Nigerian man flies from JFK to LA with invalid ID, expired boarding pass | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 30 June 2011

Nigerian man flies from JFK to LA with invalid ID, expired boarding pass

A Nigerian national was able to board a flight from Kennedy Airport to Los Angeles without a valid passport or ID -- and carrying someone else's expired boarding pass.

Olajide Oluwaseun Noibi cleared security last Friday to board Virgin America Flight 415 and travel to Los Angeles International Airport, FOX News Channel reported Thursday.

The Transportation Security Administration (TSA) confirmed Noibi was screened at JFK, but said it could not comment further due to the ongoing FBI investigation.

"Every passenger that passes through security checkpoints is subject to many layers of security including thorough physical screening at the checkpoint. TSA's review of this matter indicates that the passenger went through screening," spokesman Greg Soule said in a statement. "It is important to note that this passenger was subject to the same physical screening at the checkpoint as other passengers."
Noibi apparently stayed in Los Angeles before returning to the airport Wednesday and attempting to board a Delta flight bound for Atlanta using the same means.
He was prevented from getting on the flight and taken into custody after investigators found that he was in possession of several expired boarding passes.
FBI special agent Kevin Hogg said in an affidavit that the man whose name was on the expired boarding pass, used by Noibi on the Virgin America flight, told him it disappeared from his back pocket on a subway ride to the airport last Thursday.
Hogg said that Noibi acknowledged that he did not pay for the Virgin America flight and told officials that the reason for his trip to Los Angeles "was to recruit people for his software business."
He was charged with being a stowaway aboard an aircraft, a felony punishable with up to five years in prison if convicted.
According to officials first cited by KABC, Virgin America's flight crew only realized that an extra passenger was on board after the flight was airborne.

Source

29 comments:

Kenyanized said...

and that just proves, anything is possible! have a lovely weekend all!!!!

Investigator said...

How do these people even think up these things? Who would have known it was possible to board a plane with expired boarding pass?

This none pass me o. Criminal minds.

lol, why is this even making news? no wonder when people google something on Nigeria, all these nasty stories will come up. I don't even think this is newsworthy, but what should i expect from FOX?

Nija strong oh!
Happy new month fellas, God bless u!!!

Yet they make old wheel chair bound people remove their diapers for a full body search.. SMH @ TSA

so unnecessary

What is this story about?!!! They usually do not always check ID's on local US flights. I can understand the boarding pass issue but ID.....

Kemiismyrealname said...

It's a domestic flight so what is the point of the story?

Justin said...

the only thing that annoys me about this incident is not what he did in itself but the fact that what he did further tarnishes Nigeria's image and integrity internationally. Now the airport officials are probably going to scrutinize Nigerians and their travel documents even more intensely, if thats even possible.

lwkmdfo..his body odor did him in. I have repeatedly said naijas have odor. aint this proof? it's even more conspiciuous when you've lived over seas and u enter murital airport and walk by the locals...ewwwww.

The truth is that Yorubaland is losing its glory of the olden days. More than half of the crimes committed worldwide today are perpetrated by Yorubas. It shows that we have lost the leadership vision of the great Awo and if nothing is done about it, we will continue to decay.

-Gbenga

Na wa. Is he okay? increased scrutiny of Nigerians starts afresh. Sigh

ode..
its clear the system is still slack..
yet they harass us whenever we visit their country.

Ch5335ng said...

Anon July 1, 2011 12:22 AM; i always get checked for ID when i fly internally in America (especially in JFK, BWI and LAX.) Thought it's been mandatory since 9 11.

Allegra said...

Another idiot who will now make thing more difficult for millions. Talk about selfish act.

Why are they stressing the fact that he is a Nigerian? As if theirs dont indulge in such act too. Check this out: http://www.myfox8.com/news/wghp-us-airways-employee-arrested-in-companys-second-stowaway-case-in-months-20110614,0,1516536.story

@ Annon July 1 1:26AM

why do you generalize like a fucking retard? I am Naija too but left the country as a teenager. I don't smell because personal hygiene was embedded in me. For you to generalize a whole group of people shows how shallow minded you are. I currently have an akata co-worker, 22 yrs old with bad breath and body odor that everyone is aware of. This has nothing to do with nationality but rather a person's lack of personal hygiene.

