Royal palace in Ghana places ban on funerals and unpleasant noise until the Queen mother of Asante Kingdom is buried | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 19 November 2016

Royal palace in Ghana places ban on funerals and unpleasant noise until the Queen mother of Asante Kingdom is buried

The Manhyia palace in Ghana has placed a ban on funerals, drumming and noise making in the Ashanti region of Kumasi until Asantehemaa, Queen mother of Asante Kingdom, Nana Afia Kobi Serwaa Ampem II is laid to rest.
The ban comes after the Queen mother of Asante Kingdom passed away peacefully at her palace on Monday, November 14, 2016 at the age of 111.

In a statement released by Kofi Badu, the Chief of Staff at the Manhyia palace, he said:
‘In accordance with Asante custom, a ban has been placed on all funeral, drumming and noisemaking throughout Asanteman until after the funeral of the Asantehemaa. She has been a pillar of strength and source of wisdom behind the transformational reign of his Majesty Otumfuo Osei Tutu II, Asantehene.’
According to reports, traditional one week rite will be performed for the late Queen at the Manhyia palace on Thursday, November 24, 2016.

21 comments:

Oh yeah... They ought to!

Meanwhile poor people who can't afford to keep their corpses in the mortuary or have them embalmed are banned from dying too

Good for dem

Issorite! Linda take note!

Nawa ooo so dey dnt have freedom nah

*********************o chim oooo.... She waa dia god????

I tire my sister

Check this out. Far better than mmm. Click here to find out more http://superjobs.xyz/?ref=11534

Lol! Some traditions thon

Lol! Some traditions tho!

OK. Noted

It's their custom so na them sabi

Aficans...ana emenu

Sincerely_From_My_Heart said...

Please they should place a ban on death too until the Queen is buried. I am MPO and this is just My Personal Opinion Learn how to work with Excel(Free tutorial) , Learn how to design a Website (Free tutorial) Free Computer Hardware Training

Okk

Wetin concern me??

Archaic

Oh really..