Mania Magazine 1st Edition Cover | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 21 February 2011

Mania Magazine 1st Edition Cover

Oh wow, I love love love it. I was at the official launch yesterday and I badly wanted to buy a copy of the mag... but they were selling it for 5k. I thought about it, thought about it, thought about it...and decided to wait till it comes out in April. It will be 1grand then. Yeah, I know I'm cheap...lol

Mania magazine publisher is photographer, Kelechi Amadi-Obi, while its Editor-in-chief is stylist, Dimeji Alara. Great combination.

I think it's a fabulous cover. You like?

38 comments:

Chilling said...

5,000 naira? That’s £20 where i am. Hell no i won’t even buy Cosmopolitan for that amount. They should have given out complimentary copies free of charge. I can (and i know you can) afford 5,000 naira but i will not buy a magazine for that price. If they wanted donations they should have asked, then you could have even given 10k!!!!

"You like?" Linda which kind of question is that?..... how can i like nakedness....abeg, I LOVE CLOTHES!!!There is nothing here to evaluate whether i like or not.Bring on another picture please...i am waiting!!!!

muero_ebony said...

Lindaaaaaaaaaa stingy babe, money is meant for spending,spend it.lol
yea she is fearless and pretty too.where is she from? as in which tribe?

franni said...

i wish i cud strike a pose like dis wen i'm dis old. goodness!!!

Ifeyinwa said...

Modupe ozolua is fearless. She is a trailblazer. In answer to your question, please she is from Edo State.... :)

Aunty Linda i greet you o...nice cover biko...
is the tattoo real? I gbadun d design abeg!

the cover is just there. blah. i guess they are selling her "sex appeal"???
@muero_ebony, she is an Edo babe.

LOL @ anonymous 11:40am, too funny, how can i like nakedness heheheheheh
@Chilling, i concur

now that it comes to my attention, i don't like what this magazine is promoting. "the thinner the better"???? they should stop trying to pollute our minds with that western standard of beauty. thinner is NOT always better.
mtcheewww!!!

Drajke said...

N5000 is about $30... Even coffee table mags, talk less of Robb report does not cost that much...

It seems the publisher and editor want to see their name on a masthead, and not generate massive sales of their first edition, how else to explain the ridiculous amount?

Tomisin said...

"Lose weight. The thinner the better". really? This is the best they could come up with? wow. Maybe some people need to lose weight for health reasons but saying 'the thinner the better' is just wrong!

@Alicia...thank you very much
It is the most beautiful thing to cover the bones with some flesh, anybody that think otherwise can go and starve herself to death. Western beauty is a NO for me (call me orobo, i dont give a damn)I am sorry this picture is ugly(not hating).

wienna said...

Na wa o. =N=5000 for a magazine? I guess it's not for the 'everyday' Nigerian then.

franni pls how old are u are

trybne said...

what kind of foolishness is this??
""the thinner, the better""?
for real??
before u know it, there'll be anorexic chicks all over the place...

ok...shay they say not to judge a book by its cover..whatever...i wont be buying dis one..i'm put off already..SMH.

hater said...

smh!

courtesy of surgeon's knife!

Jezzzz, dis woman is hawt! @ her age n still looking dis fab n flawless, she's realy advertisng her body enhancement biz, know women that will kill 2 have dis kind of body, i'm 28 n my body doesn't look half as good as her's. Think i'm gonna shed some weight fast!

mimii said...

@ Alicia says......you need to stfu seriously,'thin','pollute our minds'???that didn't even make sense, just trying to start up something...NEXT

modupe looks stunning and @muero_ebony,i hope that your comment was a joke?just becuase linda doesnt want to waste her money on something thatsnot worth it,does not mean she is stingy #getitright

the way naija women pack ridiculous weight actually calls for these kind of message. u see 26 yr olds looking 42, midsection expanding and tighs like wow...stop queezing urself into body magic.

franni said...

sir or lady anonymous,i'm in my mid 20s. still slim but i'v seen miracles childbirth and age can do to a woman's figure.

