess Genny and I can relate on that issue. LOL.
GENNY, RIDE ON BABY! its hilarious how someone said Genny is an ashewo, yet D'banj brags about going from woman to woman, sleeping with anything with a warm hole, yet GENNY is the ashewo, and not D'banj. and why do people always assume its the lady getting dumped? just because some of y'all might be easy doesn't mean everyone else is. EXCUSE ME.

@ Annon July 3, 2011 3:49 AM

Why should Linda ban Alicia? Just because Alicia does engage in follow-follow like most Nigerians but rather speaks her mind does not mean she should be banned. Nigerias are too sheepish for my liking and I am not a follow-follow person so I like peeps like Alicia who come here and speak their mind not fearing whatever rubbish Nigerians might spew from their mouth later on. Alicia is a breath of fresh air on this blog and if you cannot handle difference in opinions ( a fundamental human right), then maybe you should go and live amongst boko haram.

GENEVIEVE FOR PRESIDENT!!! Yeah I said it, crucify me. Genny is simply the best!

@ Annon July 2, 2011 4:22 PM

Your complaining will get you nowhere. You knew this is about Genevieve yet you chose to click on it. What does that tell me? It tells me you are a two timing hypocrite who speaks from both sides of your mouth! If you are tired of reading about Genny, ignore the post and go to the next one or do you have someone holding a gun to your head forcing you to click and read about Genny?

You cannot come on here and dictate what Linda should post on HER blog.If you don't like what she posts, then I highly suggest you come up with your blog. Besides, not all celebrities engaged in philantropy / charitable works and want the whole world to hear about it. Some people engage in philantropy and charity and want it to remain a secret because that is what the bible encourages us to do so that we can get richly blessed from above. If you want to read about Genny's charitable works, then YOU do your own internet research or is posting on blogs the only online activity you are good at?

@Annon July 2, 2011 10:28 PM

Thank you! Don't mind most Nigerians and their backward mindset that belongs in the 17th century. In this day and age, people are marrying at different times of their life. Nigerians are the only set of Africans I know that write you off once you are 30 yrs old. It's no wonder Nigeria is in the mess it is today. Most of it's citizens are some messed up individuals with an overwhelmingly messed up primitive and backward culture and mindset.

Inferiority complex at work , slavery has done damage to our people she will rather have gene on time magazine you know she is probably one of those who see the white man as masters or those who's father was either driver,cook and steward to oyibo.Living in oyibos boys quarters don damage her big time. She sees only white as altimate.Gene it alright to be on tell cover .

@ anon 8.10am, "....see oyibo as altimate"?!!!! you no even fit write the english! @ Alicia, not your real name?!!! You're even more ...ish than I thought?! and, please, why is Genevieve your role model?

hot N cold said...

Oh yea, I like the lipstick too..lol

Umm...Genny I don't think the true reason as to why you won't marry Dbanj is the chaotic celeb life. You sure know how to hush the mouths of people! Nice one...:*wink*

Hating and jealously can't get you anywhere, after you finish hating on Genevieve u will still be in the same sad and sorry situation you are in. Best thing is to be happy for her and if that's too hard to do then stop reading stories pertaining to her, or better still, start ur own blog where u never mention her but to be telling Linda who and what to write about...?

lolo said...

hmm julia robert of nigeria..as if julia robert is d best actor i in hollywood?
so wat d hell with this story,how many pple read tell magazine nowadays smbh!!!she is not ready for marriage at 32?ok may be when she is 72...i doubt if dbanj would even take her to his mamma after all the men had sucked and left her..which man want a left over?
u havent found the right man or the right man havent found u..i dont know why this girls cry inside with depression and pretend they re happy outside.apart from acting wat has this girl done for nigeria ,,name one charity that she runs...nadar!i dont see anything special in her face and flat buttom,she always sound as if she is the agbani darego of nigeria.
how can u even imagine u would feature in bond film..in ur dream right...lol..i bet ure even sexier than megan fox and the likes .lol get real girl but dream on.

