Glo's subscriber base climbs to 36.3m, adds 5m new lines in 1 year | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday, 14 August 2016

Glo's subscriber base climbs to 36.3m, adds 5m new lines in 1 year

Telecom industry reports show that the GSM subscriber base of data grandmasters, Globacom, has in the last one year increased sharply by 5,063,895. The company's number of customers which stood at 31,256,677 by June 2015 rose to 36,320,572 at the end of June this year. The new 5,063,895 customers represented 68% of the 7,477,977 additional GSM lines in the country in the last 12 months.

The latest statistics published on the website of Nigerian Communications Commission (NCC) showed that Airtel placed second on the table with 2,414,082 new customers or 32%. However, it was reverse fortunes for MTN and Etisalat as they both suffered losses.

While Etisalat lost 382,336 customers, MTN's subscriber base went down by 4, 403,344 in the last one year. Details of the NCC report showed that Globacom's market share has risen from 21% to 24%, while MTN which once overwhelmingly dominated the sector by over 45% suffered a significant reduction to 39% as it recorded 58.4m subscribers compared to 62,813,111 it had a year ago.

Thus, while Glo has reduced the gap between it and MTN, it has substantially widened the gap between it and Airtel. Both Glo and Airtel previously had the same 21% market share a few months ago, with Glo enjoying a marginal lead then. Airtel which had 29,564,766 subscribers at the middle of last year, had 31,978,848 customers at the end of June 2016.

This still keeps it at 21% share of the GSM market. Fourth operator Etisalat has 15% share with 22,469,896 customers at the end of June, 2016, compared to 22,852,232 in June last year. Globacom has also for the last one and half years been the leader in the data market.

23 comments:

Waoh! Cos Glo gives free credit

Yes! Glo is the most definitely the best network ,it has being my major line for years💯👌🏻 Glo is simply the best!

*www.bonitabisl.com*

Chinyere Reginald said...

Linda i heard you are expanding your business please employ me help a sister out. Let me be part of your team. Am your number 1 fan. 08167360484. Pretychi22@yahoo.com thanks.

Good for them

Ohiren Erimiakhena said...

All thanks to their cheap data.Very Nice.

Glo shld dash us data to celebrate na

We use it in blackberry... nd calls... really cool

Pearlie said...

The should improve their network

Glo wit their poor cheap network...

Dis second grade network dat when d rain falls, their network will b short one.

I had to discard my Glo sim and stick to my Etisalat line dat is reliable and efficient network.

Glo Biko park well and stop all dis cheap pay plans and improve ur network even if u want to mak it cheap.

Mtn is d worst. Their own poor network has no rival mostly their internet services.

Good for them

Glo is definitely the grand master of Data in Nigeria, great data plans and an unbeatable browsing experience, especially in areas with great network coverage. Good one

GOOD TO SEE

Kudos to Glo. We can all feel their presence everywhere even in their communication. They deserve to be where they are right now. Let's give them another year and they will be the leading telco in Nigeria. Though there's been massive investment in the their communication and their brand proposition.

Etisalat on the other hand, i don't know what they are doing. First, they are cheats coupled with the corruption that reeks within their corporate comms. The company needs to employ people who are competent and get rid of those corrupt individuals.

God's Goodness said...

Good job Glo, keep it up. I will always patronize made in Naija. I pray you take over d telecom business completely. But please try to improve on your internet speed.

Strong lies
Glo wia dia network
Slow pas snail

Genny's Blog said...

Not interested.

Dats great news. Linda take note!

Glo kills😀😀😀😂😂😂🙌🙌

Glo beta work on their service/network otherwise, I am returning back to my Airtel. Browsing has become frustrating.

Fuck you

But what is their revenue? Is it not matter of increase in customer base when the revenue did not increase with the base. Common sense!