D'Banj voted BET Awards best dressed on a foreign website | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 28 June 2011

D'Banj voted BET Awards best dressed on a foreign website

The writer at Jezebel.com wrote: "I'm not familiar with Nigerian singer/songwriter D'banj's work, but he's my pick for best dressed. Such attention to detail! His pants look like they were crafted out of some Italian nonna's tablecloth. And those aren't ruffles on his shirt—they're tasseled beads."

Check it out here...

49 comments:

he killed it #swag

Um...I dunno, Linda but that comparing D Banj's clothes to an Italian grandma's tablecloth sounds like the writer is making fun of D Banj. And Jezebel is famous for making fun of people. I just don't know weda you should celebrate this yet.

Linda, it seems you misunderstand the gist of the article. She is clowning him, as she is every other person in the article.

Nothing such as best dressed here; more like tacky beyond belief...

Adebola said...

I was surprised Linda when most of your readers decided they preferred Tu-face out fit to Dbanj's. I thought Dbanj was really creative and represented Naija well with the velvet green blazer, and he worked well on the red carpet. I like Tu-face, but I always abused Akon when ever I see him on the red carpet dressed all white, which was what Tu-face wore, and the red buttons made it all even more ridiculous and his Jacket or whatever was too big for him, he made no effort at all. A well fitted suit would have been nice on him. Dbanj and Tu-face did us proud @ the BET and we should be proud of them all the same.

j said...

gosh those shoes are #$%%^65
I cant believe dbanj will rock something like that
this is what money does to people lol

deeflamez said...

Now thats what i call classy...not the other dude dressed like he crashed a party. You can pay for school but you cant buy CLASS. D'banj made a good statement and truly represented his country in BET, now that's what i refer to as an AMBASSADOR.

deeflamez said...

Now thats what i call classy...not the other dude dressed like he crashed a party. You can pay for school but you cant buy CLASS. D'banj made a good statement and truly represented his country in BET, now that's what i refer to as an AMBASSADOR.

Not sure what's funnier, the complete yabbing of d'banj's tacky outfit, or Linda completely missing the irony of it and taking it as a serious commendation...

SMH

LOL, Linda, na wa oooo. you don fail this one. anyway, who cares? more illuminati gist to come from d'banj and mo'hits, stay tuned.

@ Anon 10.04am, exactly my thoughts too!

Guys, I don't think we can really accuse Linda of being the smartest pea in the pod!

Lin, I think your a confident and objective person. Only an confident person who doesn't base their self-worth on other peoples opinions will continuously post peoples comments without censoring, even when they are yabbing or dissing her.

I bet you have very few insecurities if any.

Nice one!

Tu Baba!!! and D'Banj were on point in my books, except for D'Banj's shirt. Jezebel or whatever her name is can go and swallow an Apes 'dodo' at the zoo if she's dissin D'Banj.

Linda, maybe you should read the Jezebel's comments again cos it seems like you all are missing the point, SHE WAS BEING VERRRYY SARCASTIC ans was actually clowning D'banj. I jst think the outfit was stupid, i mean, all that was too much..

Linda my dear, you need some exposure. Honestly you do! Luv ya still :)

Ch5335ng said...

From the name Jezebel, it's kind of obvious she spouts bile!

Grandma's tablecloth? Yes it's brocade and it's used for curtains too.

I still like the outfit. The green blazer killed it.

Lisa said...

I think you missed the point Linda............that was sarcarsm at its best. Jezebel is well known for that.

Linda Ikeji said...

Hahaha...i didn’t realise they were clowning him. I guess i saw what i wanted to see. The joke’s on me i guess...y’all know i’m not the smartest person...so...:-)

Linda, don't put yourself down... you're as smart as you need to be...

hot N cold said...

*Sigh*
So a person from somewhere "clowns" Dbanj and all of a sudden we all agree with that person. In other words the person is saying Dbanj was the 'worst' dressed? Why do we care about a 'foreigner's'opinion? It is their opinion. WHAT IS YOUR OPINION?! It's just one person clowning herself and not Dbanj.
Dbanj dressed really nicely and with class. Why has our opinion changed all of a sudden because of some clown somewhere?

Is that Dbanj wearing shoes with the ridiculous abebe (tassles) on them? Na true say money no dey buy class oh. LMAO.

Femiluv said...

Sarcasm or not, his outfit wasn't bad...better than wearing regular black suits/jackets all the time.

Suuisaidl said...

Don't worry Linda! Easy mistake! :) I still think he accomplished something. He's got everyone talking about what he wore. HIs name is in people's mouths.

camouflage said...

haha you people see? all of you that like condemning our artists.That is why our country is where it is today!appreciate guys hate doesnt pay.

Bee said...

It is summer and that was LA. Velvet is a complete absolutely not in the summer.

White is the ultimate summer color. HELLOOOOOOOO pples.

She was clearly clowning dbanj.lol

Kemi said...