Mchewwww said...

how do you nigerians feels aboout have such a disgraceful fcked up reputation acrosst he world - and they are all not LIES - they are the truth.

I dont care how glammed up the 1% of you show up on red carpet - A NIGERIAN IS A NIGERIAN IS A NIGERIAN

PERIOD!

why are the haters and anti-Nigerians on this blog to begin with? if you dont like Nigerians, how do you always find your way to our blogs? when the numerous good stories of Nigerians pop up, YOU HATERS ARE NEVER ANYWHERE TO BE FOUND. but because of one thing, you hoes are now barking. PLEASE!
as i said, what does this incident have to do with Nigerians? everyone knows Fox news is racist, and if it were a Mexican, they would do the same thing.

and who is talking of Nigerians and body odor? please speak for YOURSELF.

@Mchewwww... U must be a Ghanaian or South African , those are the retarded people that hv nothing good to say about Naija and this is the kind of news u do normally wait for to badmouth the country and it could tell from ur comment that u need to get a life.

Your comment shows that u felt insecured whenever u see Naija Celebrities on a Red Carpet bcos i dont know how this news is related to celebrity status

Amaka said...

Anon 11:22am, I think you meant to say they do not check the VALIDITY of the ID right?

Because you DO need an ID to get on a commercial plane...

Justin said...

@Alicia yeah FOX news is biased but to be fair most of the major news networks picked this up and reported it, explicitly emphasizing the fact that the man who did it was a Nigerian. Which is what is annoying me, the fact that cos of this thing, Nigeria's image is further tarnished. I didnt even know it was possible to use an expired/wrong boarding pass to get on a plane, after 9/11 and all. Naija, wetin we no fit do!!!

Wale Abbey Bab's said...

Lol. Are they sleeping when he left JFK?

Fanstuff said...

Anon July 1, 2011 12:22 AM; it's not Nigeria.

Even in the UK you need an ID to fly locally.
Compulsory in America too.

everyone needs an ID to fly locally.

@Mchewwwww said...

You must be fooling your self - Anony 4.31pm - By the Way I am from East Africa - so i am from none of the countries you called out, NO amount of money in the world would make any one respect people like yourself who steal and its passed down from generation to generation. Many african might smile in your faces, but at the back of our minds we think of you as "XXXXXX"(fill in the blanks). Be a little humble sometime instead of arrogant everywhere u go when you dont even have constant light in 2011 (ONLY A FOOL WILL WISH TO BE YOU with such a fked up reputation globally) - anyone who lives and works with you abroad - can testify to majority of you and your arrogance (lets not talk about the BO - cos thats a whole separate topic). lol

you come from east africa? BITCH PLEASE! what is there to write home about in East Africa? so who the hell do you think you're fooling? why say you're even from east africa sef? why not state your country? are you scared? TELL ME YOUR COUNTRY SO I CAN ALSO EXPOSE THE SKELETONS YOU ARE TRYING TO HIDE IN YOUR CLOSET. NONSENSE! yes, we Nigerians get shown love everywhere. our swagger is too much. only a fool will judge an entire country on the 1% committing crimes. so you see our red carpets too? DAMN, if you dont like Nigerians, why are you on our blogs and all up in our business? don't worry, if i were you, i'd be jealous too.
only a FOOL that has never been to Nigeria will come to such a conclusion. why not speak for yourself instead of listening to petty gossip like a market woman?
NOW GET OUT, AND KICK ROCKS.

and look up and down the entire post. see all the positive stories on Nigerians? why not comment on those? oh no, you're just a little hater that secretly trolls on Nigerian websites, waiting for anything negative to pounce on, to make yourself feel good about where you come from. i can smell the envy, and it STINKS! now keep on hissing until your lips fall off.

Dusk... said...

@Mscheeeew/woteva:U ar just an idiot.U cum 2 a Nigerian blog and open ur mouth 2spew crap.
Just readin ur lines,one can see d envy and hatred dat has held u down 4years.
U ar from East Africa?!?!?!And u ar proudly sayin it?!Ur prolly 4rm one of doz backward areas wher women wear a million nose rings and springs on their neck 2luk pretty.
U talk of electricity when u use goat-poop 2cook.
Ode!Y nt visit ur VERY dry blogs wher al u talk abt s d general state of ur country's dejectedness.
Okuko Igbo...Ewu mmmeeeee!!!