"South Africa is the Giant of Africa" That's according to Nigerian couple, Bimbo and Seun Somolu | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 9 March 2011

"South Africa is the Giant of Africa" That's according to Nigerian couple, Bimbo and Seun Somolu

Bimbo and Seun Somolu
Have you seen that TVC where South African's got Nigerians to say - South Africa is Actually The Giant of Africa?. 
A lot of Nigerians who have seen the ad are outraged. They feel the couple sold out.

For those who haven't seen it, let me explain.
There's a TV commercial currently running on DSTV promoting South African Tourism. In the TVC, (which is used by South Africa to encourage Nigerians to choose the country as their holiday destination), a Nigerian couple who introduced themselves as Bimbo and Seun Somolu, based in Lagos, are shown having the 'time of their lives' and saying great things about South Africa. Their statement included "South Africa can rival any western nation". The wife concluded by saying "South Africa is truly the Giant of Africa" And she actually laughs after saying this.

To some Nigerians who have seen the commercial, what the couple said was unpatriotic. To others, it is just a professionally done TV commercial. While some think that there is some element of truth in the claim.

What do you think?
Meanwhile meet Bimbo and Seun in two videos after the cut...and watch Bimbo say in video 2 (30secs) that  'This place (SA) is the Giant of Africa'
I thought Nigeria was the Giant of Africa? If I catch these people eh...lol.

94 comments:

patriotic or not, nigeria still has a long way to go period! Now the couple are obviously enjoying themselves and probably was paid handsomely to say this or stayed there for free who knows, but naija should mend naija so that other people can say the same abt us! However, we know that Nigeria is n will remain the giant of Africa period!

steezz.com said...

the first time i saw dis advert i knew it'll eventually get down to dem being condemned by many Nigerians 4 thier comments. i've always said it, the worst form of lie is the one u told ur self. we'er simply lieing 2 our selves when we say we'er giant of Africa. Nigeria is not the giant of Africa period. We'er only giant in bad leadership.

Uncle Tom( sell out) thats all i can say. Nigeria might not be the "Giant of Africa" but to have Nigerians shining their teeth saying SA is the giant of Africa is the height. air your laundry much. Back in the day,negroes would tie this couple and beat them to death. Anyways, i feel SA have always been threatened by Nigerians. so what better way to prove themselves than to pay some nigerians to say sa( notice the small letters) is the giant of Africa.

Kunle said...

They were only saying the truth. If you dont believe them, go to South Africa. Its light years ahead of us. BTW, although the couple of Nigerian descent, I believe they live outside of Nigeria.

There are a lovely couple. I saw them on CNN adverts for South Africa. SA is not the giant. That was PR for the advertisement.

I don't think they wrote the script. If they pay you to say that on CNN for a fat amount, wouldn't you?

Nevertheless, SA is better than Nigeria but not in terms of robberies and assassinations.

chinwe said...

either way it's a pointless statement. That's like saying "i am drunker than the other person". the whole of africa still has a long way to go.
only in africa do we have such rubbish arguments. Nobody in europe says "my country is better than yours" cos they are busy doing something to move forward.

Adebola said...

I think the comment sound unpatriotic, but then South Africa in terms of Infrastructure is way ahead of Nigeria, but some can say that the whit South African built and developed the country to their taste. But hey I know but since Nigeria has more Human resource(Largest black population) and the resources (oil, cocoa, agriculture, etc.) I see no reason why we should not be ahead of south Africa now, but hey our corrupt leaders are killing our country and in turn the people have learnt not to trust our leaders and therefore you dont expect this people to be patriotic. They were paid good by South Africans, so why should they be patriotic to Nigeria that would give them nothing. But again if this people could go and promote South Africa why not their own country (Am confusing myself). We are the change we are want. If our leaders dont change then we can change. Let us send messages, a protest, and say to our leaders enough is enough and fight for our land. Nigeria could be the Giant of Africa but right now am afraid we the current situation in our country, no light, no water, no jobs for graduate, no good infrastructure, only a small portion of the country enjoys the wealth. we need to stand up and ask #whataboutus# Search on facebook and twitter and join the movement. We can restore our country's lost glory. To me in my mind Nigeria remain's gaint of Africa, but in reality ??????

Akin' Odunsi said...

We need to be in other part of Africann contries to know our great Nigeria is. There is no doubt about that fact, Nigeria is and remain the giant of Africa, even the rest of the world knows it, its not the way people are living alone that counts but how influential you are. When Nigeria speak in Africa, South Africa will not dare talk, thats what makes u a giant! When i saw the commercial, i was amazed but then those somolu couple have been bought so i dont blame them, but deep inside them, they know who the real giant is. South Africa bawo ....

SURE! they can rival any western nation when it comes to HIV/AIDS. lol.
seriously though, when you leave the cities, the rest looks no different from any other African country. the white people live in all the middle class/rich areas and the blacks still squabble in ghettos, shantytowns, and villages. these people were PAID! end of story. they were paid big bucks to lie to the world. they want Nigerians to come and spend money when they have been treating Nigerians like trash in their own country? not a week will go by that i don't hear or read a story on their xenophobic attacks on Nigerians. they don't appreciate Nigerians in their country, yet they want us to go there and spend our money? hissss! i would rather go to Tinapa than to spend a holiday in a place where my kind is not wanted. foolish idiots, who do they think they're fooling? this is why i believe in the TOTAL boycott of MTN and other South African companies in Nigeria. this is an outrage!
other than the cities (which you can mainly give credit to the white south africans for--and im just speaking the truth) the rest is a broke down hot mess.
PLEASE! make we hear word!
if Nigerian just got its head together.

and did he say South Africa is not a third world country? THIS GUY WAS DEF PAID TO LIE! what do Nigerians have to learn from those people? or does he mean the white South Africans? let them go and carry go!

Adebola said...

@ Alicia you said all I wanted to say more articulately. I typed the way I was thinking it. But like you said if our government could get their act together. I believe we can be better than South Africa, we have all the resources. The white south African built the city to their taste, but look at the country now with black leaders. Nigeria to me remains the giant of Africa!!!

gloria smith said...

welll let me nt say dt all nigerians r greeedy but sme r ,even if i was paid to do dis i cnt say dt giant of africa thing definitely dse pple didnt tell dem to say dt they only asked dem to help promote but sme nigerianz nd dier oversabi nature decided to enlarge it...tho am in de uk i can neva tell a white man ur country is bettr dan mine ..am i mad dts unpatrotic ...nigerianz here r busy making noise abt nija dse at homes r falling our hands....too bad..

