Mom allows 7 year old to have plastic surgery... | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 4 May 2011

Mom allows 7 year old to have plastic surgery...

Is the mother of this child justified? Please share your thoughts

17 comments:

well..as long as they are happy..then im happy for them...I just hope she doesnt get bullied for something other than the ears cos it'll ve been a waste of time...

We live in a CRUEL world. Words of encouragemnet is not enough anymore. BULLYING is real and it's not a good experience. So, if she's able to fix her ears, knowing these kids will make so fun of her. Why not?

I'm all in.

I think its justified, for any one to go through a plastic surgery, there must be a health problem, the mother want the good of her child now that he is young before it gets out of hand.

THe truth is people are forgetting that a good self esteem comes from within and not what you look like. I bet she would start botox in 3 years time then facelift before she is 15. Children bully each other and call each other names. I was called skele bones as a teen. today I am bigger than those who teased me, to thier amazement! Thats not enough reason to do surgery... She still looks funny with the ears pinned back. There is an american doctor who is just 3 and half feet tall, but chose not to allow it stop her, with the help of her mother, she is a specialist today. The mother is living out her insecurities as a child through her own child. simple!!!

NA WA OOOOO! and the doctor that did it? this world is getting sadder and sadder by the day. everything is so superficial. i remember in our parent's days when looks weren't such a big deal! now everyone is so obsessed with it. i feel sorry for the girl, really.

btw, i think everyone should stop trying to be perfect! all she needed to do was grow out her hair. because of ears? na wa for this world ooooo.

Myne said...

I don't think it is justified, but hey, it's not about me or my child. Good luck to them. But they should know that once you start plastic surgery, you hardly stop.

i think it's justified. ok, if your child was born with a cleft palate, wouldn't getting it fixed be justifiable? those of you saying it isn't don't know how it feels, until you're caught in a similar situation. As long as it's not a "cosmetic" surgery, so to speak, then i think it's perfectly ok!

I am all for it. It is a very cruel world out there and the right ear IS disfigured.

This is beyond cosmesis. Would you whine about Hare lip/cleft palate/squint/burns surgery

Her mother was in the same position and is the best judge of the situation.

no problem- anyone can have surgery at any age!

SiSi London said...

perfectly understandable. it's not a boob job or something really major or controversial. it's like kids wearing braces to correct their teeth.

The mother is more insecure than the child. She will be bullied for something else eventually. Where does the "fixing" stop?

Femiluv said...

Mom seems so terribly insecure. Self esteem comes from within. You don't have to look "perfect" to be confident. I as well was teased as a child, and I would tell my parents about it and they would say "don't listen to them, you are beautiful". They said that sooo many times, I ended up believing it and the teasing didn't hurt anymore.

one ear was disfigured..its the same thing as fixing cleft palette.Just because it is not directly on her face doesn't mean it is not something that is enough to bother her...

i am a school administrator here in the US and the bullying situation is relentless...students start being mean at 3 yrs old...they are evil and use such hateful words it is literally unimaginable, and frankly i dont blame the parents for the surgery..the world is getting more vicious and brutal, times have changed, even if u have all the self esteem in this world, sometimes it isnt enough...and you still need help...

Oh please, don't you dare bring bullying into this. let this 7 years old make the decision she she grow up. we all have one or two abnormality.

Jenny said...

I think its fine like the doctor said it can affect her popularity