Legaldiaries said...

@Anon 10:48am thank u for answering that twat for me. See dis one talking o. She cannot even spell. altimate ko, nissan altima ni.
I cannot voice my opinion again abi. Every thing has to be measured with slavery bla bla bla mschewwww! nobody said it wasn't okay to be on d cover of tell magazine. The earlier comment i made was becos of d arguement raging abt d first entertainer n that was all. Hypocrite, see u talking as thoygh u wont be the first to start dancing alanta if gene ever graces the cover of time!

beke said...

ALICIA..that not ur real name..thank goodness i av always known u to be a fake attention seeking idiotic human being ,yes i said it!!! that a normal human being cannot b coming here evry day and night and day type nonsense without reading it toherself first...so u prefer to use alicia cos ur dump arse thought its nice ame lol....i bet u re some ugly fat lonely depressd soul who the economy of nigeria has done some bad damage to and the only thing that keep u going is coming here and vent ur anger on pple ..good genevieve is ur role model cos u have got the same deceptive low life .

Seriously like... said...

@ Alicia so you are attacking people now because they have an opinion on your fellow Igbo sister, but in all your post you always attack people who have something to say about your opinion. You take yourself too seriously, when really you are Just a lonely girl getting attention on the internet. Get a life.

Miss Ama said...

There has to be a way of putting one's point(s) across without necessarily pouring invectives on other people and name-calling. Like what in this life is to be taken that seriously? Why is it so darn impossible for some people to maturely handle a difference in opinions? Must we all see stuff from the same perspsctive? And if others do not agree with us, then it's okay to insult them and call them all kinds of names? It just goes to show how uncivilised even the ones trying so hard to come across as, are.
It's in really bad taste. Everyone has a right to choose, let's learn to respect their choices, the world will be a better place for it and maybe, just maybe, fewer nigerians will be so bitter, unproductive and undesireable to be around.

Shakara said...

Alicia tells a lot of lies. She'd said it was her real name in an earier post this year and someone said Ibo's don't name their kids Alicia.

To me, more like Alice perhaps? She claims she doesn't know dettol but knows milo and nido. Claims she was bred in America but I believe she got lucky, got a visa and never came back to Nigeria.

Moving forward, if not Genny who else? Keep on moving nwannem nwanyi.

Dee dee said...

She must have a good PR team behind her. As long as she carries herself well and doesn't represent Nigeria negatively then I'm happy to read about her. Whether you like her or not she is a good actress and therefore deserves her success. Success is a combination of talent and knowing how to promote yourself. All those complaining that Linda is always posting Genevieve stories, this is a news worthy post, as was the post about her at the Mirror Boy premier. If you're tired of Genny stories then simply skip and move on. Kilode? It's not by force to read. As for her personal life it's nobody's business. I'm sure those that are calling her ashewo for shagging D'banj have done worse things. As for her being unmarried at 32, I'm glad she's living her life how she wants instead of conforming to societal demands. As long as she's happy with her choice that's all that matters. The stigma attached to single and divorced women in Nigeria needs to be removed to prevent women from being forced into unhappy marriages.

I getting SICK AND TIRED of reading about BEYONCE, AISHWARYA RAI AND GENEVIEVE NNAJI..

i am sick of those three women....completely sick of them......

Miss Ama and Dee Dee,

Well said..excellent posts

@Shakara, every comment you make is about ME! my work on this blog has not been in vein. people come here everyday just to see what i have to say. LOL. go back to that post and quote where i said Alicia is my real name. IDIOT LIKE YOU. I've always said Alicia is not my name, just a name i use to comment. so who gives a fuck if any of you think it sounds nice or not? why post under anonymous or all these bogus names and not use your REAL name that your parents gave you, if its so nice? nonsense.
you are a big HATER. yes, i know what Milo and Nido are, BECAUSE I ATE THOSE THINGS. but did i ever use Dettol? NO. did i ever see it around? barely. its not something i used, therefore its not something i took notice to, IDIOT. hater like you, you will always be a hater. i am waiting, your next comment will be on my behalf.
YOU WISH i had to get a visa, mtchewww, keep dying inside.
btw, it's Igbo not Ibo. passing 6 wey passing sense?

