Pictures: The Fire Outbreak at Balmoral Hall, Oregun | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 28 March 2011

Pictures: The Fire Outbreak at Balmoral Hall, Oregun

The unfortunate fire outbreak at Balmoral Hall, venue of yesterday's City People Awards. Fortunately, no one was hurt but the multi-million naira hall was razed to the ground. More pictures when you continue...

It started in the evening, but by night, the hall was razed to the ground. What's up with our fire service?

Pics thanks to Kilonshele

9 comments:

wait o
what i dont understand is I can see people sitting and watching the fire
abi my eyes dey see double ni?
well this is sad sha
where on earth is the fire service when they need them
on the other hand I think Nigerians should start looking for alternative sources to come to rheir rescue in times like this
al you read people out there
why not invest in some trucks for hire for case like this?

wait o
what i dont understand is I can see people sitting and watching the fire
abi my eyes dey see double ni?
well this is sad sha
where on earth is the fire service when they need them
on the other hand I think Nigerians should start looking for alternative sources to come to rheir rescue in times like this
al you read people out there
why not invest in some trucks for hire for case like this?

Chilling said...

Thank God no one was hurt. Fire service? Just like the Police, they take their time when there is a clear and present danger. What caused the fire? Was it a faulty electrical fuse? Or mmmmmm, what if it was arson/an inside job and the perpetrators paid the fire service to ensure they don't get there.

@Anon, u funny o!
Invest in fire service for hire in Nigeria? Who go pay u after you've finished ur job? The person wey im properties just got destroyed in the inferno? If na dis kind business idea dey go thru ur head, beta reverse o!

Fire fighting is a responsibility of the authorities and they are managed through our taxes. Big organizations can provide same as their CSR.

Meanwhile i think the Lagos Fire Service is not doing bad. At least i've witnessed them respond to a fire emergency that happened off Allen Ave, some weeks ago. They were there within 15mins that the fire started, and i want to believe that they are the ones that quenched the Balmoral inferno.

People were hurt love,there was a stampede when it broke out and a lady on the far right side of the hall(sorry for poor description) was on fire...I really hope she's okay now

The private fire service could collaborate with an insurance company so that the fire fighting bills would be paid as a premium together with the insurance.
Since the government won't do it then i guess its time for us to take the plunge

why is it always govt, govt and govt. A venue like Balmoral shud av very good and modern fire extuinguishers dat can at least do sth small and not raze down the whole roof. Event centers shud av learnt from ultima studio wen fire gutted d studio.
Nawa o, even me dat am talking, av i put fire extuingusher in my house? GOD HAVE MERCY
By d way, which kind jazz be dat. How come its during city people awards. Hope its not some people that curse them o. Because of the fake stories dey publish to damage people reputation,.
Tank GOD it was not someone's wedd or b.day. It wud av given dem a bad memory

FIYAAAAAAHHHH!!!!

i even heard some celebrities took to their heels while putting off their high-heeled shoes