Photos: One killed as students of the Federal University of Agriculture Abeokuta protest insecurity on their campus | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday, 18 August 2016

Photos: One killed as students of the Federal University of Agriculture Abeokuta protest insecurity on their campus

Abisoye Taiwo, a 100 level student of Forestry and Wildlife Management of the Federal University of Agriculture, Abeokuta (FUNAAB) in Ogun state was reportedly shot today after a peaceful protest by students of the school degenerated.

The students were staging a protest over insecurity on campus as some robbers attacked some hostels in the school last night, killing a 100 level Banking and Finance student in the process.

The angry students decided to stage a protest this morning as the spate of robbery attacks had increased within the school premises in the last one month. They accused the management of the school of refusing to address the issue by providing them adequate security.

The students claim that a bullet fired by one of the police officers invited by the school management to restore law and order within the school premises, hit the 100 level student who died instantly.

Read a press statement from the school's Student Union Government below
All academic activities including FPY,  PRACTICALS  SHOULD be halted until a lasting solution is found to the state of security. The university authority should write a letter of commitment to extend their security responsibilities towards the student environment off campus. The management should compel the Commissioner of police to come down to the protest ground this morning. If these are not done,  the protest will not end. The University gate will be locked.
#NewsWritaMedia
Ojelabi Oluwatobiloba

More photos...

30 comments:

That is still happening in my school no security at all,that means student life is at stake

Poor child... I feel for his parents! RIP boy.

Burning cars does it bring a solution

Why is it always police...Rip dude

Hmmmmmm na wah oh

They're protesting against something, but still went ahead to do exactly what they're protesting against! It's just a circle and pointless!

RIP to him. Smile to the bank..get your amazing soccer prediction tips for Friday & Saturday, August 19th & 20th, 2016 @ www.fortunatusblog.com  

SPOTLIGHT said...

May the souls of the deceased rest in peace. But this is typical of Nigeria higher institutions. They can levy students but they can't provide simple facilities or Security for students. Sad

Eeeeeeeeeeyah! May his soul RIP. Linda take note!

na WA o

Genny's Blog said...

Hmmmmm!so sad.may his soul rest in peace.

I want to asked some questions that have been bothering me. I can't even sleep properly, have been doing a serious thinking about my life. why is life so partial? I just need people to talk to goodnessy2k70@yahoo.com because the life most of us are living are just packaging life. Ever since have been growing to this stage I haven't known enjoyment, from one struggles to another. I don't even have what I do for a living not that I don't have an idea on what to do but no capital to kick up my plans. I read through this blog almost every day of people's progress here and it keeps me wondering why am I an exception to this progress and how the government are looting billions of naria when some persons find it difficult getting a single meal a day. Don't advice me to go and learn a trade because you don't do that with an empty hand because have asked for help more than 10times from friends but since they know my condition so they feel I can't pay back and get turned down, sometimes you just feel you are not loved by God or he is favouring some set of individuals. I just hate the kind of life am living. I don't know if anyone is facing such situation like me. I felt like pouring my heart out to relieve my mind because my mind is so heavy. I just need a turn around in my life, have been serving him faithfully all this year's, why the temptations? I don't like the life am living at all.

Enter your comment...thank u aunty Linda, but we heard the guy that was shot isn't dead but is in critical condition

What to make Genuine income in an easy way? while waiting just click on this link below.
http://dollarcell.com/?ref=428322

NAWA O

He is not dead oh!

Why kill a student.....Linda pls post my comment

I am an alumnus of that school. This is shocking cos that school has always been a peaceful school. Lord have mercy

Too bad! Rip to the dead!

Buhari has failed woefully

Linda, some investigation will do before publishing names. He didn't die. He's receiving treatment and needs all our prayers.

Hmmm asong o.....

Nawa o.

Kayllord said...

This is to inform all funaabites that the student that was shot is still alive, responding to treatment and breathing perfectly... The NANS State chariman is presently in the hospital (FMC),assuring all students to stay calm.

Signed
NANS State chairman
"Comrade Zamora"

thanks Linda...the boy dt was shot isnt dead yet but in a very critical conditions..Nigerians pls join us in praying for him
#prayforTaiwo #savefunaab

God will definitely #savefunaab

How on Gods green earth do you get your stories.....that boy is not dead, u went even went ahead to use his picture nd ppu are telling him to rest in peace sm1 dat dinur die.....babe get ur shits together abeg