Nigerian man stabs wife to death, cuts her into pieces | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 29 June 2011

Nigerian man stabs wife to death, cuts her into pieces

Late Titilayo, with the man who killed her, her husband

I don't have the full story, but the sad news is all over Facebook. The man pictured above, Arowolo Akolade L, allegedly stabbed his wife to death and cut her into pieces on Friday June 24, 2011.

Kolade, who claimed to be a born again Christian, and Titilayo had been married for two years and had a daughter. No one knows exactly what transpired the day he killed his wife, only, family and friends got worried when Titi didn't show up at work or contact anyone for days. The police were called in and when they got to the couple's home, they found Titi's dismembered body and a distraught Kolade there. He has since been arrested.

Friends say Titi had left Kolade sometime last year, after he beat her mercilessly, but went back to him, only to be killed. The late Titi was a staff of Skye Bank, Victoria Island. May her soul rest in peace...amen.

This is so heartbreaking.

253 comments:

«Oldest   ‹Older   201 – 253 of 253
Atobatele said...

Sush must be mad.....dats all i av to say..eediat.

Atobatele said...

@sush... i pity ur children. shameless pig. As yoruba wil say "se ori bibe ni ogun ori fifo" Is cutting off the head a cure to headache..so bcos a wife nag then d result is killing...May God Himself forgive for dat ur comment cos dats d only way u can prevent ds frm happening to u..wonder if u neva nag b4. u better start asking for forvigeness nw if nt expect d worse...Eediat.

i just need to clarify one thing. that this guy is not a member of RCCG Christ Church talk less of being a pastor there. He applied for the post of a church administrator sometime ago, but the application was rejected because the ministers discerned there was something funny about him. Please let us get our facts right before mentinoning specific names especially in matters as sensitive as this.
I pray that the soul of the departed rests in peace and that God should keep the daughter under His wings.

doll (retired blogger) said...

Sush says and i quote "pls, lets be trutful, som women push their men to such extreme".

Madam are you freaking kidding me.

I thought i misunderstood you the first time but men, you are one hell of a woman!!!!!!are you just commenting for commenting sakes or are you actually thinking before you comment.

Pls go back and read your comments and think well, pray self for God to show you light!!!!

This is so sad. I'm a victim of domestic abuse myself. Pple leave judgement to God. Only a weak man would hit a woman.

Anyone who says the lady might have deserved what she got (thats by implying that she cld have been a nag or that nagging should get you killed) is a big fool!! Simple and short. There are opinions and there are opinions and not all opinions are good, lets call a spade a spade and stop hiding behind opinion. So if my opinion is that all Nigerians are insane people should not shut me down for such a stupid opinion??? Such's opinion was bad!! Nagging, talking back, etc should never get anyone killed. Simple as!!

Anon...June 30, 2011 2:50 AM...i off hat for you. I couldn't have said it better

@anon 1:05pm Wow you have serious issues just like the Sush you are defending.

Ma'am I suggest you leave that marriage before it is too late. Your husband can;t hurt a fly, yet he slapped you and knocked you unconscious.

You're very delusional apparently. Wow watch your tongue???? SO you think any man should slap his wife just because he is provoked.

You think any sane man can try that in the USA without getting arrested for domestic violence.

@sush

As for you, I can see you're married. Your husband probably slaps you also which is why you talk the way you do.

And @uz or whatever your name is:
Do you even know what the word martyr means????? Who here said she is a saint now? Olodo!

Whether she nagged or not, he should not have touched her. Chikena! I'm sure you probably also hit your partner.

oyeyinka Abiodun solomon said...

Consider this that there are more spiritual influence( especially in Africa amongs we blackrace} behind any action you take either nagatively or otherwise than physical may God almighty deliver us from every negative invocations of courses over our life.... Jeremiah 17:9.if not so how can somebody marry wife and kill her ponder on that.God bless

@Sush!

What you typed at 11:34 is what you should have typed before. Ode!