Thinner is not necessarily a western standard AND many western countries such as the USA, have a HUGE obesity problem that is an underlying cost of health problems. The western diet has a lot of sugar and the portions have gotten much bigger. I believe that one reason Naija women may be packing on the pounds of late is that we are trending towards a high sugar diet and more sedentary life compared to our predecessors. Sugar is not just candy. It includes foods that contain a lot of sugar carbohydrates (as opposed to fiber carbohydrates which is good) such as rice, fufu flour, pasta, bread, soda, juice, cookies, cake, etc. The important thing is for one to reduce their intake of sugar carbohydrates by making better food choices. For example, instead of soda choose water. Instead of rice, choose beans especially black beans which is low in sugar carbohydrates.

Femiluv said...

Nice cover!!

she's fearless n she looks fab.i almost dint notice. the "thinner d better". agreed in naija a lot of pple r really jiggly, carrying dangerous belly fat all over d place. but wot happened 2 lose weight n get in shape" or somethin. the thinner is not always d better. eg rudine howard. i have 2 stay its a lil misleading. dat said.. i'm still buyin sha. dimeji is a fashion monster n kelechi amadi obi is a genius.

skankmypeaceofmind said...

nice cover but it definitely doesn't have the wow factor.
about the price, they are not serious to make money yet

which idiots are commenting here? mimii? anyway...
first of all, being thin may not only be a western thing but WE ALL KNOW Nigerians and copy copy of everything the west does. FACT! was it not our grandparent's generation where the bigger you are the more valued you were? when did this "thinner the better" aka "thin craze" start if not from copying oyinbo? please don't get me started. YES women should not be obese and everyone should be in shape, but does that call for "THE THINNER THE BETTER??" thinner is NOT always better. we should just stop this madness before anorexia eats deep into our youth.
@ anonymous 7:20 PM...so does that then mean we should be indirectly promoting anorexia? its bad enough that we Nigerians/Africans also copy copy the western fashion scene that has 5'10'' size zero women strutting on the catwalks and modeling in the highest of high fashion magazines.

she is beautiful, nonetheless. but lets not get carried away here.

muero_ebony said...

Mimii abeg oh, put me down i no wear drowse oh, i was only joking, i think d mag is rather expensive even for a thousand naira.

You for sow seed into kelechi life naaa

ugo said...

"lose weight" the thinner the better"... this mindset has to change. what are we teaching young girls about their bodies? thinner isn't always better. this is the mindset that leads to eating disorders and low self-esteem. they can say something like "be healthy" or "be fit", but to blatantly say "the thinner the better", that's just wrong and it breaks my heart that people have this mindset. be a better person inside, and the better you are. your external is only ephemeral.

Blog witch! said...

just days ago people made comments about claudia the girl that died from enhancement complications.now people are here praising Modupe. Nigerians are indeed hypocrites! now i can belive the gist that she pimps for big boys.

Modupe Ozolua has never hidden her fake boobs has she? She was the first woman to bring fake boob surgeons to Nigeria. Good record?

Thelma Chidi said...

wow she looks fab..just lyk her western counterparts. now that this mag is out majority of those screamin that they wont buy will be same hypocrites that will purchase countless copies.

fanin ok so ur first comment is ok.

i thougt u are in ur mid thirties

fanin why i asked 4 ur age u sound, like Dupe is so old

Grace Sabians said...

Were they selling the magazine for 5K at the event? Because the cover states 1k. How old is the model? She looks to be about 38 in the face, anyway she looks great. The shot was tastefully done even if it is not entirely original or innovative.

The thinner is better argument shall never be won, everyone take care of yourself whether you are big or thin. You have only one life, live it as you see fit but hopefully you will lean towards a fitter, healthier life style.

the thinner the healthier.....

thinner is not always healthier either. it should be "the healthier the better"
abeg.

i dont know how old u guys think modupe is, she is 36 and mum @ 56 looks younger, its not about her age, she has a very good body, that u cant take away from her.

anonymous@10:03am
she is 38, we were classmates