Aftermath of US air strikes in Syria: Russia suspends agreement that prevents direct confrontation with American forces | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 7 April 2017

Aftermath of US air strikes in Syria: Russia suspends agreement that prevents direct confrontation with American forces

On Thursday night/Friday morning, in response to Syrian government killing hundreds of civilians this week using chemicals, dozens of cruise missiles were fired from two American warships stationed in the Mediterranean Sea towards Shayrat airbase in the province of Homs,Syria, killing at least six of Bashar al-Assad’s troops and destroying planes, helicopters, ammunition stores and buildings.
Now, in response to what Russia has termed 'unlawful', the Russian government has announced that henceforth it has suspended the "deconfliction line" agreement signed in 2015 that prevents direct conflict/confrontation between Russian and American forces on air.

The development, is not a good sign for both countries, because under the agreement, signed after Russia launched an air campaign in Syria in September 2015, a Russian fighter jet couldn't clash with an American fighter jet  as both Russia and the US had exchanged information about their flights to avoid incidents on air.
But as it stands now, a Russian jet could clash with an American jet in the ever busy Syrian airspace- leading to a possible war.

Following Donald Trump's much praised attacks on the Syrian military base, Russia has not only criticized the U.S for disobeying International law, but has also said they will need a very good explanation from the U.S or else the Russia-U.S relationship will deteriorate further.

Russian President Vladimir Putin, a staunch ally of Syrian President Bashar al-Assad, condemned the US strikes.

A statement from the Russian Foreign Ministry read:
 "The very presence of US troops and other countries on the territory of Syria, without the consent of the Government or the decision of the UN Security Council is a gross, obvious and unwarranted violation of international law.
"If before it was due to the task of combating terrorism, now there is a clear act of aggression against a sovereign Syria. US Actions taken today further destroy the Russian-American relations." 
 Russian Foreign Minister Sergey Lavrov said;
'Moscow demands an explanation from the US over the air strikes,The attack is an act of aggression with an invented pretext. We hope the provocation would not lead to irreparable damage to our ties ''
The U.S attack missiles targeted "aircraft, hardened aircraft shelters, petroleum and logistical storage, ammunition supply bunkers, air defense systems, and radars," according to the Pentagon news release.

More to follow.....

33 comments:

Peter said...

This is the time for us to know the Russia military is actually in shambles and Putin is just a loud mouth.
Here is how to get a big penis

Putin, you know what the score will be if you try Trump.

I smell a war coming

Russia still a small nation both economically and militarily....their nuclear arsenal sef is like ML350 to G63AMG in comparison to US...Dem think say na Mr Nice muslim guy aka Barrack" Hussein" Obama dem still dey deal with...Initial awoja from Russia..I say drop more shit on em ......Time to show who the world's real # 1 muscle/bully is....

*Linda Future Hubby*

Prince lexton said...

Approximately $177M for weapons of war. It shall be beaten into ploughshares and farming tools. What a waste for humanity

Hrm paul said...

Putin should shut d fuck up ignorant demonic bastard thank God dat the friendship with trump is over. Putin is a heartless bastard.He attacks America he gets war UK,France Japan South Korea Jordan Saudi all will back America against him idiot if he wants war,then war its gonna be.

Hrm paul said...

Putin should shut d fuck up ignorant demonic bastard thank God dat the friendship with trump is over. Putin is a heartless bastard.He attacks America he gets war UK,France Japan South Korea Jordan Saudi all will back America against him idiot if he wants war,then war its gonna be.

Hrm paul said...

Ifeoma1010 said...

This is serious stuff....something big is coming in the world very soon, very very soon. Everybody get ready.

Do you know Nigeria is currently experiencing lethal meningitis outbreak in 16 states of the country? Learn about this latest outbreak and how to protect yourself and your loved ones

Boss said...

Na them sabi. Who US and Russia epp

Them won start full blown war

Third world war building up... USA goin down from d world power sit...as some asian, russia and arab nations will soon come togeda to dethrone dem... Bible coming to pass.... Rapture around d corner.

hmmm trump getting DUMBER by the day!

Ghenghen.. ngwanu osetigo.. maybe the second coming is near. Let's be prepared to meet our saviour.. #Fulfillment of endtime prophesy..

HMMMMM

Shut up...anonymous rapture

America trying to gain back her fear factor, I really think it lost a bit of that under obama. I hope this does not lead to another world war... hopefully not!

me i smell blood, please help them LORD.

Chop Chop said...

We could use those weapons in Sabisa forest.

Hot Vibes Media said...

Used chemical weapon to kill people and children,and bomb hospitals that the same victims are receiving treatment!
Russians!
US informed Russia about the strike,that's why they didn't fall victim,Russia has the ability to shoot down those tomahawks but instead they avoided direct confrontation with US,after running away,when morning reach una com dey blow grammar lol
Putin so after helping the person you thought would be your puppet to win by hacking,he has decided to stunt on you,am just gonna sit and watch this drama unfold.

Naija Viral News Site

This people should take there time ooo.person never harmmer enjoy like others them wan start war .tah serious fasting for peace

Trump d action man, Putin wan die ni?. @vivian reginalds, ur father is d dumbest in dis scenario 4 not giving a dumb idiot like u a proper home training. Everyday a retard like u would be saying shit. U call mr Trump dumb, but what he has achieved in life, ur father can not in 20 lifetimes. So shut d fuck up, u zombie.

280 TBC for 196k. call or whatsapp- 07069487300.

Ignorant anonymous u be indeed... take it or leave it, rapture and third world war are the next major event on the agenda as the Bible explains it...

Pathetic how gullible peeps are being controlled by Western Hypocrisy n blatant propaganda.
There is no way Assad could have deployed chemical weapon cos he is already winning the war n he will be at a disadvantaged point Internationally. My honest advice is for ya'all weak minds to objectively research on the 'Syrian War'

"The Rabbit Hole is Deeper than u Know" - Morpheus in Matrix.

Pathetic how gullible peeps are being controlled by Western Hypocrisy n blatant propaganda.
There is no way Assad Would have deployed chemical weapon cos he is already winning the war n he will be at a disadvantaged point Internationally. My honest advice is for ya'all weak minds to objectively research on the 'Syrian War'

"The Rabbit Hole is Deeper than u Know" - Morpheus in Matrix.

Nice 1

Lmaooo...you really think so ..you really think Russia military is shit compared to US Abi...you need to go enlighten yourself more about Russia military and their weapons. As at now ooo.. if. A war should start between the two countries I only see one winner and that is Russia.

Kariss_m said...

Lols .... You wish... Us and Russia confrontation is end of the world.. Go do research about Russia.. even Americans are scared of such ... America can only edge Russia because of their plenty allies in Europe ...But one on one ... No one can decide ..

Kariss_m said...

Finally someone with reasoning is here ... Some people just comment so that they will be heard . They don't even know what's going on . ..
Their is so much to America bombing Syria than the false accusations of Assad using chemical weapons on his people...

Well I think Moscow and Washington should have a clear diplomatic solution to Syria crisis though I commend Trump's missile strike against Syria military Base.

There is hunger and poverty in the land..btu yet US government can afford to spend so much on Amunition: such a shame