Unfortunately we all know where you were going with that ignorant statement.

If 4 out of every 5 attacked your comment, you're clearly the one with no brain. You had better stop blogging and go and cook for your husband before he also beats your ass.

Mumu!

CK Gambit said...

There is hope for Nigeria, I was afraid at first by the earlier comments, but the later ones have shown that objective thinkers still exist, anyone here abusing a person for his or her opinion is no different than the accused...
we are all entitled to opinions, if it is true that all women nag then is it true that a lot of men know how to handle nags? or can we turn a blind eye to the fact that a lot of women in relationships still get beaten by men who can't handle this nagging?
is there a different word to use in place of nagging?
effective communication is key...
That said no one hear supports murder(i hope), so the way forward is simply this...
do you know any lady in an abusive relationship?
if you do what have you done to help her?
do you know any guy that beats up on a lady?
if you do, what have you done to get him locked up?
That seems a more better discussion trend than insults on fellow commentators

@anon 7.28
make sure you leave your marriage as soon as your husband slaps you
ODE!
where did you read that she said she was unconcious
mumu she said she slapped him,called him names,emasculated him
even if na u if the tables were turned you will walk away right?
since you are not human ,youve never slapped someone before
If its a one-off thing and he was genuinely sorry and has not done it again then will you advise her to leave him for that?

nigga please make we hear word
all this women sef SMH

grace said...

i'm not in support of what sush said but can you guys free the hell outta her? like it is freaking okay? habba everyone sush sush you people have let the real matter and are chasing after shadows if i may say! btw linda since i started coming to your blog this is the post with the highest comments! :)

Stella said...

Na wa o!!
This story scares me to my marrow!! I am in a physically abusive marriage as well, and when I told my sister in law she turned everything against me and said I was provoking him. She said I had allowed American mentality to corrupt me. I've cried more times in the past year than I have in my entire life.
Finally last month, when he hit me.. I hit him right back and with all of my might and then I told him I was going to call the cops on him.
He hasn't hit me for a month. He's asking for a divorce which I will be happy to grant. I was far more fulfilled as a single woman. I mean, I could have been this Titi.
Nigerians, we need to change our mentality about marriage. Gosh!

Fay said...

Sush is just misguided. She's either uneducated or has a self esteem problem. May God judge in all this. He is Almighty. My heart weeps for both families but most especially for the little girl left behind.

Ade_Cool said...

Still cannot get over the wedding pics..looking at her on her big day never did she imagine in a million years that she was going to get slaughtered literally..
How her family and daughter would cope in years to come is beyond me..
It completely threw me of course..'cos normally you would think it's one of those random stories you read about in the 9ja dailies..in some random village but in the metropolis???
Surprised the officers
when u mentally sick..u SICK..no good background or education can help you apart from his family and him admitting he needs medical help..there must have been a pattern there..his ex-girlfriends were well lucky

Sushi your opinion stinkjs . i HOPE U MEET AN ABUSER who can fuck u up for real. asshole!!

@sush
you are very right that some women can bring out the demon in you but u shud not have considered posting this under this particular issue as it will be misunderstood and it indeed is.

secondly i believe your trying to say that if a woman is gullible and blind enough to marry a volatile and abusive man and wants to stay with him...her best best is to shush to avoid any form of abuse u cant fault a quiet person abi?
however if u go into the history of the guy u will find out he has been a disturbed person all the way , trying to commit suicide by drinking bleach in secondary school ,etc, . we need to do a lot of research on the person you want to spend the rest of your life with spiritually, financially, socially religiously and etc no research is too much.
for all we know he could have killed her in her sleep,coz the story dint say she was tied up..so it was not expected so we know he is evil evil.
she was probably gonna leave him and he found out and he could not take it so he killed her .if he cant have her no one can ,also

