President Buhari on Saturday
praised the indomitable spirit of the Nigerian soccer team to the 2016
Olympics Game. Nigeria beats Denmark 2.0 to secure a place in the
semi-finals
A statement by his Special Adviser on Media and Publicity, Femi Adesin, said a cheering President Muhammadu Buhari Saturday night praised the
indomitable spirit of the Nigerian soccer team to the Olympics Games,
which saw them flying over Denmark 2-0 to qualify for the semi-finals.
"Again and again, the unconquerable
Nigerian spirit has come to the fore, showing that where there is a
will, there's always a way. This was a team that was not given much
chance, but which has now advanced into
the semi-finals. Go for it. Go for the gold, and let the Nigerian banner
be held proudly aloft once again on the global stage. We are almost
there. Let's go."
President Buhari urged the Nigerian nation to pray
and support the Nigerian contingent to the Olympics, especially the
soccer team, so that the rest of the world will know that even in the
face of economic adversity, the Nigerian spirit remains resolute and
lifted high.
"And this, we shall demonstrate in every sphere of our national life," the President added.
42 comments:
"Go for gold"? Like Seriously, is that the money u're suppose to pay dem?
Go for the gold guyz
Against all odds, they prevailed. Nigerian team have a reputation of doing well at Olympics but not World Cup.
Germany isn't gonna be easy, but I'm confident we'll triumph
www.bonitabislam.com
Nice one!!!
You owe them 5 months salary, and didn't support them throughout their preparations. These people trained under harsh conditions and here you are shouting 'go for gold'. Please shut the hell up
Oga PMB just go and sit down! Go for which Gold? The one you supported them with? The our boys exhibited the typical Naija spirit! Never say die! In the midst of not having we propel! They have put smile on the faces of people you impoverished! This is the only good thing that is happening since 2015! Boys u go and shine and hve in mind that Naija isnt worth dying for!
Story!
Go for gold huh? Mr man which one u don go here? Which one u get for the fools that vote for u if not scam disgrace weeping and sorrow so please stop talking about the guys over there because they are not even happy with u incase u don't know.
FREEBORN WEPT.
Oh... He just woke up from his slumber! #Sycophant
************************************ngi nwa noro n'eme gini ??????? 'Teeth like burnt suya !!!!!!!!!! **********Osim go for d gold ***********
Sir, with all due respect STFU! The challenges they faced was due primarily to the alarmingly high level of incompetence in your government.
That's good, rooting for najia's football team but your govt is corrupt! Imagine , owing the boys salaries for 5months till they cried out! If it is to pad the budget, money will be available! Shame on Dogara, Leo Ogah etc! Shame on Amaju Prick! Shame on the semi literate sports minister! Shame! Shame! Shame!
we done hear.
Nice one fam!
CAN THIS MAN DO ME A FAVOR BY SHUTTING THE HECK UP AND FACING THE ECONOMY ISSUES IN THE COUNTRY?
Look who is talking a hausa malam dat knows notthing about sportsmanship, you and ur apc cartel men filled with bad luck are adviced not to go watch their finals, that's if they will win germany. The gold is sure if u don't go to watch them play,e no go hard now u go ask them to warm presidential jet, travel travel.
Go for the Gold, and u guys are owing their coach.one day u will leave this country and run away.president my foot.
HOW MANY GOLDS HAVE YOU ACHIEVED SINCE YOU'VE BEEN IN THE PRESIDENTIAL OLYMPICS HUH?
Fraud!
Mr president, weldon,am glad u knew about d challenges dey encountered even before leaving the shores of nigerian,talk is cheap, pls reward dem if we eventually pick up the trophy !
Why are we focusing only on football? This guys at the end of the day Is targeting only one gold.... We have other games which can fetch us more golds, yet we are not paying attention to them..
.......... Liber maniac.......
Hmm.... Oga please bring down the price of rice and stop all dis eye service
Yea, they should go for more medals...we are in support
Watch what this popular senator was doing in a hotel room with a lady 18+ Video
Without any form of financial motivation u guys must b sick, if anybody should b owed not these players.Buhari should show working pls
Well said! Linda take note!
good
Our Youths are determined to take this Nation to greatness,but our Political leaders have failed us as a Country. You can check ur football analysis across Europe in the New season on http://segungoke.blogspot.com.ng.
They should go for gold when they haven't paid them salaries abi?
Wish them all the best!
Okay. I wish them the very best
Abeg park well joor!
'hope their hotel bills ve been paid?
Let's win more well one guys
Is it only football we can partisipate in in this country?
Despite President Buhari’s electoral promise to reduce petrol pump price from the N86.50 per litre that he met it and make life more bearable for Nigerians, he increased the price of petrol to N145, increased electricity tariff in spite of lack of power supply.
Food scarcity last experienced when Buhari was military Head of State between 1983 and 1985 has returned to the country, with Nigerians being unable to feed.
Nigerians should remove party, ethnic and religious sentiments and ask themselves what they have benefited in the last one year, Foreign Reserve was $28.6 billion, Excess Crude Account (ECA) was $2.07 billion, the dollar was
less than N200, petrol was N87 per litre and most importantly, one bag of rice was N8,500 and power generation was over 5,000MW when Buhari assumed office.
Today, power generation is less than 1,400, Foreign Reserve has reduced to $26.5 billion, dollar is now over N400, petrol has increased to N145 per litre and one bag of rice is now over N18, 000!
I read the president’s speech and all that I saw was a president still sounding like he was campaigning for votes more than one year after winning election. It is disappointing that the President’s speech was once again about promises, not about what has been done.
Not even a mention of one kilometre of road tarred by this administration, no single job was created except the ones created in Central Bank of Nigeria for their cronnies and children, not a single megawatt of electricity generated. This is shameful
APC the lying liars was deceiving Nigerians to see reasons with them condemning and politicizing all Jonathan’s good efforts which would have make life better to the people of Nigerians before now and we were busy raining curses on that God sent and gentle man Goodluck Jonathan thinking that he was our problem.
Oh! God please forgive my past mistakes of not believing Jonathan when he was explaining what him and his team has achieved to keep the nation moving forward despite the economic meltdown experiencing globally. At least life was slow and steady then and Jonathan pleaded for little patient with the good plans they have already put in place.
However, APC deceived Nigerians into believing their fake Change and empty promises and eventually succeeded with the power, and what we see today is baba go slow Buhari and APC are still campaigning against Goodluck Jonathan regime and PDP to protect their party interest after one year of incompetence in power and even succeeded in taking us backwardness after we were warned. BIG SHAME
Buhari go play with your cows, you do not know anything about football
Abeg mr president, if Nigeria wins gold in any sport, it will be by the grace of God and ot your pathetic administration. #leavematter
It's well, God day,
Meanwhile, the Ministry of Youth and Sports has refunded to Captain Mikel Obi the $4,600 he paid for the team in São Paulo on their way to Salvador.
Don't mind the man. I was so pissed when I saw his message.