Nigerians are not competing with South African but South Africans will stop at nothing to be relevant all the time,in actual fact South Africans are extremely threatened by Nigerians,i say this because i have lived in South Africa for the last 8yrs and i know first hand what that advert means.It is not to promote tourism in South Africa but to have some stupid Nigerians make an admission because Nigeria has been known as the Giant of Africa for years,Great nations like Uk,USA,Germany e.t.c still call Nigeria the Giant of Africa,1. Because of the population,2. Because of the economic potential and the impact we have in Africa as a continent and people should not mistake infrastructure,landscape e.t.c as criteria for what makes a Nation great,sorry Nigeria will always be the Giant Of Africa,never mistake it at all...

Wild Boy said...

Nigeria.....what can i say?
Did it sound and look awkward that kinda thing coming from Nigerians?
Yes..
Is it the truth?
I think so
Why?
Cos i live in Nigeria and have been to SA...meeehn, if only for the perfect power supply!
Conclusion:
I'd definitely never trash the image of my country like that even though i know a spade is a spade, i think instead of representing my country and praising another, I'd rather STFU. Further goes out there to say 'Naija peeps aint loyal peeps'

Another reason for you all to vote people who are capable of leading the country in the right direction.

You guys should stop complaining, Nigeria as compared to South Africa still remains one of the backwaters of Africa. If y'all here use the energy y'all are using to vilify this couple to chase the Nigeria corrupt govt out then we will try to minutely reach the development South Africa is right now. The truth be told Nigeria is a total mess, from Lagos to Calabar; Bauchi to Onitsha it is the same squalid dump you see everywhere. Rise up to the revolution taking place in to change the country and stop whining about the couple or the South Africans wanting to promote their country in a positive light.

Laaraa said...

I think the couple were just carried away in the moment but all the same I don't think that was a very nice thing to say...

Check out my blog at laralawal.blogspot.com

Nigerians need to stop getting mad over petty stuff and go fix up that messed up country.

Naija Ke! said...

Thank You very much Anon 9.41pm..Who caress... when Nigerians those who can make a difference in that country really do not care.

There are many African countries that are way better that Nigeria.. We are only Giant of African by population and movies.. Pls you all should excuse be an allow those people breath...

Let the Nigerian Tourism industry also come up with sth great.,. then we can talk!

hater said...

concur with chinwe.

we have lost that position due to our leaders greed!

we are a sleeping giant!

lets stop deceiving ourselves!

Some Nigerians are rushing to South Africa while Some are rushing out due to state of their Economy. They can compete with any Western world in terms of infastructure but their Economy is nothing to write home about, i knew this cos i spent almost 2yrs in Gauteng,Pretoria. That is why most South African Companies are looking for their way to invest in Nigeria bcos the profit that MTN made within a year they came to Nigeria was even more than 10yrs they had spent in SA, that is why u see SA companies like Shoprites, Game, Butterfield, Stanbic bank, DSTV,Barcelos etc making their way as well.

If they don't use any Nigerians for their tourism advert, which country do we want South Africa to use, they are making clean money from Naija bcos Nigeria is a cash Flowing Economy and SA is vice versa
The major problem in Nigeria is just for Government to put everything in places so that we can attain the level we supposed to be bcos we hv wot it takes to compete with the likes of Western State.

http://money.cnn.com/2007/09/26/news/international/south_africa.fortune/index.htm

Chop Street London said...

Chinwe, you hit the nail on the head...lol

Truth is bitter....i guess nigeria is giant of africa in terms of population but in terms of quality of life for its citizen, we are the ANT of africa. remember if it doesnt hurt, it is not the truth, so the condemnation is understandable, lets fix naija.

kuchi kuchi said...

when i saw the ad,realy did not see any thing bad in what she said but my sister was realy ranting that how could a nigerian say such but realy as Anonymous 9:41 said we still do have a long,long way to go in naija ooo,shikena

Gooooosh! This is officially d most deluded silly and stupid argument on this blog. It is daft arguments like these that makes me cry for this country where we lie and pretend to ourselves and still think we r kings, meanwhile we r OBVIOUSLY very behind . It saddens me that the couple being hardware for saying d BLATANT truth.

Like DUUHH! Nigeria is no longer d giant of AFRICA anybody that stil thinks that is deluded and needs a wake up call and mentality change. All we knw how to do is make noise talk talk talk, yet other African countries like SA stand up and rise up to d challenge to make sure that they bcome d giant if Africa. O soo bcus Nigeria "won d title" ages ago no other country can rival them abi hiss nonsense.
Let's us b here dwelling in trivial issues instead if thinking of how we can regain d title of giant, even small little Ghana has left us behind yet we will sit down there and b arguing that we r d giants it's sooooooooooo sad.

Bottom line Linda u need to go to SA then u will knw that Nigeria can't even come close. And we all knw they r waaaaay ahead of us. So let's stop this stupid pretense, lick our wounds, admit our status and plan to improve so that we can also say with confidence that Naija is d giant of Africa. Until the then pls move on to more sensible arguments.

But the couple shouldnt have hammered on the fact they are from Nigeria, to them SA is the giant of Africa that doesnt make it true, and we should ask both of them why NIgeria is the way it is right now, Bimbo is David Jemibewon's daughter and they robbed this country blind, the money stolen was used in sending her to school abroad, she has a very big private school in GRA lagos where she treats her staff members like slaves, they have to say thank u for their salaries, even when she gives them things she expect them to go on their knees to say thank u, they call her your excellency, infact when she had a birthday party for her child they were d ones that served. This woman is a beast that talks down at people like she is their God and maker, am not surprised really.

Toni Moses said...

I truely want to know; how do you determine a giant? By massive treasury loot, perpetual light faliure, no road, no job, mediocre graduate from a forgotten school system, no housing, excessive poverty saddled on the masses, derailed government, more than 300 pupil sandwiched in a 60m2 dilapidated building with no roof, where workers hardly gets paid their salaries, a country which rank somewhere between 5th to 6th position in the world's crude oil producing nation and still not a single refinery functions, do you want me to continue endlessly pointing out the things that should not be found near a giant?

How do we measure petroctism? In pride telling ourselves lies, can somebody tell me the base for this argument? Can any of these one disagreeing with this couple point out one good truth that portray nigeria as the Giant of Africa? The truth is that none of them has ever left the shore of that supposedly great nation if they hard, today non would have chosen to be myopic instead would have chosen this time to wake up from this killing slumber imposed on us by the vampire Nigeria government.

Let me open your eyes a little bit. How many South Africans have you heard trekking out of their country in a mass exodus through the desert drinking blood solked urine just to stay alive intending to go to Europe am sure practically none and in this exodus hundreds of thousands are burried in the atlantic ocean while thir families wait endlessly for their returns, better still a phone call, there will never be because the y are long dead. Which giant would allow such amount of brain drain to happen to her people? which giant would allow the drain of her beautiful damsels into prostitution in search for green pastures, it may intrest you to know that even in the hell of apathied the south stayed behind and fight they called a spade a spade.

