Lola Omotayo loses Nanny to cervical cancer | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 27 August 2015

Lola Omotayo loses Nanny to cervical cancer

Peter and Lola Okoye  lost their Nanny of 7 years to Cervical cancer today. Lola mourned the loss of their nanny, Esther Ngobor who had battled the deadly disease for 5 years until she lost the battle today. The message she shared on her page after the cut...

73 comments:

Eyaaaah pele oooo Esther RIP oooooo.

Connie said...

OMG! That is so touching. RiP to the dead biko

What is Pap smear?

Please I need explanation

RIP Esther

What is Pap smear?

Please I need explanation

RIP Esther

Rip to her

Awww...may her soul rip

I thought Lola is married to peter okoye? Why is she still answering omotoye, may d nanny poor soul rest in peace,

Pap text save my life was so lucky .

Rest in peace nanny! I pray God to comfort them

hrm paul ojeih said...

May her soul rest in peace

Trendyify said...

Awwww, rip to her

it is well

ochu said...

RIP...she must had been a nice person as seen in her face.

tolex said...

If u are in Lagos, visit optimal cancer centre in bode Thomas (after GTB) for cervical & breast check up. It's 1k. Free on Fridays. Vaccine is also available from age 10 for girls. Guarantees immunity by 90-99% I think.

Too bad.

It a pity....R.I.P to her.

So sorry dear, I have to go do a pap smear test asap. May her soul rest in peace.

joyous babe said...

Eyaa so sad,rip esther.

may her soul RIP...amen

So sad.

Sparkles said...

Eya!
Sad!

Awwww! Rest in peace

Rest in peace dear. God loves you

Sad! May her soul rest in peace....

This killed one of my friends mum. #CANCERSUCKS

Awwwww,so sad, may her soul rest in pix

Eeeeeeeeeyah! May her soul rest in peace. Linda take note!

*Minxy* said...

So sad and heartbreaking

Noble Women said...

Did you seek medical help abroad?

Rip to the dead but the tribute that Lola is posting does not go well with because if truly she said she is a good Manny and also has been working with you why not help her to travel out and get proper treatment knowing fully well that our medical facilities in nigeria both private and government sucks and also in which I know it is just a peanut from God's blessing on your family though you will day you guys support with hospital bill but it wasn't enough cause to have fight it for 5yrs it wasn't at all and I have said my mind will relax and see other comments

She was sick yet she still took care of your children. Between the kids and her who needed more attention? It's not my place to point accusing fingers but let's consider that issue.
In all, may her gentle soul rest in peace!

She was sick yet she still took care of your children. Between the kids and her who needed more attention? It's not my place to point accusing fingers but let's consider that issue.
In all, may her gentle soul rest in peace!

Get ur annual pap-smear done.. early detection could save your life... RIP dear!

Oby said...

May her soul rest in peace. Lola, may God give you and family the fortitude to bear this. May God console her immediate family. People already saying this and that, Were you living with them to know to know the extent they went or you want them to start listing that. Whether she travelled or not, once it spreads, its only treatment that carries the person till the body gives up. For her to have managed for 5 years, they really tried and must have spent a lot. From the pictures, we don't need to be told she was a member of the family.

heya may her soul rest in peace

But it wasnt stated she was working while sick now.pls let us not jump into some conclusion based on how we read some stories.it xoesnt even make sense, when someone is in pain and sick what strenght would she have had to take care of her own children not to ralk of other peoples'.Lola mentioned she worked with her as her children's nanny doesnt mean at the point when she was sick.Let's stop making unnecessary conclusions pls.

Damola Gbadegesin said...

Nonso-Jay said...

may her soul rest in peace.

Sad. may her soul rest in peace.

