Tags: MTV Shows

Watch more of D'Banj's interview here

37 comments:

hmmm na wa oo Dbanji su pu oyibo ka mmadu nuru oo

ugo said...

nawa.. d'banj, na you dey roll tong like dis? egwu dikwa! :D

dimjoejizle said...

hahahahahahahah.....See Dbanj dey roll tongue...dey form Phoney.....Come on GERROUT outta here.......LOOOL

lol!!!! He is definitely doing good in his tutorial classes. This guy truly wants to fuck Rihanna.....

lmao.,.,.,i love my nja ppl i swear!see how una dey yab d guy!

lmao,.,.free d guy abeg!u can tell he was just havin a good tym!goin widda flow!plus he cums across very fun 2 watch in d interview!u can tell he is an "i just wanna hav fun" TYPA guy.,.,so biko,.,d yabbin don do ehnnn>,>>

lulu king said...

dbanj is very humble thats why he is he gonna go places .

LWKMD

ehn they have found sth else to say again!mscheww i though he lived in london for a longtime? so where does the phoney come from? you guys would always find fault sha

Bee said...

Dbanj please dont join this akata stupidity. Which one be kuntakinte ish.....Please leave that nonsense alone. You are nobodys slave,you are not inferior, man up and leave that nonsense talk for akata folks.

Naija no dey carry last.

Keke said...

whoever said dbanj can't express himself, must be smokin something...he did a great job in the interview with a burst of personality and swagga...as for the question that why do Americans not feel connected to Africans it is bcos they are somewhat ashamed to do so bcos of the images depicted in the media to propagate self hate...i will definitely give dbanj an "A" for effort!!!he wasnt phoneying or rolling anything, he was just speaking legibly, so that at least his audience could understand him, without needing subtitles.....

Ms. J said...

don't know if it is funny good or funny bad lol... like the interview sha... he felt cool and at home, good on him

I applaud the humility with which he describes his meeting with Kanye, thats ususally not the Nija way, we generally are braggarts. I was expecting him to say, Kanye's manager was chasing him around New York, bla bla bla.

Werk D'banj, proud of you son.

Son of Babylon said...

Mark my words, DBanj will NOT make it in America simply because Americans are very ignorant. They know what they like to hear and will always stick to it. He may get a hit but it will be a one time hit.

I really like DBanj but i think he is over ambitious to think he can make it in a country where they are so many talented people who can't even get a shot. If I were him and Kanye, I would target the European and African market like he has always done and also Carribean market.

I live in Yankee and music ain't no joke out here and he better stop all that African slang that he is using because Black people here take it like you are a joke and feel that you are lesser than them if you are from Africa.

hot N cold said...

Dbanj is so likable...:) He's so real and the dude is just doing his best to get the best. You can't blame him...I love him!
I like the part where he told his people to open eye that Kanye was coming...:))) That's such a smart move!!! Well done Dbanj and wish you the very best in your career and life.

Bee said...

Adewale I disagree with you.....

Reggae is big in yankee and soca and merenge continue to grow in yankee. So why can't naija music make it?

And yes i live in the US too so i'm talking from experience also.

Keke said...

@ Adewale i hear you...i personally think the level of dbanj's music is highre that the trash lil wayne, wiz khalifa and all those clowns put out..African Americans have a lot of self hate..and look down on Africa so as to feel good about themselves...however the polished educated ones know we have pedigree, we are astute, and very intellectual..white americans value us tremendously...dbanj shld try out yankee, but still hold on to Nija, the whities here will like him..after all FELA is getting a lot of recognition posthumously, bcos they have come to realize what the body of his work represents....

Ade_Cool said...

Dbanj's doing just fine...guess he's trying to push himself as far as he can...hope doesn't lose himself in the process like MJ..Whitney..kanye himself..lady gaga..Rhiana..etc

Ritashawn said...