Ladies if eventually u come to your right senses and you take a decision to love yourself and your life and choose to live by leaving an abusive marriage , don't flaunt it in their face that u are leaving their ego is seriously hurt and they dont want to be dumped and stay far away for a reasonable time and cool of.

for those who still want to stay becoz of kids or avoiding having different baby fathers .. i can tell you by far that ,it is preferable to be alive than die and the guys remarrying after you are dead and some other biotch takes your place and slaps your kids around.

abeg gone are those days when kids come up with cutlass asking for their father,u see the new generations have facts and proof,please,,avoid people using your picture to describe how u were to your kids when they grow up.
be there to tell the story coz these kids will blame u on your grave that why dint u move out?????
u go fit answer by then??
above all seek God's face and always remember that not every one is designed for marriage.

anonymous said...

what happened is so so so unfortunate.the guy must av been under one kind of spell.No sane person could av done what he supposedly did. we live in a diabolic society.

olayinka said...

What is Bad, is Bad... God said he has showed us what is good and what does the LORD require from You ( Micah 6:8)..... if u think u can Judge ur fellow human-being, Death is the Solution to this.... R.I.P , 4 the 2 lover

let God judge this mater !!

Ade_Cool said...

Wanted to say that the Police Officers who witnessed this must have been traumatised!!..

Runaway mind said...

We live in a world where men are rarely held to account for what they do in their homes.This man's behaviour is merely an extreme of the general attitude men have towards their wives. 'Under, beneath!'. Surprisingly, Christianity, the way it's practiced now, seems to be subjugating women and taking away the freedoms given to them by the 'secular' world. Men need to be more accountable for their attitudes towards their wives in marriage. They are equals. We are all sons of God. There is neither male nor female....does anyone remember that verse in the bible? Hmm?

sush..thundah faya u finish. Omo ofo

Jadesola Babatola said...

I am left agap...is the guy a common criminal without any good background and violent lifestyle or is he mentally retarded or jinxed? Police should unravel the cause before I make further comments...

This was a shameful!

Many problems today are due to infidelity, immaturity and mistrust.

To start with the story does not add up in relation to the rental of N1.3million paid in Isolo. Is that money for 3 to 5 years rent?

Good men are out there but women would give one excuse after the other that he cannot cut his hair properly. He cannot dress very well. He talks too much. He is a stingy person. He is too old for me. I do not think he has got big John Thomas, etc etc.

Di's District said...

Anonymous June 30, 2011 2:50 AM
true talk !
We Nigerians keep passing down the culture we learn from our parents mostly mothers! Women Wake up & value your lives !
Do proper investigation on someone you are engaged to, his lineage & their health records, his school & work history etc.
May her soul rest in perfect peace. Amen.

PS: Women if you are marrying a man you earn more than & he is Nigerian,decide wisely becos aside from this sad event MOST Nigerian men are known to be insecured & threatened by a woman's success.

There has been several studies linking women who stay in abusive relationships to the enjoyment of their partner Alpha male sexual prowess (big gbola).

There are also studies that most women who married men with low sexual ability are not ready to be friendly and would be willing to walk at the earliest opportunity if they cannot cheat on their partner.

