a long nightmare, and an opportunity for the opposition to launch an unending
campaign of blackmail, name-calling and abuse against the administration. I
received an early morning summon to leave Lagos and return immediately to the
Villa.
The Jonathan administration was definitely not
the first to seek to deregulate the downstream sector and end a regime of
subsidy, as a means of ensuring greater transparency, efficiency and
competition. Since 1987, every administration had tried to manage this aspect
of the curse of oil. Nigeria is the sixth largest producer of oil in OPEC, and the
second largest exporter of the product in Africa, at a time after Libya, at other
times, after Angola. But the big problem has always been making the product
available to Nigerians at home, in an efficient manner and as they say, at an
“appropriate” or “correct” price. The mismanagement of oil resource, which
accounts for about 90% of the country’s exports, is at the heart of corruption
in Nigeria.
Years of inefficiency and graft had
resulted in the collapse of the country’s refineries, from low capacity
utilization to eventual collapse, persistent scarcity of the product, large
scale smuggling, the rise of an oil industry cabal, violence in the Niger
Delta, oil theft, pipeline vandalism, and all the evils of irresponsible
leadership. From being a major exporter of crude oil, Nigeria soon became a
major importer of finished petroleum products, and as international spot prices
were volatile, government provided private importers of refined products, a
subsidy that took care of landing costs that could have been passed on to the
people. But the subsidy continued to grow out of proportion, becoming a major
drain on the country’s finances - from 1.42% of GDP in 1987, it grew to about
3% of GDP in 2011.
Every administration sought to check
the resultant crisis through price controls or gradual deregulation. The
people’s counter-argument and the source of the angry protests that always
followed was that Nigerians should not be made to pay heavily for a God-given
resource, and that if the refineries were to function efficiently and
government officials would moderate their greed, Nigerians would not need to
buy petroleum products at the most expensive rates in OPEC. The Nigerian Labour
Congress (NLC), supported by other groups in civil society, led the protests
against every attempt at deregulation, compelling virtually every
administration since 1987, to review proposed increases in the pump price of
fuel in order to pacify the people. Only Diesel (AGO) and Low Pour Fuel Oil
(LPFO) were successfully deregulated in 2009. By 2011, the regime of PMS subsidy
had become unsustainable. The decision to fully deregulate the downstream
sector in 2012 was the boldest policy move by the Jonathan administration but
it was also the costliest.
The NLC and the Trade Union Congress
(TUC), and their affiliate unions together with civil society groups took to
the streets and shut down the country. The main opposition party, the then Action
Congress of Nigeria (ACN) went into a propaganda overdrive, throwing every
possible mud at the President and the administration. In Ojota, Lagos, the
opposition organized anti-Jonathan and anti-government rallies. “Paid” and
mobilized youths and musicians, wearing designer T-shirts, voiced expletives, danced,
and screamed; in other parts of the country, the protests resulted in violence
and the death of many. This was the season of the Arab Spring, and those who
launched what became known as the #OcccupyNigeria movement were convinced that
this was the best time to demonstrate the superiority of people-power over
government policies. Everyday in the Villa, at the time, we agonized over what had
become a frightening assault on the administration. President Jonathan was the
country’s first Facebook President, the first president to use the social media
to run an election campaign, globally he was second only to President Obama in
terms of Facebook followership, but in the face of the 2012 fuel subsidy
protests, that same online advantage became his nemesis.
Young people, excited by the idea of an “Ojota
Spring” deployed online hashtags to tear down the administration. Government
officials also took to the media to explain the deregulation policy to the
people. Ministers were dispatched to their various political constituencies to explain,
communicate and convince, thus: defending the government became a test of
loyalty. In my case, before going to work in the public sector, I had written
an article in 2009, in which I opposed deregulation and predicted that the
government was so wrong it would soon mislead Nigerians to such a day when we,
the people, would soon start trekking or riding bicycles, no thanks to official
voodoo economics and incompetence. Access to more detailed information about
the extent of the corruption in the oil and gas sector later made me to review
my initial objections to the policy of deregulation. Nigeria would be doomed if
it continued to rob the poor to enrich the rich and thus through subsidy
payments sustain a tradition of theft and wealth without work.
That article was dredged up nonetheless and
circulated widely and I got called all kinds of names, including being called a
“turn-coat”. It was a trying time for the Jonathan administration: myths over-shadowed
reason. The government was accused of acting hastily and failing to consult
widely. But that was not true. Weeks
before a decision was taken, President Goodluck Jonathan personally met with state
governors, labour leaders, media chiefs, youth groups, civic and cultural
organizations, leaders of thought, traditional rulers, oil marketers and
importers,,. Behind closed doors, labour leaders and leaders of the ACN did not
oppose the deregulation policy. I recall the union leaders only asking for
palliatives and the ACN submitting a detailed policy implementation paper.
