Liverpool first black footballer turns down Queens MBE, because it would be betrayal of Africans who suffered under British empire | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday, 14 August 2016

Liverpool first black footballer turns down Queens MBE, because it would be betrayal of Africans who suffered under British empire

Howard Gayle, the first black footballer to play for Liverpool has turned down an MBE nomination. The 58-year-old Toxteth-born footballer said it would be "a betrayal" to Africans who suffered at the hands of the British Empire.

In a Facebook post published on August 10, Gayle, who made his Reds debut in 1977 and also played for Blackburn Rovers, Sunderland and Newcastle, said he had to decline the nomination, for his 'Show Racism the Red Card' campaign work, as his ancestors would be "turning in their graves"

48 comments:

Huh? Betrayal? Better go on and achieve greatness! πŸ˜’ Don't let anything hold you back, smh.

Ok oh.

#Somebody must to love me tonyt!!!

Good and fabulous heavenly son FREEBORN BLESS U.hausas or yorubas can't do this kind thing.
the same way i turn down the one they want to give me in Barcelona.what a useless honour.
This is the kind of people i call heavenly son awwww u must be from FREEBORN LINEAGE

Good and fabulous heavenly son FREEBORN BLESS U.hausas or yorubas can't do this kind thing.
the same way i turn down the one they want to give me in Barcelona.what a useless honour.
This is the kind of people i call heavenly son awwww u must be from FREEBORN LINEAGE

I like that. It's not enough to talk, back it up with action.
🎩
😁
πŸ‘•πŸ‘Great!
πŸ‘–

www.bonitabislam.com

That's patriotism there....

Don't mind the mumu

Let's all appreciate Howard Gayle for being an exceptional individual. Only few blacks can do what he just did.

oynx. u are crazy

Thank you for standing firm on the side of the Truth.

linda ikeji's driver. said...

Yea,i love dat,

You are very STUPID.
Don't let the physical and mental abuse u suffered from ur late father twist ur mind 2 the level of insanity.
Born Idiot.

WORD!!
Jst got myself a HERO.
At least there is hope 4 for the Black folks on Planet EARTH.

WORD Bae. WORD!!

I wish every African would think like then we would achieve true independent

Nna this man go dey disturb himself about ancestors wey no give a fuck.... Shocking shah...

True talk.

lol

It's people like you that betray people that look up to you for change when you accept bribe from their oppressors just to feel among and 'great' - 'COMPROMISE'. That's why we in NIGERIA are where we are right now, due to our leaders' compromising spirit, people that are supposed to be protecting our interests, for a better and peaceful existence. SHAME on you. #thinkaboutothersalways

You're too much. Don't mind that @Onix of a person, sure he's yoruba. Shame. #thinkaboutothersalways

Great!!! #thinkaboutothersalways

Exactly!!! #thinkaboutothersalways

Okk

Great!!! Don't mind some people that betray people that look up to them for change when they accept bribe from their oppressors just to feel among and 'great' - 'COMPROMISE'. That's why we in NIGERIA are where we are right now, due to our leaders' compromising spirit, people that are supposed to be protecting our interests, for a better and peaceful existence. SHAME on Nigerian leaders. #thinkaboutothersalways #NigerianleaderslearnfromHowardGayle‎

Better, can't sell my birth right for a plate of pottage! #action

The guy is the man of the year !!!! Brilliant show of action

optimisticlady said...

I love you man.

Brave man

Oga Onyx probably if you remove your head from Lindas ass abd learn about african history especially nigerian history then you wouldn't have rubbish comments to make. Linda kindly educate your followers and your darling Onyx about British rule in Nigeria.We were slaves, beating, working, raped and killed. No history text book in school will tell you that, instead they talk about amalgamation of north and south etc.see ud proudly singing the national anthem given to us by slave masters.

Dis one go vex oyinbo people dy. Linda take note!

Femiluv said...

Makes complete sense! You don't fight racism by kissing British ass, especially the queen who was responsible for colonization. Kudos to him.

Bros keep ur opinion inside ur pocket u don't know better than him

*****************************As much as I admire his patriotic spirit************I still condemn his refusal to accept his nomination **************he could flame up his show !!!!!!! Pass his No racism message*********and still have his award ************ And his ancestors wouldn't tumble in dia graves !!!!!!!!

ok seen

Whatever rocks his boat. It's his life,his decision also

I dey feel this guy!

Someone was the FIRST EVER BLACK PLAYER for liverpool and has a campaign tackling racism in England, yet Onyx in his infinite wisdom thinks he should "better go on and achieve greatness". Dear Onyx, Liverpool was the most successful footbal club of that era. And racism was very much "legal" back then. Awards and titles dont define greatness, greatness is measured by the impact one has on the life of others around him.

obidiedgreetings said...

Only if others will learn from him. Good moves brother.

Onyx it's very obvious you have a low IQ. If you don't understand the significance of what he has just done, then keep quiet. He campaigns and fights against racism and the British empire is trying to buy his silence with the MBE. He has already achieved greatness and adding an MBE to his name negates what he stands for. You think it's Nija where we worship titles and will go as far as paying money to get title and recognition. Get a life cos if you have one you won't comment on every issue even when you're clueless on the topic

Very great man! His a HERO for this. The British were slave drivers and they still are till this day. Nigeria is never free. Freedom is not what you accept, you take freedom just like the Americans did.

Finally!!! Someone who is not sucking up to the super racist Britain. Let a black girl attempt marrying royalty. The only one eho managed to is being treated like an outcast. Una leave matter, this guy knows what they are trying to do.
Slavery is still on. Those who recognise it resist it!

Onyx the GOAT.

My dear Freeborn,Ur comments dey sweet me wella,U no dey look anybody face.