Lagos Lawmakers Vote N348m For Cars, Each Member Gets N8.7 Million | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 25 November 2010

Lagos Lawmakers Vote N348m For Cars, Each Member Gets N8.7 Million

Lawmakers of the Lagos State House of Assembly have approved N348 million for the  purchase of cars for themselves.

They also approved the sum of N735 million for the purchase of bullet proof vehicles  for the state’s crime fighting outfit, Rapid Response Squad, RRS.

The request for the approval of the said sum came from the State Ministry of Budget and Economic Planning. The special expenditure is for the procurement of vehicles for members and principal officers of the House. - PM News

14 comments:

Hmmmm......na wa ooooooNigeria politicians will neva seize to amuse mi........

Domkatbali said...

De Souls dat chop-eth de masses moni in Naija shall die..die...die..diiieeee!

imagine the nonsense and for fashola to pay doctors is a big issue, na wa o.

look at how quickly it was approved for these looters to get the money yet they couldn't pay doctors? and lives were lost? What a joke Nigeria is! To say that am disappointed is an understatement!

9jaLife said...

Elections are in April. What is the point of getting new cars when no one knows who will be returning?

Secondly, why do they need individual cars? Can't LASG have a fleet of vehicles they can use when they go on official assignment?

These are legislators not essential services personnel...

henryik2009 said...

Although i am not trying to justify the doctors' strike,this puts the confrontation in perspective.But of course,this sort of insouciance is par for the course.How else would you define self-aggrandizement?
*Please check out my blog:http://henryik2009.wordpress.com.
*Please leave a comment.

This is terrible. I am surprised that fashola went ahead with this nonsense!!!. They can not even pay doctors a good salary and they are collecting 8.7m naira each.

They are not thinking of repairing the bad roads, providing good heatlhcare and they are talking about buying new cars. Very shamefull!!!!!! Infact disgusting

Imagine. and they were complaining about paying s doctors. Mschewww. nonsense

skankmypeaceofmind said...

a revolution is the only solution to our problems. the day we stand up and shake up the government the day we get the treatment we want and need and the day these servants know that they are servants.

just being honest said...

i totally agree with skankmypeace,what we urgently need is a revolution,that is our only solution..Nigerians are being taken for a ride by these criminals..pleeeease lets join hands and fight them ooo!!ENOUGH IS ENOUGH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

8.7 mil/ house member, that is about $60k, yet people are dying in Lagos because there is no cath lab for MI. No hemodialysis center for end stage renal patients. The Ayinke house that I visited last Nov. was a shame. pple died of minor causes. For every one of you that put a mile on those cars, God will increase the sorrow in your households by the miles. For every Lagosian that died of minor causes, God will bless you with multitudes of pain in your hearts

Its a shame,a big 1 for dat matter!doctors were on strike for months n notin was done,do they know how many lives were lost durnin those months?then Asuu strike again putting d lives and future of d next generation on hold maybe because majority of them are not University Graduates!I know by God's Grace they will be punished 1 by 1 insha Allah!

MSCHEWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWW!

WASTEFUL NINCOMPOOPS!....

audi automobile said...

Hope I could buy same car that the law-marks brought themselves, how I wish.