Jezebel may have clowned D'Banj, but American blogger Sandra Rose had nice things to say... | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 28 June 2011

Jezebel may have clowned D'Banj, but American blogger Sandra Rose had nice things to say...

Here's what Sandra Rose wrote on her blog: "Kanye West recently signed 2 Nigerian artists to his G.O.O.D. Music label. One of them is D’banj, who, according to Upscale Hype, attended the 2011 BET Awards styled in a pair of Christian Louboutin Mika Raja flats ($2,395) from the Spring/Summer 2011 Collection. I would rather see a man dressed like D’banj than one dressed like those untamed beasts who roam the urban landscape with their pants hanging off their butts, like Lil Wayne and that ilk. We have to do better."

D'Banj's shoes is almost N400k? Damn, this guy's paid!
Read more on Sandra's blog

63 comments:

Well that's catsup. Naija we do it big. They better recognize

Abeg what is the need for you to bring in an American blogger Linda? What you think is what we are interested in not some random oyibo blogger. Meanwhile, you should not side with all these freaking people that divide black people

ChiChiLuv said...

How is $2395 = $4000, eh Linda? If you said $3000 I for say but 4K? LOL! Buy glasses o abeg you LOL. I feel that even if someone has the $$ to pay almost $2500 for a pair of shoes he probably wouldn't wear again (celebs especially naija celebs don't like to rerock much) is a waste of money but easy come, easy go. Enjoy D'banj for the rest of us, o jare!

as funny as that sound i can buy that exact same shoe in china for 180usd grade A leather!!!!

Dike said...

Nice shoes. Are celebrities allowed to reuse shoes? Abi na only cloth dem no suppose re-rock...lol

It baffles me to think that D'banj may not wear this nice shoes again because he's been see wearing them before. Too much money.

Sandra Rose is str8 bsing... 3k for a pair of shoes? Even D'Banj can't be that foolish...

Bee said...

chichiluv please be reading before you type. look at the currency she put b4 you attack.

$2395 = almost N400K....one is $, the other Naira

deeflamez said...

Yeah yeah,now where are dose peanut-sized-brains who will regard this as another ironical statement? Then I'll know that their entire senses have really gone myopic with hatred that they are too blind to appreciate rare creativity. *waiting with a baseball bat*

deeflamez said...

Yeah yeah,now where are dose peanut-sized-brains who will regard this as another ironical statement? Then I'll know that their entire senses have really gone myopic with hatred that they are too blind to appreciate rare creativity. *waiting with a baseball bat*

zoomzoomzoom said...

Chichiluv,U are such a DUMBO!!!Linda was calculating the value in Naira.The right sign was sitting in front of the 400k...ish!!
Now to more important matters, ok na, i need to view Dbanj's outfit in a different light, that pair of shoes cost over $2000?Beautiful...i am still not a fan of his 'blouse'.

OK said...

@chichiluv: buy glasses plus contact lenses..make sure u use both together.... Linda said $2395 is almost 400k naira (N400,000 nigerian currency).

Laaraa said...

@ ChiChiLuv..u're the one who needs glasses. 2,395 dollars is equivalent to 400 thousand NAIRA. That's what linda meant. Not that $2395 = $4000...He worked for his money, he should spend it the way he likes..#shikena

Still doesnt excuse dbanj's attrocious outfit.there was no need to have the bravelet on and he could have certainly done better with the table cloth material trouser.
If i were him,i will wear aomething representing a hip fashion aware but autenthic african.the shoe looks crap and the fact that they arw louboutins dont mean they cant be crap

Say whatever you want, good or bad he at least got people's attention.

hot N cold said...

Chi, don't think u're smarter. I think she meant 400k in Naira. Come to think of it, don't you girls carry LV bags? How much are they again??? Shoes are to men what bags are to women. Dbanj is big so what do u guys expect? Yes Dbanj!

bbbfamily said...

I have a Kanye west Louis Vuitton dons I bought for 1800 dollars, thats not much for a guy like dbanj seriously, thats probably his most expensive shoe, why? cos he wore it to BET award.lol.
oh well mine is my most expensive of cos..hehehe

na wah for nigerians with their bad mouth...if he had worn the 180usd shoe to this kinda event you will also be the the first to condemn him...this life what can we do to satisfy pple....NOTHING!!!!!!!!!!DBANJ u rock jare..

Jezebel dint clown dbanj,she stated d actual fact....#SHIKENA#

WHEN YOU R BIG,YOU R BIG...WHEN YOU R HOT YOU BLAZING....