How are we sure some of you singing greatness of the dead giant (Nigeria) are not paid propagandist, wake up my people and ask the right questions and do the right thing lets throw away these short memories of ours that that permits the likes of Babangida (http://dailymatters.host56.com/) coming back to take us for another ride of death, starvation and destructions. Giant or no giant the reality on the streets of Nigeria is that the sufferings and bitter starvations have long turne even university graduates to the dust bins to scratch for food. Am sure thats not what you really refered to as a giant.

Let me leave by saying this that until you realize you have falling you will never feel the need to get up, and when you don't know that you are asleep you will never wake up.

I have been to so many countries of the world yet no were was i ever acepted as one of them worst still when they know you are a Nigerian and thats something we should worry about. Now i know i have no other home other than Nigeria, even with a western Passport.

skankmypeaceofmind said...

Why spend time breaking each other down when we can build each other up. Our brothers in the north of africa are screaming enough is enough and trying to make a change. If we want that change why not learn from them to force that change. Dragging for who is the giant of africa is just pointless.

Shakara said...

Anon March 10, 2011 9:48 AM; she obviously got that attitude from her dad. The guy is an idiotic unpatriotic ex-military man. Seun is just another arse licker who licked his way into the Jemibewon household. They both live in Lagos, Ikeja to be precise.

Nigeria is no more the giant of Africa. It’s just an old name we keep on hanging on to. Forget about the slums in SA because there are slums everywhere. In terms of technological development, they are far ahead. Do you think Nigeria can hold the FIFA world cup? No way. South African cities can host any tournament (even an ATP event and a Formula 1 race) while we can’t! The first African albeit white (Mark Shuttleworth) to go to space was from SA. We need to move on from this old mantra and it all starts with our leaders making things right. I cannot see it happening.

Thank you anonymous 9:48a.m for that little secret about the couple, i now dislike them the more! Treat her staff like slaves ? People should knee down for her? Her staff served during her child's birthday party? Now, i am really working an anger here..URGHHHHHHH..why won't they vomit such rubbish from their mouth, though i know Nigeria had lost that hold several years ago due to bad governance....mschewwwww!

paebi etete said...

that statement is an insult to Nigeria. She knows nothing about NATIONALISM and the role Nigeria play in the development and advancement of Africa DEVELOPMENT...

NaijaScorpio said...

Obama went to Ghana.....hmmmmm. Nigeria has long since lost that title if we ever had it to begin. Let's stop deceiving ourselves. We can still claim must populous african country (filled with oversabi people ;)....no?

Make una use that one take console unaselves.

# My one kobo said...

But it is true now. I lived in South African for 5 years. I have now lived in London for 6 years now, but i still tell my husband i prefered it in South Africa. And yes, i am a Nigerian who lived all her live in Nigeria before living for Southy (as we call it)!

My first thoughts when I saw the advert was hmmm, this is mischievous! Why pick Nigerians out of all the counries in Africa to do this advert? (Nigeria has always called herself the giant of Africa)why not even westerners as they are the true tourists to SA? I personally think a point was being made here.I honestly do not think that a British person or even a chinese would agree to do an advert saying that America is the greatest country in the world.

seriously, what does Obama's going to Ghana have to do with anything Nigerian or any other African country for that matter? if he went to Guinea, would you people be making noise? hissss....
anyway, let me finish my statement....
If only Nigeria could get its head together, you will see the REAL BEAUTY of Nigeria. there are places in the North and ESPECIALLY the middle belt that are breathtaking, and if developed right, can be hot tourist destinations.
at the end of the day, the whites in South Africa have built things for their comfortable living and "up to their taste" as someone else said. most of how they got to where they are today are from the british and dutch immigrants, period.
and for people to say Nigeria is only the Giant in terms of population? im sorry to say, but you must not know much about your country or maybe you are being deceived. as someone else said, its more like the SLEEPING GIANT! i pray the 2011 Presidential elections will be the first big change in turning Nigeria around into a positive direction.

Pointless Celebrity said...

I 100% side with the couple. I know what they are talking about. In many ways and in every way, {thanks to their former colonial masters}, South Africa is better than Nigeria and some EU countries. Nigeria could have been "the Giant of Africa" if not for corruption and the rotten leadership of the past 30 plus years. Nigeria's economy was mismanaged and it is part of the reason why Nigeria is its present economic problems in every sector of its economy. Patriotism aside, we should be honest with ourselves. The TRUTH is Nigeria is NOT "the giant of Africa". But, that said, Nigeria will eventually dominate Africa within the next 20 years.

•••BD•••

Formerly stealth reader said...

when i saw d advert i was like...........at last!!!!!! the truth has been told. we are NOT the giant of africa. gbam
and if u think we are?..... awwwwwww

lol @ people saying Nigeria is this and that and SA. oh spare me!!!! South Africa with its HIV/AIDS taking over and very bummy down areas. there is nothing comparable to any western countries other than the cities (to which majority of the white people live and of course they will make their stay as comfortable as possible) but do you see where the majority still dwell? BLINDNESS GO KILL UNA. they are still seen as a third world country, just like almost every other part of Africa. i will give it to them for their constant electricity and maybe schools, but thats where i draw the line. stop being fooled, people.
as someone said, which Chinese or any other nationality would go to America and say that America is better than their country? its nonsense. why not target some British or Australian people, why Nigerians? after all, their main tourists do come from those places. abeg, i see something deeper than just this "advert
Nigerians!!!!

They said SA is A giant of African and not The gaint of African.And who cares anyway.How can Nigeria be a giant when we dont even constant electricity.it's shame.They never compared SA to Naija.They were just expressing their love and admiration to something very interesting.They never been to SA b4 and had never experience such in naija.What's wrong with the admiration?.What's unpatriotic about that?

This Linda wen will u stop displaying ignorance????? It's obvious u havnt left d shores of NIgeria and ur in urban little bubble, otherwise u won't put up this kind of senseless post lolol. Nigeria giant my arse. Lwkmd. Get enlightened dear. This is wat I call misplaced patriotism.

I love how Toni Moses put it, took d words rite out of my mouth. Wake up ppl and face reality and stop being petty and childish

What makes a nation great? It's the Big building's, big cars,5 mobile phones we carry,pointless movies we make,unnecessary spending to show off? Good leadership and followership. True peace and security within the people, that's what makes a nation GREAT and, we can't never attain it as long as we live independent from GOD. Yes, we love God but we serve him the wrong ways.Somebody showed appreciation for what they admired and we condemned them.Have we ever provided any of their needs for them? What is so unpatriotic about it? We are here beating ourselves over who's the greatest and can't even speak up to our bad leadership and we can't stand a simple piece of sincerity.They weren't even bringin' naija down but spoke of what they saw.They have never traveled to SA B4 and express their luv for the place and y'all trippin'. Mad at y'all. Go copy that.
Alex
USA

Guru said...

