Sanusi who centered his speech majorly on the sociocultural behavior of Northern Nigerians, said women and children are meant to be catered for and not beaten up by men.
He stressed that Malaysia which is a Muslim country, respects the rights of women so much that a policy was enacted where women who are divorced are entitled to 50% of the wealth their husband's accumulate while they were married.
"We need to understand the roots of the problem of northern Nigeria. Burning books, it happened in Kano. What is the crime of those books? They were writing about love and love apparently is supposed to be a bad word. In a society where you don’t love your women and you don’t love your children, you allow them to beg, you beat up your women, why should anyone talk about love?
We have adopted an interpretation of our culture and our religion that is rooted in the 13th century mindset that refuses to recognise that the rest of the Muslim world has moved on. Today in Malaysia, you wake up and divorce your wife; that is fine. But you give her 50 per cent of all the wealth you acquired since you married her. It is a Muslim country.
In Nigeria, you wake up after 20 years of marriage, you say to your wife, ‘I divorce you’, and that’s it. Other Muslim nations have pushed forward girl-child education. They’ve pushed forward science and technology. They have pushed forward the arts. We have this myth in northern Nigeria, where we try to create an Islamic society that never existed. We are fighting culture, we are fighting civilisation.
We must wage an intellectual war, because Islam is not univocal. There are many voices, there are many interpretations, there are many viewpoints, and we have for too long allow the ascendancy of the most conservative viewpoints. The consequences of that are that there are certain social problems.” he said

38 comments:
I WISH YOUR BACKWARD PEOPLE WILL LISTEN TO YOU...
THEY ARE REALLY FIGHTING CIVILIZATION
wowu
Ask no further why Nigerians divorce anyhow.
The lack of money is the root of all evil
(Argue with your ancestors)
If it is like that, then women would look for rich men to marry and then do things that would make them divorce them... wala - collect 1/2 of their wealth - it is business. get a bigger penis here
Please tell them, cos women are treated as slaves in nigeria.
Alot of women are suffering and smiling in their marriages.
So forward thinking emir
This man is good in the brain.he is not blinded by religion
Hmmm, the truth is bitter, especially coming from an all rounder. Please tell them.
This man is well read,
Lucky is the woman who calls you Lord and husband and most lucky are the seed of ur Union.
You have spoken what others dread to say and u have refused to keep silent and turn a blind eye.
May Allah bless you till forever comes.
If u educate a man - u educate just one man... But if u educate a woman, u educate a nation.
Nigeria have as to stop fighting itself hence we continue to be our own Enemy...
This man is well read,
Lucky is the woman who calls you Lord and husband and most lucky are the seed of ur Union.
You have spoken what others dread to say and u have refused to keep silent and turn a blind eye.
May Allah bless you till forever comes.
If u educate a man - u educate just one man... But if u educate a woman, u educate a nation.
Nigeria have as to stop fighting itself hence we continue to be our own Enemy...
Hmm the truth is usually bitter, but it must be told anyway. This is sweet to hear, especially, coming from an all rounder like Emir Sanusi a trado - socio - religious elite i must say.
what do you expect.... this is Africa... will you do the same
God one Sir!
Worse case is the north oga emir... dee
If such law is replicated in Nigeria, some women will willingly divorce their husbands just to get 50% of his wealth.
HRM, what is ur takes in educating Northerners and ur effort towards Job Creations in Northern region?
Well said, I hope d Muslim will learn from it
Wow..lovely speech.
Sanusi.....abeg help me tell them
Well, we are where we are because of the choices we make, it even affects those around us, the immediate community and the country in the end. Nigeria is clutched down by retrogressives.
❤️😇👍👏🏾😀✌️
At least we could pardon him for fucking a 16yrs old girl. Finanlly come to his senses.
I'm beginning to love this man so so much.respect to you your highness
Pls help the Nigerian Muslims out of this gross darkness that covers then
Charity, they say begins from home, oga emir, enact this Malaysian law in kano, where your words is final, than others will follow suit.
hmmmm north no like truth, another col. Umar, men who speak d truth
Women needs love and care, except adulterous woman, I mean a wife who indulges in extra marital affairs. The Bible condemns such woman.
And your wife divorce you and give u what?in nigeria women divorce their husband..
Another lovely one from him.
You just lied again
Well done sir
Well said sir. It's in Nigeria that most women are seen as just domestic helps/bed mates and are humiliated daily by the husband's by the way they are treated making the woman doubt her self worth sometime Same time she is expected to keep mute and not involve a third party.Emir,if this is enshrined as a law in Nigeria,it will really go a long way in restoring the dignity of women in this country and give them a sense of security and also help shape the attitude of most men towards their wives.
Well said sir. It's in Nigeria that most men see their wives as just domestic help and bed mate.This makes the woman to sometimes doubt her self worth. Even when she is abused,she is expected to keep mute and not involve third party. Emir,if this is passed as a law in this country,it will go a long way in shaping the attitude of most men towards their wives and also give the women some sense of security.Worst of it all is that the woman supports the man financially out of love and helps establish him and at the end she is divorced and has nothing to fall back to cos she was busy building a future which never came to be for her.W women must be protected cos they deserve all the protection they can get.
Big don she doesn't need to give u anything cause they usually leave the house for husbands, she is not chasing u, she is the one to suffer the stigma of being 'second hand product' she is the one that spoilt her body having the amount of kids u wished for, u can leave her and marry a 16 year old even if u are 90, as they say men never age, s is the one who has wasted years and aged with u and has basically become worthless. So s has already lost a whole lot and u lose nothing whether she divorces u or not, what is wealth compared to youthfulness?
I swear this man is so civilized he doesn't even sound like the average Nigerian muslim
looks like there is hope afterall