First Suicide bombing, then drive-by shootings, now planking has come to Naija? | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 30 June 2011

First Suicide bombing, then drive-by shootings, now planking has come to Naija?

I'm sure some of you know what Planking is...or at least have heard of it. For those who haven't, Planking is a lying down game, where one lies face down in an unusual or weird location. The person's hands must touch the sides of the body, and having a photograph of the participant taken and posted on the internet is an integral part of the game. Players compete to find the most unusual and original location in which to play. And it's become quite popular in many parts of the world. And as Naija no dey carry last, the game has found its way here.
These two posted their pics on twitter today. lol.

Will you bring the story of the drive-by shooting that happened in Lagos, tomorrow. More pics of planking, Naija style, when you continue...

40 comments:

Kenyanized said...

if you ain't planking, your still in June! Happy new month ikejians!

Happy new month Lin,,,, ?May God bless all IJN.

LOL, na waa

Linda, drive by shootings have been in Nigeria since the 90s, at the very latest.

Just go read the story of how Abacha's hit squad operated, and the murders the commited...

As for planking, fools come in all nationalities...

I saw a pic of a friend lying face down on 3rd mainland bridge.......planking.

Linda ARE YOU DAFT?????????????? what to "Drive-bys" and "suicide bombing" have to do with planking?? is anyone dying from planking?? Sometimes you just need to SHUT UP

Planking is so 3 months ago......

Linda, it's either you're plain dumb or insensitive, how does a game coming to Nigeria compare to a suicide bombing or a drive-by shooting? This is ridiculous

O.o

Planking in Nigeria.

Suicide bombing in Nigeria.

Drive-by shooting in Nigeria.

Drive-thru in Nigeria.

Wall-Mart coming to Nigeria.

2011 is near.

The end of the world is near. Smh.

lmaoooooo

they've got time

deeflamez said...

Yes oh,na game oh. Na hin wan idot dey talk say "its devilish" - saying the word 'planking' was derived from a Latin word signifying Devil-worship in a parallel position. Chei!!! Naija & over-spiritualism ehn. So does that mean since Olympics originated from Greek festivals dedicated to their gods, we should stay away from sports. What an idiot. Smh @ some fanatics sha

Tosin Smith said...

Rubbish...Copy and paste generation. SMH

hilary said...

linda please i have a story to share about me and my girlfriend.send me where i can send the story for you to read.I need answers from people talk2hilone1yahoo.com.Please do reply me.

Thanks

Ha planking fun to see pictures, stupid to do myself lolz

kenyanized....I will stay with my June abeg.

very stupid fad

Lwkmd...

Mayjydda said...

I am highly disgusted with this planking shit, if my thinking is old age, i accept wholeheartedly! Haba!

hiss

you guys are slow in Naija sha!!
People has since died of planking overseas and now you choose to adopt belefull person's hobby...
psweeeech

Linda Ikeji said...

@hilary, send to lindaikeji@gmail.com. thanks

@ Anon 12:06- actually some people die from planking (I think an Australian guy died about two months ago because he was looking for a very daring planking position and fell to his death from a height). So no, Linda is not daft please. Mind your language.

lol @ folks copying stuff irrespective of how dumb or dangerous it can potentially be.

Linda Ikeji said...

@anon 12;20 common i wasn't comparing, i just meant that these are things foreign to us...but they are gradually creeping into our society.

@anon 12.06...there have been at least 2 recorded deaths and several injuries as a result of planking...so in a way, it could be dangerous.

@anon 11.05..happy new month dear. God bless u plenty.muah!

oscar said...

Must women do every thing a Man does. What a rubbish and stupid sport.Cant a Woman see that there
is nothing feminine about this
sport and leave the retarded Men who chose to do it to continue.

One day we will all wake up to see that Nigerians have started NUDE cycling. then Pastors, Bank Managers etc will all come out with their bicycle to run from Leki to Ikeja, Since we have chosen to copy any thing oyibo do.

angel said...

hello linda and every one on d blog, happy new month to u all.

May dis month and d rest bring happiness into ur lives Amen

forget planking, dnt copy be yourselves. some games can lead u to untimely death.

be carefull

this is stupid

Lisa said...

I agree with Tosin, too many nigerians like this copy and paste idea. I wish they would copy the good things in the world as opposed to always the worst things....seriously!!!

Shegreeny said...

Planking kwa, oh Naija na woa oh, the western effect, cant we just do some thing that we would really benefit from like spreading a new craze called praying on your knees in different places(we could call it prayingknees).

Na wah oh.

crys said...

seriously dis freedom of speech tin is making som pple av diarrhoea of d mouth o.of cos dis is linda's blog and she can write wateva she lyks.bt i dnt c anytin wrong sef in comparing suicide bombings,drive by shootings to planking after all dey wer nt in 9ja dey all "came in2" 9ja.and dt planking luks horrible abeg wat kinda joy do these pple derieve 4rm planking?has any body been given notable recognition and awarded or commended 2 keep it up???y must pple copy everytin???abeg d next jobless fellow,so useless enuf 2 trying planking should try it on a gud transformer and snd us d pix tru dis blog,lts know if u wil live 2 send us d pix,rubbish!!!!!

wienna said...

To those who said people haven't died of planking, I suggest you watch the news more. The first i heard of this craze was about two months ago on the news about a young man in Australia who did it on a balcony railing in a tall building and fell to his death. I'm sure there are many deaths and injuries associated with this that we've not heard of. So, whether you think na harmless fun or not o. To be forewarned, is to be forearmed.

Hahahaa, Linda you trust us now. If we do not copy something it is not complete. There is no sense in this entire thing. How does someone laying in probably unhygienic or a really dangerous position help them? I don't care if someone says it is fun and games. We should try and copy other better things o but mba we must do the one with no head or tail.

Lol @ the person that said it is demonic. You know it will be a Naija person that will put a religious spin on it. I bet you God looks at Nigerians, shakes His head and wonders why we are using our ignorance to taint His agenda. Biko, the latin meaning of planking is (drumroll...)...planking aka tabulatio or tabulatum means a covering (mostly with wood).

Legaldiaries said...

Hiss. Nigerians and copy copy. Let them go and plank on top of transformer, then i'll knw they are serious.

hot N cold said...

This is such a horrific "game". I know it's just a "game" but I feel awkward about it. Just can't digest it...

mac pepple joe said...

hahahaha! planking iz some crazed idiots product from a boring day now nigerians r going crazy ovr it. a friend o mine iz in d hospital, fractured his arm trying to "plank" on d balcony rail after it rained. linda im an oap radio in south south i come to ur site to get updates. ur doing a great work dnt let retards like d@ dude asking if ur daft slow ur roll. holla!

Tatababe said...

Linda, I understand that you're trying to give everyone a forum to air their views but please some of these comments are outright disrespectful!
If you have nothing nice or reasonable to say then just keep it moving, na by force to comment?
Sha been seeing pics of the whole planking craze..na toh siddon look dey laugh..

i opened a friends blog and i saw a word "Amber Rose" associating her wit nudity...firstly i dnt know anytin her, confuse as i am...i had to google her...now "planking" im defo nt in dis era...how strange? 0_0

Chets said...

Omg. i am so old school. just hearing of planking. na wah o!My nigerian brothers and sisters, never cease to amaze me.
@Anon 12:06 pm, July 1: Pls be nice to Linda.Be polite and courteous. come on, she's doing a nice work. Linda, keep it up. Who run the world .....girls.... Girl You Rock!!

people have died? 1 person died 4rm recklessness and suddenly pple haf died, smh 4 u naija peeps o,