The second myth was that the government acted
on impulse because it was “clueless”. Again, not true. The House of
Representatives had probed the subsidy regime reporting massive fraud in the
downstream sector. The Ministry of Finance and later the Presidency
subsequently set up the Aig-Imoukhuede Technical and Verification Committees,
which made worse revelations about how the payment of subsidy had become a huge
scam. The Ministry of Finance on the basis of available damning evidence suspended
further subsidy payments and insisted on proper verification of claims, an
integrity check that was resisted by the major oil marketers and their agents. Minister
Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala’s mother was later kidnapped in the midst of all that.
Deregulation
of the downstream sector was inevitable then as it is now, because the fuel
subsidy regime had become a cesspool of officially backed corruption. The
country could no longer afford to pay rent to an oil sector cabal feeding fat
on the inefficiency in the sector, putting in their pockets resources that
could be used to develop infrastructure and serve the people. This was the
principled position. But following the January 2012 deregulation, those who had
urged the Federal Government on, including State governors who always wanted
more money, and marketers who spoke about how deregulation had worked with
diesel and telecomm, abandoned the government to its fate. Opposition leaders who
had submitted a blueprint for implementation, publicly led the protests. The
betrayal was astonishing. The short and long term effects were devastating.
Let us now
fast forward to 2016: The present administration has again, like the Jonathan
administration, announced a removal of subsidy.
The pump price of petrol is now officially N145 per litre. The
objectives and the arguments are the same as in the past. But the context is
different. Those who fuelled and funded the protests of 2012 are either quiet
or openly supportive or apologetic as they now defend the principled position
they once abandoned. The labour unions are factionalized, there is no
co-ordinated protest, the media, the people and the civil society are
indifferent, the government is not under any pressure to convince anyone: same
policy, same issues, but different politics!
My
prediction that one day, we will all ride bicycles or trek to work has now come
to pass. But if that is the sacrifice Nigerians have to make to end the
outright brigandage in the downstream sector, so be it, please. Putting the
subsidy thieves to shame, ending a subsidy regime that encouraged
round-tripping, rent collection, smuggling, instant gratification, theft,
insincerity, blackmail, and cabalism may well become President Buhari’s most
important legacy. This could have been done since 2012, but the politicians,
desperately seeking power and office, failed to put Nigeria first, and looking
back, it seems all the young men and women who died in that season did so in
vain. Politicians must learn not to play politics with people’s lives for
reasons of selfish convenience. President Buhari must stand firm but let him
also take steps to ensure that local refining is restored and let him keep an
eye on those saboteurs who always manage
to find a way around every public policy. And to all the 2012 hypocrites now
turned today’s yes-men: una do well o.
40 comments:
Mtchew
I read it to the end...summary- Jonathan was wise enough to want to remove subsidy in 2012, but the people fought against it, now the government of the day is doing the same thing in 2016. Okay, we have hear. Don't these people get that the main reason why people fought against it being done in the last regime was because of how corruption was left to flourish at the time.
Top 5 Richest Nigerians in 2016
Wow apt! Personally I'm not Against the fuel subsidy removal as long as there will be a corresponding increase in minimum wage. I get the reason why Nigerians who opposed the subsidy removal hiring Jonathan's administration are busy supporting it now in this administration is clear and simple. It's accountability. Jonathan's administration was so corrupt that if that fuel subsidy scam didn't happen, corruption would have asked the president why. People believe in Buhari and his ability to make sure that monies realized from the removal of subsidy will be well accounted for. And looters and thieves won't be treated like suitors but like the thieves that they are. That's the difference and that's why accountability and integrity being the hallmark of this administration would make Buhari a lesser evil
Oga Abati you've been heard
lovely piece."una do well indeed"
Wonderful article, Mr Reuben had said it all.
Very nice article sir... If only Nigerians will take their time and see what is still to come and not always looking at what is right in front of them.
Well said and may God see us through.
Beautiful and a detailed write up. Thank you, Mr. Abati
Wonderful article, Mr Reuben had said it all.
I support u absolutely. We will ask every one(2012 hypocrites) how market by 2018.
I support you absolutely. Bravo! mr Abati
I support u absolutely. We will ask every one(2012 hypocrites) how market by 2018.
Bitter Truth
*during *
Hypocrites everywhere. I just pray this will not take us another step backward.
I hv hardly commented on a post or reply some1 even if I am an avid reader of dis blog. U are 1 person I enjoy reading comments from but don't talk like bonario n my warri broda d 2 ignorant hypocrites on dis blog. Why wud u say pple were against bcos of corruption? GEJ was sworn in may of 2011 so by January 1st 2012 he had not spent a year so which corruption are u talking about? He came n saw wat few are making off d country n decided to change dat but una decide to occupy Nigeria.
Well said. Is easy to run somebody down. Dy r now facing d music. Govt built on lies will never stand firm
Dis is too much! Linda take note!
APC owes Jonathan an apology. They let the country burn for selfish political reasons only to turn around to do the exact same thing the Jonathan Administration clamoured to do and for the very same reasons.