@ 10:48 AM, she is my role model because she has overcome the odds. she was a teen mom, young, single mother, and yet she is one of the most famous faces in africa and doing extremely well for herself, BY HERSELF. you see, especially in a society like Nigeria/Africa, where a woman (especially in Genny's case) is seen as someone whos place should be the kitchen and totally dependent on a man. BUT SHE OVERCAME THAT and is doing what some men can't even do. THAT is why i admire Genny. also, she is good at what she does, pretty, and i like her style.
and i am more "ish" than what you thought? who gives a damn what you think? is it by force to use real names to comment? how many of you pointing the finger at me are using your real names here? nonsense.
NEXT

@lolo, you are a disgrace. come and tell us all the men Genny has been with, and when you are done, tell us all the men or women YOU have been with. i hate when people point the finger, yet three are pointing back at them. so upon ALL the bragging D'banj does in all his music about sleeping with groupies, and the interview that came out about two weeks ago when he said "it doesn't mean i don't F***!" and everything else, yet GENNY is the lose one and D'banj wouldn't want to marry her because she is "used"??? how about Genny doesn't wanna marry him because he is used? i swear, women are so stupid at times. ALL the signs point to D'banj being an obvious womanizer, yet we women will still try and bring our fellow woman down, NO MATTER WHAT IS IN OUR FACES. SHAKING MY FUCKING HEAD. as if Julia Roberts is the best actress in America? you're right, Genny should have been compared to a BETTER actress in Hollywood. ;)

@beke, THANK GOD YOU WROTE AN ESSAY ON MY BEHALF. you claim I am angry, but i think you should read what you wrote over again, angry bitch. but guess what? i will still be here tomorrow, so if you are tired of seeing me, log off, or go and join your ancestors. INUKWA?

@Seriously like.... and you are??? who am i attacking for their opinion? did i call anyone out specifically and ATTACK them or PERSONALLY attack them because of their opinion? i simply disagree with the first commentators, but nowhere did i attack anyone. and why are you even mentioning Igbo here? you are DESPERATE. i guess the millions of fans Genny has across Africa are also her fans and defend her because she is Igbo? GIRL PLEASE, if you don't have anything better to say, SHUT UP. it is by force to address Alicia? I'm even beginning to think some people come here to seek MY attention.

rant over, now back to my dinner...HELLO LINDA, LONG TIME. :)

Shakara said...

Alicia; you this unwanted foetus that just managed to drop. Read your dico okay as both versions are acceptable....it's Igbo not Ibo.

It's usually MGBEKES like you that are so igbotic and say IGBO.

You are just a bitter piece of bullcrap and must have suffered from people controlling you as a child. It makes you so bitter, depressed and that's why you want to come here to control others. Of all the Nigerians i know who are Americans, you are the only one who stresses it all the time.
My American BORN AND BRED cousins who read your comments here have said there's no way you are Nigerian-American by birth. You probably got raped by some hispanic or cherokee who enabled you get your citizenship by force.

As the liar that you are, you are probably in one cybercafe working as a sales rep in Owerri!!!

Pathological and sociopathic liar.

Visit www.tangledate.com relax and have fun

hia!!! O di egu!

is Genevieve not worried about over exposure?
different interviews,same questions,same answers.it must be very boring for the girl.
even in pics she looks tired.