Prof. PC

I pray for this Man and he should surely get help. May Titi's soul rest in peace and May God take care of his daughter. This is a lesson to both Men and Ladies out there. Though it’s a Man who killed his wife now, It could also be the other way round. Violence can lead to a lot of strange things that you did not imagine initially and the ultimate disaster "Death". Never hit people, it doesn’t solve your problem with them. Talk things over, when Angry move away from the situation. The guy can never be himself again that is for sure, and I am very sure he would be regretting his action by now. However, the Law must prevail. Titi on the other hand is resting now though her family would suffer the pain, most especially the little girl who would grow up knowing her dad killed her Mum. imagine the trauma this might even leave a scar that would make her dislike Men for life. Please lets think about ourselves, and our pray for this Man and he should surely get help. May Titi's soul rest in peace and May God take care of his daughter. This is a lesson to both Men and Ladies out there. Though it’s a Man who killed his wife now, It could also be the other way round. Violence can lead to a lot of strange things that you did not imagine initially and the ultimate disaster "Death". Never hit people, it doesn’t solve your problem with them. Talk things over, when Angry move away from the situation. The guy can never be himself again that is for sure, and I am very sure he would be regretting his action by now. However, the Law must prevail. Titi on the other hand is resting now though her family would suffer the pain, most especially the little girl who would grow up knowing her dad killed her Mum. imagine the trauma this might even leave a scar that would make her dislike Men for life. Please lets think about ourselves, and our children. What legacy are we leaving?. A child who sees his Dad hit his Mum may try it one day thinking its acceptable. The Abused are the ones who abuse, not necessarily its that they've been abused themselves but if they've witnessed it they may try it someday. I have been hit by an ex- boyfriend before getting married, initially I took it as I was gullible, in lust and young. He showed me all the signs but this I ignored, and did not realise how I could be treated better untill I met someone else. Not one day has my husband hit me. Even when I upset him he just ignores me which is a punishment itself. Guys please there is another way to punish a woman, only a Mad man or an Animal would hit. My ex is the one at loss now as he thought I wasn't good enough, and he also made me think that way. However, another Man has made realise I am a beautiful person and never hit me for one day. What am I saying? Ladies or even Men, if you are experiencing any form of abuse talk to someone and flee from the situation. You'll be suprised how many Men are being abused by their wives as well. Titi is gone and its a lesson for all. May her soul rest in peace. Love you all MT London

@SUSH, don,t worry one day a man will kill you or your blood sister, then you will stand out and pass judgement. Someone's daughter, sister, cousin, mother etc is 6 fit below, and you the gut to all that rubbish.

Its funny how the comments have moved from what it really is, to tribal and gender issues. This sort of action is align to us in Nigeria, and we argue about the unnecessary, when we should sit and be sober and reflect. what is going on in Nigeria? suicide bombers, now a man who dismembers his wife. Its sad, very sad. We need God and fast or the happy and cheerful country as we know it, would become hell on earth.

@sush, don't worry one day a man will stab you or your sister to death just because you drove him crazy. someones daughter, sister, mum,cousin is 6'fit below and you would open your dirty mouth to utter those rubbish.

Story Teller said...

Sush, if you’re reading this, I’d like to say that I think your heart was in the right place when you posted the comment that has caused so much outrage. HOWEVER, it was most definitely wrong timing. The matter is still too fresh and people are still too very sensitive to be given ‘advice’ that in my opinion has little to do with the subject matter. At least not directly.

Reminds me of when I was growing up and I would be holding a broom and heading to the living room and my mum would in that moment start talking about how necessary it was for a young girl to sweep the house every morning. Great advice, but not for the moment cos really... I was already holding a broom, not a fork.

Even more apt and more directly related to this case would be when your child has a car accident, is bleeding and being wheeled into surgery and next thing a ‘sympathiser’ starts giving advise about how young boys should drive carefully and not speed so much. It is great advice, but I’m sure you would tear such a person’s eyes out for the wrong timing. Think about that.

Nagging is annoying. Whether it’s from man, wife, friend, parent, sibling, etc. It is not exclusive to any gender or marital status. HOWEVER it is pretty subjective. I know when I’m ‘nagging’ my bf and I caution myself cos I hate to be nagged as well (in my own definition). But some people don’t realise that what applies to one applies to the other. Men nag all the time but it is not defined as such because nagging like cooking has become a feminine verb. It’s as funny as it is annoying.
But that is not the point.

On the matter of the Arowolos... ah, it is quite heart-rending. True, one might say the fact that he was found with the body doesn’t mean he did the crime. Some of us are strongly convinced that he did it. But whatever the case may be... there has been much talk as to the presence of domestic violence. My people.... everyone has said enough about it here so no need to add my own hate feelings for woman-beaters (any kind of beater actually)... all I can say is that if anyone is in an abusive relationship (emotional, psychological, and more dangerously; physical), and they decide to stay in it for whatever reason; real or fabricated, if they lose their lives in the end, it is two crimes that would have been committed; murder on the part of the killer, and suicide on the part of the victim...