Wow .... You are not serious, are you? In many countries from age 21 , females are mandated to have Pap smears every 3 years till they hit 65... Cervical cancers are slow growing and can easily be detected at the early stages. If Nigeria your country had tried 'for her' , they would have made this a women's Public health initiative and implemented it as a solution to this scourging illness. By the way cervical cancer is 100% curable if detected on time.Fact... It is a popular exam question.... This shows how 'our country' values women's lives... And the ignorance is really divine

It does not matter... Try to free yourself from the patriarchical and parochial system you come from.... If you think education is expensive, try ignorance

It called a PAPANICOLAOU SMEAR Test, it's done to screen a woman for cervical cancer, it should be done every six months or one year at most. Every woman should be aware of a pap smear. Linda pls use your platform to create awareness because many women are still not aware of it. Pls don't say you are too young o, early detection is better. You are welcome.

Even at that why do people not check their hearts and intentions before commenting... What if even the nanny like some patients usually request to be and try to live a normal life around their loved ones despite all else...

Must u guys always find a way to attack someone.. Haba!! She stated they tried everything within their power, do ubk kw if that includes taking her abroad?? Besides if d cancer was caught at an advanced stage, taking her abroad won't have changed anything cos its still d same chemotherapy / radiotherapy she wld get. People shld fear God and slow to Judge.... #MyTwoCents

Chi chi said...

It's to detect cancer genes. We need more awareness in Nigeria.

Don't have the full details but pls Google.

Linda pls help to create more swear was and where women can go for the Pap smear test.

Chi chi said...

No we won't consider that issue.

What have you done to help someone in your community? Look at the person in the mirror and that the only issue to consider!

Wat do u expect from a rich independent woman.. Forming class like who dey school

Rip

Rip. Some good questions on whether the Okoyes could have done more to help her if she was such a valued employee.

Awww

RIP Madam Esther!! May your Beautiful soul RIP!! #Live Right!

Smear test should be done once every 5 years. I have done it 3 times now, last time being 2 years ago.

@ anonymous 10.07am.bless you for your kind comment...I hope other positive minds would appreciate this and the negative ones should read and understand. God bless..@Linda Ikeji..thanks for sharing..just a suggestion..would recommend that you create a "like" button like what we see on other social media platforms..so in this case urs would be : like,comment and reply...well done!

Are you saying she should fire her because she was ill???? or adopt her because she's Lola Okoye.
Did you read that she had just 3 months to live when she was diagnosed but went on to live 5 yrs??? That tells you she had good people around her.
Let's reflect on our lives and think of how many people we had the opportunity to put a smile on their faces but we didn't; yet we are quick to point accusing fingers at other.. Repent

RIP ESTHER.

RIP ESTHER

A pap smear is a test for women, where the gynecologist takes a sample of the cervical cells (the cervix is the opening of the uterus/womb) and looks to see if there are abnormal cells or cancer cells there. The test is done on women from age 21 onwards. If you have normal pap smears, you can space it out to 3-5 years. I will be conducting a free pap smear clinic in December in Lekki. Say tuned for more.

Dr O.

you guys dont know if they sent her abroad..speculating as usual

U are a big FOOL. Do u knw anything abt cervical cancer u pig. Home or abroad, once cancer has spread little or nothing u can do abt it except radiotherapy and chemo. N how do u knw she wasnt taken out d countrty. You bitter soul. Always lookn fr d negative side.Change or things wld nt go well wit u in this life wit such a foul heart.

Alex said...

rest in peace.

Pls more info on pap smear..thanks dok.

First and foremost let clear something never in your life curse anybody either anonymous or not cause how will you feel if some tells you that things won't go well with you in your life and more so there is no place in the comments that you reply under that has abusive words in it it is just opinion and everyone is entitled to his or her own so pls comments and back out from that useless act so am just saying mine and like I said just reading other comments

Sorry for being abusive but u shld learn not to conclude and judge others so briskly.Always look for the positive side. There is a popular saying if ur words wont uplift or make a situation better,its best not to say anything. Sorry again!

Anony 8:26 since you know that"if ur words wont uplift or make a situation better,its best not to say anything" you should have just overlooked the comment in the first place. Deal with your own shortcomings first before trying to correct others. It's a free world and Everyone is entitled to their own opinion.

I really appreciate your maturity though I might be wrong in the way I criticised the article but as human I felt the pains how I wish I can be able to let you see it from my point of view but all the same peace to you bro or sis