This guy has a brilliance in expression that is yet unparalleled in this country. No, I give it to him. Moving away from his communication skills and to the issue it sought to address... I say #letsf**kthemarketers
Very objective write up,devoid of any sentiment.
Beautiful article. Very insightful and revealing. I have never been a supporter of subsidy. Only that their should be palliatives to cushion the effect.
Cool story
I appreciate your piece Mr Abati!Am beginning to understand the essence of subsidy removal.Such will definitely help our economy.
Okkk
When a lie is repeated over time it becomes the truth, there has never been a sincere uncorrupted* govt in Nigeria prior to GEJ so the system had been rigged to favor the rich and been from a minority he stuttered in he's decision making not to offset a few which gave rise to the impunity in he's administration but by and large he gave solid policies which would have empowered stronger institutions rather than individuals. We should look beyond Buhari and put the Nigeria state first, I dislike the politics been played by the Buhari administration and APC but we have given him a mandate of 4 years and I hope and pray for a formidable opposition with a true people policy and not a fallacy manifesto built on lies and poorly thought out campaign promises
Mr. Abati, thanks for the choice of the word "proper verification" in the process adopted by the the former finance minister in reducing the fraud in the subsidy program. I am sorry to say, the govt you worked with lack credibility and the level of corruption in there is unbelievable. It was really difficult for the Nigerian populace to trust the Govt. Even the governor cannot trust the govt. So the massive protest that greeted the 2012 subsidy removal was not about politics but the trust that the government will judiciously utilize the savings.
Very soon the Ministry will begin the verification of the beneficiary of some of the program and you will be amazed with revelation from these programmes. People like you have sincere purpose but you were surrounded by hawks.
una do well o in deed! beautiful article Mr Abati. I wish Nigerians had allowed Uncle Jona then, we would have moved some distance far away and would not have been where we are now.
I am so surprised that all those (2012 Artists, great stage speakers, Church Owners, Jona haters and una know una self people) are so quite as if they are not in this country any more. The only reason why people are silent for all I care is because they are afraid of MR PRESIDENT including the Politicians, period!!!.
I support the move but please MR PRESIDENT don't put the burden on me abeg. look for a way to take care of things and run the country with your Ministers u hear me!
Thank you.
"APC owes Jonathan an apology".
Gbam, I DEMAND THEY DO THAT NOW! OR....
They were shouting kill him kill him, now they want us to bear with them, imagine.
That its not done 2012, doesn't mean is not the right thing to do..... I think we needed accountability, transparency and integrity. Well said sir
Please shut up and go back and read again!
Anon chop kiss!
Thank you Mr. Abati for this write up. This is the problem with Nigeria, the politicians are always for themselves and no Nigeria. We hope they will put nigeria first an start building refineries or better still encourage investors. For example politicians who has failed us, we will be here by 2018.
Oga Abati, you said it all. Trust was missing in 2012 (in the administration you served), but today we have a man with high integrity at the helm of affairs. A penny saved from subsidy by President Buhari would be a money well spent- no looter(s) would tamper with it- watch and see, brother!!!
A very nice piece from you sir and quite informative for us the masses. But i beg to differ by saying that there are 2 different Rule in Nigeria "The President" and "The Office of the President". These are the 2 factors that work differently to make or mar the rulership of Mr President. I will quote from your excerp to support this,
"Let us now fast forward to 2016: The present administration has again, like the Jonathan administration, announced a removal of subsidy. The pump price of petrol is now officially N145 per litre. The objectives and the arguments are the same as in the past. But the context is different". This is the simple reason for the seeming acceptance now of the deregulation politics, even when the players are the same. Thank you.
Anonymous 9:18AM, you just made us realize a very important fact!
Now I'm thinking it's possible Jona decided to join the yam eaters, because of the great betrayal.
Lol@ "ojota spring". Now we are 2 years behind growth because of selfish ambitions. Nigeria is really in chains. Wish people will come out and protest the hypocrisy of APC but anyway who get energy to fight. Not worth it. let all suffer and smile , it will pass.
No sir or is it ma? Jonathan became president in 2010 after the death of Yaradua..... *to self* are we this forgetful?
Anonymous 10:08 I am not forgetful u can't refer to jonathan acting periods in d presidency here. Y? Bcos he spent dat time fighting d cabals and campaigning to be elected president. He discovered wat few are making from d country in d name of subsidy n told us 6months b4 January 1st 2012 dat he wud remove subsidy n ur so called ACN (now APC) mobilise pple to occupy Nigeria now dey r doing dsame thing. ALL we spend time doing is make GEJ look bad but d man is d best president Nigeria has ever had. Yes I said so. U will want to point out corruption in his govt but truth be told u know about dasuki n d likes bcos another party took over govt. Trust be u wud hv heard worse if another party had took over from Obasonjo who is dat forming "saint"