@ChiChiLuv... please stop being foolish. Linda's right. Rounded up to the nearest 100k IT IS ALMOST 400k. Either you don't know maths or you don't know what the exchange rate is at the moment. *smh*

he wasnt exactly clowned on jezebel

d'banj looked good.

I don’t care how much it costs those shoes are horrid.PERIOD.

PS: would you buy 'em for your boyfriend Linda? NO!!!.

more illuminati news to come, stay tuned. and why care what other people have to say when we have already formed our own opinions?

@ Linda and everybody else that has commented on this post. Has anyone of you by any chance gone thru d link Linda posted and read all d comments there? Y'all should, it's hilarious ... They ripping on our star majorly...

hot N cold said...

Anon 11:46, what have they said there that hasn't been said by 'us'? Just like this blog, they made good n bad comments but I guess that's why we're all diff. Stop fooling yourself and getting excited over nothing!

Sandra Rose is black...just fyi since Anonymous #1 said she was oyibo.

OK said...

@ alicia...biko..o gini?....wat is with u and dis illuminati crap u talk about at every post of a successful individual....???

I seriously think alicia is in love with dbanj,kilode!I am very sure you are not a born again xtian b/cos if you are,you won't know who dbanj is.let God be the judge.

He was the best dressed man there. Keep it up

Linda if u like date Dbanj na for your own Pocket, But please dont compare Dbanj and Young Money, Abeg oooooooooooo Show. Dbanj Dey Mad, How much dem dey pay am for naija, Him Money na naira. Make he no craze go there oooooo. LIL WAYNE, RICKY ROSS and co. Those ones na baba, On too Much Money, All the Birdman. Dbanj self no get quarter of Bow Wow Money. MONEYBAG IN DA HOUSE, Dbanj abeg sit down jor. u wear Shoe of 2k usd plus we no go hear word. U no see men wey they wear Diamond of 2 Million dollars. Me self wey i no be celebrity i dey wear LV shoes of 1000 usd, My Canal i wears alone the cheapest i got them is 2000 to 5000 usd. Dbanj no make me vex ooooo. Who sabi u. As a matter of fact me i hate u guy, U got No Swag. I no be Celebrity ooooo, But as far as am concerned me no send Dbanj. Him Money na Akara. dem go change am for am. Am a full time Nigeria Man based here in States. I got my bills. Dbanj no get my money. Make he go sit down jor. Whenever is in States He should hit up with the real Men. No be all those Mumu Clothes wey he dey wear come with those him yeye glasses. Have you spent 500,000 Pounds a Night in a club ? Ask P diddy them go tell u whats Up. I don talk finish. If una like make una criticize me, The fact remain i hate you Dbanj. G.T.H.........YM

camouflage said...

lmao @ the haters it is obvious that a prophet is not welcome in his own town!! if you donot appreciate him others do and all of you singing about illuminati how are you sure that he is among them!mscheww it is foolhardy for people to say things that they are not 100% sure of!

Adebola said...

@ Linda $2000 dollars on shoe is not that much if its what you really like, I mean I pay up to 800 dollars on shoes and I only work part time as an assistant Psychologist. So imagine someone like D'banj who make 20 times of what I make. Its ok sweet heart am sure if you save for it, you can get urself something as nice, but you will have to be into that sort. Its not really that bad honestly, and I still maintain D'banj looks nice.

Linda, you're intent on this cause right?!!! Well then, all hail King D'Banj the best dressed celebrity..... Lol!

@OK, WAKE UP! the sooner you see the clues the better for you. i doubted it at first, but now I'm a firm believer!

hilary said...

for me 400k is not even worth someone they said spent almost 500m to get kanye west to sign them which i know that mo hits crew don't even worth 500m.I have two gold chains worth 750k,a gucci slippers worth 55k,a loui vuiton eyeglass worth 150k.as for the blogger i think her ass must have been whipped by weezy baby and co,its almost same thing chelsea will say on tv after been whiped by 50 and co

deeflamez said...

Jezebel only said 'it looks like a table-cloth fabric'....doesn't mean it actually is. Note: "IT LOOKS LIKE". Another person's opinion may say "it looks like woodin or embroided-linen" so please don't kill yourself because some 'Jezebel' made a comment from her own view - infact which she was actually admiring the creativity,and not with sarcasm as you claim. That was simply an Italian look-with a touch of English. Afterall,its obvious her people don't dress better especially since most of 'em sag their pants to reveal their 'precious' butts. Lol

N.I.L (Naijamum in London) said...

There's no need to drink panadol for another man's headache.

The boy is repping Naija positively abroad + He is going places with a strong entrepreneurial spirit + He is spending HIS money on himself.

