According to the UK Govt, Nigeria is the 4th fastest growing economy in the world | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 31 March 2011

According to the UK Govt, Nigeria is the 4th fastest growing economy in the world

""I appointed the best minds to manage our economy, provided unprecedented funding to Manufacturers, increased Power Generation and stabilized Banks via the Asset Management Company of Nigeria (AMCON) all of which resulted in an 8.29% GDP growth and recognition from trading partners (most notably The U.K.) that Nigeria is now the world's 4th fastest growing economy. Let us continue on this trajectory together." GEJ on FB.

The UK Government on Tuesday in London described  Nigeria as the fourth fastest growing economy in the world. Mr Henry Bellingham, UK Parliamentary Under Secretary of State For Africa and Overseas Territories, said this at a two-day investment forum tagged: “Making Nigeria Your Goal."

“Nigeria has averaged growth of  8.9 per cent which is really stunning.
“Nigeria is the world’s fourth fastest growing economy with solid growth in the next five years and beyond ; this is truly remarkable,’’ he said.
Bellingham said  the Nigerian economy  may outpace that of  South Africa in the next 10 years if the current  reform in the banking sector was extended to the power, oil and gas sectors.
He commended  the Lagos Government for good governance, fiscal responsibility and infrastructure development, saying the state was a model.
Mr Aigboje Aig-Imoukhuede, Managing Director of Access Bank PLC,  said the event was an opportunity to consolidate on the economic gains that had characterised trans-border economic relations between the two countries.
Aig-Imoukhuede, whose presentation was entitled, “Nigeria: Your Market,’’ cited  some sectors that had contributed to the real growth of the nation’s GDP in the last five years.
These, he said, include  telecommunications  accounting for 7.5 per cent;  construction 6.4 per cent; food and beverages 3 per cent, agriculture 31.9 per cent; cement 1.3 per cent as well as  oil and gas 25 per cent.
Earlier, Mr  Ben Akabueze, Lagos State Commissioner for Economic Planning and Budget, highlighted some investment opportunities in the state.
He cited the areas of  investment to include power, water  supply, real estate and road transport.
Akabueze said the Lekki Free Zone (LFZ), when fully completed, would give priority to manufacturing, warehousing and provision of  logistics for  industries in the zone.
“The LFZ is turning into a new industrial city as well as a multi-functional special economic zone of  Lagos metropolis,’’ he  added.
The second leg of  the event will continue in Manchester under the same theme.
Participants at the forum were drawn from the organised private sector in Nigeria, the Nigeria High Commission and UK businesses. (NAN)

Source: Vanguard Newspaper

15 comments:

Linda pls look for the story about the 21 years old nigerian boy that married a 52 years old nigerian woman....we need the full gist! cheers

our president is doing a good job.the battle is tough but the lord will surely see u through....

naso said...

UP JONATHAN....I WISH HIM LUCK..NIGERIANS...PLEASE VOTE WISELY...PEACE

naso said...

fashola and goodluck...i respect those 2 guys...and much love and respect to rotimi and every other leader working hard to push our nation forward...we will get there...i know it

Good for Nigeria! and the U.K. is God abi??

HoneyDame said...

I am quite impressed with this sort of news. Atleast it is something different from the usual "Nigeria and scamming" type stories. Let's see where we go from here.

Samantha said...

UK govt ko. Uk govt ni. We no need their analysis. Let them make a special arrangement with the Nigerian Govt to support students instead of making things tougher for them. They only accep s as Commonwealth when it suits them.

One day Nigeria will be so greatly envied that our BORDERS will be heavily manned and we go tighten measures for people to enter our country. If you no get billions to invest and employ our people, not just Niger Delta, Visa application rejected...with BIG THICK INK, REJECTED!!!!!!!Mmmmsssssccchheeewwwww!!!!!!!!I feel for my people. We don gain independence from them still them still dey look down their noses at us......abeg 'morove' this post....

Linda, 1st time u posting something positive about GEJ cos u are always very biased as regard him...some people even think tinubu has paid u cos so many ppl visit ur blog...i love ur blog anyway and always recommend it to all my networks

steezz.com said...

Good job Nigeria but how could we have known this when our legislators have taken it upon themselves to see that 9ja operates one of the most expensive democracies in the world by the amount they allocate to themslves as allowances and salaries.

Adebola said...

Thank God for the positive recognition. I appalled Fashola greatly, am glad due credits was given to him. We say come 2015 Fashola for President!!! Nigerians vote wisely, Fashola, Aregbesola, Fayemi are all working, ACN IS WORKING!!

Adebola said...

Forgot to add Adams Oshiomole is working, ACN is working. Lets vote for young Vibrant men with great intellectual, ACN I endorse you.

Alicia says.... said...

at the first comment. . . . you are the exact type of person i was referring to on the other post. SOMETHING SO POSITIVE ABOUT YOUR COUNTRY, YET YOU WOULD RATHER BE DISCUSSING SOMEONE ELSE'S LIFE/BUSINESS ABOUT WHO IS MARRYING WHO? SMH!
why not leave a comment on this positive post about our dear nation? you are here talking about "gist" ???? go and find your silly gist elsewhere.

This is good, it is coming as a relief after so many bad stories for quiet some time. Thank God we re getting there. Fashola u re truly blessed, and GEJ God will continue to use u to take us to a greater height.
Me

NICH said...

ADEBOLA MAY YOU BE BLESSED.......I WAS THINKING THE SAME THING TOO.......2015 FASHOLA SHOULD BE OUT FOR PRESIDENT AND HIS VICE......NUHU RIBADU OR OKOJO IWUALA.......BUHARI WOULD STILL BE GOOD BUT THIS IS THE OPPORTUNITY TO RAISE NIGERIA OUT OF SHIT

when we say Nigeria, do we mean Lagos? i need clarification