Nigeria is at crossroads. For the past 20 years, the country has been
standstill. Virtually, there have been no development in all sectors.
Education is in shambles, health services is non-existent, corruption
is at the highest ebb.
The only prospect of jobs for fresh graduates is their
participation in the National Youth Service Corps (NYSC).Needless to
say that Nigerian youths face bleak future.
With no network of influential Nigerians, it is almost impossible for an average job seeker in the country to think of a shot at job
interviews. Merit has been sacrificed on the altar of favoritism and who you know.
I have always said this to my friends who are in Nigeria -that one thing that amazes me about the South Africa is that a labourer can
dream of buying a house and driving any car one can imagine. The magic
is the minimum wage standard and credit facility.
"If truly Nigeria Is a Giant as claimed, Go to any nearest bank of your choice tomorrow and get a loan facility"
How many South African are schooling in Nigeria?
How many Nigerians are schooling in South Africa?
Free Your Mind! Patriotism Slavery

NK said...

As far as I'm concerned, Alicia is one of the few people making sense here. She has completely said what's in my mind. Nigerians never cease to amaze me! It is only a Nigerian that can pull this kind of stuff and then other Nigerians riddled with Jungle Fever will support and justify such a careless 'no thinking' comment. If your neighbor's mother was prettier than yours, will you go out and state it, even though it's pretty obvious?
Sometimes I don't know if my people ever use their brains. Inferiority complex has eaten deep into the Nigerian people that they're ready to bow to even a fellow African. Why didn't a Ghanaian, Senegalese, Gambian or even a Cameroonian pull this kind of stunt? Yes Nigeria isn't the giant of Africa but I'd rather cut my tongue off than admit that another man's country is superior to mine. Then we now wonder why the west continues to insult us when we never fail to insult ourselves.

Mind you, this SA that is being advertised had been under white colonialism till the 90s while we chased away the Brits in 1960. Surely you weren't expecting the whites there to continue living according to the 'African Standard' were you? And if the South Africans feel they're better than us then what the hell are their businesses doing in Nigeria? (MTN, Shoprite, Protea, Game etc)
Nigeria may not be the best country in Africa but it is MY country and I love my country! period!

My name is Nigeria, I need Re-Building and not Re-Branding

I am Nigeria. I am divided into 36 unequal states, plus my capital territory, christened Abuja. I have millions of acres of arable land and billions of cubic liters of water, but I cannot feed myself. So I spend $1 billion to import rice and another $2 billion to import milk. I produce rice, but don't eat it. I have 60 million cattle but no milk. I have the capacity to feed the whole of Africa but I import most food instead. I am hungry, please help and re-brand me.

I drive the latest car in the world but have no roads neither can I boast of manufacturing a bicycle's tire. I lose families and friends everyday on my roads for which funds have been allocated to build and rehabilitate but the fund has been looted. I lose my young, my old, and my most brainy and productive people to the potholes, craters and crevasses they travel on everyday. I am in permanent mourning, please re-brand me.

My school has no teacher and my classroom has no roof. I take lecture notes through the window and live with 15 others in a single room. All my professors have gone abroad, some of the rest are awaiting visas. Those that remain, depends on money raked from the sales of hand-out to students.
My students receives lectures for a maximum of 3 months in a year due to lecturers' strike or students' boycott of lectures because of lack of better condition of service and deplorable condition on campus. That explains why I have university graduates, who are semi- illiterates. I want a future, please re-brand me.

Malaria, typhoid and many other preventable diseases send me to hospitals which have no doctors, no medicines and no power. So my wife gives birth with candle light and surgery is performed by quacks. All the nurses have gone abroad and the rest are waiting to go also. I have the highest maternal and infant mortality rates in the world and future generations are dying before me. I am hopeless, hapless and helpless, please re-brand me.

Alex Again
USA
To be continue-----

I wanted change so I stood all day long to cast my vote. But even before I could vote, the results had been announced. When I dared to speak out, silence was enthroned by bullets. My rulers are my oppressors, and my policemen are my terrors. I am ruled by men in mufti, but I am not a democracy. I have no verve, no vote, no voice, please re-brand me.

I have over 50 million youths with no jobs, no present and no future. So my sons in the North have become street urchins and his brothers in the South have become militants. My nephews die of thirst in the Sahara and his cousins drown in the waters of the Mediterranean. My daughters walk the streets of Lagos, Abuja and Port Harcourt, while her sisters parade the streets of Rome and Amsterdam. I am inconsolable, please re-brand me.

My people cannot sleep at night and cannot relax by day. They cannot use ATM machines, nor use cheque. My children sleep through staccato of AK 47's see through the mist of tear gas, while we all inhale Carbon Monoxide, poisonous Co 2 from popular 'I big pass my neighbor' (portable generators) and 'Okada'.
The leaders have looted everything on ground and below. They walk the land with haughty strides and fly the skies with private jets (28 of which were bought in the last 12 months). They have stolen the future of generations yet unborn and have money they cannot spend in several lifetimes, but their brothers die of hunger. I want justice, please re-brand me.

I can produce anything, but import everything. So my toothpick is made in China; my toothpaste is made in South Africa; my salt is made in Ghana; my butter is made in Ireland; my milk is made in Holland; my shoe is made in Italy; my vegetable oil is made in Malaysia; my biscuit is made in Indonesia; my chocolate is made in Turkey and my table water made in France. My taste is far-flung and foreign. I no longer cook at home but take pride in eating at take away outlet fashioned after Western style of living.
Anything made in my land is inferior. I prefer those made in England, America or Europe. To crown it all, items made in my land but specifically sent abroad with made in England label are bought back from 'Oyinbo' land at 5 times the original price it would have gone had it been sold as home made, please re-brand me.

Alex again
Continue reading-----

My people are cancerous from the greed of their friends who bleach palm oil with chemicals; my children died because they drank ‘My Pikin’ with NAFDAC numbers; my poor die because kerosene explodes in their faces; my land is dead because all the trees have been cut down; flood kills my people yearly because the drainage is clogged; my fish are dead because the oil companies dump waste in my rivers; my communities are vanishing into the huge yawns of gully erosion, and nothing is being done. My livelihood is in jeopardy, and I am in the uttermost depths of despondence, please re-brand me.

I have genuine leather but choose to eat it. So I spend a billion dollars to import fake leather. I have four refineries, but prefer to import fuel, so I waste more billions to import petrol. I have no security in my country, but would rather send troops to keep the peace in another man’s land. I have 160 dams, but cannot get water to drink, so I buy ‘pure’ water that roils my innards. I have a million children waiting to enter universities, but my ivory dungeons can only take a tenth. I have no power, but choose to flare gas but vote billion dollars every year to generate electricity but not a single watt has come from it. So, my people have learnt to see in the dark and stare at the glare of naked flares. I have no direction, please re-brand me.

