N6 billion found by EFCC in the account of a former commissioner belongs to Niger state government – Gov. Bello says | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 22 April 2017

N6 billion found by EFCC in the account of a former commissioner belongs to Niger state government – Gov. Bello says

Niger state governor, Abubakar Bello, says the N6 bn found in various accounts operated by a former Commissioner of Local Government in the state and ex PDP governorship candidate of the state, Kantigi Liman, belongs to the state government.

On April 11th, EFCC disclosed it had found N4 billion in two company accounts linked to Liman and another N2 billion was yesterday found in a UBA account linked to Liman.

In an interview with state house correspondents yesterday, Bello said the money belongs to the state government. According to him, the recovered funds is believed to have been diverted by the suspect through inflated hajj subsidies offered by the state government to pilgrims when he served as the Chairman of the Niger State Pilgrims' Agency.
"I'm aware that the EFCC is investigating the ecological funds. At the inception of this administration, we realised that the ecological funds disappeared. I did not have any evidence that it was utilised to address any ecological issues and we are faced with major ecological problems especially in Mokwa, Agaie, Bida, part of Minna, Rafin Gora and Mariga. We are doing our best to address the ecological problems. We need funds and unfortunately the N2 billion that was given to the state was not judiciously used to address the ecological challenges. If it had been used properly maybe our burden might have been reduced by now, but we are having sleepless nights over ecological issues and we are still approaching the Federal Government to assist us."he said

18 comments:

Should the money be in those accounts?

Good one

uniquechic said...

keep dem coming..d wayis ds monies r being mentioned like N5..6billion..r u buying a country...greed upon greed

N6 billion for the account *singing in Davido's voice

Looters.. they will loot Nigeria out of world map. Very corrupt government.

Gosh, this country is a joke!

Long live LIB

sholetoga said...

Nigeria is becoming a sorry case. So people can't work and save their earnings to accumulate again........Buhari should not destroy people because of his poverty mentality.........what rubbish is that. So if you have large savings then it must have been stolen. Seriously..........something is off.......

Is d state money ment to be taking people to Hajj? Buhari is high time all these Jaguns stopped or else corruption will continue in the name of religion duties.

Chop Chop said...

Armed robbers.

Why don't we just sell Nigeria for Ghana?

repositioning for relooting

We don tire to hear monies found yet the economy no improve. Abeg tell us smtn else people are still starving n hungry.

NDI OSHI

NDI OSHI indeed!

Why is Davido Still Walking Around Scott Free when he Has Much More? #30 Billion for the Account oh!
No be the ones he may have hidden in an ikoyi apartment

servant of God said...

The governor should have investigated, but he didn't because he didn't want to disclose a thief. Now that EFCC had discovered and disclosed he wants to claim the money, we are not stupid it should be utilise by federal government to improve life.

Okay..

Sholetoga can you read?