(to be continued....)

Story Teller said...

AS I was saying....

I heard a saying long time ago that has stayed with me forever, and I’ll share it here ‘nothing is worth the price of your soul. ABSOLUTELY nothing’... and I add; least of all marriage; a relationship you CHOOSE (in ideal situations) to go into. It is not like family that’s foisted on you. You actually choose to do it. And you pick your partner. So why do you think you have to pay such a huge price to keep it? Nah...

It’s twisted really. We can all come up with preachy preachy stuff, but it takes a strong person to decide to walk out of a bad relationship. It is this strength that I wish all women who are in suicidal relationships, because let’s face it; people don’t bail because you advice them to; they bail when THEY ARE READY. And some are ready earlier than others. Some die before they get the chance to reach that place of readiness.

Annoyingly too, it is not every time you can tell where a relationship is headed, abuse-wise. Some people are great for all the years you date them and you get hitched then gbam... you start to see the demon or demoness as the case may be. Or you stay in a marriage for years before it creeps out. Most stories of violence in marriage tend to be similar, yet they are different in that not everyone reads the signs, not everyone is bold enough to even recognise the writing on the wall.

Then does society help? Of course not. But that's for all those who have become slaves to society. For those bold enough to stand head to head with society and decide to live full, healthy lives regardless of how they are judged as per marital status and whatnot... kudos I say. As long as you are happy, do what you will, when you will. Nothing else is worth the trouble.

In the end, we each have our story, but the prayer is... may all our stories have better endings, Amen. And may Titi rest in peace in that place where there’s no more pain. Like my mother would say; may she be an Angel for her little daughter; the greatest victim of this unfortunate drama. Amen.

This is sad and a very difficult time for family and friends of the late lady. I think this man has mental health issues that were never identified and addressed properly. It doesn't matter whether he quotes the bible from genesis to revelation, if he was schizophrenic, all it needed was a little push to go over the edge. Mental health issues need to be properly diagnosed and managed in Nigeria. It's not just people running naked in the marketplaces that are mad, even a well presented professional may have some madness going on, all it needs is just that one last straw to crack!

Though l was not forced on my husband we saw ourselves,we courted,married had two kids all grown up to ages of 13 and 10,my husband has been out of job for the past 7 years now everything that Titi went through l am going it now and l sustained the family,he will not allow me go out excepyt office,he checked my phones,l am emotionally stressed up...l cant imagine all that has happened to this lady now l am afraid he might do something bad to me because it is getting there now. Is it a crime to be in love and care fro your family not wanting to leave your marriage because the man of the house cannot perform his duties.God help me.

@ photofactory int...Mr virile man with swinging pendulum dick...dont u just think u thinking with ur second head? Foolish idiot dat cannot assimilate and read. silly xcuse for a man. wetin d guy talk wey u say he dey campaign for gay marriage? Just live and let live chikena! No be force to marry!Ewu!

Anger lies in the bosom of fools that is true let us wait to hear what the outcome of the young man confession will be like,even if the woman committed adultery he should not have done that no man is permitted to take the life of another,if that had been done to his sister by his brother-in-law what would he have done, recently my woman did what would have made me kill her i just walked away from the house for 2days before i came back my tempers were calmed down.Women be careful when dating a guy check is temperament or else same may happen, the bible says in Ephesians 5:15 " let us walk circumspectly knowing that the days are evil"the world is getting more evil than we can imagine we are seeing thriller movies turn real stories in Nigeria,i get so sick when i hear the kind of things happening back home.God help my Generation. obafe

The idiot photofactory just joined blogger last month dey run mouth anyhow! Chai! God punish your father! See, bloggers are smart intelligent people with in-depth insight into issues, analyzing matters in micro seconds and comparing opinions.When arguments ensue, they are valid ones-even when you see heated ones, that's no excuse to join in and run your pie-hole you Mofo! Better shut down ur blogger profile, cos for formatted empty brains like yours, it would cause you much sorrow.Don't say you weren't warned! Were oshi. Oponu jati jati. Ewu!