My people pray to God every morning and every night, but commit every crime known to man because re-branded identities will never alter the tunes of inbred rhythms. Just as the drums of heritage heralds the frenzied jingles, remember - the Nigerian soul can only be Nigerian - fighting free from the cold embrace of a government that has no spring, no sense, no shame. So we watch the possessed, frenzied dance, drenched in silent tears as freedom is locked up in democracy’s empty cellars. I need guidance, please re-brand me.

Alex Again
USA
Continue------

But then, why can I not simply be me, without being re-branded? Or does my complexion cloud the colour of my character? Does my location limit the lengths of my liberty? Does the spirit of my conviction shackle my soul? Does my mien maim the mine of my mind? And is this life worth re-branding? Is it re-branding that I need or complete re-building?
Others blame my calamities on the colonial master that has left my shore some 49 years ago. Without deceiving myself, I know I have problems, who will deliver me?
May be what I need is to be re-born, Christians call it being born-again. Turning to a higher authority or changing direction. I mean to sincerely own up and turn to the man up-stair, may be, just maybe solution will come from there.

To re-build a wobbling structure, there is need for dismantling of existing one (remember, if the foundation be destroyed, what can the righteous do?). Shall I then consider the idea muted by some of my own who have fled abroad? Some call for 'Separation for Co-operation' others call for true Federalism while others are yet asking for the return to Parliamentary system. Which way do I go? TODAY, I AM 49 years old. I do not want to enter my golden age without direction, so, please, help me God. Re-mould and Re-Build me.
Alex agian
USA
Go copy that and we are giant of Africa.Right.

Thanks "Alex again"

You said it all. Forget these hopeless fools whose arse are forever stuck in Nigeria. They never been out of Nigeria before, they are ignorant, brsinwashed, brain dead and blinded by ignorance, and dem dey chat shit. Patriotism my arse. Speaking the truth does not make anyone unpatriotic. Nigerian economy is a hopeless condition due to thieving, corruption and the mentality of Nigetians to enrich themselves at the expense of others. Nigeria and Nigerians are some of the most corrupt and dishonest people on this planet. Even as a Nigerian, you can do business with them, you can't employ them, you can't have them as neighbours. May God help us.

The thing I love about some of us is our ability to wallow in denial. SA has been the Giant for a long time. Its our perception and pride that keeps us where we are. Nigeria is far from the Giant of West Africa ma sef. We were recently almost called a Failed Nation. Where have you seen a failed nation being the giant of anything. I believe in my country o but I also believe in tough love. Nigeria as a whole needs to look in the mirror and understand that we lost that title a LONG time ago.

#Naija4life. We have to do better.

WOW! Some people on this forum are saying the white man build South Africa bla bla bla. Look at America, do you think it's only Americans that build America? People from all around the world build America and today as we say America is the greatest country in the world. And i really do not know who give Nigerians this " Giant of Africa" title. If the British said it, i think they meant in term of Population and nothing more. Let's be real to ourselves because the truth will set us free. I do not think it's only corruption holding back Nigeria. Corruption is everywhere. And who ever said SA is a Hiv/Aids infested country must be high on something. So are you telling me Aids is not in Nigeria? Nigeria is third country with a highest rate of Hiv/Aids. I think it's the mentality of most Nigerians that is holding back the country. Nigerians are very boastful the " i am better than you attitude." Nigerians brag about everything and at the end of the day there's nothing to show of it. The country is not even there yet compared to SA and the western world and the people are so boastful as if they are ahead of every country/everybody in the world, i really do not want to see when they get there. If a person/group of people have the notion of being better than the other group and pray to God to be more better than those people, trust me God will never answer such prayers 'cause he already know what your intention will be once he answer your prayers. God do not answer self-centred prayers. To me there's no country in Africa that is a Giant.

Our leaders brainwashed us making us think we are the "Giant" of Africa while they are busy stealing our monies. Some Nigerians need to travel out of the country to know what some of us are talking about.

NK 3.38PM you are very daft....this is y Nigeria is still the way it is because we have not seen that there is a problem and we need to move forward. saying that ''Yes Nigeria isn't the giant of Africa but I'd rather cut my tongue off than admit that another man's country is superior to mine''has been y this country has not moved forward and is just getting worse everyday.you are a real Nigerian and i bet its people like you that we have as leaders which is y NIGERIA is so messed up.Look saying that SA is the giant of Africa means that we have decided back to take the back sit in Africa and watched other African countries take the major role in he play.We need to stop being narrow minded and take the bull by the horn and move our country forward and there may be need to have a benchmark to keep us in line with our goal. SA may have used us as a Benchmark and now are quit ahead of us....Ghana is on the way too.

@ Alex Again - The original of your I am Nigeria post was written by Salisu Suleiman, a columnist of 234next. If you must use his write up to make your point, give him his due credit.

@all the Nigerian supporters - This thing is really subjective. However, although SA has its own challenges, it is still so far ahead of us. The challenge is for us to make our country much greater.

Thank you so much, Alex from USA for speaking the truth. I have visited various countries and I must say Nigeria is the worst I have been to into terms of infrastructure, availability of amenities and welfare for its citizens. I am a Nigerian but I agree with Bimbo and Seun Somolu. Why do u think that the rich Nigerians have invested in contries like SAfrica and Ghana.It is bcos of their stability which Nigeria does not have. Naija has a very long way to go and we all should accept the truth.

Y'all should keep lying to ourselves in the name of patriotism...Hiss...Nigerians need to wake up from their slumber. There is nothing I haven't heard - BA's most lucrative route is to Nigeria (lie), now someone has said on here now the biggest fib told to man - MTN made more in a year that what they had made in SA in 10 years (another frigging lie), Nigeria is too rich for the financial crisis to have an impact (now we know better). Now you want to deceive yourselves and say Nigeria is better than SA.

Common decent hospital, we don't have. One of the survivors from the plane crash had to be flown to SA for her initial treatment. Why was that? I am a banker and sorry to bust your bubble, South Africa is considered an emerging Market by investors and guess what, Nigeria isn't - it is considered a frontier market (not sophisticated enough to be an emerging market. South Africa has a very sophisticated financial services sector (comparable to UK and US). I could go on and on but I'm sure you get the point already - Nigeria is not on same level with SA. Imagine someone saying have you been to the slums in SA, are their slums as bad as Ajegunle? Can you compare Cape Town or Jo'burg to Lagos and Abuja.

I love my country die but we need to tell ourselves the truth else we won't move forward. Saying all that, it was unpatriotic for the man in the video to say Nigeria has a lot to learnfrom SA, that is my only complaint otherwise everything else was spot on.

Dekko said...