Lol!! Linda i think you're great! There's nothing as refreshing as a confident lady who doesn't take herself too seriously. *internet hi five*

Femi said...

One man's meat ia another man's poison, I think he looked good and even if the website was being sarcastic, we know a well dressed man when we see one.

Wazobia baby said...

But, the dude looks good in his ensemble outfit, so who cares if she's dissing him or not? And besides, who died and made her fashion goddess?
Abeg, Linda, carry go jare. Norrin do you joor!

Iyaeto said...

Creative yes but why does the king of zamunda,Hakeem & Semi(coming to America) come to mind

Oladapo! But why? Its obvious you have been hanging around igbo people alot. LWKMD

awwww, i love you Linda. :)

I Hope other Nigerian Artists r taking note... BANKY TAKE NOTE!

deeflamez said...

I can see those of you who claim to 'get the joke' dint quite get it at all. Jezebel is usually very blunt with her comments. She was actually admiring the creativity of the design of the outfit and how it was all put together. The fabric used for the trousers is actually being used in Europe for similar designs and the shirt was exactly a replica of one of the few created by a famous Italian designer. It was simply an adored creativity and the statement was as clear as she stated, she meant him as his 'best pick' because he didnt wear what she would normally see in the American boutiques...now check other comments and you'll get it. and dont get deceived by the first person's comment of 'table-cloth comparism' afterall the same is being used for expensive wedding gowns and waist coats because of its unique design and rarity. So please calm down y'all, the dude rocks.

We all know Jezebel is as sarcastic as it gets but all u pop culture itks would have realized if u actually read the article that she wasn't exactly taking a shot at d'banj. If Jezebel were to compliment, she would still do it sarcastically. Jezebel is not exactly The Onion. She yabbed amber rose first and then praised her for looking good. She DIDN'T abuse everyone she made mention of e.g. Kelly Rowland
She actually really meant her praise if d'banj's attention to detail.

@ linda Don't beat yourself up, I guess lotta other people didn't notice. They just went on and on about 'oh what cute dress sense d'banj's got'. Buh really, with pants made of tablecloth, d'banj goofed! It doesn't even matter who the tablecloth belongs to. Jezebel is cruel(lwkmd). And I wonder why she didn't tear Tuface to shreds. Oh! He didn't wear tablecloth.
notice. They just went on and on about 'oh what cute dress sense d'banj's got'. Buh really, with pants made of tablecloth, d'banj goofed! It doesn't even matter who the tablecloth belongs to. Jezebel is cruel(lwkmd). And I wonder why she didn't tear Tuface to shreds. Oh! He didn't wear tablecloth.

First D,Banj was taking risks and in my opinion wasnt getting away with them,then he began wearing the fitted DB and single button blazers ,elegance meet quirkiness kinda thing which I thut was AMAZING and gave him kudos for that.However since he got into the american thing he has lost the plot again.too much dosh cud be problematic sometimes especially when its unexpected.
I see snoop`s influnce somehow in his fashion these days thu so I blame snoop for it.

And Jezebel would write the exact same thing if she attended a Nigerian party. And u culture itks might again want to read the comments - the part about d'banj and Nigerian dressing in general.

doll (retired blogger) said...

i said it before and imma say it again. Dbanj killed it totally. swag on point

That's why I love you Linda, you're a good sport!

Linda there is a malware distributor on your blog thenetng.com fix it before it scares people away.

Why Dbanj dey do like this na, He just keep downgrading himself with his stupid attires and yet he still consider himself best dressed...HE SUCKS..Arghhhhh

Linda FOCUS! I know we all love Dbanj but FOCUS!!!

you people r not serious..you're laughing at d'banj bcos he wore brocade...pls tell me if your people at home do not wear brocade..if u say she's bn sarcastic then i guess she will hav a lot to say if she comes to naija.just bcos one poorly enlightened fellow or lass or whtever makes a statement everyone is saying d'banj lost it.go piss in the river jor..on a good day he's dressed on point.i love!

deeflamez said...

Are you minding the irks? They know nothing about fashion,trend and creativity. This was an award event, and his creativity treated it well. That same brocade is used for the best designs in the international fashion inddustry ranging from gowns to pants and coats. So if you know nothing about compliments from sarcasm,then i suggest you take a walk. Linda am amazed at how many educated-illiterates visit this blog and they seem to be contaminating your opinion. Next time Linda stick to what you think is the truth and don't be tempted to follow the 'myopic-crowd'

what i hate most is when people claim to know what they really DO NOT know. as i have said before, everything jezebel delivers she delivers with sarcasm
and who gave jezebel the rights to know what it fashion anyways.
if she were to go to italy, she would have a hissy fit

"If no one talks about u, then you are nobooody...". Sorry Tuface!

D'Banj was dressed like a true entertainer. Most of the U.S. rappers and such would look like "clowns" at any function here in Naija with their grubby swag.

Errrr NO NO NO!!!!!

Adiya

Nice one from d banj