@Shakara, i was gonna give you the benefit of the doubt, but I KNEW your next comment would be ALL ABOUT ME! every time you come to this blog, its Alicia Alicia Alicia. like i said, keep banging your head into the wall since you seem so frustrated. why i mention it is because people say i got lucky to get a visa, LOOOOOOL, and i will tell you otherwise. bitch, are you mad? keep crying. in case you have forgotten, i DON'T go with the status quo. keep letting your "american cousins" read my comment FROM THE INTERNET and come to whatever conclusion their deluded minds can come up with (thats if they even exist). i am an INDIVIDUAL so if you think the way i talk on this blog is supposed to put me in a cookie-cutter imagine, then keep dreaming. it's obvious you can't grasp that i REFUSE to think and behave like everyone else just to tickle your fancy. answer this, DO I COME TO THIS BLOG FOR YOU? NO. so why are you always coming here for me? EWU like you. "thats why you want to come here and control others"???? seriously, read that to yourself again. who am i controlling on this blog? stop showing your paranoia to the world. maybe you think im controlling you to come to this blog everyday, sit down, read my comments, and then write an entire essay on my behalf? HAHAHAHAHA, LWKMD.
you WISH i was in Nigeria, anyway, Linda knows the truth, as she can see my IP Addy, so keep banging your head into the wall until your brain turns into swiss cheese.

"that are so igbotic and say igbo" LOL. just because my mama taught me THE CORRECT way to write and say IGBO does not make me Igbotic. that only further proves your ignorance. passing 6 wey passing sense?? LWKMD.

This Alicia need psychological evaluation!!! I am almost certain that she doesnt live in the US as she claims. Poor thing, I really do feel for her!

Koko said...

Gosh Alicia,what's this stupid write-up for? I CONCUR WITH OTHERS-I DONT BELIEVE YOU ARE IN THE STATES-IF SO, YOU STOLE SOMEONE'S PASSPORT OR STAYED BEYOND YOUR EXPIRY DATE...BUSH GIRL

as i said before, the way i express myself is how I CHOOSE to express myself. i didnt know writing on a blog was now supposed to determine your citizenship or place of residence. LOL! i guess if i start speaking spanish you'll assume I'm in Mexico or Spain too, right?
and you may call me "bush", but are you implying that ALL people in the States are classy and anyone that is "bush" is from or in Nigeria? HABA, see how you people insult your own country without even noticing it. LWKMD.

Gosh Alicia, you must be really idle.., and so immature. Please rein it in abeg. Your responses are so uncalled for.

This Genevieve needs to do some body surgery to be acceptable. She has flat, wrinkled bobs for one. I don't know why a "young" girl like her has such "old mama" boobs. Its not upstanding. Its as flat as a sergeant's cap. Maybe because she had a kid early or whatever. I will go for a real beauty any day, without all these unAfrican hair weaves, real "upstanding" boobs, delicious booty, solid hips..I can go on. This girl is just an overrated piece of ass, and that's why the guys just "taste and go". Not good enough to be a keeper.

Nna mayne in short ALICIA shut d fuck up abeg!!! How can someone just sit down n want so much attention to herself ehn? Orwosi Kwan nigini ehnnn? Tofia. It's so unnecessary
Sweetheart. Whateva the fuck u just said makes no damn sense. Y'all really don't need to waste your time replying her. She's hella worthless obviously! Shuuu!!

"Nna mayne in short ALICIA shut d fuck up abeg!!! How can someone just sit down n want so much attention to herself ehn? Orwosi Kwan nigini ehnnn? Tofia. It's so unnecessary
Sweetheart. Whateva the fuck u just said makes no damn sense. Y'all really don't need to waste your time replying her. She's hella worthless obviously! Shuuu!!"

this entire unnecessary response was a contradiction in itself! LMFAO!!!!

Linda, you need to edit these comments and make sure ghetto and wild is off your page. All comments with vulgar/ swear words are not fit for publication. This is a reflection of your values.
You are doing a great job, girl. Now lets see you put some class in it.

Linda, you need to edit these comments and make sure ghetto and wild is off your page. All comments with vulgar/ swear words are not fit for publication. This is a reflection of your values.
You are doing a great job, girl. Now lets see you put some class in it.