Nigeria has a long way to go quite alright. But na title we go chop? Naija is still big, as far as I'm concerned, they have lost that title a long time ago, BUT they can look to SA AND other countries for inspiration, white people or otherwise. See how they do their own shit. Guess what, corruption dey, will always be around, however somehow somehow o these countries know how to organize themselves despite all that. No? And finally, it is the couple's opinion, whatever they want to say is their right. Patriotism gbakwaa oku, if they love SA they love SA or whatever. Everybody should go and sit down somewhere jo.

@ Anonymous March 10, 2011 5:35 PM

"@ Alex Again - The original of your I am Nigeria post was written by Salisu Suleiman, a columnist of 234next. If you must use his write up to make your point, give him his due credit."

Tell them well, well.

See. "Alex Again" you be ole! You be robber! Ha! And there was me thinking, "here's a brutha wey read book small. Made a valid comment and different from the rest with goat follow follow low mentality. Ha! Ha! Haaaaaa! You go end up sitting next to Mr Goodluck Jonathan in hell with your crime ooo. You cannot copy an entire article even if you rephrase, rephrase or give credit to the author. You plagiarised someone's idea and written work and made it seem like your. You failed to credit your source?! And....and....and I read and swallowed those comments like a hungry bish not realising you lifted it from the interweb. If I catch you, I go throw Iraqi shoes at you. I want my time back. Ole! Thief! You reckless Ooo! Go scrub gutter for some horrible Nigerian neighbourhood.

@ Anonymous March 10, 2011 5:35 PM. That's Naija mentality for you. They like to take,,,,and take ... And take other people's cheese cake. No morals. Smh.

"@all the Nigerian supporters - This thing is really subjective. However, although SA has its own challenges, it is still so far ahead of us. The challenge is for us to make our country much greater."

Thank you, Mr / Madam person from 234Next.cum :)

Don't mind them. No vex. Na small pickin disease dey worry them.

NwaOma said...

Na wa o, everybody cool it down. It's not that serious abeg.

And who cares...rather that decreasing the poverty in Nigeria and removing the corrupt men in power, you are busy bitching and crying that they sold Nigeria.....Stupid piece of shit.

ALL I GATHERED FROM THAT ADVERT IS HOW UNCONFORTABLE SA IS WITH NAIJA... PERIOD!!! THEY DIDNT HAVE TO USE NIGERIANS, THEY COULD HAVE JUST GLORIFIED THEMSELVES IF THEY WANTED.. ASS HOLES

MY ONE KOBO you should change your name to my one no get nation. Waka jugbe, SA, London soon to India idiot, they will soon spit you out! North South, East or West home is Mos Def the Best.

Name a nation without flawsssssssss. Did i hear the silence (Yes !) The point is not whether Naija has a problem.. it is why is it a foolish Nigerian that will go a stupid advert to say we have flaws, to make another nation look good. yes Naija steals but i will rather have at thief visit me than to be raped every 3 minutes in SA as that is the case. All you ppl . THINNNNNNNNNKKKKKKKKKKKKKK!!!

NwaOma said...

I listened to what they said again and came to realize they said "A giant of Africa", not "THE giant of Africa" that everyone is getting their odowas in a bunch. Big difference. You can have more than one giant, so there...let the sharing begin.

Peace out my people. And shout out to SA! One love to all Africans. You can defend your patriotism, but stop being so divisive while at it!!

Truth is anyone who has been to SA and observed sincerely would know that Nigeria is a better place to live than SA even with their infrastructure and all. I spent time in SA in 2009 and do you know what I said, SA is a time bomb waiting to happen!. Do you see the way the black people are living like second class citizens in their own country despite abolition of apartheid and all? It's scary. The whites move from club to club(armed, I hear) partying while their black "servants" wait outside in cabs for them. All kinds of things are going on there. That, and scarce resources is fueling the high crime and xenophobia in the country.

NK said...

Anonymous 5:25pm. It is YOU that's very daft. In fact YOU are the definition of daft. I won't be surprised if you're one of those Nigerians scrubbing toilets in goodness knows whatever country and yet you can bitch about the state of Nigeria.

If you read my comment well (Which I'm not sure dyslexia allowed you to) You would see that I did not deny the fact that there are problems with Nigeria. I just won't allow inferiority complex get the better of me and that's where the Ghanaians get it right. Good or bad, they love their Ghana and they contribute the little they can to make Ghana better. They don't go bitching on the internet about how bad the country is and just ending it there. Where were you when people took to the streets saying 'Enough Is Enough'? I'm sure you were busy in-front of your computer reading about how Angelina Jolie snatched Brad Pitt from Jennifer Anniston or following Lady Gaga on twitter. I marched on those streets and I can proudly say I'm doing something in my country! Until you tell me what you've done, please go and chew on a cyanide flavored lollipop!

Mscheeeeew! Rubbish!

oscar said...

TONY MOSES........ You have spoken my mind. Honestly I dont know why some pple chose to pretend. Let us embrace the truth for once. Nigeria has failed and needs to wake up from her slumber. This is a Nation with awesome, talented human capital and such majestic Natural endowement, the only oil producing Nation that is ravaged by poverty, unemployment, worst road network and poor infrastructure , non dependable power supply etc.. Every day our Leaders are still thinking of how to move this Nation foward while South A had already repositiond itself for greater height. Our leaders looted this Nation dry but decided to hide uder the guise of giant of Africa meanwhile the state of rot and dilapidation is not just worrisome but suicidal. We were endowed to be giant but like the Holy Book said; WE BURIED OUR TALENT. So no body should blame those couple, they are one of those people who are embittered with the fact that we are suffering in the midst of plenty.

@ NK March 10, 2011 9:41 PM

Daffie. You so daft. What's your secret? No. Don't tell me. I want nothing to do with your stupidity. Either you hate your lil life in Nigeria or you are jealous cos your fat arse is stuck in Nigeria. Lose weight, please, please. Go for a run and while you are at it, pretend you "marched on those streets and I can proudly say I'm doing something in my country". Yeah keep doing your "marching" best. You are really saving the country while the rest of us bury our eyeballs on porn on the Internet.
Instead of you to speak the truth, you allowed you fat sausage fingers type shit. 

Mscheeeeew! Rubbish! 

NOW, make me a cup of tea with no sugar. Once you done that, go hug a wet transformer.

Adebola said...