Just shows how weak a human being he is. I strongly believe he was on hard drugs. Most likely heroin. Why should you sell your wife's car without her consent. He should have been sent to jail then. She loved him or her home to a fault. May she rest in the Lord's bossom.

Eddy J said...

Thuogh i dont know what transired between the couples..........but whatever it is, i think that man is callous to have done that to his wife.

If he was gay,d best he could do was to divorce her. What will he tell his daughter? Let justice takes its course.

EnigmaLife said...

I was in an abusive relationship once and it opened my eyes to alot of tins. WOMAN KNOW THY SELF AND WATCH THY SELF. Insult me all u can but the truth remains- if u don't watch ur tongue when insulting a man or anybody you know can over power you and has a hot temper then be ready for the consequence(as that gentleman rightly put it that he cant look for a soldiers trouble). whether we like it or not, good or bad, we have people who just love to kill for the heck of it. so if you like stay there and try ur luck. May her soul rest in peace.

Chief Executive Officer - CEO said...

At times we run comments that quite negate reality, let look at the situation critically, how on earth would someone do such a thing if not under some evil influence, if it were for rituals nobody would meet the body of the woman anywhere around the house, moreover, is not stale news that either the husband kill the wife vice verse, even borthers of the same mother, but whats is the reason for doing that. I so much believe that the guy is under an evil influence which is far from rituals. Just let us pray without season, that evil influence would not overcome us. VIS

Letter to women - If you find a man that was served nice dinner and he killed his wife he must be a ritualist...
If you find a man that hit his wife after a NICE one he must be a maniac...
If you find a man that bruises a woman that layed his bed he must be a sycho...
Lets think twice before reacting this could be the kind of danger from a sigle story that Chimmanda is talking about

So no one can even reach the man to find out his part of the story?
Na wah oo.
what if the death was accidental...what if the death orchestrated by external person/s ...what if the man and his wife were attacked and only him survived...what if somebody has taken advantage of an already strained marriage relationship...
Lets not allow the danger of a single story as told by Chimamand set in.Pls women lets look again

Sush or whatever you call yourself! I think you ought to put yourself in Titi's Shoes! The reason why you keep blabbing on.....on and on is that you were not the one,besides something tells me you yourself are a big nag!!!!!Fullstop! This act by Arowolo is barbaric, inhuman, sadistic and heinous, He should not be spared another second at all. It does not matter the nagging, a real man knows how to take control of himself, moreso he calls himself a christian, hope he rots in hell! Sush shut your big mouth as you're totally an ignoramusss!!!

sush abi u be witch? sounds like you are one! only a witch like you will be opening that "gutter" you call mouth like dat! yeye person!

Im 30 and married at 29 but i learnt the workings of women at 14. REAL MEN DONT USE FISTS FOR ANYTHING, THEY USE THEIR BRAINS. ANY MAN WHO USES HIS FINGER,NOT EVEN HIS HANDS HOW MUCH MORE FISTS TO CORRECT A WOMAN IS NO LONGER A MAN BUT A BUSH RAT.WOMEN organisations must stand up now for women have been liberated by God and can not be subjected to such beastly, unscrupulous, heinous, jagbajastic nonsensity. RUBBISH!!!!!!
what soever a man soweth, the same he will reap. The Universal Judge will Meet Him soon...

