Tyler Perry Opens up About Sexual Abuse | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 21 October 2010

Tyler Perry Opens up About Sexual Abuse

Tyler Perry tells Oprah his first sexual experience was oral sex from a man he knew from church who used scripture to justify his actions.

Tyler says he suffered severe sexual abuse at the hands of four different adults.

Tyler says he was 5 or 6 years old the first time he was molested. While building a birdhouse with an adult male neighbor, the man put his hands in Tyler's pants, he says. "I'm thinking, 'What is this?'" Tyler says. "And I felt my body betraying me, because I felt an erection at that age."

Tyler says he later endured sexual molestation at the hands of a male nurse and a man he knew from church. "[The man from church] used God and the Bible against me to justify a lot of the things that were going on. It was so horrible," Tyler says. "And that was my first sexual experience, with this man performing oral sex on me as a boy."

When Tyler was just 10 years old, he says he was also molested by a friend's mother. Tyler says he was over at his friend's house while the mother was arguing with her boyfriend in another room. Then, she suddenly appeared in front of him, wearing lingerie.

Tyler says she put her son in the bathroom to take a bath and told Tyler to go home. But, when he tried to open the door, it was locked.

Tyler: I hear the click, click, click of the door. I couldn't unlock it. She lays on the sofa. I didn't know she was wearing lingerie at the time. I said: "I have to go. It's getting dark."

Oprah: You're 10.

Tyler: I'm 10. And she says, "You want to go home?" She lights a cigarette. She takes the key. She said, "Here's the key." I come over to get it, and she puts it inside of herself and she tells me to get it. So I—I get the key, but I feel my body betraying me again because I felt an erection. This is so disgusting, you know, what these people did to this little boy.
Oprah: Yes.

Tyler: She pulled me on top of her. So my first sexual experience was with a woman, that was it.

You can read the rest on the Oprah site

15 comments:

ChiChiLuv said...

he's mentioned this in bits and pieces sprinkled through his interviews over the years. his story can be a blessing to someone's life out there, he was physically/verbally/emotionally abused, homeless living in his car and now he owns his own movie studio. what the devil meant for evil, God has turned around for Tyler's benefit and God's ultimate glory.

Is this his way of indirectly coming out of the closet?

Gosh, can these grown men stop molesting little boys and use God to cover up. I tell you, God is no joke!!!

Nigerian Film and TV Addict said...

this is disturbing

skankmypeaceofmind said...

finally he is out of the closet. it's remaining the queen of idiocracy and that i mean oprah.......we all know she likes women so she should come out too.

on a more serious note; ABUSE OF ANY KIND IS BAD, BE IT PHYSICAL, MENTAL, SEXUAL OR OTHERWISE SHOULD BE REPORTED AND PERPETRATORS SHOULD SUFFER THE CONSEQUENCES. IF YOU DON'T, YOU ARE AS BAD AS THE PERPETRATOR.
ABUSE CAN BE VERY DE-STABLING TO SUFFERER. PARENTS SHOULD PROTECT THEIR CHILDREN AND TEACH THEM HOW NOT TO BE PERPETRATORS AND HOW TO PROTECT THEMSELVES FROM ABUSE IN THE FUTURE.

you all are so demented.He did not say he was homosexual.

This young man talks about being molested as a child and some of you are equating that to "coming out of the closet". You people are sick!

He was referring to what he experienced as a child......I think people should take their time to read properly.

Thank you o(anonymous: 12:57, 9:25 & 9:52), here i was tearing up reading the entire story and seeing a grown (successful) man crying on National TV because of what some untrusted adults subjected him to as an innocent child, and some people here (very typical though) are are making stupid comments about him 'coming out of the closet'........ ignorance sha! Do you even read the whole story before commenting at all?

Prism of an Immigrant said...

Why do straight people always think that gay people MUST come out of the closet? Whatever anyone choses to do in private is between themselves and God. They are not accountable to us!!! Why don't we make LIARS, GOSSIPERS, THIEVES, to come out to us and confess?

http://lookingglassofanimmigrant.blogspot.com/

Mee said...

I know reading comprehension was and hopefully still is part of most primary schools curriculum. How people can read "I was molested" and turn it to "I am gay" is beyond me.

chichiluv said...

skankmypeaceofmind: an admittance of having been abuse does not a homosexual make. the man is still firmly IN the closet and will most likely NEVER come out of that closet. i don't think that even IF he were in the closet, he'd have admit it with his mouth because i think most folk already kinda sorta assume he is gay anyway, like Queen Latifah, she never said "i'm gay" but she's never said she ain't either, she never goes to awards with a male date ala tyler perry so when folks saw her with a woman, nobody was really surprised.

Most of you have gone nuts... Oprah likes girls.. Tyler is coming out of the closet.. Maybe you all need to go back to school for some English classes! Mschewwwwww!

ChiChiLuv said...

anonymous on 3.53 before you start calling other people "nuts" and telling them to go back to school, might you not want to take the same advice? You either can't read and/or are blind since you obviously can't read either and this no be abuse, just a simple deduction from your response relative to Linda's blog post.

where where o where did this man say "i am gay!?" where? the man said he was sexually molested, full stop, no comma or semi colon!OR are you telling us that if a person is molested by a person of the same sex that automatically makes them gay? is that your arm chair, non degree psychoanalysis?

additionally, do you have proof that oprah likes girls? is she dating your mom? or sister? or niece? Or is it that your tongue is just itching to wag?

Mtchewwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww

JUST BEING ME said...

THIS IS SO DISTURBING!...A PASTOR?, & A MATURED WOMAN?..GOSH!

skankmypeaceofmind is the original queen of idiocracy