Photos: Ogonis stage peaceful protest, demand due process for the cleanup of their community by FG | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 24 August 2015

Photos: Ogonis stage peaceful protest, demand due process for the cleanup of their community by FG

Ogoni indigenes in Rivers state held a peaceful protest at Akpaja street in Ogoni land. They are demanding for due process in the proposed cleanup exercise of the oil spills in their community by the federal government. President Buhari on August 5th ordered a fast track environmental cleanup of Ogoniland. Continue to see more photos from the protest..

46 comments:

💋Hey boo said...

Buhari will not only make sure due process is followed, but he'll ensure everywhere is cleaned including their hearts#Changeishere

💋Hey boo said...

Hmmmm! Na wa

Wait o, so some people have seen this as an opportunity to make money via contract awarded for the clean-up??? We deserve what we get.

yeancah012 said...

Did they protest when Jonathan didn't implement the clean up? Gullible people

Where were these goats when GEJ was the president?

I hope the government listens to their plea. The protest is totally justified.

I'm confused. In the last 20 years, no government has done the cleanup of Ogoniland. Now Buhari has entered and says he wants to fast track it because it's a priority and they are protesting for what? Okay, let Buhari follow due process like the PIB due process and let this cleanup hang in the air for another 20 years.

I SAY YES TO IT....TOMJERRYSWIT

Dis is noted and we apr8 their peaceful protest. Its well wit them and I wish them all d best.

Staging unhealthy protest like dis will never b a panacea to their problems but briging up a sound recommendations which will help and energized the govt to hear their prayers. Or may they were paid by their blind leaders who has ruled them for years without implementation of such programs. This guys should re-think the angel they carry out their protest to avoid future regret. They son (GEJ) ruled for 6yrs and never implemented the programs... Linda take note of my assertions

Why didn't they protest when jonathan was there?

Hahaha?buhari the terrorist president has defraud you guys hahaha.
This is just the begining,i don't know the government which you guys are calling if not the same criminal who defraud you people by making a promise he can't fullfill.

Hahaha?buhari the terrorist president has defraud you guys hahaha.
This is just the begining,i don't know the government which you guys are calling if not the same criminal who defraud you people by making a promise he can't fullfill.

It should be done ASAP...

Hope it doesnt lead to riot

huh? which one is due process for clean up again? abi, they are waiting for FG to pay them and then clean up the mess?

Which one be due process again? Clean up na clean up. Is an order for fast track clean up not enough for them? All these PDP sponsored youths sef.

Which 1 is the due process again.Those niger Delta people are not always contempted.

Mr. True Talk said...

this is outrageous, due process to clean up oil spillage in ur community or do they mean fast process ? linda ask them oo. Maybe this people need the federal government to pay them to clean their community.

am from ogoni, we've suffered alot and all the administration doesnt want to do anything, is it beacause we dont have any one to stand for us....Ken Saro Wiwa we really miss you!!

What do they mean by due process?? Linda we need more information on what they mean by due process... So many administrations have come and pass not one of them have even made any attempting of cleaning their community.

Its about time. I like the idea of a peaceful protest.

It's Akpajo and it's not a street mumu girl.

Linda. It is not Akpaja street. It is Akpajo Junction in Eleme. Take note

So dey can now protest, mcheeeeeeew! Linda take note!

Good for them

#IT will ONLY get BETTER
#it MUST end IN praise

Good for them

#IT will ONLY get BETTER
#it MUST end IN praise

ucizzy said...

Political talk by president buhari for Niger delta to like him

Thought PMB said they will clean it up? Why didn't they complain since when brother Jona was around. Now all of a sudden everybody is realising that things need to be done.

They should not worry, the govt will do it.

The Ogonis are peaceful and accommodating. when this day is over and eventually the cleaning process is completed the rest of niger delta will benefit from it

ENVIRONMENTAL DEGRADATION FROM OIL SPILLS POISES A GREAT DANGER NOT JUST TO THE ENVIRONMENT, BUT ALSO TO THE PEOPLE WITH ITS ATTENDANT HEALTH IMPLICATIONS. HOWEVER THE PROCESS TO GET THE BIG CONTRACTORS OR GOVERNMENT TO ASSIST IN THE CLEAN UP IS OFTEN JAMMED WITH SO MUCH BOTTLENECKS. I HAVE PARTNERS IN EUROPE THAT IS INTERESTED TO ASSIST IN THIS CLEAN UP...JUST HOW TO LET THE CONCERNED AUTHORITIES KNOW ABOUT THIS IS THE ISSUE. ANY OGONI, GROUP OR AGENCY INTERESTED IN PARTNERING WITH ME FOR THIS PURPOSE SHOULD CONTACT ME ON princemagnus12@gmail.com OR 234 0704332 1471 FOR AN EXPANDED DISCUSSION.

www.completenaijanews.com said...

ENVIRONMENTAL DEGRADATION FROM OIL SPILLS POISES A GREAT DANGER NOT JUST TO THE ENVIRONMENT, BUT ALSO TO THE PEOPLE WITH ITS ATTENDANT HEALTH IMPLICATIONS. HOWEVER THE PROCESS TO GET THE BIG CONTRACTORS OR GOVERNMENT TO ASSIST IN THE CLEAN UP IS OFTEN JAMMED WITH SO MUCH BOTTLENECKS. I HAVE PARTNERS IN EUROPE THAT IS INTERESTED TO ASSIST IN THIS CLEAN UP...JUST HOW TO LET THE CONCERNED AUTHORITIES KNOW ABOUT THIS IS THE ISSUE. ANY OGONI, GROUP OR AGENCY INTERESTED IN PARTNERING WITH ME FOR THIS PURPOSE SHOULD CONTACT ME ON princemagnus12@gmail.com OR 234 0704332 1471 FOR AN EXPANDED DISCUSSION.

These MFs made me spend hours in traffic this morning... @Linda: It's Akpajo not "Akpaja"... also you need to setup a unit headed by a good editor to proof-read contents before posting... too many obvious grammar-typo errors lately... however, good work to the LIB team!

ogoni people too like trouble why blocking the road naaa

Its 'Akpajo' not 'Akpaja'

So if Buhari has already ordered a fast track on the cleaning project, what are these idiots protesting again? Jobless mofos! See how Goodluck Jonathan and the past president have caused these idiots to not know their left from their rights again! SMH

Now una get someone to clean una village,una still dey protest,Niger-deltans are very difficult to satisfy

Vivienne said...

It is your entire generation that are goats... You imbecile

Nice comment, Linda should just hire and marry u already!