What do you guys think of Willow Smith's 'Whip My Hair' video? | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 21 October 2010

What do you guys think of Willow Smith's 'Whip My Hair' video?

13 comments:

Tee said...

I love the video & song...I think it's age appropriate. I do thinks she's a little too young to be pimped out like this but i guess she has to earn her keep.

http://that1960chick.com

The video is tight, she has a nice voice but i dnt think i want my kid trying to dress/copy her and whipping her hair back and forth. Kids like Willow grow up with discovering what it is to have innocence in childhood b'cos they r exposed to all sorts of adult views and perceptions. They r also treated like demi gods bcos their parents r celebs, so they grow up not having a real sense of taking responsibility for their actions.
I love her parents as entertainers but as parents they still have work to do..... bcos allowing a child to assume an identity of expressing herself through wearing semi Gothic attire this soon in her life, is a recipe for disaster. I pray thou that she grows up to be grounded and well behaved. It will be sad to see her at 18 with tattoos of hellish creatures, piercings, singing satanic praise songs.... bcos it looks like that is the path is taking.
Lady H

NINA said...

these ppl are really out of control..they talk from both sides of their mouth claiming they are strict with their children..what is this craziness about?? no amt of money and fame is enough for me to do this to my child...cmon now??? i am actually appalled...will and his wife have enough money to keep their kids comfortable and let them grow up wholesome..the next thing will be drugs she has already started the alternative lifestyle...i literally want to throw up!!!

Chai see smallie o! Anyway, all I can say is that u can clearly see the direction that this world is taking, if this can be labelled 'cute" Lady H I agree with u.

CC said...

This girl is less than 10 right? So what's with all the hip swinging and booty popping? ... Even the content of the lyrics, mba nu i no gree

Nigerian Film and TV Addict said...

takes me back to when i was 9 yrs old...running around the playground with sand stuck in my hair...and whipin my hair back and forth...i mean c'mon why...will and jada r rich and they shud let their kids be like their elder brother who has led a normal life...going to a real school..not home-schooled like willow and her brother...they're asking for trouble...many hollywood celebrities always let their kids stay away from the celebrity culture but i am just disappointed with the smith's...thought they were intelligent...

Chi-squared said...

Two words....child pimping.

Kids aren't 13 yet and they're already being exposed like this? Didn't they see what happened to MJ, Lindsay Lohan and the 'once upon a child'stars????

takes u back to when u were 9 running around the play grownd????? u see! thats why u nigerians are daft and clueless when at this age you are running up n down crying for grandnut and biscuit. there is absolutely nothing wrong with this video and this young child is doing what she loves and wants to do okay? doesnt mean a good parent wont watch over her child. pls have u seen her interviews? and see how well spoken she is? and very intelligent? i love willow and this video is cute and she can whip her hair back n forth as long as she is having fun and enjoy it! its fun! :-D

Eiyah...

Looks to me like another disaster in the making. No be Jay-Z and im people? They are indeed catching them young these days. SMH.

Nigerian Film and TV Addict said...

@anon 3.40..nigerians r daft and stupid cuz "i'm running around with sand in my hair"...excuse me maybe u didn't have a playground with any sand...how can u say nigerians r stupid...gawd please stop that shit!

LADY H IS CLEARLY DELUDED!!! How she got satanic goth from this video is beyond me. It was a video full of happy kids, dancing with colour and having fun.....how does that translate to a hellish creatures, adult perspectives and satanic praises???
There is nothing wrong with nurturing a childs creativity thats how people grow up to be happy, healthy well rounded adults. Stiffeled kids end up misreble and usually find more sinister to vent their frustration. I love the song and video and i think willow will be just fine
PS: At 9yrs old Beyonce was already shaking her ass in crop tops and booty short in copetitions all over america her group was called girl time. GOOGLE IT!!!

Ade_Cool said...

@Anon..u said
PS: At 9yrs old Beyonce was already shaking her ass in crop tops and booty short in copetitions all over america her group was called girl time...

I was sort of feeling the alternative perspective..but you so wrong big difference Beyonce and those girls struggled for years trying to cut a break and only really made it at 16-17 yrs..Willow on the hand has been instant fame(partly cos of her folks)..all sorts of offers that Beyonce\Destiny's Child could only dream of after their 2nd-3rd Album.

A normal 9yr old should be free to express themselves..doing and saying random things..not being adapt and skilled at giving interviews...ALREADY!!
Just waiting to see who would be first to use the word "Haterz"

Ade cool Re:
I think my qoute was taken out of context. It was not ment to draw parallels between their degrees of fame, but mearly to suggest that willows video content was relatively innocent by comparison.
Futher more while it is true that destinys child gained global recognision when beyonce was 16, At age 7 she performed as part of another girl group on a show called STAR SEARCH which is the equivilent of x factor or pop idol. They were singing about boys in booty shorts, cop tops and full make up. Now i'm not saying they where as famouse as willow is now but they certinly gained enough fans and notarity to record an album and tour across the country keeping in mined there was no internet at the time. LIKE I SAID GOOGLE IT!