I have read the comments on the murder of Titilayo Omozoje Oyakhire Arowolo who I personally knew and called Omo.
Omo and I grew up together at Ebute Metta axis of Lagos Mainland. In fact, we were very close, very much like sisters and we even attended the same church. We were both members of the Teenage Choir of Foursquare Gospel Church, Alagomeji, Yaba. Omo’s dad is a deacon while her mum has been dead for as long as I can remember. Her mum died when she was young so newspaper reports claiming her mum and dad said she shouldn’t go back to Akolade’s house are very wrong. In fact, her dad is no longer based in Lagos, although he remarried sometime ago.
By the way, her grandmother (her mother’s mum) lived in the same building with me and Omo visited her a lot because she was quite close to her. She stopped visiting when the old woman died early this year.
If only everyone knew Omo. She was as gentle as a dove, couldn’t hurt a fly and above all, she was generous to a fault.
I was shocked when I learnt she was pregnant because I believed that as members of the same church, she ought to have known that the bible is against premarital sex. Funny enough, she never told me about her pregnancy although I kept asking why she wasn’t getting married in the church, but she kept evading my questions. In fact, very few people in the church knew when she got married because her dad didn’t announce it. I guess this was as a result of him being a deacon and he also knows what the scriptures say about premarital sex.
I attended her wedding, albeit reluctantly, not because she was pregnant but because I believe her courtship with Kolade was too short (less than 3 months). I advised her as a sister and prayed that God will forgive their shortcomings and they would have a blissful marriage. At the wedding ceremony, I noticed excesses of her would-be husband, the way he drank himself to a stupor with his friends and I asked myself, “Why would Omo marry such a man?”
Anyway, I kept praying for them and also being a good friend and sister to Omo, but at the same time I kept my distance to enable her focus on her marriage. She tried hiding the fact that she was unhappy, but I couldn’t be fooled.
At the christening of their beloved daughter, who is a carbon copy of her dad, I noticed my friend looked gaunt and unhappy. I asked her what was wrong and she took a look at me and said “If I had known”. I asked her what she meant but she refused to utter any word.
In March this year, she came with her daughter to the church (I still attend the same Foursquare church) and I snapped pictures of she and her daughter. She looked too skinny for my liking and although she tried hiding the fact that her marriage was a failure, I knew it. I saw the wounds on her body but she hid the truth from me. When I asked if they had gone for counselling, she told me her husband wouldn’t hear of it. When I reminded her that marriage is only marriage when one is alive, she answered by saying society would mock her if she left her husband. Funny enough, it is now the same society who is condemning her for staying that long.
Nevertheless, I was shocked to the spine when I heard she was brutally murdered. I was upset and traumatised when I saw the photos of her mutilated body. I had to call my dad at Ebute Metta who confirmed the story.
All I can say, which I know, is that Omo was never a nag. In fact, I believe she was too docile in that marriage. The guy kept beating her yet she kept going back to him. I also believe the lack of a mother figure in her life could have contributed to her passiveness.
On a final note, I would like to implore every woman that it is not compulsory you stay in an abusive relationship. You have only one life to live. Marriage does not bring about fulfilment. If you are not fulfilled as a single, there is no assurance that you would be fulfilled when married. Everyone needs to appreciate their individuality before thinking of marriage.

This is the same Omo's friend who contributed yesterday. As for Sush, what can I say to you? I pray you or your daughters won't go through half of what Omo went through. RIP my dear friend, confidante and sister. If the courts of this world do not judge rightly, be assured heavenly courts will defend you. After all, what was your offence? You fell in love and got married. Adieu my very good friend. Thank God Iya Ondo (your grandma) died early this year if not, your death would have killed her. Bros Femi (your uncle) is still in shock, he has become delusional. Aunt Funmi (your aunt) doesn't talk to anyone anymore.

Ruth Marli Johnsons said...

he should not be pardoned

Am short of words but I pray dat her soul rip. My only advice is for ladies to beware of yoruba men. I've seen so many stories like dis and 95% of them are yoruba men. Even in london. Jst a warning.

«Oldest ‹Older   201 – 253 of 253   Newer› Newest»