Senate Moves To Penalise Disrespect Of The National Anthem | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 27 November 2010

Senate Moves To Penalise Disrespect Of The National Anthem

Strolling while the Nigeria’s National Anthem is being recited may soon be punishable by law, as the Senate on Thursday passed its bill through second reading.

The advancement of the bill is a significant step in standardising its rendition as well as protecting the National Anthem, which most of the senators agree is currently exposed to risk of annihilation.

The bill is sponsored by Osita Izunaso PDP from Imo state who also sponsored the bill to mandate doctors to treat
accident victims without police reports. (I totally support this bill)

“Our National Anthem if not backed by law, might be rightly jettisoned into the historical dustbin if any President feels he does not like it,’’ Mr. Izunaso said.

The bill seeks, among other things, to give a legal framework to the National Anthem and gives protection to it against unwarranted tampering and abuse.The bill is to make the playing of the Nigerian Anthem a revered, respectful and solemn occasion and prescribes penalties for anyone who deliberately brings contempt and ridicule to the act.

He lamented that the national anthem which “encapsulates our collective pride and patriotism, is not backed up with any legal instrument.”

Source: 234next

7 comments:

Domkatbali said...

..Den @Linda Ikeji why dis pikture..wetin be Mikel Obi's crime wit de ''Senate Move To Penalise Disrespect OF 9ja N.A''..eehhh?

9jaLife said...

Lol. I guess Naija will now be a country where everyone plays musical statues all day, every day.

So I can go into a crowded hall with a boombox, play a rendition of the National Anthem and everyone has to drop what they're doing and stand still till it's done?

They need to get THOOHWTBS

9jaLife said...

Lol. I guess Naija will now be a country where everyone plays musical statues all day, every day.

So I can go into a crowded hall with a boombox, play a rendition of the National Anthem and everyone has to drop what they're doing and stand still till it's done?

They need to get THOOHWTBS

Wale Olayanju said...

Na that one we dey talk? Have they passed FOI bill? Misplacement of priority!

What a stupid law. Naija politicians need to do some actual work that benefits the people instead of passing laws that make zero sense. For all the money they steal, I mean earn, this is the best they can do. Give me a break.

How many dem fit arrest?...mschew

A good question 9JALIFE....they leave important matters & say ANYTHING that comes into their head out of IDLENESS!

Is it a hungry man they expect to be loyal to a country that don't know of his existence

They have a herculean task ahead of them then...becox many would begin to admit they are DEAF! TRUST 9JAS n-a-h! OKADA ARE STILL PLYING HIGHWAYS UPON THE BAN ON THEM!. am really *%?&)@%&***!!!!!

skankmypeaceofmind said...

misplaced priorities. that's all i can say