Funmi Iyanda turns down being a presenter on CNN | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 28 June 2011

Funmi Iyanda turns down being a presenter on CNN

She explains why “Surely, that would have taken my career backward. Why would I want to be a presenter on CNN when I make shows that CNN would happily commission and buy? I have been offered several shows to produce and host for a number of international platforms. Two are in development, both are continental and audacious. If CNN offered me my own Piers Morgan type of gig, then yes! You know what would be great? If I am able to do the same for a coalition of NTA, AIT and Channels. Right now the policies and economies that are against it are daunting but time will tell.”

24 comments:

She is such a beautiful and intelligent woman. She will do well in what she sets her mind too. She should wait fro what she feels is right in her mind.

blessing said...

thats good for her its not all about money but about ur mindset,ur instinct,so many pple shuld av jump at it wthout considern so many things.Funmi weldone

So why do we have to know this? I dont gerrit

Kay said...

I am glad she knows what she wants and how to get better bargains in life. Kudos to her.

Bee said...

Good for her. Everything oyinbo no be step up gbam!!!!!

Good for her kudos but its honestly not that big a deal.people get offered such opportunities all the time and they wither accept or refused it. it is certainly not as a worldwide cnn correspondent but Something on the sub saharan african scene
as for comparinf herself to piers morgan,maybe in another world.she needs to go through piers morgan's resume,achievements and how muxh networking he had to do ro get the job.
She might be known in nigeria but not much is known about her in other parts of africa and certainly not known at all in the western world and the accent will let her down big time let her ask cheryl cole

anon 8:41PM what i dont get is why you came here to read it.

Hmm na wa oo. Well I guess she has her reasons. But I'm happy for her all the same.

u go girl. Keep up the good work

Smh said...

@ Annon 10:33pm, see hating softly softly. After Kudos to her, you jealously came out straight up. Everything you said was hateful and spiteful, and No this is not an opinion, it is HATE. Show me your own resume then you can open your horrible, spiteful mouth. You need deliverance. How do you know she speaks with an accent?? Very Stereotypical, probably tribalistic as well. SMH

Femiluv said...

I agree with Anon 10:33! Kudos to her! Lots of opportunities await her.

tayo said...

She made the right decision...

galore said...

@Anon 8:41pm,,Anon 10:33pm,,,,u guys should just me reasonable,,my Mum wud say think,reason,,befor u speak,,reason that is it agreeable to d hear b4 sayin it,so u wud nt offend odas or luk like a fool urself(UNDILUTED).....@Funmi GOD be wt u jaree,,and gv u wisdom like that of Solomon...Amen.

I think she is arrogant. Funmi, pls be humble and allow God to take you higher. I do not see anything wrong you being a Presenter for CNN. Maybe it is an opportunity God has opened for you for more achievements and you declined it. Sometimes, His blessings come in disguise.

Ch5335ng said...

She's definitely not selling herself short....
Asides from that, CNN is not all what we think it is.

Hmmm! said...

God bless you Sistah...here's a woman that knows her worth!!

Chineze said...

What is with this accent thing? I don't get it. If she is good at what she does, then her accent cannot be an obstacle to her getting the position.. gig. I am amazed when people use their accent as an excuse for why people cannot become newscasters, broadcasters, presenters, and what have you. As for Cheryl Cole, maybe she wasn't confident enough in the USA, some people find the American culture, behaviour and attitude daunting.

Wale Abbey Bab's said...

I am impressed with your decision funmi, If na gbegbe presenter, they would have accepted the offer because of the name and not even the salary...LOL, I love your style. Keep it up#Gbam

Kemiismyrealname said...

Have you heard Funmi Iyanda's diction?????? Well, we are waiting to see. The lady is highly intelligent and quite cerebral, but her spoken English? Now that's another matter.

good for you Fumin..
More women should be like that..
not hungry for small money..
Leave it Aisha Sesay

Africaman said...

Funmi is a really intelligent girl. I don't think being a CNN reporter is a big deal. Why would they want her...to tap from a talent that she developed all by herself? Is she going to be reeling off other peoples reports? I know her enough to say she would certainly turn that down! She was a reporter long-long ago!! Next level talk, please!

If that was her answer it smackof a bit of arrogance and pride. She didnt rule out working for CNN its just that the role she was offered was too small for her, she has her sights at Piers Morgan's type of job. Well it depends on her career path but CNN would have given her a more global audience and taken her to different parts of Africa which would have enriched her and given her vast experience in her field. Never say never! for me its a good learning experience she passed up! I know I will be cruccified for dis but hey thats my insight pure and honest!!

searobber said...

Cos she is not that fluent,She is still good anywayz.

searobber said...

She is not that fluent, buh anywayz she was one of my favorite presenters when she was still airing New dawn on NTA.