I cant speak for South Africa,as 1). I am not from there and 2). I have never been there. But with Nigeria, we need to come together under one voice, let there be a revolution to our goverment, and ask them what about our Education system, health care system, basic amenities. Nigerians I have noticed only become passionate over the internet but when it comes to making a real difference like going out for a protest, no one wants their name mentioned in anything. We can blame the government for a thousand years, but you and I have our parts to play.
Like someone said, The Bimbo's family once used to be in government, so this people all have contributed to what Nigeria is presently. I have been campaigning about the soon to happen youth focused presidential debate, that could change the situation but everyone turns a blind eyes. But when it comes to small issues, every starts sounding intelligent and all.
It is time to say to our government, enough is enough, we need to ask questions, contribute your own quota to the community, help Nigerians back home.
Enough of Nigerians bashing each other, damaging our countries reputation even more abroad by sounding so silly, and enough of the comparison with other countries, let us stand up with one voice, and say to Nigeria government enough is enough!!
Lets stand up for real, Instead of being mere internet worriors!!!
Be the change you wnat to see, If the government dont change, then you be that change.
Nigerians stop your attitude of 'all man for themselves' which is clearly not just the government's problem, it is all of us.
We can scream for years that our government has damaged our country but the real question is what have you done to make it better!!

Akin' Odunsi @gr8akin said...

Wo, gbogbo yin le mo, sha dont beat urself up becuase of Nigeria vs South Africa ... all i know is that we are far ahead of SA, we are only condemning Nigeria because we are here, have u been there before and see the high crime rate?How many of us have waken up one morning and say GOD BLESS NIGERIA? Plssssssss, lets face it, We are the only one who can make Nigeria far better than it is right now, those Somolu couple by the time Brobbers raid their apartment once they will change their mind ....

NK said...

Anonymous March 10 11:15

I laugh at how dense your brain is. Obviously when one is a fat arse, he/she thinks the entire world is filled with fat arses.

Stay there and vomit rubbish behind your screen you hear? You're far away in a land where you'll forever be seen as a second class citizen. Remain anonymous behind the laptop you hear? Meanwhile a couple of sheep in Bauchi have become more popular than you are!

Shio! Arse wipe!

Alicia says.... said...

America is not the giant of the world, FYI. they are just big bullies. I may be Nigerian-American, but i understand that fact. other countries are leading in terms of education and infrastructures. many Americans have been immigrating looking for better jobs and what not. so America may be up there, but its in no way the greatest.
@NK, THANK YOU! i don't believe Nigeria is anything to write home about really, but neither is South Africa! thats the point im trying to make. people are wallowing here and making noise, yet you still see "Feed the Children" and all types of AID relief and many western celebrities going to SA for charities and ways to fund medication for people with HIV/AIDS. also
If South Africa is such a giant, why aren't they doing that for their own citizens? oh yeah, because they're BLACK! we know how the blacks get treated down there. they come in last place and get left overs.
Nigerians are so shameless.
just as on the other thread when all these shameless Nigerians were saying other Africans (mainly east african) women were better than Nigerian women, AS NIGERIAN WOMEN THEMSELVES! shameless people. and when the Tanzanians hoes came out, what did they do? NOTHING. what could they do? as someone rightfully said, if you slap your mother, don't get angry when someone else decides to do it as well.
SHAMELESS PEOPLE!

@Alex Again....you should go back to Nigeria and run for President.

EBELE said...

Alex I read ur write up with so much zeal and sadness that all u said abt naija was so true. Only to find out that you stole the write up and didnt credit the source. U are an epitome of what is wrong with Nigeria. Stealing, lying corruption and over sabi.
Pot calling kettle black. OLODO!!! OLE!!! Stop signing off with Alex USA. Local champion who cares if u live and wash plates or dead bodies in america.

Disappointed.
@ ano thanks for opening the yansh of the ole and liar. HISS!!!

Linda ,
Its like you havent learnt anything really from the naeto c/nicolegate issue
otherwise why will anyone bring out the fact that seuns father is Jemibewon and hes an ex-miitary guy blablabla
and shes a witch that treats her staff like slaves yadayadayada
what has that got to do with Nigeria not being the giant of Africa?

I just dont get it,these are the kinda comments that should be deleted/censored.
I dont care if shes mother gagul
she expressed her opinion and everyone is entitled to express their opinion.

I bet there are countless people out there that feel the same regardless of whether their father was an ex military guy,ex "boli" roaster or not.
Theres TMI on them and their family I dont think its right,lets stick to the topic on hand people.

Next another ANON mentioned that S.A is threatened by Naija because they used Nigerians for the ad
well click on the youtube loaders channel and youll realise seun and husband where not the only ones who made this ad,there where couples from India and the U.S
just saying................

@NK Anonymous March 10 11:15

YOU Must be a vulture in lady gaga"s outfit, that goes to show how u look & think from what you write.YOU pretty much think you Are finer than EVERYBODY cos u said u will never admit/say if ur neighbours mum is finer than urs.@ watching brad pit & jolie, ur neigbours have allowed you come watch E! every night???.put your lobster brain to test before you type. why not call a spade spade . Gaint or no Gaint....is tHerE a MEDAL FOR IT.YOUR COMMENTS HERE SHOWS YOU aV very big TALENT FOR LYING(EVEN WHEN THE TRUTH IS OBVIOUS)ignoramus:::: @ ur mumu self sAYING:I just won't allow inferiority complex get the better of me;;;;;;
go ask people what inferiority complex means....
ur choice of words baffles me!!!
@ chasing away the brits in the 60"s what do we have to show for it??? list them!!!!
@ YOUR DUMB lobster BRAIN SAYING,And if the South Africans feel they're better than us then what the hell are their businesses doing in Nigeria? (MTN, Shoprite, Protea, Game etc)
MTN HELPED UR BROKE self with effective comunication(thanks to why u have a Nokia 3310/ triump phone)did u ever see a mobile phone before pre-MTN ???lwkmd!...r u still rocking dat your talk about phone??
SHOPRITE/GAME:u only saw malls like these in hollywood movies.

LISTEN TO URSELF speak....u dont think half as much as you talk.think 10times before you speak.
SA is far more stable and a GAINT...go jump off 3rd mainland bridge so we know you r PATRIOTIC

linda u don start ojoro o....pls ibeg ibeg ibeg!!!!post my comment o. ehn ehnn!

@ NK you have to retaliate cos Anonymous 11.15am don Finish you. LOL.......Linda you have started a Battle this morning.SMH

passing by said...

75 COMMENTS, ONLY 13 AUTHENTIC BLOGGERS?!?! *ain't right!*

At anonymous replying NK, you do have a lot to time on your hands with this rant. Grow up Dear

March 10, 2011 11:15 PM said...

@ NK

NK. NK. NK. NK. ...,I'm mischievous by nature, but not nasty or evil. Yesterday, i was nasty and evil. It was a mistake and silliness on my part. I regret it. Im always joking and cheeky with my comments on Linda's blog or any blog. I comment to have a laugh. i hate the fact that I did that yesterday at your expense. Sorry. I was joking with the comment, but when you made the personal attack, I felt I had to fight back, even though its unlike my nature to be nasty to anyone. I should have ignored it. This morning, thought about it. I don't feel good about the comments I made yesterday. Sorry. Sorry. Sorry. I'm sorry.

Well said NK...

