LGBTQ, transgender issues should be taught in nursery school, UK teachers' union says | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 22 April 2017

LGBTQ, transgender issues should be taught in nursery school, UK teachers' union says

A British teachers' union wants to teach children as young as 2 years old about transgender and LGBTQ issues, but conservatives and faith-based organizations have made their disapproval known and have said such a move is an infringement on parental rights. The British National Union of Teachers (NUT) called on members this week at their annual conference in Wales to promote LGBTQ issues to children. starting as early as nursery school.

NUT also urged ministers to make proposed sex and relationship education “inclusive” of lesbian, gay, and bisexual issues.
“It is far better that children are provided with accurate information in the classroom rather than inaccurate information in the playground,” a NUT booklet on advice for teachers about LGBTQ equality and transgender issues said.
The union said there is a “lack of policies” that focus on promoting transgender and LGBTQ issues within schools, which could have a negative impact on the well-being of students and teachers who identify in those groups.

NUT Secretary Kevin Courtney said in a statement:
"It is important for a modern forward-thinking society to understand and embrace differences within our communities”. “Schools are ideally placed to do this."
NUT’s advocacy focuses on a bill, expected to soon become law, that requires primary- and secondary-aged school children be given “age-appropriate” sex and relationship education. The teachers’ union wants transgender and LGBTQ issues to be made part of the soon-to-be mandated sex education curricula.
“The Government’s proposal on plans to make Sex and Relationships Education (SRE) compulsory in all secondary schools, and to consult about what support schools need, is a positive one,” Courtney said in a statement. 
“There is a consensus within the profession that SRE should be statutory at all key stages because of the benefits for children and young people — the NUT has been at the heart of the campaign to achieve the proper status for this vital subject.” 
However, NUT’s view on sex education to promote LGBTQ issues to children was promptly condemned by Christian Concern, a conservative U.K. organization. The organization devoted a page on its website:
“Education can shape a generation. Currently there is pressure on schools from lobby groups and some MPs to promote homosexuality and impose inappropriate sex education on younger children. There are also attempts to remove the freedom that parents currently have to withdraw their children from sex education. At Christian Concern we believe that ultimate responsibility for educating children lies with the parents, not the State. 
We campaign for parental freedoms and education that reflects Biblical values.” 
Andrea Williams, chief executive of Christian Concern, said that teaching sex and relationship education to young children would be “devastating” and risks “robbing them of their innocence.”
“Sexuality is not an issue for toddlers,” Williams said.

Laura Perins, co-editor of the Conservative Woman website, also criticized the initiative in a released statement stating:
“The more paper tigers we create the more confused our children will become. When will common sense prevail?”. “It seems nothing is off-limits for adult bullies who want to use young children as a tool in their misguided agenda”.

Source: FNC World

16 comments:

This is it! It's over

This is so sickening. I feel like puking..

As early as 2?

Gbam.we all love kids for there innocence.what is wrong with these gay ass people must everyone accept u people?the only option is to home school ur kids!

optimisticlady said...

Ah! Finally, they've been 'accepted'by their people.
It's no longer enough.
They now want to force themselves on babies in order to distort the new generation.

This oyibo people are too dearing God should take action at once. What sort of wickedness is this one

Him craze seriously said.

ok

The world has ended. Rapture will soon take place.

Long live LIB

Shout Hallelujah Linda! Isn't this your prayer point, to make homosexuality acceptable so that you can marry your lesbian partner?

Nothing is a taboo anymore, yet you still talk of child abuse. I think the devil now resides in Britain

Anonymous 9.14, if the earliest generations tolerated such folly in their world, your father and many lousy perverts forcing such evil down the throats of innocent children wont be on this planet

I don't think is a bad suggestion! Am not supporting LGBT but I believe that educating kids about them will reduce the rate of homophobic people which is the main causes of most of the attacks and massive killings of both LGBT people and none LGBT people.

God hav mercy.I was thinking of relocating to UK with my 3 years daughter. I am having a rethink now

uniquechic said...

educating kids is making dem aware its acceptable for dem to choose to be any sex dey wish to be and not what dey are born to be.dey shd be aware wen dey r mature enough..God is patient shaand!!!!.
I will beat d evil spirit outta any child of mine..iranu ati oshi..dey shd just stick to UK