Troops to go on the Streets Before Elections Commence | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 30 March 2011

Troops to go on the Streets Before Elections Commence

The National Council of State yesterday approved the deployment of troops across the country 48 hours before elections to avert violence, Hafiz Ringim, the Inspector General of the Police has said. Mr. Ringim said at a briefing at the Presidential Villa after a meeting of security heads that the deployment of the military, regular and mobile police officers and other security agents is expected to deflect any political, religious and ethnic inspired violence during the polls, which is expected to begin on Saturday. - 234next

5 comments:

Surprise said...

I hope this is being done with a good intent and not with the intention of harassing and intimidating the opponents of PDP and the electorates.

Chi Chi said...

Initial Gra-gra (IGG). Abeg free us we know how police they do am now!!They can only go out and do their masters bid-GO YE AND INTIMIDATE THE OPPONENTS(RINGIM-MING)

Chilling said...

We should pray against spray bullets too. IMO, they need to be around for the whole of April! This brings me back to Jos. Why didn’t they do this for Jos prior to now? It’s just now that the city will see the presence of troops. Sad!!

brown said...

@suprise true talk
I hope there are more police man abi na troops available in katsina,jos and those parts that are highly volatile up north

I hope the police troops will vote too and not just go around intimidating people.
Me