@ Anon March 11, 2011 1:21 PM A.K.A Linda Ikeji. Drop the stupidity. If anyone have too much time on their hand, its you. Everybody knows. If anyone needs to grow up, its you. I could say more, but, I dont wanna be nasty to you. You maybe right. I have too much time on my hands. Maybe. People and money works for me. I make lots, and lots of ££££s without lifting a finger. You know me. You know about me. Yes. You do. If my comments destroyed whoever is NK, what good will it achieve? None. "Do no evil" is my nature. It's always been, even from the age of 3, and it will always be. But it don't mean I'm a walk over or turn the othe cheek. No. I'm reasonable with those who are readonale with me. I don't think you should post this Oooo. I can feel feel a fire burning in my stomach....to be to you as you've been to me,....no... I aoplogised to NK / YOU or whoever is NK. So, let the matter rest. I meant it when I aopligied. It wasnt a sign of weakness. No. I meant it and it was the right thing to do. It didn't mean "NK" was right or wrong in her arguements. I aopligised, you held back my comment and posted yours to fan the flames against my comments. If you are not NK, so why biased? Or are you NK? At time you, Linda, do post annoymous comments or comment with made up names cos you dont have the balls (pun intended!) to post comments with your real name. Everybody knows! Stop your childishness. Okay? I used to respect you cos you're Naija. Don't play dirty or nasty. You're better than that. If you live in a glass house, don't throw stones. Remember that. Don't get me started on YOUR fat arse. I can play "nasty" n "vicious" better than you ever can. I'm not mad at you, still. This comment is for you and it's without malice. It's up to you to post it or not. Have a nice day :)

its so obvious that Alex Again copied that whole speech and didn't give credit where its due. why? he didn't even think to change "49" to "50" hahahaha. na wa! so much for Nigerians with copy copy syndrome.

Lindaaaaaaaaaaaa! Nooooooo! You are stubborn. You are. I swear. I said not to post that comment. Na wah for youuuu. Whatever. Whateverrrrrrrrrrrrr.

abi's muse said...

This blog is not 4 the 'lilly livered' at all at all. Make comments & it turns into some brouhaha! E se jeje o!

Everyone should stop being so serious.

I'm a die hard reader of Linda's blog. All this negativity is putting me off. •snaps finger over head, 3 times in granny style• Tufiakwa! I'm seriously considering switching to reading knitting and crochet blogs. ••Grabs hook, needles and yarn. Its feet up Friday! Hooray! Hooray! Hooray! Its crochet and knitting time. Let's knit and make up :) ••

@ anon March 11, 2011 3:25 PM, na wa for you o,why would you think linda will post as anonymous,i bow for you o

@ linda ....make the person belive u/not.....why would you swear on ur unborn child to make some1 belive u didnt reply as anonymous.
every one is entitled ot their opinion....you shldnt have gone that far

Linda Ikeji said...

I play a lot but I take this very serious and personal. i've been getting a lot of 'linda, u post as anonymous to insult people'. why would i do that? That's sick!

i've insulted a few people back as Me, signed with my name, i don't need to hide behind a fake name or anonymous.

Woh, I don tire jare, wahala o ti po ju...

Linda Ikeji said...

btw @anon 3.25, reading ur comment again, i see u thought i deliberately held back ur comment to post another person's comment?. lol, the kind of things i hear on this blog.

Well, if ur comment was held back, it's probably because it went to SPAM. sometimes I find comments in Spam. There have been occasions where i deleted everything in SPAM without checking to see if there are real comments there. But i've been checking alot lately and finding quite a number of non-spam comments there...so that's probably what delayed ur comment from being uploaded when it was supposed to. hope that satisfies u? cheers

ANON MARCH 11 9.17 A.M PLS DONT BE SILLY, OF ALL THE AFRICAN COUNTRIES IT HAD TO BE NIGERIA AND I AM SUPPOSED TO FEEL BETTER BECAUSE THEY USED AMERICANS AND INDIANS?... PLSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS. THEY BEEF US THEY DO PERIOD!!!

Dear stubborn Linda, I take back everything, including the "your fat arse" comment I made. Your arse (there I go again!) is not fat (i know "fat arse" is a sensitive subject for some women, ....i hope u dont take it the wrong way....so,... I'm saying you don't have pancake/frying pan yansh, but, its not fat, fat like the back of a truck. So, get off that treadmill, now :) .... Im joking ooo. I prank friends and joke a lot but never malicious. I didnt have to apologise to NK and you, but I apologised. You are the last person I'd get mad at on the net. I can't be mad at you, even if you were Igbira / ibira (hope thats the right spelling!), Abacha, Sara Palin, Lady Gaga, Fulani or Ijebu or had pussy cat like tribal marks on your cheeks. I have no evil bone. I'm sorry.

Linda Ikeji said...

@anon 11;25, You calling me fat means nothing to me. What I’m concerned about is you and some others thinking I go under anonymous or a fake name to insult readers of this blog.

I have NEVER and will NEVER do something like that. There’s no way I will treat my readers that way...you guys have been a blessing to me...so if I have anything to say, I say it as ME, Linda Ikeji and not under any fake name.

Anyway, thanks for apologizing. cheers

It's always good to have the fact than to assume things b4 we make a comment just like the couple here. We don't know their circumstances and we already murdered them by our comments.People are about to kill me here with their comments without knowing the fact.I posted a very good article here someone put on my wall on facebook and no credit to the writer, and i decided to post it here as regards the topic dicuss here.I don't live in naija and don't even know who the heck wrote the article.I just taught it will be a good point of discussion thats it.Unreasonable people already curse out.Regardless of what y'all think, ur words won't take anything away from me.
so, go kill urself.

Alex again.
USA. Yes, USA. Throw it in the bag.

Hey! Hey! Hey! "Alex Again", calm down. Calm down. I said, CALM DOWN ! Put that gun away ! Put it away ! We were messing with you. We were joking. In all the comments, no one demanded yor arse be fried on an electric chair or yor neck laced with car tyre. No! We we were joking. Reeeeeelax, Amigo. You earned your notoriety. Head to Nigeria and join any political party of your choice.

Alex, don't shoot. I'm joking Ooo :)

Anonymus said...

It's just an advert and she clearly was doing her job. No matter how much we love our country we know that we have more problems that need fixing, more than SA. She didn't criticize our country, she simply praised SA after what seemed to be an enjoyable trip to SA. I read those comments you made on the lady 'treating her staff like slaves', i dont think that's true because i have a friend who has worked in her school (which is a little pre-school) for many years and she makes her sound like a very nice person, who treats her staff like family. I dont know, maybe she offended you personally, but don't come on here and spread lies just because of your personal grudges. That is highly rude and immature. @Anonymous 9:48
And to others, dont just believe things you see online, do unto others as you'd like to be done to you