All in all I hail the brother. Nothing do am.

I think Dbanj is a lousy man. He should tone it down with his show off. I am happy for his achievements but he should watch it.

Linda, stop looking for foreign bloggers to support ur points. if u think Dbanj looks nice just say so. Cos folks like Sandra rose come off as mentally unstable half d damn time. State ur opinion, move on.

Ch5335ng said...

Anon June 28, 2011 8:42 PM; the difference is he doesn't do fakes. It's all about paying the ish for the real thing.

He can bloody afford it so what? CL's don't come cheap and for all we know, he may have been given the shoes as a gift.

He surely got noticed with this ensemble and i like it. He scrubbed up so clean.

OK said...

@ Alicia...#batting fake eye lashes#..i see...and now i believe.....#in judas' voice#

deeflamez said...

@ Anon 1:26AM. Its obvious you have a big problem of low-self esteem...now to the question you asked "who knows D'banj?". Oh you're so dumb, cant you even answer your own question? For him to have been noticed by international bloggers, its obvious he's known - if not for his music, but for what he wore to the event. They didnt even notice Tuface,nor did they pass a comment about him (good or bad). And for your information, his money wasnt compared to those touts you mentioned, they were just advised to dress more decently to functions. And unlike you, he didnt brag about his wardrobe, he simply wore them and he was noticed and admired for it (mind you,his clothes are mostly Nigerian-tailored) so that is rep-ing the Naija Brand. So please take your self-esteem issues and go flush your broke-ass self oh ye Anonymous-nobody.

ChiChiLuv said...

Bee - first, it was not an attack. I was being jovial and teasing her about getting it wrong so please refrain from planting dissension where there is none and where none was meant.

Secondly, I missed the "N" sign and for that I apologize to Linda and I shall now go the optometrist for my own pair a fancy, see-me-well glasses.

Thanks, Bee and have a nice day:)

@illuminati wannabe can u please tell me the first rule about illuminatist theory.

What's with you and this dbanj thing sef, File jo.

Guru said...

http://www.christianlouboutin.com/

LINDA lINDA lINDA!! You fall my hand for the first time

I search the whole of the website and nothing like Menswear or shoe. You can only get all these fucking crazy shoes on a chinese clone sites.

I kinda need some facts here LINDA before i yab people.

O ti re yin gan nio! Tomorrow una go say Dbanj wear Victoria Secret

I'm a huge fan of CL, and i've not heard of him branching out into men's footwear.

Check The WEB LINDO Omo Mi!!!

The shoes are horrible! Louboutin should stick to making women's shoes!

Fanstuff said...

Guru, how dare you put a fake link that has all sorts of malware in it? FYI, Louboutin makes males shoes. If he didn't, you do know he can make one offs for men...

Ah, that green jacket. As LI says "(Chica) loves it"

Er.....r those horrid green n white tassels on d shoes a sort of tribute to d 9ja flag??? Just wondering! Lwkmd!

the shoes are very omataish trader shoes...container don land shoes..

HAHAHAHAHAHAHAAH!!! Abeg this link will shut all d mouths for good.

http://www.louboutinmensale.com/discounts-christian-louboutin-mikaraia-flat-black-p-2008.html

yup china has the same for $50..

Bee said...

Anonymous 10:53pm the site you posted sells fake LBs

Bee said...

And to the idiot comparing Dbanj to bow wow, craze dey worry you.

Do you understand that yankee is a credit society. As long as i have good credit me self i fit go buy $2 million bling and be making payments.

Dbanj had hard cash. Raw cash in his pocket. So STFU and stop hating on the guy cos you were a loser in naija and now you manage to have small job in yankee to be paying ur bills monthly.OLODO

I sent mail to CL and they said they dont have male shoe called Raja Mika

Dbanj wear china stuff and fake.....

hm the shoes are 200 dollars oo so i dnt knw were yuh heard your gist from

seriously, people amaze me with the rubbish they say,personally nd swear down i love Dbanj's outfit, for an international blogger 2 pick him as best dressed , he deserves it, for the person who said his louboutin shoes are crap fuck u in 25yrs 4rm now u cant be on the same bloody assed level with him not to talk of wearing the same shoes with him, nigerians can neva appreciate good things, the innocent man is spending his money wella haters u can like 2 sleep....NB his shoes are 400bloody thousand must of u dnt make dat, nd yes he can be compared to any other musician i respect his out fit any day, anytime.

hLvc michael kors handbags
pEig ghd moins cher
oQdt north face outlet store
6kIsv ugg boots uk
5eFxt michael kors outlet

Hello. And Bye.