Lagos ranked world’s third Worst city to live in | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 19 August 2016

Lagos ranked world’s third Worst city to live in

Lagos state has been ranked the world's third worst city to live in. This is according to the 2016 World livability ranking released by the Economist Intelligence Unit yesterday Thursday August 18th. Out of 140 countries that was used during the survey, Lagos came 138th just above war-ravaged Tripoli and Damascus.

“Of the poorer-scoring cities, 13 continue to occupy the very bottom tier of liveability, where ratings fall below 50 per cent and most aspects of living are severely restricted. Continued threats from groups like Boko Haram acts as a constraint to improving stability in Lagos.”
 According to the report, the top five best countries to live in, remained Melbourne in Australia, Vienna in Austria, Vancouver in Canada, Toronto in Canada and Calgary in Canada.

The liveability survey assesses which locations around the world provide the best or the worst living conditions across five broad categories – stability, healthcare, culture and environment, education, and infrastructure.

Of the five categories, Lagos scored highest in culture and environment, followed by infrastructure. It scored lowest in stability.

Three other African cities joined Lagos at the bottom rung of the liveable cities, with Douala, Cameroun; Harare, Zimbabwe; and Algiers, Algeria; ranking 132nd, 133rd, and 134th respectively.
No African city made it to the top 10 most liveable cities, five were in the 10 least liveable cities.

44 comments:

Story....linda BIKO...

All Bodied Wellness said...

Lol. It's kinda true but you get used to it, grow to love it like mad and never plan to let go...

Do you know you can lose weight with oolong, green tea, black tea and puerh tea? Or with 100% safe and natural dietary supplements? Visit me let me tell you how www.fitnesswithresult.blogspot.com

Please come to my aid libers. I need 30,000 naira for my fees. My email is larryfresh09@gmail.com

No be lie.

WOOOW, GREAT!

To live for Eko nor easy oh

Lol...funny enough Lagos houses a very large population. #CantShout

Fuck them, we love lagos

B said...

Hahaha, i agree. Lagos is just not it. But those der love it, i guess one man's meat is anoda's man poison.

Abegi! Linda take note!

To hell with this rating!... If u say Lagos is worse what will u say about Borno, Maiduguri and d rest...fuck this ranking

foolish ranking by foolish people seeking attention

Hahahhahahahahahahaha yoruba ppl won't like this oo but it's somehw true,see traffic n house congestion...see loudspeakers everywhr,ppl shouting up n down,no natural air...so many tins to name.....OVER POPULATION some ppl ned to go back to their state asap

No SA CITY WAS ON THIS LIST OF SHAME,D PROBLEM IS THE TRIBAL NATURE OF THE YORUBA MAN HAS MADE HIM SO GREEDY THAT THEY ACTUALLY ENGINEER THE DOWN FALL OF OTHER PARTS OF NIGERIA.E.G WHY DID ALL THE YORUBA OIL COYS CEO,S MOVE THEIR HQ TO LAGOS, WHY NOT AKWA IBOM?,CAUSE TAX,DEVELOPMENT,YET THEY FORGET THAT LAGOS ON GOGGLE MAP HAS LIMITED LAND SPACE,SO WHILE THEY(HAUSA,S IGBO,S YORUBA,S)LIVE IN A RAT SPACE THEIR IS LIMITED REAL DEVELOPMENT THEY CAN DO.LAGOS IS A HORRIBLE,FAKE PLACE TO LIVE.AND D REPORT IS SPOT ON.

FUNNY A MINISTER(NOISE MAKER,QUOTE BUHARI)THINKS WE CAN CATCH SA,I WILL LIKE TO ADVISE THAT LAGOS IS A PROBLEM TO NIGERIA,IT HAS AND STILL BENEFITS SO MUCH FED PRESENCE YET CAN,T GET IT,S ACT TOGETHER.2MORO THEY WILL SAY CENTRE OF EXCELLENCE(FRAUDS)
MEDIOCRITY IS THE MANTRA FOR YORUBA,S(EVEN IN D FACE OF ACTUAL DATA) AND THIS IS THE RESULT.

THEY DENIED MIKEL CARRYING NIGERIA FLAG AT RIO AND GAVE A YORUBA GUY,I SAY THANK GOD,NIGERIA DOES NOT DESERVE MIKEL.

It's a pity that Lagos of all places could be rate as a worst city to live in

Anon said...

Not surprised but pple who are used to dd place will start blabbing...suffering & smiling

Anon said...

No suprise...even the mentality of Lagosians is worrisome....reason we are in this dungeon called APC govt..even now they still look for excuses for their illiterate president

hahahahhahahaha

TRUE THAT

Fact o

ric said...

With an unwelcoming & tribalistic Lagoon people with a Lagoon Oba, why won't they be inhabitable?

More is coming their way if they don't change their bad reception to other tribes.

Even with money I can't live in Lagos. Abuja forever!

Long Live LIB

I can see that all the Igbo bastards on this blog are so pained....and if u ever step ur toes in Lagos, thunder fire you and ur generation.

******************************whr those babes wey dey form lasgidi babes dey ??????????? Oya drag ur ass down here !!!!!!!

When the entire south East lives here? Why won't it be messed up?

FRESH said...

When the whole of Nigeria are resident in Lagos. How can it be sane & organised?

Lokoleko said...

AREA BOYS
AREA FATHERS
AGBEROS
OMO ONILES
CULTISTS
ARMED ROBBERS AND THEIR BROTHERS, THE MONEY SEEKING MILITANTS.

amanda da creamchic said...

Chaiii. Lagos is one crazy town

This is so very untrue and I think this people should be sued. It's clear that they don't know what they are saying. That is evident from their statement "Continued threats from groups like Boko Haram acts as a constraint to improving stability in Lagos.” Lagos isn't under threat. Must be mistaking. Lagos is one of the few places where 911 still works. Dial in case of emergency and within minutes Police and ambulance will arrive. Fashola did well and Ambode is currently trying to keep it up.

Hmmmm. #Lindatakenote

What of Onitsha.
That one no even enter ranking.na something else.

Nigerians and Africa as a continent need to stop looking for validation from the western world. We always look for praise from them but it will never happen, we need to start validating ourselves and realise that our definition of happiness is not theirs.

Hmmm... Having said, trust me, even with one of the worst unliveable cities in the world, Lagos still remains most favorite city to most Nigerians...

Truth be told, no matter the worst ranking, Lagos city still remains the most favorite city to majority of Nigerians... Eko Oni Baje....

i was thinking of coming to lagos this holiday, why on earth should i go to the worst city in africa to spend holiday?

No typical 'Lagosian' would agree with this survey! They can be so addicted to Lagos & can not leave busy/chaotic nature of d city! I think I love where I am.

Oluwabukola said...

Hmmmmmmm,,,, why lagos?

After this report, ho can believe plot of land is 25 million N na waooooo

This is a survey of just 140 main cities in the world. Should it be a list of worst cities in the world, it would come 1st. And then your cities would even fare worse.

If I carry you go Banana Island, you go love Lagos ó

Best and reasonable talk of all.