Hmmm!I never knew he could speak this well..Good job guy

check out that shirt

adewale you lie abeg so now it is rhianna, lady gaga,nicki minaj lil wayne and co that are talented? make i hear word jare :P

If only he could conduct himself properly, during interviews, this is America, and IMAGE is vital, stop the whole SLAVERY slang,I DON'T SEE YANKS accepting his style of music.

Yanks are so ignorant, they think AFRICA is a country, so DAPO, stop the whole AFROCENTRIC rubbish, and tell them you are from NIgeria. Stop feeling inferior. Stop the whole hand shake 'fingy'. GOODLUCK in the USA.

WHY is Dapo trying to sound American?

more illuminati gist to come. since D'banj signed that deal, everyday its one story or the other.

and D'banj, please take off those fucking sunglasses. hissssss.

Nneoma said...

u ppl keep on saying he is trying to sound American...do u want him to speak pidgin english? so that yankees will call him a monkey?? cmon now use ur brains...he has to be eloquent enough so that ppl can understand him...that is not faking ...it is called blending in...i know many Nigerians here with me in the US that have lost their jobs or not hired bcos of thick inarticulate accents...

my only problem is that the music industry in the US is drug fueled, and infested...the after BET awards party was littered with drugs, and banned substances...lil wayne for one has messed up his nostrils from drugs and weed...so Dbanj shld tread carefully...but i support him in trying to conquer the American market...u guys criticizing him shld not hate but celebrate!!!!!

Loudmouthed said...

Adewale, kanye that signed him in na mugu abi??? u guys just throw urself down. Let Dbanj try, if he fails he would try again. that is life. stop bringing people down because u are small minded

so dbanj will graduate from igbo to higher stuff?
hmmm not every promotion is a blessing o!

Dapo does abuse subatances (Marijuana) so he should fit in well with the drug fuel life of showbiz...but hey DAPO, that will be an ealy career exit. BE WARNED!!!

dbanj appears relatively smart to me..he will learn quickly not to espouse the kunta kinte stuff, it was just a mild slip in my opinion..he was just trying to blend in..and frankly he aced it..he had fun with it, which was quite infectious and refreshing...as for drugs I pray to GOD he doesnt indulge...bcos in yankee it is readily available everywhere and all the messengers and psychophants will gladly give it to him..

Ch5335ng said...

Anon July 1, 2011 2:57 PM; drugs are readily available everywhere, even in Nigeria.

D'Banj is such a jester!

He needs to work on pronouncing his “H!” It’s not always silent.

@alicia says said fucking shut up! i can sense anger and hate in your comment be promoting illuminati on every post that has to do with dbanj! if you cant stand him dont comment on posts about him it is that simple!!! geez

Ade_Cool said...

Ch5335ng
Sorry to burst ur bubble..he seems to be doing very well..with his Silent H...no one's complaining apart from you over sabi 9jas..just be happy for him and wish yourself the same fortitude in whatever objectives you set yourself..not sure about the kanye angle those dudes are well shifty..but for taking on the Yankee experience and giving it a real go..I duff my hat to him...

Ch5335ng said...

Ade Cool, i bet you have that same problem. I can help you if you do.
I'm always dismissive of people who cannot pronounce words with the non-silent H. "Ausa," "Alifax" etc.

No need to pontificate. You need to read my other posts about D'Banj and i've always hailed him. Been to his concerts in the UK and America and for all it's worth, good luck to him....

Ade_Cool said...

@Ch5335ng
Fairplay...but how can you help me?...you've never heard me speak..rather presumptious...thought 9jas were actually well known for being heavy on silent vowels..as opposed to observing them...
anyways its all good...
Saw another interview of Dbanj I think on Hip-Tv..and he sounded quite camp(feminine)..he was much better on the MTV clip..but guess in 9ja he switched up to sound posh...
But what got me was the shocking red rocks on White trousers..he does like the attention that brings..good celeb gimmick

I think 9jas should just be eloquent..rather than have those psuedo US accents..which is the worst accent to imitate..check out Kofi Anann..ex UN Secretary..Mandiba..or 9ja Newscasters of yesteryears..

Fele'!!! Leave am jo....naija no dey carry last! Do your thing my nigga!!